We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again :)”
Review of Hostal Dona Esther

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Dona Esther
Ranked #6 of 28 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would stay here again :)”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel has a nice rustic "Old Hacienda" theme to it.
We where allowed to switch rooms to a room with one big bed after being told that the only room available was one with two small beds the first night. We stayed here for the Saturday Market and had a bit of trouble getting a reservation. Ended up booking online to circumvent the receptionist who wouldn't make a reservation for us without full payment transfer. Apparently people in Ecuador make reservations over the phone only not to show up.

Our hotel experience was mostly positive even though this place seems like it could use a renovation on the room interiors especially in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Stayed in both, street front and inner court rooms and both seemed as quiet even through Saturday Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    55
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a great stay at Dona Esther. It advertised many of the same things as other places but the difference was everything worked! The hot water was really hot, the wi-fi was very reliable... the room was cosy and comfortable and I also appreciated all the useful travel information. The location's great, just a few blocks from the main markets and right near a central plaza. The hotel also has a great character, with lots of plants and a central courtyard. The only small negative is that it was a little expensive compared to other places we stayed in Ecudaor.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catlettsburg, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at Dona Esther for eight years. It is the most AMAZING place to stay. The owners, Arthur and Wendy are wonderful, the staff is courteous and helpful, Lucy is GREAT, always trying to meet the needs of all their quests. I can't say enough good things about this hostal and although I can't go this year, I plan to return in 2015 and I CAN'T WAIT... Best wishes to all ... Judy Kruger---Kentucky

Room Tip: There are NO bad choices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks Judy! Sorry to hear you won't be here this year, but we're looking forward to next year then!
Best regards, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

At $49 a night for two during May 2014, this was a find. Rooms are spotless and cozy, and location is one block off a vibrant public square and 7 minutes' walk from the central crafts market. When my wife got sick from a bout of food poisoning (from another restaurant), the staff made her a special tea for her nausea, and then fetched a prescription for us. The Dutch co-owner then offered to set us up with his personal doctor in town. When we needed to stay longer to catch a 6 p.m. taxi to the airport (which he arranged), they let us stay free for five extra hours in our room. The restaurant on site is a bit pricy compared to the rest of the field, but the food is a cut above. We'd recommend the chocolate crepe for breakfast. You can stow your passport and credit cards with the hotel safe, and be free from any paranoia about pickpockets and the like while browsing through the market. We came early to assure a place before the Saturday market. But that turned out to be unnecessary, as tourism slows in the rainy season in May. On Saturday the market fans out in all directions from the main crafts market, and all the streets are filled with stands and individual peddlers. While the Saturday market experience is worth scheduling your trip around, do visit Otavalo on other days if that's all you can spare, as you can find whatever crafts you desire at the everyday market.
Steve Law
Portland, Oregon, USA

Room Tip: Upper-floor rooms give you a view of the street action below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is the best place to stay for location, accommodation price, service and food in Otavalo!
Always clean and kept up, the simple rooms are charming. The staff and owners couldn't be more helpful or kind! And the view from the roof top is lovely- beautiful mountains by day and the church is lit up by night. After a day of exploring I feel like I'm going home to relax. I stayed last year and it was great to go back this year. They even remembered us and one of the girls commented on my Spanish being better- not that you have to have it they can help you if you speak English! I highly recommend staying with them.

Room Tip: I need a firmer bed and prefer the twins to a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much, we're always happy to have you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogersville, MO, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Been coming here approx twice a year for nearly 15 years. My very first trip to Otavalo back in the 1990's I started out staying at another hotel that was not satisfactory. Moved to Dona Esther and been with them ever since. Quaint, relaxing, and clean with an absolutely great staff. The owners are Dutch that speak fluent English, Spanish, and some other languages as well. Most of the staff have been there for years and are so very very helpful and friendly. They always make me feel like I am coming "home". Very trustworthy - have never had a problem of any kind. Easy walk to the market. If you buy too much at the market that you can't carry it back, a taxi will take you back for only $1. Front gate is locked at the entrance (just ring the bell) for security. Beautiful garden courtyard in the middle and in the front as well. Sit out there and enjoy a beer or glass of wine. Attached to the hostal is the restaurant with a clay pizza oven that makes great pizza. Many other food choices are fantastic as well. See my review of Restaurante Arbol de Montalvo for more review regarding the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were very happy with our stay at this inn. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. The location was wonderful- very close to markets, restaurants and shops. Management was helpful and very friendly. Our son met us for part of the stay and in a mix up, the taxi driver who took him to the airport was paid twice- once in the car, once by me on the bill. The hotel called immediately to tell me about this error and credited me back the over payment on Paypal. I probably wouldn't have even known if they didn't catch it. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I thought it was a good value..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesteve252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
2.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#9 of 14 in Otavalo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 28 in Otavalo
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Inn
Las Palmeras Inn
#4 of 28 in Otavalo
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sumak Wasi Suites Hotel
Sumak Wasi Suites Hotel
#11 of 28 in Otavalo
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dona Esther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Esther

Property: Hostal Dona Esther
Address: Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Esther is a small colonial style B&B in the center of Otavalo, near the famous Saturday crafts market and all other activity. With only 12 rooms and a family room for 4 on the top floor, we can keep it personal. Your room has a view on the green inner court yard, so you can take a seat outside your room and enjoy a glass of beer or wine after a day of activities. Our restaurant with a delicious and inventive menu is just downstairs, our reading room has enough books to buy or exchange and the Wifi is free for guests. A choice of breakfasts available. Restaurant closed on monday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing