We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel in Riobama”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riobamba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel San Pedro de Riobamba
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel in Riobama”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stopped over in Riobamba for a night and were really happy with the San Pedro de Riobamba.
The hotel is a beautiful, old family home and is tucked away from the road, so is a quiet oasis.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
In fact, when we asked for a recommendation for dinner, a staff member offered to escort us to the restaurant, to ensure that we didn't get lost...wonderful hospitality!!
Our room was beautifully furnished and breakfast was served in a lovely courtyard in the centre of the hotel.
The breakfast was delicious and the service was prompt and friendly.
This was one of our favourite hotels in Ecuador and we highly recommend it.
Janine and Ford Murray

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanineMurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Amazing service, elegant, great rooms and great breakfast!!!! and above all honest! I forgot my camera in my room, guess what? they kept it and they are shipping it to me. That's a hotel, they should be proud of themselves and keep the good job!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intlalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We couldn't resist this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, and they were right. Wonderfully located hotel in Riobamba, with super large comfortable beds, even more comfortable pillows and a room comprising a huge bedroom, small sitting rooms and exceptional bathroom. the only thing that would have improved our stay a little would have been more guests - my suggestion is that the hotel looks at having an online booking facility as booking it was quite difficult..

Once the new train line is open the Hotel will be even better - being just across the road from the station.

Room Tip: rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anned0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

A well restored colonial hotel with great charme! Each room has its individual decoration with various, mainly christian art. The antique, well kept and nicely combined furniture give each room its specific character. The staff was extremly kind and helpful, particularly when I asked them to help with the reservation of tickets for the "Nariz del Diabolo" train but also when asked for dining recommendations. Also, when requesting an early check out, a "boxed breakfast" was automatically organized without even asking for it! That's real service! The central location, a walking distance from all major sites, is also great. Another plus, its set-back location from the main street guarantee quietness and good sleep! I can only recommend staying there!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel San Pedro is a treasure and gem in Riobamba. There are a lot of reasons to come to Riobamba, and this five star hotel is certainly one of them! The hospitality from beginning to end made it a night to remember forever! If you love art, you will have another reason to love this place. There is a wonderful room upstairs with religious art. It was a great place to sit, meditate and draw close to God. A wonderful breakfast is served in a stunning courtyard with the morning sun making it even more beautiful. Make sure you do not miss this place of warm hospitality, beauty, and charm! It is much more than just a place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

San Pedro de Riobamba is excellent value for money, offering well-furnished, comfortable and stylish rooms for around $100.00 a night. If you are heading to this town, you can't go wrong here.

The hotel is fairly small and the reception area is almost hidden from view. However, the staff are very helpful and welcoming to new guests. Always smiling, they are quietly spoken but warm.

Our room, 'San Francisco', was again a touch on the small side, but elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean, which made up for the lack of space. This is a place where you can feel at home and really relax. The bathroom has a bath/shower with reliable hot water that gushes out of the tap.

We had a comfortable night's sleep with no disturbances but we stayed out of season, so can't really draw too much from that. However, given that the front room occupies the road-facing area of the hotel, traffic-noise from the street hotel is nicely contained and I don't think any rooms face out onto the street. The front room itself is an excellent place to relax and meet other guests.

The decor of the hotel has a neo-classical tinge to it, and it's very easy on the eye. Staying in the colonial area of town (the beautiful church, San Antonio, is just a few blocks away), you get a taste for the stylish side of Riobamba life here.

Breakfast is continental: a small bowl of cereal, followed by a bowl of fruit with yoghurt. In addition to that you have a mixture of breads and a plate of ham, cheese and pate. It is taken in a small, covered courtyard area that is absolutely pristine.

All in all, this was a fantastic stay. If I were to visit Riobamba again, this is where I'd stay. As a young couple, we found this hotel absolutely ideal for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I loved this hotel! Breakfast in the beautiful courtyard was so relaxing, the rooms are lovely and the whole hotel is stunningly decorated, including an amazing sitting room on the first floor. Wish we could have stayed longer than one night! Be sure to visit the food market on a Saturday morning - just a few blocks away from the hotel. It's totally authentic (we saw 2 other foreigners) and a feast for the senses - from piles of fruit and vegetables to whole pigs and animal body parts I'd rather not describe!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonMazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riobamba hotels
10.6 mi away
Hosteria La Andaluza
Hosteria La Andaluza
#1 of 19 in Riobamba
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion Santa Isabella
Mansion Santa Isabella
#3 of 19 in Riobamba
203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
#4 of 19 in Riobamba
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bambu
Hotel Bambu
#9 of 19 in Riobamba
9 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel El Altar
Hotel El Altar
#12 of 19 in Riobamba
8 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hacienda Abraspungo
Hacienda Abraspungo
#2 of 19 in Riobamba
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pedro de Riobamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pedro de Riobamba

Property: Hotel San Pedro de Riobamba
Address: Av. Daniel Leon Borja 29_50 | ntre Carabobo y Juan Montalvo, Riobamba, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel to have a wonderful time! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing