We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Otavalo”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
newbury, NH USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Otavalo”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed a week at La Posada del Quinde, and we had a fabulous time. The location is perfect, an easy walk to the market and lots of restaurants. Maggie, the owner, is so helpful in giving advice on places to see, and the best way to get there. We were there for the saturday market, which is unbelievable! The rooms are large and decorated with local art. The gardens are just beautiful.The restaurant is adorable, and the food exceptional. It was a wonderful experience! We will come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexico25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
148
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hansville, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

What a terrific place to stay in the lively market town of Otavalo! The private garden area is just beautiful as hummingbirds buzz from flower to flower. The restaurant is a lovely gathering place with a cozy fireplace to sit by and share travelers stories. The experienced staff was friendly and attentive. Thanks again Maggie for making our visit to northern Ecuador extra special!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2011. Loved the location. The rooms were simple but really comfortable and clean. The staff is really really friendly and enthusiastic. They also helped us find good local food (other than ones listed on websites) and also arranged for transport and day trips. The hotel is close to the market, plaza, cascada de peguche (A nice 5 mile round trip run) and a short 20min drive to Cuicocha as well as the mountains

The food was excellent and the staff extremely attentive including making coffee on demand.

Maggie is an awesome owner and has an adorable dog called Pacha.

Some people have complained about the noise from the highway but we did not have any issues.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anandita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at LPdQ. You cannot ask for a better host, Maggie who provided us with lots of local information and made sure we were aware of local history and places to see.

I do not understand a review that complained about bad fruit juice for the morning breakfast because Maggie has gone out of her way to provide local produce. When I travel, I like to sample what the local's are eating. Maggie's tree tomato juice in the morning was a real treat! Yes, it's not orange juice, but durian is not a peach either.

The location of the LPdQ is great, it's a short (about 3 block) walk to the Otavalo market place. Be sure to visit both market places. Many miss the produce market and only see the dry goods market where some really nice local hats, blankets, etc. can be purchased. The produce market is more of a local's affair and well worth seeing what is grown locally. I bought tree tomatoes and some sapote. Of all things, rambutan is commonly sold (it's of Asian origin) there. Soursop is common too. I am sure you could buy interesting things to eat and have Maggie cut and serve it back at the hotel.

Maggie had many great suggestions for day trips from the lodge and arranged for reliable taxi drivers to take us to these sites at reasonable prices ($10/hour to have a driver on tap at all times).

The service was really good with one minor exception of not being noticed in the restaurant in the mornings. Staff was often located in the cooking area and we would sit at the tables waiting for long periods before we were noticed which really didn't bother us because we did not have a tight schedule, but this could be an issue if you were on a tour. I solved this problem by walking to the kitchen door and calling for help which came immediately. However, a video cam or some other way to let staff know folks were waiting in the dining area would be helpful. Our room was apparently located near a noisy water heater than turned on very early in the morning and woke us up the first morning. After we figured out the problem, we slept through it on and after the 2nd morning. The rooms are spartan, but clean and kept clean by an attentive staff.

Maggie inherited a menu from a previous owner. The food was generally good, healthy and care was taken to make sure all was hygienic so this was one of the places we could eat fresh cut fruit and salads without worry. Maggie is at work to improve the menu and allowed us to sample some of her experimental menu fare. I have no doubt that the menu will expand into something great in the near future due to Maggie's attentiveness to detail.

There is a large yard in back and if you find a shady spot it's a great place to lay back, enjoy humming birds and flowers and sip on an adult beverage.

The restaurant area-lounge-fire place is a great place to lay back and read. The wi fi connection is best in this area and there are plenty of comfy, private places to catch up with email, etc. near the fire place. The local fabric art adorning the walls is a very nice touch. There is a carboy of safe water as well as hot water and several kinds of tea available. We did not have to buy bottled water while at the hotel.

I recommend LPdQ to anyone who wants good value, clean rooms, a great location and a great host.

Room Tip: Noise sensitive? - ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzittin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

On the positive, the hotel looks and feels nice and well looked after, not too expensive. However, a couple of rather fundamental issues...

Whilst rooms appear quite nice...
...The curtains are totally inadequate, only cover half of the bowed windows, hence let in loads of light - if you like dark rooms your in trouble
...A number of the rooms (probably 50%) are next to the Pan America Highway (this isnt mentioned anywhere - the bus's honk pretty much through the night looking for passengers - if you like a quite room - again your in trouble. When we were there only about 20% of the rooms were occupied, yet they seemed to locate everyone in these rooms - makes me wonder if the other rooms away from the highway have "other issues"
..The food for evening meal, well it was described as comfort food, but was quite bizare, the pie was so - so and the rest of the food was hardly local and very basic. The owner mentioned they were thinking of a re-vamp!

Overall - Not an experience to remember

...Others have raved about the breakfast, but for me it was the worst breakfast I had during my trip. The scrambled eggs were dry (if you chose the fried eggs, all you got were two fried eggs), fruit was OK, but the bread was truly awful, kind of sucked the moisture from your mouth. Have no idea what the fruit juice was - but tasetd awful (whats wrong with offering an option or sticking with Orange Juice)

I truly believe that the hotel could be so much better, but they need to change and invest. The owner has been there now nealry a year but hasnt addressed some prety basic stuff.

I would say borderline 3, but giving a two as I believe quality of sleep in a hotel is parmount and hence based on this I have to stick with a 2.

Please also note that ...whilst the management are helpful, the staff barely understand any english (so you'll need your Spanish)

Room Tip: Stay away fro PA highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aardvark01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
posadaquinde, Owner at La Posada del Quinde, responded to this review, 28 May 2011
While I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay at La Posada del Quinde, I appreciate you bringing your concerns to my attention. I wish I had been able to personally address these things before you checked out.

Our hotel is indeed located near the Panamerican in the small city of Otavalo. Like all hotels in town, we have to deal with street noise and transit noise. Unlike the hotels in the center of the city, however, we offer a large garden and outdoor space to create the environment one might find at a hacienda. For the most sensitive of sleepers I would recommend staying outside of town where you can expect to not hear cars or buses or people. For those travelers who seek a more immersed experience within walking distance of the famous market, our hotel offers the best option--there is just an understanding one must have that they are staying in a small city and there may be noises that accompany that. We are going to be adding double-pane windows in this next month, as has been planned for the past several months as part of a noise-abatement effort to provide a better sleep experience here at the hotel.

I am glad that you found our staff to be helpful, despite feeling that their English is limited. Though the past year has been full of changes, one of the next things on the list is ESL classes for all of our staff who work directly with guests.

Some of the things that you were unhappy with during your stay are also on a list of upcoming plans to change—curtains which allow less light to enter the guestrooms, for example. Despite there being changes we’d like to make, there are things that we enjoy offering that some guests may not enjoy as much as others, like the local fruit juice that often cannot be found in the home countries of our guests (juices like tree tomato and naranjilla). We like to expose travelers to things that are not ordinary, and will soon be offering more local fare in our new menu as well.

The complimentary breakfast will soon be one of three options: guests can choose from eggs (or fresh cheese) and bread, yogurt and granola or oatmeal, all of which come accompanied by local fresh fruit, fruit juice, and a bottomless mug of coffee or tea. We hope that the options allow guests to feel even more at home here in the hotel.

I hope that someday you’re able to return to the hotel and see how we’ve continued to improve. Thank you again for bringing your criticism of the hotel to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The feeling that you are at home is immediate when you enter the doorway to the Posada del Quinde.The entrance is warm and inviting. This includes Maggie and various members of her staff who greet you with beautiful warm smiles. The best thing is you feel this way from the moment you enter until you bid the staff farewell. You really do leave thinking,” I wonder how quickly we can return.” Everything in the hotel is clean, well appointed. Walls are full of weavings from a local, world renowned artisan. The living/dining area is cheerful and bright with a wall of windows, which, as a bonus, overlook the lush gardens.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Internet access was excellent from the common area.
Posada del Quinde’s restaurant serves a nice variety of local and North American food. The intimate setting of the restaurant also gives you an opportunity to mingle with fellow guests. We enjoyed several meals at the hotel. We must tell you that our favorite menu item was the fresh made guacamole – to die for! Can’t forget the pineapple cake though. The kitchen staff shops at the market for pineapple in the a.m. and the cake is in front of you that evening! Delicious!!!
You are in the heart of the city so there is some night noise, of course. Not a problem. We slept through most of it but were awakened one night by revelers who were taking (as we were told next morning) the ‘bride price’ to the parents. What a treat watching the revelry of wedding party members from our balcony and listening to the accompanying music.
This hotel is an excellent choice if you are planning to attend the Saturday Otavalo market in the city centre (mentioned in most guide books). On most Friday evening’s at the hotel, you will get a special treat - a local family band playing lively regional music. How perfect right? An evening of music and then the next morning, on to the market. The walk from hotel to the market is a brief and easy 5 minutes. I am sure we walked that 4 or 5 times on our Saturday stay.
The real bonus is Maggie, your hostess and hotel owner. Maggie, fluent in Spanish, is very knowledgeable about the area. After a brief discussion with us, she was able to recommend and arrange local tours based on our interests and experiences. Her suggestions were excellent and made our stay all the more delightful.
I can recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in or near Otavalo. Main reasons for staying here are:
Hotel atmosphere – friendly, relaxing.
Staff – friendly, very competent and then there is the bonus of Maggie+++!
Location – 5 minutes to the market square.
Food – the restaurant (separate review), Café Pachamama, serves such good fare that you will want to eat most meals here. We noted that guests who had left for other areas returned just to eat
Value – excellent value

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtwrtwrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The hotel's common area was warm and airy with a view of the beautiful courtyard. You will be greeted by a friendly staff who are always attentive to your needs. The owner was such a delight. She makes all her guests feel welcome. She is also very knowledgeable about the local area and culture. The rooms are nicely decorated with local decor. The bathrooms are large and clean but bring your own shampoo and hair dryer.
The hotel is conveniently located and a leisurely walk to many attractions. Since I love food, the best thing about this hotel is its restaurant. Cafe Pachamama has excellent food and great service. Oh, and beakfast is gratis (free) ! You will be served fresh juice (best tree tomato juice in all of Ecuador) , fresh plate of fruits, freshly baked warm bread and eggs cooked however you want it. Yummm !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoniB_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
114 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
4.6 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#9 of 14 in Otavalo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing