We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ali Shungu Mountaintop Lodge
Ranked #5 of 28 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Corpus Christi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Romantic Trip”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed the last week of October 2011.

My wife and I arrived to Ali Shungu Mountain Lodge very tired after driving all the way from Mindo. We were very pleasantly surprised. Frank was very useful giving us directions to get there. The cabins are humonguous, very tastily decoraded and super clean. Flute Andean music was playing and the fireplace was sparkling with a very romanting fire.

The food was excellent and plenty, we had a little problem with a toilet and it was immeditedly resolved.

Overall very reasonable for the price, family enviroment, very safe and so reclusive, far away from the tourist trmoil of Otavalo. Still close to go to Cotacachi, Antonio de Ibarra and Otavalo itself.

Highly recommended. We have been visiting Ecuador twice a year and we are familiar with many places: Luna Runtun, Hacienda Cusin, Papallacta etc. But this place it always will be in our hearts.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
70
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My husband and I, along with another couple, visited Ecuador for a week, prior to embarking on a week-long cruise of the Galapagos Islands. Our time at Ali Shungu was a most gloriously relaxing and peaceful respite from the hubub of Quito and the small stresses of living--ever so briefly--in an unfamiliar country. As has been said in many previous reviews, the casitas are commodious, beautifully designed, decorated with local art and handicrafts, and utterly charming. My husband and I had our own casita, as did our friends. The vistas from the large picture windows are dazzling--beautiful, green hillsides, and massive craggy volcanic peaks.

We stayed three nights, and I wish it had been more--a week would not be too long. Getting to Ali Shungu from Otavalo is not for the faint of heart. I implore you to let owner Frank arrange for your transport to the lodge. He refers to the "road" leading to Ali Shungu as his "moat." Certainly, no one would drive the narrow, rutted dirt road as part of a Sunday outing! When you arrive, Frank is there to greet you, along with canine mascots Sara and Paco. Frank jests that guests must agree to spend at least an hour daily throwing sticks for Sara, one of the friendliest, sweetest, most indefatiguable yellow labs on the planet--on ANY planet. Paco lacks the retriever gene, but is equally friendly and companionable.

Breakfast and dinner at the main house are included with the casita, and the meals are delicious. Margaret, Frank's wife and partner, prepares gourmet Ecuadorian cuisine nightly. Breakfasts always begin with delicious fresh fruit and juice, and truly sustain you until the evening meal. After dinner, Jose Maria would come round and light our wood stove for us, as the evening are cool at the +/- 10,000 ft. altitude enjoyed by Ali Shungu. Later in the evening he would deliver a most welcome hot water bottle which made trying to get to sleep with cold feet a nonissue.

We had minor issues with hot water one day, and the wifi was tempermental in our casita during our stay, although it worked well at the main lodge. This was more of an Ecuador infrastructure issue than anything else.

I could continue for paragraphs. Suffice it to say that all the glowing reviews below mine are accurate, and then some. We did not opt to ride horses, but we did hike around the property, and each morning we awoke to see our personal llama calmly grazing outside our bedroom window. Top that!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My travelling companions and I were in Ecuador for fifteen days. While we stayed at some excellent hotels the Ali Shingu Mountaintop Lodge was the best of them all. What great accommodations, fine food, outstanding view, friendly pets and gracious hosts. Everything that you might want to do while there is efficiently arranged by the hosts Frank and Margaret. One of the highlights of the stay were the two horseback rides through the surrounding land, a truly relaxing experience with magical vistas.

We would stay there again in a heartbeat! In fact, the lodge is a reason to go back to Ecuador.

Tom

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband is from Ecuador and we fly in every couple of years and get the immeadiate family all together (16 of us) for about a week. We chose Ali Shungu because of its proximity to Quito and the fact that the owner Frank had the ability to rent out 3 of the houses at the same time for a week to us.

Frank picked us up in Otavalo (along with an extra hired taxi) and drove us up and up and up the mountain. I think the only thing I didn't embrace about our week there was the fact that we were so very far away from town. The narrow dirt road you take up the mountain probably shouldn't be traversed by car...you need something with a little bit of height. Once we got there...we loved it. Horseback riding...hiking and plenty of family time spent without televisions or phones. The houses are wonderful, huge windows and comfortably equipped with everything you might need...books and plenty of games. We spent 6 nights and were comfortable and can't say we found ourselves getting bored.

I do wish we had stocked up on groceries prior to coming up the mountain (as each house has a kitchen). Dinner was served at the main house...it would have been nice if they served all three meals there....or served meals to order since we were so far away from everything.

Overall it really was wonderful...the views are fantastic, the place was clean (even smelled of eucalaptus from all the eucalaptus trees around). I would go back again.
Angie

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieYepez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

A very charismatic and interesting owner, Frank, arranged for a taxi to pick us up at Quito airport for a very fair price, which was well worth doing. Once in Otavalo the taxi took us as far as it could go up the hill to Ali Shunghu, where we were met by a 4 wheel drive car to take us the rest of the way up!
It was more than we could have anticipated when we got to Ali Shungu. Just a wonderful setting on the mountain top that was fully appreciated in the morning. We went straight up to the main house for dinner (all included in the price) and had a superb 4 course meal. Barely had time to breath and rolled out of there stuffed!
Our actual lodge was huge - a decent sized house really. Great decor, superb shower, beds, kitchen (microwave etc..), table, living room, fireplace, HiFi etc... shame we were only there for one night.
Superb breakfast in the morning, wonderful mountain views, animals all around - Alpacas etc...
All in all just a superb stay and Franks hospitality second to none. He drove us down to the Saturday market and arranged a pickup later. He showed us around the early morning Animal Market which was quite an eye opener then left us to our own devices. The market was fabulous.
If you stay in Otavalo make sure you stay here...

Room Tip: 4 'Guesthouses' available. I believe they are all identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We spent two nights of our honeymoon at this superlative Shangri-La where we enjoyed unique views, terrific food and the company of Frank and Margaret together with their eccentric llamas. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and will remember it forever more. No hesitations, no doubts - just go!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismilsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Here are a few things I haven't seen stressed enough:

1. At about $85/night this is in my opinion one of the best values in all of Ecuador.

2. The windows are all 6ft by 12ft. It's a little bit like living in a fishbowl but with wonderful views out.

3. On weekend nights the surrounding locals party it up. The sound of the cumbia music wafting through the hills is wonderful.

4. The family of overly friendly dogs was welcome, since I had gone a couple weeks without seeing mine.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
1.6 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
220 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 28 in Otavalo
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hostal Dona Esther
Hostal Dona Esther
#6 of 28 in Otavalo
155 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
2.1 mi away
Las Palmeras Inn
Las Palmeras Inn
#4 of 28 in Otavalo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali Shungu Mountaintop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali Shungu Mountaintop Lodge

Property: Ali Shungu Mountaintop Lodge
Address: Imbabura, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador (Formerly Rancho Ali Shungu)
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers enjoy the tranquility and beauty of Andean Mountains and Culture in our warm and spacious guesthouses, surrounded by 40 acres of private gardens and forests ...all just a few minutes from the world famous markets of Otavalo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing