We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Sit in the Gardens”
Review of Hacienda Cusin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Cusin
Ranked #1 of 29 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Sit in the Gardens”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our merry band of travelers spent a night and a couple of meals at Hacienda Cusin in June. It was delightful. The food is excellent and oh... the gardens. Our kids went horseback riding and the adults took the opportunity relax, read and catch up on a little business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie20854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for taking time to express your appreciation of Hacienda Cusin - especially its food and the extensive perennial gardens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    94
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
129
187
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

However it is a bit cold and a bit pricey. The hot water bottle in the bed is a nice touch. Nice to chat with the Anglo-American owner. Great staff who will start a fire in the library or lounge if asked. Nice place to scout around Otavalo and Cotacachi and the environs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishonhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for your review. The costs of creating and maintaining such a large and ancient property are considerable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Hacienda Cusin was absolutely amazing. The food was fabulous, the rooms and grounds were absolutely stunning, and we had a wonderful time exploring and enjoying all of the unexpected treats that we stumbled upon. We spent our first day exploring the grounds, enjoying the flowers and haciendas, and looking for the "secret passageway" on the grounds. We then went on a hike and took a wrong turn. We ended up looking through the gates to an estate, at which point the gardener saw us, invited us in, and picked us some fresh fruits from the garden while showing us around.

We also went to visit the market in Otavalo, which was a wonderful experience. We were able to barter to get local crafts, and we all ended up going home with alpaca blankets, sweaters, and scarves, and other goodies at great deals!

Overall, we had a most fantastic time, and everyone at Hacienda Cusin was friendly, helpful, and pleasant. It is not a trendy boutique hotel with television in every room, but as long as you are okay with that, you will love it and want to come back! We couldn't have stayed in a better place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Your review was an experience in itself! Many thanks for taking time to express your appreciation of the staff and the complex property. Regresa pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embergirl
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I recently spent 10 nights at Hacienda Cusin and loved every moment spent there. My room was in the Monastery section and it was clean and comfortable. Someone set a fire in the fire place every night and I loved the hot water bottle in the bed. The staff were amazingly friendly, helpful, and fun. My every need was catered to. And the food...the food was outstanding. Delicious soups, freshly squeezed juices, fresh meat and vegetables, and of course, ahi served with everything! So many different areas to explore on the grounds, and the little rooms (library, bar, sala) were all wonderful to sit in after dinner to relax. The artwork, textiles and such add such dimension to every room and provide an interesting look at Ecuadorian history.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
10 nights! Thank you for taking time to write such an enthusiastic and appreciative review. And thank you for the inspiration your review created for us all. REGRESA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I visited Cusin about 10 years ago and absolutely loved the romantic atmosphere and character of the place. The hiking was also outstanding. We've just returned, this time with three children in tow (see, the romance worked!), and there have been a ton of improvements to what was already a wonderful property. We particularly appreciated the recommendation to hunt for the secret passage, which led us on a long voyage of discovery around the place (and I'll admit we needed to get a hint from the staff in the end). The kids were totally enthused about Cusin and we still are too. And, by the way, the rates are an absolute bargain compared to other high-end places in Ecuador.

Room Tip: This is a very old property, with lots of character, which means that each room is unique. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for such an inspiring and appreciative review, the sense of exploration, the joy of your family and for returning to Cusin and witnessing the many changes throughout the property. Regresa pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madisom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This 1602 hacienda offers a remarkable feast - for the eyes and palate! The gardens and art collection are spectacular, luxurious, tasteful and abundant. Amazing history & the owners are happy to discuss and share the stories behind it all. The calm of a monastic retreat permeates the entire property, yet there is an excitement with all there is to offer. The restaurant serves high quality fresh food, really delicious and well prepared. Excellent bar and wine selections. I cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you so much for such an appreciative, observant and understanding review, especially the sense of your exploration your review. Regresa pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at Cusin and enjoyed our visit. It is a very nice hacienda. The grounds are gorgeous and the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. The food was also very good. The location is perfect for touring the area...and there is MUCH to see!!! Be sure to pay a visit to Miguel Andrango who has a workshop in Agato. We hired a tour company (Runa Tupari) to take us.

I do have a couple of things that I would say that aren't great. On this trip, we were in Ecuador for two weeks and we stayed in 6 different hotels. The shower in our room at Cusin was by far the worst of all of the hotels. The plumbing most definitely needs an upgrade given the prices that are being charged.

My other negative comment would be the laundry. We were charged $49 to do what likely amounted to two small loads. If we were in a hotel in NYC, I wouldn't be shocked but to charge that in a small town in Ecuador is a little ridiculous in my opinion.

Having said that, I would go back. It truly is a lovely place with lovely people.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtavaloHerewecome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Many thanks for taking such time to write your review, especially giving such recommendations by name. I apologize for your shower experience, discussed in a maintenance staff meeting. Problems can occur and when informed, staff correct them asap.

Cusin's laundry rates are stated, per item, including taxes, on all guest room laundry list. After some research such rates are comparatively on the low side. I'm sorry that you thought otherwise. Laundry machines, village or city, are expensive to purchase - particularly their import tariffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
7.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
9.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
59 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
2.1 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cusin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cusin

Property: Hacienda Cusin
Address: Calle Chiriboga | San Pablo Del Lago, Otavalo 123, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Cusin 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel. A restored, 400 year-old hacienda with restaurant - organic food, sports facilities - squash, basketball, horseback riding, mountain bikes & games rooms, library, several acres of gardens. 38 Staff. Within 20 minutes of Otavalo's markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Cusin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cusin Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing