We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Majestic Andean Hacienda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Cusin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Cusin
Ranked #1 of 26 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Majestic Andean Hacienda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

Attentive & friendly staff, delicious cuisine, wide selection of activities & excursions, delightful owner, majestic setting, comfortable rooms, Hacienda Cusin has it all. It will always be one of my favorite destinations.

  • Liked — Attentiveness & friendliness of staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amonroe999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    87
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
125
172
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
424 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2007

Beautiful and peaceful place to stay.

The staff were very helpful arranging taxi to Otavalo market, horseback ride in the Andes, visit to raptor center, and our own private tour of a rose plantation.

Very nice gardens with lots of room to wander. Also, nice small villages nearby easy to walk to.

Food was rather ordinary and lacked the Ecuadorian flare we enjoyed so much at other stops. When I mentioned this to the owners' niece, she suggested we ask the desk to arrange for us to have guinea pig, one of the most popular dishes in Ecuador. Was tasty, beautiful, and even included the smiling head of the guinea pig.

Our own private room was large and very nice with our own gardens and plenty of hot water. We saved 10% by booking directly and using paypal for our deposit.

Otavalo market was a disappointment. We went on Saturday. Go early to minimize the tourist impact. Over 90% of the market is stalls catering exclusively to tourists. Rose plantation was interesting. 5 hour one way horseback ride in the Andes is a must do. To see more, visit my web site at [--].

  • Liked — Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Food was ok but nothing to rave about.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe NM
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2007

We enjoyed Cusin – very large and comfortable room, having a fireplace was a big plus as otherwise the room was chilly, staff very hospitable, food was better than we had elsewhere in mainland Ecuador (not fantastic, but definitely good); and they did well in arranging trips. Small minuses – we had booked the garden cottage, which I do NOT recommend (cold, unsuitably quirky in terms of poor light, steps, cramped bathroom …). Also in the room we ended up in (19), while it was excellent overall, the bathroom was cold. Would give it a 4.5 if TA allowed that. Gets a 4 simply because it isn’t in the “must return” category. In other words, nice ambience, good comfort, but not to the point of being exceptional.

  • Liked — Large room, charming setting
  • Disliked — Lack of modern heating
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaFeUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2007

We spent two days at Cusin at the start of our trip to Ecuador and it is an oasis of calm in the middle of the mountains with beautiful grounds - the perfect place to be jet lagged! We visited Otavalo for the Saturday market, which was brilliant, and also a couple of times for meals - taxis were only $5 even though it's a 15 minute ride. We also took a tourist train ride through the Andes and could have found even more to do if we'd had time. I would definitely recommend this Hacienda.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chick1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2007

I'd been briefly at Hacienda Cusin in 2003 while traveling on business, and I jumped at the chance to return for a week in March 2007. After about an hour+ drive from Quito on excellent roads through dramatic mountains, I reached Cusin late at night and was greeted by a snug room with a crackling fire, a plate of fruit, cookies and cheese, and a hot water bottle thoughtfully placed in my bed. In the morning I awoke to birdsong and acres of glorious gardens. It was even more picturesque than I remembered: hummingbirds and doves, greenery, flowers, and cobbled paths leading past walls and fountains.
Off to the regal main house to enjoy the antiques, paintings, and a delicious breakfast. My first day was Saturday so I checked out the very large market in nearby Otavalo. It's noted for its crafts but on Saturday also is crammed with locals buying bodacious vegetables, fruit, gadgets, livestock, and everything else they need, while backpackers haggle for textiles, earrings, and carved wooden items in Poncho Plaza. People around there are super-friendly and most seemed as yet unjaded by the busy tourist trade. It's easy to get back and forth from the Hacienda, either by taxi or in my case, for fun, the local bus (25 cents.)

The rest of the week I was there to write, and I can't imagine a more idyllic place to do it. It was so still and gorgeous, and the food was so tasty, and the service so attentive, that my biggest problem was choosing from among all the attractive and comfortable spaces to work: The library with its comfy armchairs, maps and books? The salon, with tea set out whenever you want it? The capacious verandas, where I could sit outside with the laptop and gaze at flowers and watch doves for my break? Oh, I had one other problem: restraining myself from striking up too many conversations with my friendly and often fascinating fellow guests. Back to work! Somehow, inhaling the fragrant air, I felt smarter, more lucid; and everything I wrote seemed better and more intelligent.

Some days I took side trips- one day a visit to Quito to see gorgeously restored colonial churches; a spectacular hike and boatride at Lake Cuicocha; a walk into the adjacent village where I caught the start of a parade of children, all dressed in soccer uniforms and each grade lead by a little girl in tiara and sash. Other days I explored Cusin's gardens and hidden places. Every night at sunset herders drive their small flocks of sheep and a few cows past the cobbled lane outside the hacienda, and Angelus bells ring, and the Imbabura mountain towers over the ruined colonial church. I'm sure I would have allowed myself to be completely transported off the planet by the beauty and peace, if I hadn't known a really nice pisco sour would be waiting for me in the bar beside the fire, to be followed by a good dinner with a sophisticated mix of local flavors and fine international cooking techniques. Lots of the produce is grown right at Cusin in a kitchen garden boasting rows of cabbages that would do Mr. MacGregor proud, planted right next to banana and lemon trees.

Don't come to Cusin if you want formica, and a TV in your room (or a phone for that matter), or if you want to pretend you're not in Ecuador. Do come if you crave atmosphere, peace, and a real sense of place. Cusin has it in spades, along with plenty of creature comforts. (and satellite TV and videos in one comfy salon, if you really must stay connected - there's even a fast internet connection available, and wireless planned for the library by Christmas.) There's a lot to do if you want to do it - a fine stable with an exciting selection of rides; hikes with and without guides, for all levels; side trips to a variety of natural and man-made points of interest like mountains, waterfalls, lakes, markets, and villages, and the variety of Quito, all easily arranged by the very competent, bilingual staff at the front desk. Or you can just chill out at the hacienda, which offers a world in itself.
I think it's also a great place for people with kids - it even has animals and a nice playground - but it's big with many different gardens and buildings, and honeymooners or people trying to write like me can find quiet space as well. While I was there Cusin hosted an exquisite wedding, complete with a rose-strewn path, and many of the guests stayed a few days and seemed to be having a ball.
The umbrella rate is an especially good deal -it includes all meals, unlimited use of many of the facilities (squash courts and so on) and includes a couple of hours of riding each day. It would be a sin to stay less than 3 nights, though. After a week I was stricken to think I had to leave- it seemed there was still so much more to do, both within and outside this tranquil and extraordinarily well-run oasis.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna.Mercurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2007

Hacienda Cusin is an oasis of tranquility within weekend driving distance of Quito Ecuador. The gardens are lush with exotic and familiar plants. The fireplaces make you feel warm and snuggly (ideal for a romantic getaway!) The property itself is located in close proximity to the famous Otavalo markets and many artisanal villages as well as great hiking in the nearby crater lakes of Cuicacha and Mojanda. If you are up for a big challenge , you can hike Cotapxi ( with a guide) or just chill out in the bar with a nice fire in the fireplace and a glass of wine.

The food in the restaurant is a good introduction to the local cuisine and much of the produce is grown on site. Lots of great soups are a starter for each meal.

The host, a retired science teacher, has tremendous knowledge of the local region (particularly textiles) and is an entertaining dinner companion.

I highly recommend Cusin as a feast for the senses!

  • Liked — The warm and friendly staff & the fabulous gardens
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2007

I first visited Hacienda Cusin in 1997 and returned in 2006 and 2007 for three visits. I love the place.

The gardens are extensive, with beautiful trees and flowering plants covering most of the property, plus a large area that produces fruits, vegetables, and herbs that find their way into the dining room. Meals are very healthful, with a tendency toward lighter fare.

The staff is very friendly - they're like a large family - and they make you feel welcome. One of the waiters remembered me after 9 years! The service is attentive without being overbearing. A staff member builds a roaring fire in your room every night - Bliss! An excellent massage therapist is available. The horseback riding is wonderful, with well-run stables and great trails nearby. The laundry service is very good. The transportation is excellent as well, with comfortable, safe vehicles and a first-rate driver.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well furnished; and the main hacienda building is filled with beautiful artwork. (The owner is a retired art professor.) Cusin is a work in progress, and I notice improvements whenever I visit.

Cusin is a great place to get away from it all, very peaceful and calm. If you're looking for a party scene or a pretentious atmosphere, then look elsewhere. On the other hand, if you want a comfortable, beautiful, and unpretentious place where you can enjoy the beauty of the Ecuadorian Andes, with side trips to the local markets, the Cloud Forest, and the Paramo, then Cusin is perfect.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank PaisaContento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
7.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
9.8 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
7.0 mi away
Hacienda Zuleta
Hacienda Zuleta
#2 of 85 in Imbabura Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
7.3 mi away
Las Palmeras Inn
Las Palmeras Inn
#6 of 26 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cusin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cusin

Property: Hacienda Cusin
Address: Calle Chiriboga | San Pablo Del Lago, Otavalo 123, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Cusin 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel. A restored, 400 year-old hacienda with restaurant - organic food, sports facilities - squash, basketball, horseback riding, mountain bikes & games rooms, library, several acres of gardens. 38 Staff. Within 20 minutes of Otavalo's markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Cusin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cusin Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing