We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Spanish Hacienda”
Review of Hacienda Cusin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Cusin
Ranked #1 of 28 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Spanish Hacienda”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in the monastery portion of this resort and after a long bus ride from the Amazon, it was amazing to enter our room to a blazing fire in the fireplace and hot water bottles in our bed. We ate dinner and breakfast in the beautiful dining room.....the staff was very kind/attentive and the food was great! The main house of the Hacienda had a gorgeous stairway to the upper level and was filled with lavish antique furniture. Fireplaces were lit in most common areas, which really added to the warmth and quaintness of this hotel. Wifi was available in the Library. The grounds are lush and filled with fountains, gorgeous flowers, walkways, etc. It was fun to simply explore. Amazing place to stay near Otavalo markets, although you have to take a taxi, as the hotel in on the outskirts of town.

Room Tip: If you have disability issues or cannot walk a long distance, request to be in the main hotel. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splindenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Such a complimentary and appreciative review is wonderful lot receive! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    93
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
128
184
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The room was comfortable and very clean. Since this was early October, our fireplace was lighted every night and beds had hot water bottles placed in the bed to warm them. Exploring the hacienda and monastery next door was delightful. Food was good with fruits and vegetables coming from their gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
MANY thanks for such an appreciative review. Please inform your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have traveled all over the world, stayed in places ranging from backpacker hostels with rooms separated by particle board to the Ritz Carlton. This place was my favorite. You enter into the flower-filled courtyard by way of two huge wooden doors and enter into another, more elegant era. The rooms are all stocked with textiles from around the world, heavy and ornately carved wooden furniture, and a wood burning fireplace. But that just scratches the surface of what makes this place so wonderful. The staff are there to pamper you: they place hot water bottles in your bed every night to warm it up, they start roaring fires in your rooms, and every possible need or desire is attended to within the Hacienda. We arrived there after a very busy five days in the Amazon, and it was the perfect place to relax before heading back home. This place truly holds a special place in my heart and I recommend it without any reservation.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
After such worldwide experience for you to choose Hacienda Cusin as your favorite is flattery indeed! MANY THANKS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I held a Retreat for 27 people at Hacienda Cusin and couldn't have been happier. Everything ran very smoothly. The Hacienda is gorgeous and peaceful with so much history and things to discover. The staff was fun and attentive. The food was incredibly delicious. The atmosphere was cozy and we were so spoiled by having fires already lit when we returned to our rooms, with warm hot bottles in the bed ready to warm our feet. Everyone in our group loved the Hacienda and said it was magical. Thank you to all the staff!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abovetheclouds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for spending your special Retreat in Hacienda Cusin and expressing your sense of the place so perfectly. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kure Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was by far the most incredible experience of our trip. The grounds are wonderful to explore and the attached monastery is beautiful and definitely worth a visit. Our room was quite large with a wonderful bed and a private bathroom-- but the best part was the enormous fireplace that was lit every night. We would come back from dinner to a wonderful toasty room. Loved the hot water bottle in my bed each night. We met the owner and enjoyed talking to him over breakfast which is included.. The entire staff were very accommodating . All and all a wonderful place to stay. And of course we loved Octavalo!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harcoosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
It seems that the longer a guest stays at Cusin, the better the experience becomes, as so many guests have discovered. Many thanks for such a sincere review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was fortunate to discover amazing Hacienda Cusin on a recent visit. This is my 7th trip to Otavalo region and Hacienda Cusin is definitely amongst my top 3 favorite places to stay. It's located a 5 - 7 min taxi ride to Otavalo, - the turn-off is before you get to Otavalo from direction Quito. What I loved about this place is - after a crazy day of shopping and sight seeing, there's nothing more soothing to return to an oasis that's tucked away in nature, away from the sounds of traffic, and all the hustle associated with traveling etc...
The garden is immaculate. I spotted several hummingbirds and butterflies. Walking through certain parts of the garden area the smell of roses and lavender takes you away to another place.
I bought a few dvd's in Otavalo for $1 each and watched it in the tv room, where they also have tea, coffee's for self-service - really cute. There's comfy chairs and also a fire place. There's a game room with a pool table, table tennis, darts. The dining room has incredible charm, the food was excellent and the service great.
The hacienda has a real farm home feel - some would say a country home - which I personally love. I read in a previous comment there was no slippers, bathrobes etc.... take note - this is not a Hilton. If you're into chain like hotels, this is not the place. It's much more than a duplicate - it's unique, filled with character, class and excellent service from people who share their passion for what they do best with travelers from across the globe.
My room - nr 16 was cozy, spacious and clean. It had a lovely fireplace, comfy chairs and the beds were perfect. I slept so well, for the first time in days. The room also has a door which opens up into the big garden. The bathroom is a little on the small side, but it had everything I needed, including purified water and soft towels.
I really enjoyed my stay at Hacienda Cusin. I recommend it for individuals, families who love places with old world charm, and who enjoys being surrounded by nature.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking such time to write your sincere and appreciative review. Please return to Hacienda Cusin for your 8th visit to Ecuador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

The hacienda is beautiful and the rooms and shared spaces are lovely. I would recommend the place on this alone. For us there was something lacking in the service of the place, quite a few things went wrong( small things mind) and they didn't seem that bothered. Also we went horseriding, again the scenery is stunning but the guy taking you out doesn't ask you how experienced you are at all and you simply plod around. As experienced riders we would have saved ourselves the money and just gone for a walk! It's all here but that extra human something is missing here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easterireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for such appreciative words. But we are so sorry that you sensed an indifference by Cusin's extraordinary Spanish-speaking staff. As with all good grooms, they uncannily detect ability by the rider's riding stance, especially stirrup heel-placement. For such, and in remarkable countryside, language is un-important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
7.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
9.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
2.1 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
7.0 mi away
Hacienda Zuleta
Hacienda Zuleta
#1 of 93 in Imbabura Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cusin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cusin

Property: Hacienda Cusin
Address: Calle Chiriboga | San Pablo Del Lago, Otavalo 123, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Cusin 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel. A restored, 400 year-old hacienda with restaurant - organic food, sports facilities - squash, basketball, horseback riding, mountain bikes & games rooms, library, several acres of gardens. 38 Staff. Within 20 minutes of Otavalo's markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Cusin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cusin Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing