We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent coffee”
Review of Daily Grind

Daily Grind
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$4
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: This terrific little espresso bar is right in the middle of Otavalo on Parque Bolivar. It serves the best coffee in Ecuador and fresh baked cupcakes and pastries every day. If you're lucky you'll be there when the zucchini nut bread comes out of the oven. It is served warm with whipped cream. The rum cake is like heaven on earth and worth savoring. There is a private garden behind Daily Grind where you can sit at tables and enjoy the flowers.
Targu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I discovered this place by accident, it's very small and there were many people around because of the saturday market, but I am so happy I found it! The coffee is great and the bagels are delicious. My husband got the nuttella crepe, very good as well. Good value and relaxed service. Can't wait to have breakfast there tomorrow. Awesome place, don't miss it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    28
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in South America”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I know it is a big claim but I have been in sa for 4 months and this little gem is just as good as the coffee I'm accustom to in Melbourne. Must visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenden F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Coffee so good I thought I was in Melbourne”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Fabulous coffee, fabulous service, fabulous location, fabulous bagels. I felt like I could have been at a little Melbourne cafe.

It was a great find. I HIGHLY recommend it if you love great coffee made by people with a passion for quality coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARossNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best coffee shop in Otavalo”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Placed on the corner of Sucre street and the Plaza Bolivar, this is the perfect location for a little coffee shop which is on the street overlooking the Plaza. The owners are so kind and friendly and they do great coffee, cakes and bagels. We had a peanut butter and jelly bagel - delicious!! Highly recommend it as a place to sit and watch the world go by.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBremner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, real coffee- what a gem!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

It was so good to find this place! We were wandering around Otavalo market, like most tourists on a Saturday and towards the afternoon a person's gonna get tired from all that wandering! It was sweet to find this place and take a much needed pit stop, although it was a wonder that we found it because it is a small cafe (blink and you'll miss it!), sitting on the corner before the town plaza. We were lucky to take two of the only three seats at the bar and enjoyed delicious coffee (made from espresso!) and hot chocolate, with Kallari chocolate to boot. The drinks were carefully prepared by the barista, a local guy who was also a proud Quechua. He was sweet to chat to, proud of Otavalo and Quecha, teaching us a few phrases- which is good to pick up seeing as there are so many Quechua speakers in Otavalo.

I'd highly recommend this place. My boy and I are from Sydney where good coffee is just expected but a real treasure (rare) to find in Ecuador, so this place was memorable. Real espresso! -with milk that isn't burnt/ cold, watery or over frothed. The cafe itself is sweet if you can get a seat and service is friendly. Yes, this place will give you joy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bound_to_ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daily Grind also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Daily Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing