We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and explore”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bawiti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Desert Rose Eco Lodge
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The ambiance of the place coupled with the hospitality of everyone there made it a perfect vacation for my girls and myself. We were able to relax, eat exquisite food, and get in touch with nature through exploring the grounds. A great place to start off our desert safari and exploration of other local attractions in this lovely oasis. Thank you Mohamed and Islam for making our holiday a memorable one!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Safe, clean, well organised and friendly staff make this in my opinion the best place to start a White Desert, Black Desert or Western Desert Safari or for just being in Bahariya itself. Islam the manager makes sure that this is a wonderful experience for all and the actual safari was one of the best things we have done in Egypt!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank africanhopelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Rustic rooms with good amenities in a nicely scaped garden environment. Tasty food with the extra touches. The palm gardens of the oasis just outside the door. We feel sad with the owners about being the only guests in their nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We picked the Desert Rose from the internet based on the trip advisor rating. Thanks Trip Advisor! I remember the review said something about how it is great to be with Mohamed, the owner. When I emailed, he replied and said we could come. I then asked about getting there, and he said he would be coming our dates, we could go and return with him. Not sure that will happen for you, but although the lodge is wonderful (very quiet, sounds of Egypt, donkeys, lots of dates in season, and we enjoyed swimming in the nearby hot-springs, with veiled Muslim women, which was completely out of character with what one expects in Egypt, but no one seemed to concerned), the highlight was Mohamed who told us about initiatives to improve tourism and build his lodge. Yes, we loved the trips out into the desert, which we insisted must include regular rock-picking stops for our young boys.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DougB-SDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days with our family in Bahariya. The Eco Lodge is comfortable, simple and very clean, the food was good, the programmes were interesting and well-organised. OUr company had various ages, and everybody enjoyed our time in BAhariya from kids to adults. The staff were very kind, helpful, flexible and efficient. We recommend this place for everybody, adults or families. It was an unforgettable getaway from the Egyptian everyday life!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozalia_Berzsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

If I was ever able to go back to Egypt this is exactly where I would be! The owner Mahamed and staff took care of me like I was one of the family. I
never wanted for a thing my whole stay there. The food is divine and the service and people were oustanding. The desert trip Mohamed organised for me was probably the best tour I have been on. I even requested things that were not usually part of the tour and they made it happen just for me :D My Guide Sameh and my to other trusty companions made my trip amazing and even camping in the desert the food was still amazing! Do not miss this peice of desert authenticity! I am taking with me a wonderful memory. This stay is actually the best memory I will have of the whole of egypt and I visited Everywhere! thanks Mohamed! :D

Room Tip: All rooms will be great! Ask to see them and I am sure Mohamed will show you :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweeney7319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel was perfect from the beginning: the owner was very easy to deal with and contact, the staff were fantastic, the food was simply incredible, and the tour that they arranged (including a night under a full moon in the desert) was simply unforgettable. I cannot praise them (the guide, the driver and the cook!) enough, and all in all Desert Rose provided us with the most perfect two days I could have ever dreamed of. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sinead s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bawiti hotels
0 mi away
International Hot Spring Hotel
18.2 mi away
Ahmed Safari Camp & Hotel
0 mi away
Alpenblick Bahariya Hotel
Alpenblick Bahariya Hotel
#10 of 11 in Bawiti
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Western Desert Hotel
Western Desert Hotel
#11 of 11 in Bawiti
12 reviews
0 mi away
Sandrose Hotel
Sandrose Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bawiti
14 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Aliyah Lodge
#5 of 7 in Bawiti
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desert Rose Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desert Rose Eco Lodge

Address: Bahariya Oasis | Beerelmarrar, Bawiti, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Bawiti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Bawiti
Price Range: £18 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Rose Eco Lodge is set in serene, beautiful Bahariya surrounded by desert and hot springs. Built to capture the spirit of the old oasis using local palm tree branches and natural clay. As well as providing accommodation in beautiful grounds, we also grow our own organic food for our guests. The Desert Rose follow a simple eco-lodging philosophy allowing our guests to find a quiet getaway from city life. With easy access to the White and Black Deserts, the Desert Rose also offers adventurous and unforgettable excursions into the beautiful dunes of Bawiti. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Desert Rose Eco Lodge Egypt/Bawiti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing