We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Expedition to Ecuador”
Review of Hacienda Cusin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Cusin
Ranked #2 of 29 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Expedition to Ecuador”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My family traveled to Ecuador for our Christmas/ New Years break and stayed in Quito and Intag before capping off the trip with a six night stay at the wonderful Hacienda Cusin. Despite being labeled a bed and breakfast, it has the feel of a rustic resort, which perfectly complements the beauty of the natural surroundings. The Hacienda is nestled on the edge of a small town, so we had the opportunity to venture into town and absorb the local culture, or head in the other direction and hike, horseback-ride and bike around the surrounding mountains. Inside the Hacienda we were treated to the beautiful restaurant and patio, and also the elegantly painted Monastery dining room. Me and my younger brother took full advantage of the two game rooms, which included foosball, ping pong and billiards tables between the two. The basketball court is surrounded by the sprawling gardens, which are home to two llamas. After dinners my family would make use of the extensive movie list, watching movies in either of the two small libraries, the conference room or the dedicated T.V. room. The rooms add to the experience of an escape from regular life, with all of our rooms being equipped with fireplaces and great views. The owner is very accessible and kind, and you could tell that you were in good hands while staying there. After enjoying all of the wonderful amenities that Hacienda Cusin has to offer, the last thing my family made sure to do was find the secret room in the Monastery that lead to a beautiful rooftop view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Many thanks for taking such time to express your descriptive and nostalgic appreciation of your vacation at Hacienda Cusin and your immense involvement everything. Cusin's staff were truly inspired by your enthusiasm and understanding of such an usual place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    94
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
129
187
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Hacienda is actually in Otavalo, close enough to be described as "in town." If you're looking for that type of experience, then this is a fantastic hacienda. It is beautiful, well kept and charming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Many thanks for your time to review Hacienda Cusin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After traveling all day from the Galapagos Islands, then 1 hour 1/2 drive from Quito Airport to the Hacienda Cusin, I was mesmerized by the beauty, charm and romantic ambiance of this hacienda. Every single person that we encountered at the Hacienda, was very kind, polite and thoughtful starting with our driver. The breakfast was great, the restaurant amazingly beautiful.
My girls loved the hacienda as we visited the llamas, horse stables and children's park on the premises. The only complaint was that the horses were not available to ride while we were there since they were out with the guide on a tour the days that we were there. Also, the menu at the restaurant is small, but it's meant to be that way since everything is locally sourced.

Room Tip: Ask for room 20 and ask for a room with a fireplace. They leave hot water bottles in your bed every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Guapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you so much for giving your time to write such a moving appreciation of the staff and of your stay at Hacienda Cusin. Please give advance warning of your next stay for horseback riding. Regresa pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in late December, crossing into the New Year. It was a great time to visit the property, as we were able to participate in the extravagant New Year's Eve dinner and activities. We were in room 25, which was very private as it had its own walkway for the last 100 feet. It had its own terrace and back door leading to, I think, a private garden.

It was very nice that the property brought hot water bottles for the bed, and lit the fires. One suggestion on the fire is for the person to get it ready, and let the guest light the fire. The fire typically was completely out by the time we got back to our room. We did have a problem with hot water- on the first day it ran out so 1 of us couldn't get a shower until after breakfast. We told the front desk and they said someone would look into it.

The grounds on the property were exquisite- they must have an extensive set of gardeners to keep up the lovely gardens. There were even a couple llamas on site. The overall main building and rooms were lovely, with quality details and furnishings.

More about the New Year's Eve- it started at 6:30 with local music, then a guitarist. The guests listened on the outdoor terrace near the library, where a local hot tea with liquor was served, along with some good appetizers. The owner introduced himself, and welcomed us; we appreciated the welcome. We then processed to the monastery's refectory for the dinner. Wow! The refectory was beautiful- with religious murals adorning the walls. Each table had beautiful flowers and the space was full of candles. The dinner was very good. We then had personal fireworks on the grounds. Following this, there was a dancing party, followed by a recommended trip to the nearby town, and the traditional burning of effigies at midnight, accompanied by a glass of champagne, more fireworks, and horns to toot. They even provided grapes at the dinner table for the New Year's ritual of eating 12 grapes before midnight to bring good luck. It was a great night and celebration!

I recommend the hacienda.

Room Tip: Room 25 provides privacy and a private terrace on the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for such a detailed description and appreciation of your stay at Hacienda Cusin, a special place during Christmas and New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We came to visit Hacienda Cusin in September 2013 and fell in love, so much so that we bought a house on the property. Yes all our friends thought we were crazy, but if you come here you will understand. Picture a 17th century Spanish estate brought back to its former glory with all (well most) of the modern conveniences you would expect anywhere else, But! you are in the middle of acres of gorgeous gardens surrounded by mountains and valleys as far as the eye can see. Every room is different and unique the staff are wonderful and pay attention to every little detail, the restaurant is fabulous and prepares everything from scratch with vegetables from the organic gardens just outside the kitchen window. If you read the other reviews you will see I am not making this up, and I encourage you to put this little piece of paradise on your "Bucket List" plus this is fast becoming a "Dream Wedding" Destination. And by the way this is Ecuador and your Dollars, Pounds and Yen go a long long way!

Room Tip: Ask for the "Hobbit House" it's out of the movies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shmelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
WHAT flattery! Thank you for your review, the epitome of comprehending such a complex place. We are so glad that you decided to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The three days I spent here were magical. The food, the gardens, the map with a secret door, the hot water bottles at bedtime........marvelous! And the owner was onsite chatting with the guests and sollicting their advice on how to make the stay even better.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for expressing what true magic is! La Familia de Cusin so enjoyed such words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The gardens and art were amazing, not to mention the 400 year old structures. Our suite was warm and cozy, contrary to what many on TripAdvisor have said. Fire was built promptly at 7 each night. Pablo, our dinner waiter was excellent!

We felt that the Hacienda was a bit too stodgy and stuffy for our tastes. It is better suited to older travelers (and we are in our 60s) that seem to prefer 5 star accomodations. It seemed more like being in Europe than Ecuador. We were also uncomfortable with the armed guards and the disparity between the town and the Hacienda. We prefer to mix with the local environment, not to be "protected" from it.

We also felt that it was over priced, given that dinner was not included.

Room Tip: We had a suite which also opened right onto the garden, There are rooms above the dining room, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your appreciation of Hacienda Cusin's landscaped gardens and extensive art collections. However, the thousands of young people who visit repeatedly will not be told that they are stodgy and stuffy!

The charming guards, a tradition in Latin American countries, who really are porters, appear to be armed but far unlike the armaments carried by north American and European police forces!

Cusin, a ten-minute walk to the pueblo of San Pablo, is flattered by your estimate of it being a 5 Star European hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
7.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
20.7 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
11.8 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
59 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cusin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cusin

Property: Hacienda Cusin
Address: Calle Chiriboga | San Pablo Del Lago, Otavalo 123, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Cusin 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel. A restored, 400 year-old hacienda with restaurant - organic food, sports facilities - squash, basketball, horseback riding, mountain bikes & games rooms, library, several acres of gardens. 38 Staff. Within 20 minutes of Otavalo's markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Cusin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cusin Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing