We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great escape into the rural countryside of the Ecuadorian Andes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Luna Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great escape into the rural countryside of the Ecuadorian Andes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights early in our three week visit of Ecuador, and liked it so much we came back for two more nights at the end of out trip. We splurged!? And spent $42/night for ensuite B&B with fireplace. And it was needed! The temps drop to seemingly near freezing each night.

During the day we enjoyed the hikes around, and the walk down into nearby Otavalo, especially for its Saturday market day. During the evening the camaraderie with visitors from all over the world around the fireplace with food and drink in the main lodge was unmatched with anywhere we've been.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    16
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
35
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just spent a weekend here. The place is beautiful and located on a quiet hillside with amazing views. The staff were very friendly and it was a very relaxing place. We stayed in the blue room which cost us $32 for 2 people (w/breakfast) and we had a shared bathroom with 1 other room but the room was unoccupied. The shower had hot water which was very nice since it gets a bit chilly at night.

We were in a little building with 4 rooms but 2 of the rooms have their own bathrooms and a fireplace while the other 2 rooms shared a bathroom and did not have a fireplace. Our room was cozy (and very clean) with a little heater that was provided, we were plenty warm. The main house is nice with a dining room and a little TV/game room. The food was decent and the staff were very friendly. From the hotel, it was about a 15 minute cab ride into Otavalo ($4-5) and you could walk but it would be tough coming back since its all uphill. There are 4 friendly dogs on property that loved to beg for food, but they weren't aggressive. At night, the fireplace kept the dining room warm. They also have a dorm room which I checked out (it was empty) and it was nice but it was chilly in there and it didn't look like they had a heater.

From the hotel, we walked about 30 minutes to a nice waterfall, went into town to check out the animal and craft market, and took a cab to lake Mojanda for some hiking. Its a beautiful place for peace and quiet but just know that you are out of town and have to take cabs back and forth. No wi-fi though or internet though.

Room Tip: The blue room we stayed in had a window with views of the hillside, it was great to open the curtain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is easily one of the best places I've ever stayed.

You won't find 5-star facilities or fine dining. What you will find is log fires, lovely walks, stunning scenery, fresh air and plenty of space for the kids to run around.

We stayed here with our toddler in December. It's difficult finding suitable accommodation when you have a small child but La Luna was perfect. There's lots of green grass to tumble in and a small playground. We stayed in the family room which had a log fire and a balcony.

Food is ok, nothing amazing but it's cheap and filling. There are also kitchen facilities to use.

The nights were cold but there were lots of blankets and we slept really well here thanks to the fresh air and peace.

It's a lovely walk down to Otavolo (takes around an hour) but we only went once in five days because we didn't want to leave our tranquil spot.

The staff were lovely, and the owners chatty and helpful with questions about the locale.

Can't recommend La Luna highly enough. The only downside was having to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We spent 3 nights at La Luna in October of 2012. We would have stayed longer but the hostal was booked and we sadly had to leave. This was our second time staying at La Luna, but the first time was 12 years ago and under different owners. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The rooms are amazing, especially if you choose one with a private fireplace. They are simple, but clean and beautiful rooms. The value is also very, very fair and one of the better deals we encountered in Ecuador. Also, the longer you stay, the less expensive the rooms get. Otavalo is a town bustling with activity and filled with tourists. It was wonderful to be able to escape to La Luna each night. It is close enough to town to be able to easily access it (about 10 minute cab ride or an hour and a half walk....), but far enough away so that you feel like you are on a totally different planet when you arrive back to La Luna. It is remote, peaceful, and very, very beautiful. Kevin and Tamara are really fantastic and care a lot about providing their guests with a memorable experience. Kevin knows everything about the trails and parks nearby and is a great resource. My kids also really liked spending time with Kevin and Tamara's 5 year old daughter. The food at La Luna is excellent. So fresh and absolutely delicious. I hope La Luna never goes away because I plan on returning as soon as I can.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that are in the building separate from the main building, but all the rooms are rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidelclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

It is a quiet hide away above Otavalo, great view in a country/agricultural setting. The whole experience there with the owners to the dogs laying around the fireplace in the dining room was fantastic. If you are a whinner and complain about the littlest thing, then don't come here, this will be a too rustic for your finely honed taste. But if you can see the great things in life, the farm, the family, the dogs, the tranquil rural setting, then this place is for you ....................... and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I spent 3 nights at La Luna and loved every minute of it. The owners, Kevin & Tamara (an English & Ecuadorian couple) were absolutely lovely as were the staff (and all the dogs). The property sits on top of a mountain overlooking the huge Fuya Fuya volcano - an incredible sight. The dorm rooms were clean, had a great fireplace and a small kitchenette. The staff were really sweet, helpful and informative. They even made me a fire every night in the living space of my dorm.

The views are outstanding and they have loads of walks they´ve mapped out so you can hike around the area. It isn´t in town, about a beautiful hour walk down the mountain, so don´t expect to be in the heart of action. It´s a spot to chill out, hike and get cozy by their fire or in their TV room. Tamara grows many of her own veg, and commits to organic food as much possible given the accessibility. They offer a great menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in their restaurant. An added bonus is the great continental breakfast which is included in your room price. They don´t have internet, depsite what Lonely Planet says, and it´s a great break to disconnect. Walk to town and use internet for $0.50 an hour if you really need it. Not in to walking? A taxi will drive you for $4 each way.

I was staying at a hostal down the road that was absolutely awful with a slightly nutty owner and felt like I landed in heaven after I rapidly switched to La Luna. Don´t stay any where else! Will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

La Luna is set in beautiful surroundings, with great views of Imbabura and Cotacachi and the hostal itself is cosy and like a home away from home. Through the day you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views and garden full of flowers, trees and hummingbirds, or go on one of the hikes around the hostal, as the area around there is stunning. At night a big fire gets lit in the restaurant, making it really warm. The rooms have heaters and some have fireplaces too. It does get chilly at night, but the rooms are cosy and comfortable and there`s extra blankets available too. The showers are reliably hot and powerful too, which is a big bonus for a hostal in South America!

The food is delicious, especially the breakfasts and coffee! The restaurant offers reasonably priced food, which is delicious, homemade and organic, with a lot of fresh produce grown at the hostal, meaning it`s super fresh food! Also, there`s a well stocked little kitchenette attached to the dorm for those who would rather cook for themselves.

The staff are lovely and always more than happy to help with anything. There`s even opportunities to volunteer at the hostal. It`s definitely worth the taxi ride up the hill. It`s a little slice of tranquil paradise and I highly recommend staying here. Oh, and the dogs are just lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex190736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
0.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
3.9 mi away
Balcon del Lago
Balcon del Lago
#4 of 36 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 27 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Rose Cottage
Hosteria Rose Cottage
#6 of 36 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Mountain Lodge

Property: La Luna Mountain Lodge
Address: | km 4.5 via a Mojanda, Otavalo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Luna Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing