We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zeus Internacional
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Halifax
2 reviews
“Worst hotel experience!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was recommended as a good central hotel in Riobamba for a stop over for one night. After a full day of driving and tired, we were refused!!! We have stayed in beautiful accommodations during our Ecuador visit and have never experienced this rude reception! The man at the desk pointed at the door and told us to leave. We managed to find very polite and considerate accommodations at El Molina. Shame on Hotel Zeus!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeusMgmt, Manager at Hotel Zeus Internacional, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Google Translation
Thank for yuor comentary however i would like
Gracias por su comentario porque siempre consideramos importantes las observaciones puesto que nos ayudan a corregir errores, al respecto debo indicarle que revisados los archivos del tres de abril el Hotel se encontraba lleno al 100%, aparentemente conforme nuestros videos de seguridad e informacion del recepcionista nocturno usted llego en la madrugada aproximadamente a las 3:30 de mañana, y la puerta de vidrio templado del hotel estaba cerrada, mientras el recepcionista se dirigia hacia la puerta para abrirla, al llegar a ella usted le pregunta si tienen habitaciones y el responde que no, nuevamente le pregunta a que hora tendran y el le responde que pasadas las 10:30 am y usted dijo gracias y se retiro. La persona que aparentemente le atendio trabaja muchos años y con gran calidad por lo que considero que lo que existe es un mal entendido, en todo caso si alguna actitud le molesto le pedimos las disculpas del caso. Tambien me gustaria hacerle notar que en mi opinion profesional este suceso dista mucho de considerarse ofensivo, puesto que mal podria concluirse que hubo un mal servicio hotelero, que necesariamente pasa por el uso de servicios del hotel y no porque no encontro habitaciones en una fecha de alta ocupacion hotelera por las fiesta de independencia de la ciudad, sin tener una reserva previa y a altas horas de la madrugada.
Ojala en algun momento tengamos la oportunidad de brindarle nuestros servicios con la calidad que usted se merece. Una vez mas gracias por su comentario vamos a tomar medidas para asistir de mejor manera a un cliente que llegue cansado y no encuentre habitaciones, como hacerle pasar y facilitarle un telefono de cortesia para que localize hospedaje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    34
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
28
23
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Wilds of Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Certainly central to the city, only a short walk from the old city. Rooms, esp. on the side facing the the aerobics park very noisy, also rooms on the street side of the hotel. Sunday afternoon/evening concerts at the amphitheater several blocks away, in May, when I stayed, seemed like they were in my room. (Bathroom picture window is single pane of glass and the venting is direct opening to the outside). So for quiet get a room on the side facing Chimborazo (nice view to boot). Otherwise, rooms were clean, bed comfortable; workspace (I was there for sometime on business) OK. Breakfasts quite good; lunches and dinners pretty good too, but I have to say pale compared to restaurants in the city. Internet access spotty, I suspect depending on haw many users on each WiFi node; best in the middle of the night 8-) .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBugDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great place to stay in Riobamba, very centric (super park nearby where you can even do aerobics in the morning or evening with the program Ecuador Ejercite) and comfortable. We loved watching the local soccer team play out of the window on the 7th floor. I also loved seeing all of the indigenous art on each floor, take the stairs one time to see everything.

Room Tip: The 7th floor has been redone recently, not sure which other ones. Lovely views of city from up abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sofatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel and rooms are clean and even though the bed is a mattress on a wood plank, it is comfortable. The walls are thin and you'll hear everything, including the constant beeping of the door lock as people go in and out of their rooms. I was there in April/May and it was cold. Rooms have no heat (and no a/c) and vents seem to be open to the outside. Hot water was infrequent in the shower. Given the other options in town, I would stay here again even with the above mentioned items.

Room Tip: Don't be on the top floor, you'll hear the weekend party noise from above in the party hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nice hotel, very good location, nice and clean rooms. Service is not really good but if you spent the day off and just came for sleep you will not notice. It's a value for money option. I think it must be the best hotel in Riobamba.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I arrived with out a reservation and two of the employees were helpful. I do speak Spanish (with an accent) but I was treated with politeness. It was clean and inviting. The food was good, but on the expensive side for Ecuador. The rooms were clean and neat. One of the reception staff was a little standoffish. But that was not something I would let spoil my vacation. In some of the hallways there were "artifacts" and looked like a museum. There was an elevator. This is on the main strip (Ave. Borja) of Riobamba which turns into the 10th of Agosto.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMixson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien Norway
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Centrally located traditional high rised hotel not too far (10 minutes) from city centre and railway station.
You get what you expect from a straight forward modern hotel.
Due to an early arousal to reach the Devil´s Nose train we did not try out breakfast facilities.
Good functioning free internet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerUrdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riobamba hotels
10.0 mi away
Hosteria La Andaluza
Hosteria La Andaluza
#1 of 19 in Riobamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mansion Santa Isabella
Mansion Santa Isabella
#3 of 19 in Riobamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
#4 of 19 in Riobamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shalom
Hotel Shalom
#6 of 19 in Riobamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bambu
Hotel Bambu
#10 of 19 in Riobamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Abraspungo
Hacienda Abraspungo
#2 of 19 in Riobamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zeus Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zeus Internacional

Property: Hotel Zeus Internacional
Address: Ave. Daniel Leon Borja # 41 - 29 y Duchicela, Riobamba 060150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Zeus Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing