We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Ecuador!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Ecuador!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Absolutely loved the accommodations. The people at the resort were all so friendly and helpful and could not do enough to help make our stay special. They helped point us in the direction of local stops to enjoy. The hot water bottles at night were an extra special treat for our feet! Overall one of the best hotels we have stayed at in the whole world!

Room Tip: Suite was amazing with lots of sleeping space and a kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
90
148
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our stay at La Posada del Quinde was absolutely perfect. Maggie, the owner and her amazing staff did everything within their power to make our stay delightful. They went overboard. The views of the volcanoes & the beautiful gardens are stunning. Not to mention the premier restaurant of Otavalo right in our own Hotel. What a great surprise that was! One of the best hotels in Ecuador. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Windows at the back overlooking the garden & volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katem999900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Otavalo was the swan song of our Ecuador experience and Las Posada del Quinde served as a wonderful springboard for our return to North America.

It was indeed a pleasure to be a guest of the hotel for three amazing days and we thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations, the staff, La Pachamama Restaurant, the Otavalo locale and its people. The natural fireplace in the common area followed by the evening hot water bottle for bedtime comfort was a special treat.

We were treated to a terrific evening of Andes music from local musicians to highlight the amazing menu of La Pachamama Restaurant from which we sampled every item. Everything from the menu, including the service, was exquisite.

The trip in the hotel van from Otavalo to the Quito airport (1.5 hrs) was very pleasant and comfortable (interestingly the trip to Quito from the Quito airport also took 1.5 hrs).

A trip to Otavalo and La Posada del Quinde is a must for any traveller to this beautiful country.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, IA
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of November 2013. The hotel is situated a short walk from the Saturday market and with in an easy walk to many restaurants and shops. The owner Maggie is a great hostess and she is very fun to talk to as she has traveled extensively. Don't forget to say hi to Pacha "the Andean Fox". An extremely friendly, and energetic dog. The rooms are basic but extremely comfortable and the staff will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable....if you need anything at all, all you need to do is ask. It is very evident that Maggie takes very good care of her staff. The fire place is fantastic in the evenings and, as has been stated many times, the food at their restaurant is great. All in all, we would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowa2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

How could any place be more relaxing than one where you can look out the picture window in your room and see hummingbirds flying, fliting and feeding. The terrace and large garden are beautiful and can be viewed from all rooms. The rooms are basic but extremely comfortable. A space heater keeps you cozy in the evening and you can even have a foot warmer for your bed. The lobby, with it's large overstuffed chairs and couches, has a huge fireplace kept well stoked from late afternoon until late evening. The restaurant sits between that large fireplace and the terrace. Meals are served all day. Breakfast is included with your room and the menu for the balance of the day is extensive and included many vegetarian items. I stayed at the hotel for four days and the food was so good that I did not venture out to another restaurant. Also, check out the exquisite weaving and other art found throughout the hotel. Maggie, the owner, and her assistant side-kick, Susy, were wonderful, involved hostesses. The staff, as a whole, was friendly, helpful, gracious and fun. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolderbrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Only spent the one night with daughter, lovely comfortable clean room. Common areas are also charming as is the beautiful garden and terrace. The views are a bonus. In house restaurant fantastic with great vegetarian options. The staff and Maggie were delightful, helpful & friendly.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mmmm1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otavalo, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Tandana Foundation frequently has volunteer groups stay at La Posada del Quinde, and we have nothing but fantastic things to say about the hotel and its staff! The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and the food is great. Posada's staff is truly so warm and welcoming to every guest, that you can't help but feel right at home. Maggie and Carol are the best, and we are lucky to call them our friends. Thanks for the great hospitality Posada!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandanaFoundation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
118 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#3 of 14 in Otavalo
143 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
#12 of 14 in Otavalo
12 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing