We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place of Dreams”
Review of Las Palmeras Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Palmeras Inn
Ranked #4 of 28 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Otavalo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Place of Dreams”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Through out Ecuador there are many wonderful places to stay and that have great food. This 150 year old hacienda, Las Palmeras has all the charm and beauty of much higher priced inns / restaurants here in Ecuador. Under the care of a most worthy direction of there management the gardens, the main Inn, warm and inviting rooms and the capable staff run by Paulina, and one great chef Segundo (my favorite), nothing is left to chance. If you looking for a warm relaxing time away from home........... look no more. Las Palmeras is your one stop place. Close to Otavalo and the markets the shopping is at it's best. Everyone you will meet will smile and speak to you as if you have been there all your life. Nestled between to great volcanoes to views are beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malkum G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    46
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
72
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This will be my homebase for future trips to the Imbabura area. What a beautiful setting, pet llamas wandering in the lush gardens, crickets and frogs singing at night, birds singing in the morning! Comfortable, cozy rustic rooms, hand-woven blankets with fireplaces and hot water bottles to warm the beds at night. The food in the dining room is excellent and home-cooked. The staff are *very* friendly and helpful. It's a bit tricky to find from the highway, and I've recommended improved signage so visitors don't get lost.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We were only in Otavalo for a short stay, but ate three meals at the restaurant here. Breakfast dinner and lunch. Hearty Ecuadorian fare. Breakfast, very good eggs, coffee, fresh juices et al. Diner Stand out however was lunch! Several courses in elegant dining room with fireplace. Were invited to sit with Spanish Group in town for wedding, and what turned out to be the owner (an interesting English gent who regalled us with travel stories.) Food was sublime (don't know if that was just an on day.) Excellent (squash?) soup lightly spiced. Seafood salad (miraculously fresh for the mountains) and what I believe was Ecuodarian Mutton. Special request spaghetti for the kids was handled quickly and without fuss. All in all a great stay and were sorry to have to push off. Easy ride to Otavalo

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JH88960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed three nights and enjoyed this lovely place. The small cabin was clean & comfortable, the shower acceptable if not always reliably hot. The staff were a bit of a mixed bag - we got the fireplace lit in the cool evenings, and hot water bottles brought for the beds (!), but the desk staff didn't all speak English that well and we were glad to have our daughter with us who speaks fluent Spanish. The breakfast was acceptable but not really plentiful enough for me, and the cook / server was a bit dour, but then so am I in the early morning. The Inn is a 5 or 10 minute taxi ride from town - not an easy walk so a taxi is really required - and the setting is beautiful as are the grounds and buildings. Minor complaint: we needed laundry done and did not want to pay the high prices they charge but they were either unwilling or unable to tell us where to go in town to get a laundromat - the cab drivers don't seem to know such things either so it took a while to find one. We would stay here again - my main critique, based on 2 weeks of travel in Ecuador, is that the breakfast should provide more food - other places do.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had reservations for 3 nights and stayed 7, we loved this place. The staff friendly and helpful. The food was local and wonderful. The room clean, comfortable with a great fireplace, which was lit each night when we returned from dinner. Very romantic!! The Hacienda, gardens and grounds were very beautiful. Very nice to walk around and see the beautiful flowers and the veggie garden. It's a perfect place to stay and see all the other towns and sights. Within walking distance or short bus/cab ride into Otavalo market area. Great value for the money!! We look forward to another stay.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a great view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocoShero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This old hacienda has been converted into a cozy hotel with individual cabins that feature a small living room with a fireplace and a separate bedroom. While it is unfortunate not to be able to watch the fire from the bed, it keeps the temperature in the bedroom pleasantly warm. The surrounding garden is well tended and beautiful, the people at the reception were exceptionally friendly and ever so helpful. Staff in the restaurant does not speak so much English, but adds to the authentic experience. There is a gamesroom with pingpong and billiard. We enjoyed our stay a lot and left with recharged batteries!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamchallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Price – part of a package.
Cleanliness - good.
Quietness – excellent.
Comfort - ok.
Location – good for quietness; car ride to town.
Parking – do not drive in Equador.
Friendliness - good.
Breakfast – good.
Classiness - good.
Room Size - cosy but with living room.
Room included – shower, wood fire.
Facilities included – great gardens.
Nice touch – wood fire.
A place to chill out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.6 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 28 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
4.2 mi away
cabin Balcon del Lago
cabin Balcon del Lago
#3 of 37 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmeras Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmeras Inn

Property: Las Palmeras Inn
Address: Quichinche, Otavalo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Palmeras Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmeras Inn, a 25-minute downhill walk to the markets of Otavalo, overlooks the often snow-capped Cotacachi Mountain. Its garden cottages have fireplaces, new bathrooms and patios. Fine food and tranquility personified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Las Palmeras Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing