We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis mid trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Quinde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“An oasis mid trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I requested a room with just a few days' notice and Suzy was able to accommodate two of the three nights requested. She was very prompt on emails and when asked, suggested an alternate hotel for the last night and made the booking for me. She met me upon arrival and registration was quick and efficient.
I had asked for a quiet room, and was given one close to the main lounge area on the main floor. I questioned the quietness, but found it to be as quiet as could be expected. The Posada sits on a corner of two streets and is built in an L shape so every room would get some street noise. Though not provided in my room, I learned they do provide ear plugs. I had my own, and these helped for a good night's sleep. The professional photos are a little deceiving making it look bigger than it is, but the smaller size lends to the comfort of the place.
There were not many guests the nights I stayed, but would be sold out with groups many Friday nights for the Saturday market.
Everything was very clean and well maintained. I really liked the local weavings and art work. The gardens were well maintained and I took numerous pictures. I could even do some birding in the garden, but for some reason there were no hummingbirds at the feeder when I was there. A little disappointing, but most likely no one's fault.
Maggie is a pleasure to speak to and has done a great job with the inn. They have a composting program for the waste that doesn't help feed the staff's pigs.
It is a little away from the Market, but about half way between Plaza del Ponchos and the animal market. Easy walking distance to either. If you need a taxi, they are $1 for anywhere in the town.
I arrived quite tired after numerous strenuous days of travel and birding, and left quite renewed. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiltingmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
148
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

La Posada del Quinde was a wonderful place to stay. If I were to return, there is no question that I would stay with Maggie and her staff again. They were all extremely helpful to myself and the group I was with. They assisted with appointments, taxi rides, and were very knowledgeable about all of the cultural experiences available around the town. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The courtyard was absolutely amazing! The group I was with and I often used it for relaxing during our afternoon siesta. All around it was an amazing experience at the hotel, the staff was great and friendly, and it is within walking distance of all of the attractions of the city!

Room Tip: The suites had full bathroom, living room area looking out on the beautiful courtyard, a separate be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our group worked hard all day doing service work, and it was just a wonderful place to come back to and relax. The showers were hot and the rooms were cozy. It was nice to have that Ecuadorian feel while also feeling comfortable in one's surroundings. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waite Park, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The staff was friendly and the location of the hotel was within walking distance of the market and grocery store. It was safe, clean, and very comfortable. The room was fairly large and very accomodating to our needs.

Room Tip: The four person suite is very large with a family room, dining area, kitchenette, four twin beds, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

La Posada del Quinde is a wonderful hotel to stay at in Otavalo! Maggie is very knowledgeable of the area and the staff will do everything to meet your needs. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable. The staff are friendly people who make sure all our needs were met! It is wonderfully located within a few blocks of most major attractions in Otavalo. Can't wait to return to this establishment!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvalerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have lived in Otavalo for 6 months, and the Posada del Quinde is an oasis for me. The delicious and vegetarian-friendly food is a great treat, and Maggie and the staff and so friendly and helpful. When my family came to visit me, we all stayed at the Posada del Quinde and we had an incredibly spacious room with a view of the beautiful gardens. The location is fantastic, right outside the center of town, and is a great refuge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The new owners have changed very little and that's a good thing. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, excellent dining room, beautiful garden. the service is friendly and excellent. A wonderfully tranquil place in a busy little town. highly recommended!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hugh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
0.5 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing