We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Cusin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hacienda Cusin
Ranked #1 of 27 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and would gladly have stayed longer. The Hacienda is fascinating to ramble around, with its collection of astonishing antiques and the tasteful arrangement of the rooms. We loved the gardens, and particularly enjoyed touring the vegetable, fruit and herb gardens which supply the dining room. We found the food to be extremely good, we ate breakfast and dinner on each of our days and the menu was always different. The included glass of wine at dinner was very welcome. Our room in the old stables was very cozy and private, we particularly enjoyed the fireplace which the staff happily kindled at 5 each day so we could rest in its warmth before dinner. This area is high and therefore cold, so be sure to have warm clothing along. It was impressive how even the guest rooms have art displayed in them, and antique furnishings. Just walking the grounds and wandering through the hacienda occupied us for 3 days, though we did enjoy our walk to the village and the surrounding hills.

The only caveat I would have is the chilly welcome at reception. I would urge guests not to be put off by the reception staff as they were the only staff members who were not completely friendly and helpful. The young man who checked us in had no knowledge of our reservation or our deposit and intimated that it was no concern of his to figure it out. The young woman who was there the next day was also very offhand, and the woman who checked us out was downright rude when we enquired about onward bus transport from Otavalo. Quite strange when absolutely everyone else including the gardener was most welcoming. As I say, don't let it bother you and you will have a lovely time!

Room Tip: We loved our room in the stable, but I am sure all the rooms are equally tasteful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
What a fine review to receive, many thanks for taking such time to do so. Your observations and advice are highly valued. Please accept my apologies for your caveat, for which a full Reception management meeting was held. All send you their abject apologies. Regresa printo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    89
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
127
174
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hacienda is situated outside Otavalo and most people seem to come for the market. There are extensive grounds full of flowers and greenery.
The house itself has been converted into a hotel but preserves much of the character of the original building. The rooms are large but are cold at night, especially the bathrooms. This kept at bay by a log fire in the bedroom and by using the electric heater in the bathroom. A maid inserts a hot water bottle into the beds at night.
The food in the restaurant was good but the breakfast order is taken all at once and arrives all at the same time so that the hot courses go cold.
The staff were very helpful.
There appear to be 2 problems. Firstly the water in the bathroom was either cold or luke warm and despite asking the manager, this did not really change over 3 days. Secondly, the cottages which cost more, are not as nice as the cheaper rooms in the main block as well as being isolated. Overall a nice place to stay but let down by poor attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had the privilege of staying at Hacienda Cusin in Otavalo and what a wonderful experience we had! A friend of mine and I went for my birthday celebration and after our visit to the Amazonian rainforest, it was nice to relax at the hacienda. The tranquil overtones of the hacienda and friendly and accommodating nature of the staff really made us feel welcome. The rose plantation was magnificent, discovering the huge array of colors they offer in their beautiful bouquets was absolutely marvelous. On cold nights, the hot water bottles for our beds and lit fires provided comfort and coziness. And the food? Sublime, every soup, entrée and dessert they offer. The best part had to be the freedom to explore the grounds, art work, monastery, etc as you pleased, as if it was your own home. If you are looking for a relaxing, but cultural get-away in a beautiful area of Ecuador, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be in a prime location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
And what a privilege it was to have such an appreciative guess stay at Hacienda Cusin! Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millicen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Unique quiet part of the world. Beautiful grounds, a very different experience. We had a couple of power failures but candles provided and added to the experience.

Wifi poor

Would have loved to have stayed longer to walk around the town

Room Tip: Room 5. Huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for such a philosophical review; so many guests prefer total candle-light. Unlike the early '90's, electricity, rarely fails but Cusin has recently installed generators to ensure power will be maintained. Wi-fi in Ecuador is rapidly improving, as December's wi-fi upgrade is proving. Come back and stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in the monastery portion of this resort and after a long bus ride from the Amazon, it was amazing to enter our room to a blazing fire in the fireplace and hot water bottles in our bed. We ate dinner and breakfast in the beautiful dining room.....the staff was very kind/attentive and the food was great! The main house of the Hacienda had a gorgeous stairway to the upper level and was filled with lavish antique furniture. Fireplaces were lit in most common areas, which really added to the warmth and quaintness of this hotel. Wifi was available in the Library. The grounds are lush and filled with fountains, gorgeous flowers, walkways, etc. It was fun to simply explore. Amazing place to stay near Otavalo markets, although you have to take a taxi, as the hotel in on the outskirts of town.

Room Tip: If you have disability issues or cannot walk a long distance, request to be in the main hotel. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splindenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Such a complimentary and appreciative review is wonderful lot receive! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The room was comfortable and very clean. Since this was early October, our fireplace was lighted every night and beds had hot water bottles placed in the bed to warm them. Exploring the hacienda and monastery next door was delightful. Food was good with fruits and vegetables coming from their gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
MANY thanks for such an appreciative review. Please inform your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have traveled all over the world, stayed in places ranging from backpacker hostels with rooms separated by particle board to the Ritz Carlton. This place was my favorite. You enter into the flower-filled courtyard by way of two huge wooden doors and enter into another, more elegant era. The rooms are all stocked with textiles from around the world, heavy and ornately carved wooden furniture, and a wood burning fireplace. But that just scratches the surface of what makes this place so wonderful. The staff are there to pamper you: they place hot water bottles in your bed every night to warm it up, they start roaring fires in your rooms, and every possible need or desire is attended to within the Hacienda. We arrived there after a very busy five days in the Amazon, and it was the perfect place to relax before heading back home. This place truly holds a special place in my heart and I recommend it without any reservation.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
After such worldwide experience for you to choose Hacienda Cusin as your favorite is flattery indeed! MANY THANKS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
7.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
9.8 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
2.2 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
7.0 mi away
Hacienda Zuleta
Hacienda Zuleta
#1 of 91 in Imbabura Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cusin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cusin

Property: Hacienda Cusin
Address: Calle Chiriboga | San Pablo Del Lago, Otavalo 123, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Cusin 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel. A restored, 400 year-old hacienda with restaurant - organic food, sports facilities - squash, basketball, horseback riding, mountain bikes & games rooms, library, several acres of gardens. 38 Staff. Within 20 minutes of Otavalo's markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Cusin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cusin Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing