We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly Staff, Great Value, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Quinde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Great Value, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

The hotel's common area was warm and airy with a view of the beautiful courtyard. You will be greeted by a friendly staff who are always attentive to your needs. The owner was such a delight. She makes all her guests feel welcome. She is also very knowledgeable about the local area and culture. The rooms are nicely decorated with local decor. The bathrooms are large and clean but bring your own shampoo and hair dryer.
The hotel is conveniently located and a leisurely walk to many attractions. Since I love food, the best thing about this hotel is its restaurant. Cafe Pachamama has excellent food and great service. Oh, and beakfast is gratis (free) ! You will be served fresh juice (best tree tomato juice in all of Ecuador) , fresh plate of fruits, freshly baked warm bread and eggs cooked however you want it. Yummm !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoniB_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    50
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
147
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

From the moment you are greeted at the door, you feel at home. A relaxed, warm atmosphere with some of the best service to be found. The staff, in their native attire, cannot do enough for you; always there, always smiling,

The public areas are spotless, warm and inviting. Whether sitting in front of the fire listening to a local band playing traditional music or enjoying a bottle of wine on the patio overlooking the garden, the ambiance is one of easy going charm. The walls feature weaving and paintings from local artists. Tip: ask Maggie about "the weaver."

The rooms are, again, spotless -- a bit spartan as compared to larger hotels, bring your own shampoo and hair dryer -- but who cares? We heard no room to room noise. On Sunday morning we could hear the band at a nearby church, but it only added to the quaintness of the place.

Then, there's Maggie, the ever smiling hostess. Part of the family by the time we left. Whatever we needed or wanted to know, we just asked. "What can I do for you?" was her approach.

Don't bother going anywhwere else to eat. The restaurant is not to be missed and is reviewed separately.

A great little hotel. Look no further.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The manager and her staff were very warm and accomodating. The amenities were much more than adequate, making our stay very comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located to sights and shopping. Overall a great value!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lionelbuenaventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

This was my first trip to Ecuador and I relied heavily on the reviews posted on TripAdvisor to help me plan the entire trip. When I was looking at lodging choices in Otavalo, the TripAdvisor reviews for La Posada del Quinde clearly stood out as indicating that this was an exceptional place. So it’s no surprise that this review will also speak very highly of La Posada del Quinde. However, there are some negative things that I’ll mention so that people don’t come here with expectations that are too high and be disappointed. But certainly the positives far outweigh the negatives and I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

The number one reason I highly recommend this hotel is the exceptionally helpful and friendly owner and staff. The owner, Maggie, was truly terrific to communicate with when I made my reservation and in helping arrange for my transportation to Otavalo and returning to Quito. Although Maggie was out of the country during my visit, she sent several e-mails ahead of my arrival to confirm all the arrangements and indicate her regrets for not being there during my visit. Even in Maggie’s absence, her enthusiasm carried over through the friendly and helpful attitude of the staff at the hotel.

The second reason I highly recommend this hotel is the value you get. Overall, I thought the room rate reflected a very good value for the quality of the hotel. A tasty breakfast was included in the rate. The dining area is very cozy and decorated with works from local artists. There is also a purified water dispenser in the dining area making it very convenient to refill your water bottles throughout the day. We also ate one dinner at the hotel. Dinner was good, but I thought the menu was a bit limited. The grounds and landscaping in the enclosed back yard area of the hotel are beautiful and the views out of the rooms to the surrounding mountains are terrific. The rooms themselves are very nicely decorated. The bathroom fixtures were dated, but impressively clean. The mattress on my bed was well past its prime and needed replacing, but yet my friend commented that his mattress was very comfortable so I’ll call that issue a toss-up. I think you’ll find the rooms to be a good value for the money, but don’t expect five-star amenities. For example, our bathroom didn’t have a box of facial tissue, so either bring your own or use toilet paper.

A third reason for loving this hotel is the location. If you want to be a short walk into the heart of Otavalo for shopping at the markets and trying some local restaurants then you can’t beat the convenient location of this hotel.

The primary negative aspect of this hotel is the outside noise. All the other guests we spoke with also had noise problems in their rooms so come here expecting to hear noise from the streets around the hotel. The roads in Otavalo are mainly made from pre-cast concrete blocks. They look pretty, but they contribute to a high amount of road noise as cars pass by. Also, expect car alarms to be going off. The hotel is in a residential area and cars parked in the street frequently had alarms go off. I wear ear plugs to bed and could cope with the noise, however, my friend had problems getting a good night sleep. Also, on Saturday night there was very loud music lasting well into the early morning hours from some place around the hotel. So please come prepared to tolerate some outside urban noise. The single-pane windows don’t filter out much of the outside noise from the neighborhood.

Otavalo is a great place to visit. I highly recommend visiting the beautiful Peguche Waterfall (la cascada de Peguche). It is a good hour or longer walk from La Posada del Quinde so you may want to take a taxi there and then walk back. From the waterfall it is a relatively short walk into Peguche Village – famed for its renowned weavers creating tapestries, rugs, blankets, and clothing. The hum of weaving machines can be heard in the background as you walk through the streets. Jose Cotacachi's shops just off the main plaza sell beautifully crafted locally made goods far nicer than what you’ll find from venders at the Otavalo market. The Condor Park is another attraction not to be missed, but plan your visit to be there for either the 11:30 am or 4:30 pm shows. If you enjoy hiking, the hike around Laguna Cuicocha is spectacular.

Room Tip: If outside noise bothers you then bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We found La Posada del Quinde on Tripadvisor and decided to stay here rather than one of the haciendas, in order to be within walking distance of the town and markets. We travelled to Ecuador in March with our two teens. We were warmly greeted by Maggie and her staff. She had arranged a driver to pick us up in Quito, tour us through Mitad del Mundo and then continue on to Otavalo Friday afternoon. We enjoyed the live music at the hotel on Friday night and LOVED cruising the markets all day Saturday. Maggie also arranged a horseback ride and lunch at Hacienda Cusin on Sunday. She had some great suggestions on things to do but we didn't have enough time in the area. The hotel has beautiful grounds, very clean rooms, great restaurant, cozy fireplace and lounging area. The strong WIFI signal even worked in the rooms (which i did not find in any other hotel through our trip) not just in the public areas. The water was hot, hot, hot and we loved the giant bar of Jolly bath soap which we brought with us through the rest of the trip. There is water and tea available in the lobby all the time. The location is excellent for walking through town and through the markets. We really enjoyed this hotel, it always felt like coming home at the end of the day, very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

I found this hotel on trip advisor. It is a very nice hotel just on the edge of the area where the markets and shopping area are located. The hotel is very pretty and the hotel staff is nice. I met Maggie, the new owner of the hotel. She is American who has recently bought this hotel. The former name was Ali Shung. They have not updated the Loney Planet book with the new name but the information for this hotel is in listed under the former name. She was very helpful in giving me information for our trip via our email exchanges. She organized a taxi for me back to Quito.

The food in the restaurant was very good. The name of the restaurant is cafe pachamama. They have a good number of vegetarian options.

This place is a great value. You get the room plus breakfast for $40 single. It has hot showers and a heater in the room.

Today I walked all over town. The town is very nice with a rare mix of old and new. Tomorrow I will walk to the market. I would definitely recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogluverSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We found this posada delightful. Friendly, competent service. Beautiful garden setting and filled with local crafts. Adjoining Pachamama restaurant is #1 rated in Otavalo and serves lovely complimentary breakfasts. Owner/hostess Maggie can offer lots of helpful suggestions for things to see and how to get there. The posada is just a few blocks from the big Indian Market.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lingo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#6 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
0.5 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo EC100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing