We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I move in permanently?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Takoma Park, MD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can I move in permanently?”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I'm trying to separate the beauty of Otavalo and the Andes mountains from our wonderful experience at La Posada del Quinde so this review will not just gush on endlessly. However, that's difficult. Posada del Quinde is simply a Jewel in the Andes.

We arrived late at night and were checked in and ushered to our cozy quarters promptly. Awakening in the morning was just thrilling, as we had no clue when we arrived about the surrounding volcanoes that dominate the scenery. The hotel is a two-story design with wings emanating from the center. There is a lovely large patio off the dining room, surrounded by flowers and hummingbirds, but the morning mountain air might be a bit brisk for a meal there.

The hotel is stunning, not in a glitzy downtown Manhattan way, of course, but in the simplicity and functionality. The rooms are on the Spartan side, but that's much appreciated. They are spacious enough, meticulously clean, comfortable and decorated with the local woven fabrics for which Otavalo is renowned. Yes, showers and wi-fi were wonderful. You can sit on the balcony in front of your room and just enjoy the views and fresh mountain air. It's spring all year when you're on the Equator and 8,500 feet up..

The delicious breakfasts were served in a comfortably large and sunny room by traditional-clad women. Menu choices were varied enough for our disparate tastes. An ala carte breakfast menu is also available.

The evenings get very cool in the mountains and guests are welcome to lounge in oversize furniture by the large and well tended fireplace while they browse the magazines and travel books. Maggie, who claims to be new at the hotel business but has the maturity and demeanor of a very relaxed and seasoned pro, could not have been a better host. She is very knowledgeable about the area and offerings. The hotel is located midway between (and walking distance to) the Saturday morning Animal Market and the World Famous Craft Market. You probably won't buy much at the animal market unless you have room for an alpaca in your luggage, but it is a truly local scene worth visiting. Never before had I seen people walking a pig on a leash down the street. So that's how This Little Piggie Went to Market!

The craft market is South America's largest indigenous market. The woven goods are not to be missed. Bring empty luggage to haul away your treasures! Maggie laid out an itinerary that let us take advantage of both markets, as well as advice on the Raptor Sanctuary, hiking, local restaurants and additional sights. Even when she seemed to be heading somewhere with purpose and determination, there was nothing more important that stopping to talk with us about our visit. We felt 300% at home and not at all like a number.

The hotel's restaurant, Pachamama Cafe, was much better quality than the other places we tried locally, even though we are fans of local food when we travel. Food is fresh, well prepared, combining traditional Ecuadorean dishes with the refinements of California cuisine.

You cannot go wrong booking here. In my humble opinion, you can skip Quito and visit just Otavalo, Cuenca and the Galapagos for the vacation of a lifetime. And many thanks to Maggie for making our stay so comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: Both wings are near streets but the town goes to sleep early, so noise should not be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry_In_Takoma_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
90
148
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

While our room was not much, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the cafe and sitting area warm and comfortable. The food is very good; you may want to mix this somewhat westernized cuisine with other more local fare. Almost everything is within walking distance. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The old Spanish ranch has been turned into a hotel and it is a cool place to stay. The rooms are clean and has the amenities you would expect. Food is average, but the owner is knowledgeable about the town. My wife and I stayed at her hotel for a night and don't have any complaints. There is some road noise, but it isn't bad. The region is different and reminded a little of the Southern Rockies. The people are proud and independent. The hotel changed names with the last year or so (our book had it as something different), but the cab driver remembered the old name.
Joe and Holly

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 days in November 2011. The public areas of the hotel are first rate as are the rooms. The hot water "actually" works as does the WiFi service (this isn't always the case in Ecuador). Food is excellent. The staff is superb and they go the "extra mile" to help visitors out with a variety of support issues.

I commend this place highly. We will definitely stay there again. Thanks Flor!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverTreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix AZ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We arrived at Otavalo not knowing quite what to expect. Flor, the assistant manager was extremely helpful in arranging our plans and making our stay comfortable and relaxing. This hotel is truly shows the love of its owner and its concern for its guests. Beautifully done, very clean, very comfortable, and the food was excellent. My wife is gluten intolerant and many restaurants do not present many choices for her. The menu here was varied and even included several vegetarian dishes that my wife was able to enjoy.

Also reasonably priced. i recommend Posada del Quinde to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: many rooms, including 2 suites that will accommodate up to 8 to 10 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medicinemanAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at La Posada del Quinde our first three nights in Ecuador. This hotel was a quiet, warm, and friendly place to stay while visiting Otavalo and the neighboring towns. Maggie and staff made our stay feel like we were at a home away from home. A fresh fire was made every evening in the lounge fireplace that made for a relaxing atmosphere. The outside sitting area of the restaurant was scenic and peaceful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a safe and nice place to stay while visiting Otavalo and the neighboring towns.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seatte
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. Many plusses: accommodations were very clean, food was delicious and plentiful, staff was friendly and helpful. Maggie is a joy. It was easy to walk from the hotel to the markets. Downsides were minor: beds were fairly hard and uncomfortable and the room was cold, even with the oil space heater. Consequently, after a shower, it became pretty damp. Nonetheless, we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMMSeatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
118 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#3 of 14 in Otavalo
143 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
#12 of 14 in Otavalo
12 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing