We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel. Highly recommended”
Review of Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montecarlo
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The hotel is a very charming place. It resembles the Spanish houses with a beautiful courtyard in the centre. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are a bit small but recently renovated. It is also in the centre of the city close to the markets and plazas.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

The family and I decided to give this hotel a try after seeing a recommendation in the Frommers Ecuador travel guide. My wife called ahead and specifically asked for a 2 single beds for the kids in addition to the main bed. On arrival the guy at reception said he knew nothing about it and gave that room away. The only room available was a double bed with one single on the ground floor. Room was very small with mould on the shower curtain. With no choice my wife squeezed into the single bed with my daughter. I thought I drew the long straw by getting the double bed but was kept awake by:
1. The low battery alarm from the smoke detector,
2. other guests talking loudly in the lounge area outside the room,
3. A guy using the complimentary computer positioned outside our room to make a long distance call seemingly like using two cans tied together with string then
4. Some staff member dragging gas bottles across the floor early in the morning.

Not only did we have these issues but we were told by The guy who checked us in that it was safe to park the car on the street if we didn't manage to get it in the carpark by 9pm. When we came back after 9pm after going out we were greeted by another staff member who said it was not safe and the car would probably not be there in the morning. With the off-site carpark now closed we were left scratching our heads when coincidentally the owners of the hotel showed up. Another carpark on the other side of town was suggested and they escorted us there in their car then drove us back to the hotel. It was during this drive that it was discovered that the owners previously lived in Sydney Australia. As a result this gave us a bit of special treatment and we were upgraded to a room upstairs which was allegedly their best. It was an improvement but still average. Despite me wanting to try somewhere else my wife suggested it probably was not going to get any better anywhere else. We ended up staying and as described by another reviewer The breakfast was nothing more than juice, bread and coffee. Even this was a big ask for staff to serve in a timely manner.
We were picked up by The owners after breakfast and given a lift back to the carpark only to find out we had to pay.
On the second night we parked at the hotel carpark which they said was free to hotel guests. It appears the carpark staff didn't get that information and charged us for every hour exceeding 9am.
Not a very pleasing experience but not likely to improve elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed only for one night and were not very happy. Rooms are outdated with a lot of noise from lobby and street, bed was squeaking, shower curtain was covered with mould and toilet was leaking. We payed 37USD for 1 night incl. breakfast (which only was coffee/tea, bread, butter and jam and juice, no eggs), which seems a bit overpriced compared to much nicer and cheeper hotels we stayed in Ecuador. Plus was very hot water with good preasure and nice staff and wi-fi available.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed here on two separate occasions, both of which I walked in without a reservation. You walk into the hotel and step into a beautiful courtyard that is surrounded by comfortable, quiet rooms. From the minute I stepped into the hotel, the staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. They can help you arrange tours to Chimborazo, give you information on the Devil's nose train ride and set up taxi service. Unfortunately, outside of that, they weren't familiar with the bus schedules nor tours or hiking at El Altar. This can be remedied by the use of one of two of their computers with complimentary internet.
The rooms, despite simple, had comfortable beds and clean showers with hot water. At $22/night (tax included), I felt this was a great value. The room had a TV (some flat screens) with cable and a table and chair. Also included was a free breakfast at the adjoining restaurant. Although it only included two rolls with butter/jam, coffee/tea and juice, requests for eggs will be accomodated.
The location was great, a few blocks from a grocery store, restaurants and a nice park. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay in Riobamba, but it was great to stay in a non-tourist town, to get a feel for the local culture.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 9, which was a bit small, but was okay for a one night stay. Room 14, on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We happened to become ill from some food (unrelated to the hotel) and the staff were very willing to help us in any way they could - calling doctors, translating, preparing meals, picking up medication, and checking in with us. True hospitality and genuine care. We loved our stay, the staff, the food, and the rooms. Great place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We spent five nights in the Montecarlo, using it as a base to visit Riobamba and elsewhere (including Chimborazo and Salinas). The hotel was fantastically located, cheerful and well-furnished (luxurious bed linen and towels); the bathrooms were convenient with lots of hot water, and the staff were helpful. The breakfast, in the cafe next door, was excellent quality, although on the last day we discovered it was relatively expensive (i.e. 3 US DOLLARS each). The courtyard layout was fine except for the last night when there was a feria in town and we could hear other guests who were partying all night. Also, avoid arranging through the hotel for laundry to be done, since we were charged hotel prices. But overall it was good value for the high standards - and Riobamba (even without the train) was a surprising treat.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

This is a clean, basic hotel with a good location - right in the center of the downtown. We stayed here two nights - on the way to Cuenca from Quito by bus and on the way back through. It is quiet, secure, and offers a computer with free high speed Internet in the lobby. There is a restaurant next door that offers a free continental breakfast (pay $1 extra if you want eggs), but service is quite slow. On mornings that the train is running, it is open for breakfast very early, but try not to be in a hurry.

The clerk speaks English quite well and since we needed two rooms (traveling with friends) she was most accomodating. The place is not large, so if you plan to stay here, try to reserve your room before nightfall.

We had no trouble with hot water. The temperature of the water was just fine. Guests can come and go as they please during the day. At night, the front door is kept locked.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riobamba hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shalom
Hotel Shalom
#6 of 19 in Riobamba
30 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel El Altar
Hotel El Altar
#13 of 19 in Riobamba
12 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bambu
Hotel Bambu
#12 of 19 in Riobamba
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mansion Santa Isabella
Mansion Santa Isabella
#3 of 19 in Riobamba
208 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hosteria El Troje
Hosteria El Troje
#15 of 19 in Riobamba
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estacion
Hotel Estacion
#14 of 19 in Riobamba
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecarlo

Address: AV. 10 De Agosto 25-41, Riobamba 060150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Price Range: £33 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Montecarlo 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Riobamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing