We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The shop that fronts this hotel says it all”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riobamba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel San Pedro de Riobamba
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Wilmslow
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The shop that fronts this hotel says it all”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Riobamba is not the prettiest of cities in Ecuador, but the hotel is very good. You have to go through a shop, that is one of the most attractive in Riobamba, to get to Reception. The hotel is a place of tranquility in a hectic city. All the bedrooms are off a inner, covered courtyard. Although the rooms are somewhat dark, they are nevertheless, very clean, with excellent toiletries. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Upstairs there is a charming room, which looks on to a busy street, but the decor and ornaments let you forget the hustle and bustle of the world outside. We had to leave very early one morning, but the staff arose early, so that we may have breakfast. They went the 'extra mile'. I would recommend this place, for anyone that wishes to use Riobamba as a base.

Room Tip: All the rooms are off an inner courtyard, where breakfast is served on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVHWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renkum, the Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this great place. Well located in central Riobamba, opposite the beautifully renovated train station, a bit away from the street, with a relxing courtyard, where classic music fills the air and breakfasts are served. The rooms are luxureous, the beds excellent and the bathrooms modern, The breakfast is good: fresh juice, fruit salad, musli with some yoghurt (may be a bit more), different rolls with butter, marmelade, cheese and ham, tea, coffee, chocolate and milk.
The service is courteous: very helpfull to find good restaurants, taxis and all you need.
The only point of concern is fresh air. The courtyard is covered with a glass roof which makes the temperature rise during the day and during the night there is no direct connection from your room with the outside air. We preferred an upper room on the first floor around the courtyard: more light and air.
If we were told that there was a luxury living for general use we would certainly have used it. We discovered it when we left...A bit more knowledge of the English language would raise the service to perfection.
We were the only guests these two days. Because of the season: beginning of January or because of the price?
Highly recommended if you look for a luxuary hotel in the heart of Riobamba!!

Room Tip: The upper rroms around the courtyard are more airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Hotel San Pedro de Riobamba is an elegant and distinguished colonial hotel.
The city of Riobamba brought back many lovable memories of our father's family, this hotel is now part of these memories.
It is located in the heart of the city, a colonial house that has been renovated and decorated with great taste. The courtyard is inviting, charming and cozy, where breakfast is served.
The service is excellent, professional and personal; Luis Enrique the owner makes you feel at home, Aldo and Alexandra are exceptionally helpful.
We highly recommend this hotel, this is the place to stay when you visit Riobamba.
Magdalena & family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGDALENA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

a very nice hotel in an old city in the south of the country. a great place to relax and rest before continuing on the train trip or further on to the southern parts of the country. the hotel has some great hiden treassures of art and the history of an old traditional spanish hacienda types of historical homes. it has been very nicely brought into our century, what a treat to experience this.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bohemioenlamariscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were two couples staying at this charming hotel on Christmas day. This is the most charming boutique hotel, rooms are impeccable with very comfortable beds. The location couldn't be better and we were able to walk all around town easily. Luis, the general manager, went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and when it was almost impossible to find an open restaurant for lunch, he took us in his own car until we found a place. In the afternoon he prepared tea for us, beautifully served in the hotel's courtyard. In the evening he took us once again to a very good restaurant and we had one of our best meals in Ecuador.
We found people in Ecuador very friendly altogether but this experience was truly special.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franknothmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stopped over in Riobamba for a night and were really happy with the San Pedro de Riobamba.
The hotel is a beautiful, old family home and is tucked away from the road, so is a quiet oasis.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
In fact, when we asked for a recommendation for dinner, a staff member offered to escort us to the restaurant, to ensure that we didn't get lost...wonderful hospitality!!
Our room was beautifully furnished and breakfast was served in a lovely courtyard in the centre of the hotel.
The breakfast was delicious and the service was prompt and friendly.
This was one of our favourite hotels in Ecuador and we highly recommend it.
Janine and Ford Murray

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanineMurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Amazing service, elegant, great rooms and great breakfast!!!! and above all honest! I forgot my camera in my room, guess what? they kept it and they are shipping it to me. That's a hotel, they should be proud of themselves and keep the good job!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intlalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riobamba hotels
0.0 mi away
Hosteria La Andaluza
Hosteria La Andaluza
#1 of 19 in Riobamba
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mansion Santa Isabella
Mansion Santa Isabella
#3 of 19 in Riobamba
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
#4 of 19 in Riobamba
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Altar
Hotel El Altar
#14 of 19 in Riobamba
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria El Troje
Hosteria El Troje
#17 of 19 in Riobamba
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Estacion
Hotel Estacion
#12 of 19 in Riobamba
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pedro de Riobamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pedro de Riobamba

Property: Hotel San Pedro de Riobamba
Address: Av. Daniel Leon Borja 29_50 | ntre Carabobo y Juan Montalvo, Riobamba, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel to have a wonderful time! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing