We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Garden Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Quinde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Garden Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very nice hotel in Otavalo. The rooms surround a lovely garden, so all have a garden view. Rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated with indigenous rugs (for sale if you are interested). The staff was very nice and helpful. The restaurant was good (one of the better in town), and one night featured live Andean music. Very nice breakfasts are included- fresh juice, fruit, coffee, eggs. Plaza des Ponchos is 3-4 blocks away.

Room Tip: All equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca_G8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    50
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
147
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel and were very pleased with the warm ambience and homey feel of the whole place. The lobby, which is a combination dining and lounging area, is warm and inviting, with what seems to be a continuous fire in the fireplace, lots of local artisan items on the walls and friendly and helpful staff, not the least of whom is Maggie, the priopietor, who is most helpful and a real cheerleader for the area and surrounding environs. The garden is lovely and filled with birds and flowers. Our only regret was that our stay there was so short.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here as part of a "package" and were extremely pleased with the accommodations. Upon checking in, we changed our room due to desiring a different bedding choice and they were more than willing to make things correct for our needs. The first night we ate there as we were just too tired to go out and find another place to eat. The food was very good and we decided to eat there the second night as well. Every one seemed very accommodating to our needs and wants. Maggie was extremely welcoming and helpful. My husband is gluten intolerant and Maggie made certain that each morning there were gluten free (Quinoa) pancakes for him to eat. The regular menu also had that option. During our stay, there was a baptism party across the street from the Posada. The party was extremely LOUD--louder than ear plugs could stop. The staff was willing to have us sleep in a different room for the night. The following night, all was quiet. The grounds are very nice and offer a sense of calm. It almost seems like an oasis and hard to believe you are in the midst of the town.The location is @ 2-3 blocks from the market and this makes getting there on foot easy as well as bringing back wonderful purchases and then going back for more. It is also far enough from the market to not pick up the noise. As I mentioned as well as others, every one there was trying as hard and they could to make certain that all things were taken care of and that everything was right with your stay. There are also art work on the walls from local artists which are for sale.We had an issue with wanting to change a time a guide would show up and the front desk made numerous (!) calls to try to remedy this for us. This was something they did not have to do however, they willing did it to help out. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Enjoyed our room, food, staff and impeccable wifi!

Maggie ensures you have a wonderful stay and I think she has set up a 'gem'. The staff were always asking if you needed something. And I did need a tea now and then!

The garden was so relaxing but beautiful with the birds.

they stored our luggage for a few days as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50somethingscanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just came back from staying at La Posada del Quinde for two weeks. It was a very nice stay in a very clean and friendly property. Beautiful garden with lots of Hummingbirds, great guest rooms, excellent food, very good and attentive staff and a super Innkeeper who could give great suggestions for places to see and visit. Just a couple of blocks from the world famous Market featuring many fabrics, leather goods, hats, shirts, skirts and other goods produced by the Indigenous folks in the area (got a huge, long and beautiful woven tablecloth with Ecuadorean designs for just $25).
La Postada del Quinde is the best place to stay in Otavalo - I will return here without a question!

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were very nice but the Suite on the second floor is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterG089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights at this wonderful hotel in Otavalo. It has an old Ecuador feel to it. Reminded me of the pensiones I used to stay in when I lived in Ecuador in the 70's. The staff was cheerful and hard-working which is typical of the Otavalans. We really had fun talking with Maggie, the owner, who is also cheerful, hard-working, but laid back at the same time. The food in the restaurant was terrific and the gardens were great. We'll definitely go back the next time we're in beautiful Otavalo.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alto Boquete, Chiriqui, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This fifteen room hotel is a model of customer service for South America. The locals who work here are fantastic, always with a smile. The food was very good. The owner very supportive of the staff and the Otavalo and Cotachachi shopping left us nearly broke but with all the presents we needed for friends and family. The hotel gets a new water system in late April, 2014, and that will make it even better. The Saturday Otavalo maket it not to be missed and the leather available in Cotachachi was everything we were told. Great news=most everyone in the markets and stores will bargain, some more some less. The bargaining in the open air market of Otavalo is expected. The dated room decoration, bathrooms in need of an update, would be the only drawbacks but our bed was very good. This is a jewel where we did not expect it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#6 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
0.5 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo EC100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing