We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy in Otavalo”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
redondo beach california
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happy in Otavalo”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We were made to feel so welcome here. Maggie makes a point to talk to all of her guests and takes the time to answer questions, make suggestions and help plan for day trips. We ate in the restaurant every night because the food and the atmosphere (fireplace, music, nice guests, etc) were great. We hung out on the couches/common area by the fire and read when we weren't out and about. The showers were super powrful and lots of hot water. Pacha, Maggies' dog, is around for any dog lovers. Maggie's staff respects her and she treats them with respect in return which was nice to observe. It's an easy walk to the main square where the market is and side streets full of restaurants. Also, it's an easy walk to the food markets. The animal market on Saturday was more impressive to us than the Saturday crafts market. Be prepared for mud and a full house of locals shoping for anything from guinea pigs to cows and pigs. We enjoyed our days there and would not have stayed anywhere else. Thank you Maggie!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartinq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
88
148
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

With just a short walk to the market, La Posada del Quinde is a great place to stay in Otavalo. The grounds are gorgeous with plants and birds filling the back courtyard. The restaurant was delicious. The owner and staff were super friendly and really helpful. With the bonus of free wifi, staying here is a must when visiting this amazing area of Ecuador.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

i discover this hotel here in tripadvisor... and everybody is right! is a nice hotel, clean, the food is great, the staff is helpful and friendly. in the social area they a have a great fireplace and a computer with internet. is close to the famous market (walking distance), but you can call a taxi if you dont want to walk. the ladies in the staff use the traditional otavalo dress and they look great!! is the place to stay in otavalo

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0renaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We booked a stay here on a Friday night so as to get an early start seeing the Saturday markets. It worked perfectly for that, but I wished we had planned to stay longer! The Posada was a beautiful restful place with good food and a helpful and friendly owner. They provided great material on trips, including hikes, to nearby attractions and I was disappointed not to have time to explore more. So, definitely go for the Saturday markets, but also leave some time to relax in the posada's garden and check out the local area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

In my opinion, Posada de Quinde is the best hotel in Otavalo for business or tourism. It is located within walking distance of the world famous market. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant features a fireplace, really fresh, local foods, and has traditional music on weekend nights. The patio and gardens offer a quiet, lovely spot after a long day of shopping. The rooms and gardens also have a gorgeous view of the dormant volcano Imbaburra. A major point not to be taken lightly is that there are heaters in the rooms. Most hotels in Otavalo are unheated and can get very uncomfortable on cold Andean nights! There is also a computer available and wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The new owner Maggie is a delight and the staff are helpful and charming..
The rooms are comfortable and there is plenty of nice hot water 24 hrs. a day.
The breakfast which is included in the price is great with fresh juice and eggs and rolls with butter and home made strawberry marmalade and hot coffee or herbal tea and fresh fruit.
A fantastic outdoor patio overlooking a large beautiful garden with views of the volcano.
We will definitely return to La Posada del Quinde.

Room Tip: We like the upstairs rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This hotel requires a detailed review - so here goes :).
Pros: Fantastic host. Maggie is superb. She is helpful, cordial and friendly. She helped organize cabs for the various hikes that we did. She was candid about which hikes needed a guide and which did not (thereby saving us money).
The hotel's decor is nice and Maggie sells many of the crafts on display. I found the prices to be very fair and did purchase a couple of items.
The food is wonderful. The breakfast was good and the juices were excellent. The restaurant does have a 10+12% (22%) charge over the cost of the price listed on the menu. We chose to eat at other restaurants in Otavalo - except for the one evening when there was live music at La Posada del Quinde.
The location to the market is excellent. We had a wonderful time at the market. We found many talented artists and while there was touristy stuff - there was plenty to see that was unique and interesting.
The room: We had a suite. It was clean and comfortable. It was also very large. It was expensive - in fact the most expensive one we stayed in Ecuador.
The main Con: I did not realize how close this hotel is to the highway. I am not a light sleeper and can tolerate quite a bit of honking horns and the like. That being said, I got almost no sleep in the 4 nights we stayed there. By the 5th day I was a bit zombie-ish. Just for a comparison point: I have slept through Californian earthquakes and traveled quite a bit in Asia.
I did not let this upset me because this was toward the end of our trip in Ecuador. We had only a couple more days in Quito - and there, I checked to ensure that I had a quiet room.
As Maggie has posted to other folks - the location is something that cannot be changed. Check where you're staying, while in Otavalo. Hotels on Sucre and other roads near Plaza del Poncho can be very noisy too. You are best off staying at a place outside of town, if you are sensitive to noise or cannot function without sleep (I can, for quite a few days, and had to).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
4.0 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing