We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Lonely Planet suggestion”

Hostal Valle del Amanecer
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Valle del Amanecer
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The overall look and feel of the place is very nice, with much more character than most of the places I checked out in Otavalo. The price however was far too much for what were extremely noisy rooms given the price of nearby hostels. Due to the thin roof on the room, it sounded like the people walking past and the cars were right there in the room. Ridiculously noisy at times. It's in a good location but there are much better (quieter and much cheaper) options across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not immediately beside the road. If none are available, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Briffaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was our fifth time to stay here over the past five years. It's not a 5-star hotel, but it gets 10 stars for its charm. The breakfast included with the room is terrific. The owner is warm and personable.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private bath cost a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I was here for one night a week ago and the internet connection was so week that it was totally ineffective although they advertise wifi and in the morning at 5.30 there was barely tepid water and definitely not hot. When requesting a second small cup of coffee for breakfast in the morning, we were advised we would have to pay - $1.20!!! And it was small. Breakfast had also been adviertised as the best in town and it was certainly not anywhere near the best.

Room Tip: off the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilyusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hostal is well located just around the corner from the market and the plaza, it also offers a very nice breakfast. However there is not commun area apart from the outside patio, the rooms were basic and a bit cold.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieNCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just like most reviewers described this hostal has a great courtyard complete with hammocks, fireplace (don't know when they actually light it though..) and lots of plants, making it an excellent place to relax after a long morning of bartering at the nearby market (2 blocks from the hostal to the central market). If you have a room near the restaurant it might be a bit noisy in the morning but otherwise the rooms and hostal in general are quiet.

You can get a room with a shared bath or a private bath. A shared bath costs $13 a person ($26 for 2, $39 for 3) with breakfast included. The breakfast is a choice of either bread and jam, parfait, or pancake and fruit salad all with either coffee or tea and the option to add more food a la carte. The rooms don't have any heating, but they put a few thick blankets on the bed, which is enough to make for a warm night, at least in June-not sure if it gets colder at other times of the year.

The hostel is fairly clean and the showers get nice and hot, but the wifi does not work well. it is very slow, which seems to be the case in most places, and it does not reach some of the rooms.

Overall the hostel is a good value due to its location, decor/garden, and breakfast, but there are cheaper options around the town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaSut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Not what I was expecting when I booked a hostal in touristy Otavalo for 12 dollars a night. It's a beautiful hostal with rooms situated around an inner courtyard filled with trees and hammocks. Breakfast was good, the water pressure was excellent. Nice people in charge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericarenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The hostel is pretty much as everyone describes, convenient to the bus and market square. Rooms are clean, breakfast of pancakes or yogurt and granola. An extra cup of coffee for two is $2.50. Now for the other info. We left our luggage in the locked luggage room next to the office and found later that a lap top, iPod and e reader had been taken. Unfortunately we did not notice this until we arrived in Quito. It was all in a knapsack packed in such a way that someone needed a far bit of time to undo it and repack it. Looking back we should have locked that pocket as in the one locked pocket other items were untouched. The main problem I suspect is the main door is neither closed or monitored, the front desk is not staffed during the day. It is simple for someone to enter and pilfer from any room as the locks are simple to open with a screwdriver. So nice place, ok food, not a safe spot as it is not secured or well supervised. Ca sera I guess and no apology was offered....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThorYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
238 reviews
0 mi away
La Casa Sol Otavalo
La Casa Sol Otavalo
#1 of 1 in Peguche
91 reviews
0 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 34 in Otavalo
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
0 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
24 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Valle del Amanecer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Valle del Amanecer

Address: Quiroga and Roca, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range: £5 - £7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing