We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back in history”
Review of Hacienda Cusin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Cusin
Ranked #1 of 28 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madisom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stepping back in history”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This 1602 hacienda offers a remarkable feast - for the eyes and palate! The gardens and art collection are spectacular, luxurious, tasteful and abundant. Amazing history & the owners are happy to discuss and share the stories behind it all. The calm of a monastic retreat permeates the entire property, yet there is an excitement with all there is to offer. The restaurant serves high quality fresh food, really delicious and well prepared. Excellent bar and wine selections. I cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you so much for such an appreciative, observant and understanding review, especially the sense of your exploration your review. Regresa pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    92
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
128
182
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at Cusin and enjoyed our visit. It is a very nice hacienda. The grounds are gorgeous and the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. The food was also very good. The location is perfect for touring the area...and there is MUCH to see!!! Be sure to pay a visit to Miguel Andrango who has a workshop in Agato. We hired a tour company (Runa Tupari) to take us.

I do have a couple of things that I would say that aren't great. On this trip, we were in Ecuador for two weeks and we stayed in 6 different hotels. The shower in our room at Cusin was by far the worst of all of the hotels. The plumbing most definitely needs an upgrade given the prices that are being charged.

My other negative comment would be the laundry. We were charged $49 to do what likely amounted to two small loads. If we were in a hotel in NYC, I wouldn't be shocked but to charge that in a small town in Ecuador is a little ridiculous in my opinion.

Having said that, I would go back. It truly is a lovely place with lovely people.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtavaloHerewecome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Many thanks for taking such time to write your review, especially giving such recommendations by name. I apologize for your shower experience, discussed in a maintenance staff meeting. Problems can occur and when informed, staff correct them asap.

Cusin's laundry rates are stated, per item, including taxes, on all guest room laundry list. After some research such rates are comparatively on the low side. I'm sorry that you thought otherwise. Laundry machines, village or city, are expensive to purchase - particularly their import tariffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hacienda Cusin is an oasis of peace after spending time in a busy world. You will find amazing gardens filled with flowers, hummingbirds and tranquility. Cozy rooms with warm fireplaces, common areas full of history, great food and friendly people make this a true oasis. Staying at Hacienda Cusin was true experience in Ecuadorian hospitality and history.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
We are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay and understood the property's subtleties - which takes time! Many thanks for taking such time to write such a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The lush gardens, the delicious food, the luxurious and historic rooms and buildings at Hacienda Cusin combine to place you in the eternal present, a place that informs your every moment, your every experience. You visit Hacienda Cusin looking for happiness, but you get more for you are surprised by joy. There are activities for every age and interest. Management is always available to fulfill your every request and the nuances (e.g. bedroom fireplaces lit ablaze for you each evening) warm your mind, heart, and body. Stay at Hacienda Cusin when you visit Ecuador, it is the classic South American experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
To spend such time expressing your sense of place and time is highly valued by La Familia de Cusin. Thank you for such a sincere and detailed review. Regresa pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I very rarely take the time to write reviews, but Hacienda Cusin truly inspired me, compelled me to write one. It feels as if you are walking through another time, and the gardens are some of the most gorgeous I have ever seen - I felt like I was walking through a fantasia. This place has been lovingly preserved and it deserves to be maintained in its current spendor, so come and visit and go home with some truly special memories.

It absolutely is worth a special trip JUST to come here - and there is so much amazing hiking and scenery in the area as well. Fireplaces in the rooms, ultra-comfortable bed, warm and friendly company and a mini-heaven for the kids...Hacienda Cusin is magical.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwiandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
We were all inspired by your review, your understanding and appreciation and especially grateful for your time to express such feelings. Regresa pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the most beautiful place I´ve stayed at in many years, there is so much history attached to the hacienda, gardens that will take your breath away, excellent service, fantastic food and just an incredible sense of peace that surrounds the place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Call them direct. Don´t go through travel agencies as they will charge up to 7 times the cost of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for taking such time to express your understanding of Cusin and the many years of work La Familia de Cusin has taken to create it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a lovely Hacienda first established in 1602. It has of course had a lot of work done to it since then.Both my friend and I had great garden view rooms with en suite and an open wood fireplace.The fireplace is set ready to use each evening with additional wood outside the door. On request a hot water bottle is placed in your bed each evening.
The restaurant serves good food the staff are helpful and obliging and they can arrange motor transport to where ever you need to go. They have horse riding and there are pleasant walks.
There are Rose hot houses around the corner from the hacienda and it is well worth a look they export all over the world. Just amazing.

Room Tip: A Garden room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
La Familia de Cusin appreciates the time you took to write such an understanding review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
7.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
9.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
2.1 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
7.0 mi away
Hacienda Zuleta
Hacienda Zuleta
#1 of 93 in Imbabura Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cusin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cusin

Property: Hacienda Cusin
Address: Calle Chiriboga | San Pablo Del Lago, Otavalo 123, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Cusin 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel. A restored, 400 year-old hacienda with restaurant - organic food, sports facilities - squash, basketball, horseback riding, mountain bikes & games rooms, library, several acres of gardens. 38 Staff. Within 20 minutes of Otavalo's markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Cusin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cusin Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing