We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong if you stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Quinde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong if you stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

From our first contact via email to arrangements for our departure 5 days later, Maggie the owner of La Posada del Quinde was pleasant, efficient, friendly and helpful! The facility is well located near to transportation and the town of Otavala, Equador. It is easy to visit surrounding sights and towns such as Cotacachi etc...

The people of this area of Equador are friendly and helpful to visitors as well. It is easy and comfortable to travel in this area.

The staff at La Posada del Quinde are wonderful and very good at their duties. Food, room cleanliness, grounds maintainence are all well done. Hot water and comfortable beds too.

If you visit here, you won't be disapointed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captmike04530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
148
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finlandia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Attractive hotel in the walking distance of the city centre. Clean and safe, friendly staff. The healthy breakfast is included in the price, you can choose from two options. Nice atmosphere, folk music and fire in the fire place. Owner is from Kalifornia and I could sense Kalifornia there, for exsample environmental issues and the waste management, they have compost there. And what comes to the values, they sell handicrafts in the hotel and the 100% of the money will be give to the artist.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 825Niina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Blocks from the main streets of Otavalo and the artisan and animal markets, La Posada del Quinde is welcoming, cheery, light, bright and very clean with comfortable beds and really hot water. The included breakfast (couple of choices) is very good and the onsite restaurant offers lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. Often the fire is crackling in the dining/living/bar as guests are making connections and comparing notes, or checking flights on the computer available for guests' use. The garden creates a peaceful, oasis ambiance as humming and other birds flit from bloom to branch. The inn's location is perfect for making multiple visits to the markets, excursions by bus or taxi or private driver to local villages, sights and attractions. The staff is all local, friendly and helpful. Maggie, the American owner, is very nice and great to visit with as well as happy to provide information and assist with arrangements. She arranged our private transport round trip from Quito with a great driver/guide - Fabian. Plan to be in Otavalo for the early Saturday morning animal market. We walked from the inn at 7:15 a.m., returned for breakfast, and then walked to the produce and artesanal craft markets - the animals are only on Sat. a.m.'s and the other market is larger on Sat. as well. It is an easy bus ride or with driver to Cotacachi for a day of leather shopping - quality and styles vary so shop before you buy. Visiting local artisan studios, hiking, riding horses, etc.-- all can be arranged. The Condor Park operates rescue and sanctuary for raptors in a beautiful setting. Hugs to Maggie and her little dog Pacha! Suggestion: Plan 2-3 nights at Posada del Quinde and 2-3 nights at one of the local haciendas for some nature time - a great blend!

Room Tip: The rooms are mostly the same with comfortable twin beds, nice sheets and warm blankets too! Choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCouple82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

My husband and I traveled to Ecuador in September, spending a week in Ecuador prior to our week-long Galapagos cruise. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at La Posada. Maggie was out of the country until the last night of our stay, but the warm, charming Ecuadorian staff took excellent care of us, despite their minimal English and our minimal Spanish. The included breakfast was delicious--the fresh fruit is dazzling. Dinners at La Posada's Pachamama Cafe were reasonably priced and very tasty. The dining room/lounge area was beautifully designed and decorated, and completely welcoming. A favorite memory is sitting around the glowing fireplace in the evening, relaxing and reliving the adventures of the day. We stayed two nights, and I wish that it had been longer.

Maggie was delightful, and very helpful, having arranged for a driver to take us to and from Otavalo from Quito when we first reserved our rooms, a year prior to our visit. William--our dirver/guide/friend--was incredibly helpful, an excellent driver, and just plain fun. He took us to Lago Cuicocha, the village of Cotacachi, and on an unforgettable visit to the home/workshop of Miguel Andrango, Ecuador's master weaver--all in one day!

The rooms are comfortably rustic, decorated with local weavings, clean, spacious, and altogether charming. The grounds are flower filled, hummingbird filled, relaxing, and lovely. Do not hesitate to book a room with Maggie.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

The purpose of this review is to confirm all the other "rave reviews" that have appeared on Trip Advisor. My 4-night stay at La Posada del Quinde was the highlight of a five week trip to Ecuador.

The ACCOMMODATIONS were comfortable and immaculate, with lots of hot water. We rented the "suite" which was very spacious, with wonderful views of the garden and the volcanoes. The RESTAURANT was excellent--an extensive menu, with many unique and outstanding selections. The STAFF was welcoming, friendly and very service-oriented. The PUBLIC AREA was charming--nicely decorated with local tapestries, a fire each evening, internet, and a live Andean music performance on Friday evening. The proprietor, MAGGIE, is a jewel. She is extremely helpful, making many suggestions for activities that we enjoyed. She referred us to a great driver who provided transportation from/to Quito, and also to other villages and scenic places in the "greater Otavalo" area. She arranged visits to workshops of various artisans in the area.

I recommend La Posada del Quinde highly, and without any qualifications. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is a wonderful hotel with a beautiful garden and a very relaxing place to stay in town. Since I am a light sleeper I usually sleep with earplugs and since my room was away from the highway I had no problem sleeping. I only booked one night to go to the Saturday market because I wasn't aware there were more things to do such as various hikes, etc. If I hadn't left all my clothes in Quito I would have stayed longer. I really recommend people book for a few days because there is a lot to see in the area. As a single woman I don't want to go hiking by myself but Maggie said she could arrange for a local person to go with me. So that's a great option to consider for people who don't want to go hiking by themselves. There's a fireplace and sofas and at night a lot of the people staying in the hotel hang out there and it's a great way to meet hiking or travel buddies or just talk to people and also meet Maggie. All the woman working there were indigenous women and it was really wonderful to see that because at all the other hotels I stayed, I only saw mestizos being employed. The hotel also is environmentally friendly and has a big water bottle in the common area where you can fill up your own water bottle and also encourages people to reuse their towels. If you want to do your laundry the prices are very reasonable and are charged per load rather than per piece as is in the case in some hotels. The restaurant has many local dishes such as quinoa and also many vegetarian options. I highly recommend checking out the restaurant even to people who aren't staying there. Also on Fri. there is free live Andean music which everyone is welcome to attend guests and nonguests.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toantarticaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, WI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Since I was traveling not just with my wife, but my three children, too, I didn't think a Bed and Breakfast would be the best fit. I was wrong. Maggie assured me (in response to my email inquiry) that she had a room that would accomodate all of us. She also mentioned that there would be authentic, live Andean music on Friday night.

The staff was very warm and welcoming, and showed us to "the Presidential suite" (a huge room that could have fit 8 people!) After venturing off to la Cascada de Peguche (the local waterfall - spectacular!), we came back for dinner. Maggie took our order herself and apologized for the wait (the restaurant was full, but the wood-fired pizza was well worth it.) Afterward, we listened to the live music, enjoyed the fire, and hung out for a while.

The next morning's breakfast was great - fresh fruit, bread, eggs, and fresh-squeezed juice. The world-famous Otavalo market is only a few blocks away, and we spent the day there before retrieving our bags around 5:30 PM and heading back to Quito.

Our stay at La Posada del Quinde was a highlight of our month-long trip to Ecuador, and I'm sure we'll be back someday. Maggie (the owner) adds a personal touch and makes every guest feel welcome. If you get a chance, ask her how she ended up in Ecuador from California!

Room Tip: I noticed some guests having to walk through the breakfast area to get to their room. Not a big deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
0.5 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing