We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better off camping in the desert”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bawiti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Qasr El Bawity Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bawiti
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better off camping in the desert”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Yes this hotel is quaint and unusual however it's not comfortable by any means. No heat or air - only portable small unit brought in to sit between your beds. All stone / cement in interior with lots of dust. Bathroom was a bit scary like camping. You are basically staying in a stone hut with electricity and basic plumbing. Food was not good. Dry chicken and vegetables for dinner and canned meat, expired yogurt, cracker and cheese in foil for breakfast. Glad we only had 1 night here as we froze in our room. Highlight was exploring the compound and having meals with the 2 hotel cats that were super cute and greeted us for each meal. At least they enjoyed our food :) staff was nice and helpful although not much English. Highly recommend to camp overnight in desert instead. I regret not doing this as it would've been more comfortable ! I will upload some pictures within the next week or so.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank polotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed for one night in January. Nice setting, lots of character....so much better than a chain hotel. We found the staff friendly, the food was pretty good. We enjoyed the hot springs - they turned on the water for us, so we had it to ourselves. We did a desert tour that we booked separately - left at the hotel a bunch of our luggage which they looked after for us till we returned, and they were kind enough to offer us a much needed shower after we got back before heading back to Cairo - at no charge! That was an unexpected and really appreciated bonus.
Yes, I agree with some other comments that it would be great to have wifi - if not in all the rooms, then at least in the restaurant area or lobby.
Would I stay here again and recommend to a friend - absolutely. We found no issues with hairs in the shower etc. as noted in a previous review.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yandui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Hotel is in good setting. Nice and calm area within the Oasis. Good rooms. Cleanliness is not perfect. The place is very relaxing and made for people that look for a quiet and cool place. It is of big advantage if you spoke Arabic; staff is poor in English. Due to the very low touristic numbers everything is scaled down! On the one hand it is empty and hence quiet but on the other hand it is managed with as little resources as available! It is cheaper if you book it in Cairo and not pay the prices upon walking in. Food is OK, but nothing to write home about. It is clean and the cook Gamal makes the best out of what he has. I would go there again if visiting Bahariya.

Room Tip: We had rooms 4 and 5 and they where great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abusultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

The price was higher than expected and at first i was skeptical, but in the end i was very satisfied. The hotel is located very nicely, in front of the date grove and just under a nice and easily climbable hill. It has good food, a nice hot tub, a swimming pool and is built in a pitoresque way. Tue staff is extremely helpful and nice, even if the communication is sometimes difficult. For the price i payed i was missing the wifi and maybe the hotel and rooms could be cared for a bit more. It's all slightly worn down. But what the heck, who needs internet in the desert? And we're in africa, rooms are expected to be adventurous...

We also booked a one night tour to the desert, which was great. Absolutely to be recommended. We booked it trough the hotel and the price was almost the double than on the street. We decided to go with the hotel, because these two days were the core of our trip to egypt and we wanted it to be perfect, which they were. Super skilled driver, nice translator and amazing landscapes.

So all in all, hotel and tour: not to sure if i overpaid, but since they were both great i don't care to know.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterCorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Just came back from a 2 day trip to bahareya oasis, we choose the qasr el bawity by its high ratings, and it was really worth every pound spent, we are a familly of 4 and my parents, we took 2 adjasent rooms, with the pool view. lovely settings and excellent service.
we took the desert tour the following morning, and it was more than we had expected, p[rofesional driver excellent guide and all sleeping bags fresh cleaned and packed out of the dry cleaners, it was a night to remember ubder the stars.
ver hard working team at the hotel, i would surly recomend them to any one willing to explore the western desert

Room Tip: try the omlette with dates and the date pancakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I'll start this review with a comment about a tour rather than the hotel itself since the tour cost more than my two nights accommodation. When I arrived at the hotel, I told them that I was planning to do a tour of the White and Black deserts the next day. I had already talked to a couple of different English-language guides, but hadn't committed to anything. They warned me that I should go with their tour (even though the price was almost double) because it would be "safer." I was skeptical but decided to go with them because the White Desert was going to be one of the highlights of my trip to Egypt. Well, they end up sending me out with a guide who spoke about 50 words of English. I learned nothing while I was out there and couldn't ask any questions. When I complained about it afterwards, they told me it was important to have a "Bedouin guide." Huh?? There are plenty of Bedouin guides who speak English, They probably paid the guy next to nothing and pocketed the rest. I feel like an idiot for going with them.
Now about the hotel --

Pros -- cool setting in the oasis, comfortable (firm) beds, nice fire pit at night, and friendly wait staff.
Cons --
1. No internet or Wifi. You can borrow the manager's computer, but it's painfully slow even to just check email.
2. I found lots of long, dark hairs on the shower floor. They were impossible to miss, so clearly it had not been cleaned since the last guest.
3. When I went to use the hot springs "pool", it was cold because they had turned off the hot water flowing into it. This means the water is sitting there stagnant and probably growing some sort of bacteria. If the water is coming from a spring, why would you ever turn it off?
4. They really gouge you on drinks. $6 for a beer and $2.50 for a water???
5. Meals were OK, but nothing special.

Overall, the experience with the tour definitely soured me on this place, but I honestly think you can find better options for the price.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ward l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qasr el bawity h, Public Relations Manager at Qasr El Bawity Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Sir;

Thank you for your kind review, however i would like to point out several points:

1- when you first send us an inquiry about Bahareya oasis, and you mentioned that you were going to travel by bus we advised against using public transportation to Bahareya oasis, and offered you to try one of our packages including guided visits, accommodation and all, (which would have been much cheaper and more organised), however you were on a budget, next morning you asked the reception about a trip to the white desert , the gentleman in the reception told you that it was a short notice for a guide and the driver will show you the places of interest, how do you expect the reception to come up with a jeep, English speaking guide and so on in one hour, however being kind natured staff they did not want to let you down and managed to get you a brand new jeep, i think it unfair to blame the local Bahareya staff for a planing mistake.
2- on the same day of your arrival to the hotel, we had another group who used the hot spring without complaining about the issues you have raised and also had no complain about hair in the bathroom sink, on the contrary they were very satisfied and enjoyed the experience.
we would like to mention that the hot spring is working during the night, if we run the spring all day we would be wasting valuable ater to waste, we are an eco hotel and care very much about the nature.
we would like to mention that all our staff are local from Bahareya oasis, a big portion of the hotel income goes back to the community, and this unfair post will surly affect them.
We would like to again thank you for your stay at Qasr El Bawity Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

we are a french couple that just came back from a trip organised with Qasr el bawity hotel, we had a great time, staff were very accomodating, hotel had a local feel to it, no tv or fridge in the room but this was a part of the charm, we picjed fresh vegtables from the garden and the staff made special salad, breakfast was the star of the trip, we had date omlette, we couldnot eat enoigh of it.
we will surly return to the hotel again
we recomend the dawar roo. with private hot spring and fire place

Room Tip: el qasr suit or el dawar suit are the best rooms, a bit on the expensive side but worth every euro p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank estelle e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bawiti hotels
188.2 mi away
Ahmed Safari Camp & Hotel
0.0 mi away
International Hot Spring Hotel
176.5 mi away
Alpenblick Bahariya Hotel
Alpenblick Bahariya Hotel
#10 of 11 in Bawiti
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandrose Hotel
Sandrose Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bawiti
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Western Desert Hotel
Western Desert Hotel
#11 of 11 in Bawiti
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Aliyah Lodge
#5 of 6 in Bawiti
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qasr El Bawity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qasr El Bawity Hotel

Property: Qasr El Bawity Hotel
Address: Bahareya Oasis, Bawiti, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Bawiti
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bawiti
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Qasr El Bawity Hotel Egypt/Bawiti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing