We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Badawiya”
Review of El Badawiya Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Farafra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Badawiya Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farafra
Hurghada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Badawiya”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed earlier this year after a few days in the marvelous white desert (which is a must for a bucket list) ;-) The hotel was what I would call quaint with very basic amenities a good place to chill out and relax. The staff where excellent if you needed any help they were there for you. The town is close by within walking distance and is safe to walk around no hassle at all. I would of liked to have stayed a little longer to experience the rest of the place. The food is basic but for me was fine. If you get the chance go and chill

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJFHurghada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
5
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed at the hotel last year with a group of 12 friends after 5 days camping in the amazingly beautiful White Desert. The hotel was very welcome with it's cool calm ambience and after checking in, with no fuss, I was soon by the pool relaxing in the dappled shade of a tree.
I shared a basic room for three, although only two of us ended up staying in it as it only had one double bed, on a kind of mezzanine, and one single. I will be happy to stay in the same room again.
Meals were basic traditional food, which is what I wanted so all good there.
The hotel in built in a traditional style which I found very appealing and relaxing. It was also very quiet and peaceful.
The hot spring we went to is admittedly less inspiring even in the moonlight, being a concrete basin, but regardless it was still an interesting experience and I'm glad I went. It's authentic though, not prettied up for tourists.
The staff and management could not do enough for our group and made us feel very welcome.
I'm going again in a few months, with mostly the same group of people so I think that says it all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wellheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The rooms were clean, so was the pool. The food was alright, albeit standard oasis fare (rice and chicken or beef). Nothing extravagant, so maybe a bit overpriced. But with the lodging options lacking in town, it's difficult to avoid.

Located a short walk away from the centre of the village, so it's easy access to food if you're looking for lunch or dinner.

Good WiFi in the lobby area. Staff tends to disappear in the middle of the afternoon, and it can take a while before finding someone to help you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Built in a traditional style with a plethora of domes and arches. All public spaces are cavernous, giving an impersonal feel with little atmosphere. Accommodation is offered in standard (Euro 25) or suite (Euro 35) combinations (+ 12% tax and service) with or without half board. Our standard room was clean, if a bit gloomy - spartan rather than cosy. A curious split level sleeping arrangement, meant the bed was on a raised platform above the bathroom which necessitated clunking up and down the wooden stairs in the night. The walls are also paper thin - we were kept awake by our Egyptian neighbour making mobile calls for what seemed like the whole night. The staff - mostly young guys - do their best and are eager to please but communication was difficult. The food was rather mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saritrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

A place where you feel at ease, wish i could spend a month every year . very friendly habitants, normal prices for every need ,may be less than normal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohamedAbouArab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in thi hotel for one night after being in the desert.

The rooms were very traditional with reed cielings (traditionally used to act as heating when cold and to cool the room down when hot). The only downside to the rooms were that we had two single beds rather than one double which was a bit inconvenient as this was our honeymoon :-))

The rooms were lovely and clean with spacious bathrooms.

The hotel complex itself had ample outdoor seating which was great for relaxing in the sunshine and a small pool which was great to cool down in!

It was very quiet as other than ourselves there was only a young Egyptian family at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive and could not do enough to help us.

I think this hotel is a wlecome break after camping out in the desert.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mapsuita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We made the mistake of booking up and paying in Cairo for a 3 day stay in Farafra. Having arrived in an empty Badawiya hotel our family of 5 were placed in two rooms about 1km apart. There had been no communication between the Cairo office and the hotel in the oasis, who were themselves chaotically organised. It was not helped that some members of staff tried to rubbish the drivers who we had travelled with, in order to get us to use the hotel's drivers. It all felt tawdry and low. We left after two days, having had further unpleasant experiences about payment.

Rooms themselves nice, with balconies (though the camp bed option for the third child was uncomfortable. Swimming pool good. Some lovely staff - the gardener/horseman and some of the kitchen staff.

A reflection of the managemnt of the place was their inability to send on a child's bikini that had accidently been left behind.

PS - the hot springs in the area are sulphurous gushes of boiling water into concrete basins...not your swimming idyll (unless you're blind, anosmic and insensitive to water temperature). Obviously - this has nothing to do with the hotel, just a word of caution about the trips you may be persuaded on. What is unmissable is the drive to the dunes of the White Desert. Ask for Yahya - brilliant driver and super-cool desert guide.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Badawiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Badawiya Hotel

Property: El Badawiya Hotel
Address: Gamal Abdel Nasser St. | New Valley, Farafra 12311, Egypt
Region: Egypt > New Valley Governorate > Farafra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farafra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Badawiya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Badawiya Hotel is a traditional mud brick building with all the modern comforts, situated at the entry to the Farafra Oasis, featuring stunning rooms in a variety of styles, complete with fireplace, private outside seating areas, refreshing pool, and an elegant vaulted restaurant, serving a variety of dishes with fresh organic vegetables from the hotel's own farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Badawiya Hotel Egypt/Farafra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing