We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The club/Park section is not an Egyptian 5 star - more like a 3!”
Review of Jaz Mirabel Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaz Mirabel Club
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“The club/Park section is not an Egyptian 5 star - more like a 3!”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We returned today after two weeks. We travelled with a 10 yr + 3 yr old and have been to Luxor, Taba and twice to Sharm . We booked based on competitive price and good Trip Advisor reviews, but I have to agree with the Millies and dwhcraig below, it wasn't as good as we had hoped. We have mixed feelings, it wasn;t great - but it was OK..

Firstly the Club, the Park and the Beach are separate, but run into one another. (Club being lowest ranked and Beach being the 'best' of the three). The people who stay at the club and park are able to use all the same facilities and have all the same meal places and all inclusive deal (so not sure what the difference was except the price?).

Lots of British, French, Italian and German - so very European Resort!

Good points:
The room: spacious, well appointed and air conditioned. Our family room had a 2nd area/room for the kids twin beds (some of the family rooms are separated by a curtain only). The have a mini bar (chargeable), TV, mini-safe and a hairdryer. They also have toiletries (shampoo/body lotion etc) replenished almost daily.

The cleaner was wonderful and we tipped him £10 after a few days, our room was always done promptly and was very clean.

The pools were nice and the grounds were pretty. There was a good mix of children's pools, and graduated pools etc... they varied in depth and they were of a good size. (bad point here was not enough beds ... savvy people who had paid the pool attendants managed to get them 'reserved', we had to be up at 7.30am in order to get ours!

The slides: were great but the pool is small at the bottom, so you have attendants constantly whistling for you to get out of the way once you have 'landed' in the pool - they should be managing the flow of people going down them... They are a good distraction though and the kids loved them.

The grounds and pool areas were cleaned daily, so it was a nice environment to relax in..

The beach: is a bit of a walk (10 mins) from the Club/Park through the beach hotel, it is a flat shingle beach, with lots of loungers and shade. It was a nice beach but hard on the feet....you can walk out to sea quite some way, but there are fish right there at the shoreline. TAKE swim shoes for sure, there are sea urchins if you walk out to the reef.

The animation team at the pool: what an energetic and fun bunch. Anya was a star and there is belly dancing, aqua aerobics, waterpolo and all sorts of things you can get involved in and they really do keep you entertained in the day..

Kids clubs: There are a few - we didn't use these in the end but we had a look and they looked safe & fun for little ones. There is an 'international one' available to all who stay, but there was also a thomsons one for 'thomson' customers run by British carers.

The Jetty: About 15-20 mins walk from the Club/Park to the end of the Jetty. It belongs to a different hotel so you have to pay £4 each or 28 egyptian £ to go down it. (sometimes we had to pay for our 3 yr old, and sometimes not!) The snorkelling at the end of the jetty was fantastic and there are various points at the jetty for you to dip in, so our 3 year old went in too as it wasn;t too deep in places!

The weather: blue skies and 40 degrees each day.

Now to the bad.
I have never ever had such poor service, drinks or food on holiday! The theme nights consisted of 4 BBQ nights (chicken and beef), a grandma's recipe night (Chili?) and not sure if there were any others.

The food was the same every breakfast. salad (fresh admittedly).. cheeses, breads, dry pastries, omlettes/eggs/pancakes and beef or hot dog sausage, (sometimes beans), soggy french toast, yoghurt (cream cheese like!), porridge (dubious) and fruit - this was nice and changed between fresh dates, melon, figs, apples, banans. So whilst there was choice (some looked inedible though - solid scrambled eggs for example) but there wasn't variation, it was the same every day.

Evening meals were repetitive and the dishes didn't compliment each other.. always chicken, beef and koftka, and salad, sometimes fish, always a joint of meat (usually lamb), rice and a pasta station (but the sauces were watery and not great), and soup. the deserts were the same every night and mostly tasteless except for plain Baklava and the fresh fruit. The kids options were appalling, it was chips, chips, chips.. The snack bars were the same... 1 menu for the two weeks and you could wait over 1/2 an hour to be served! Some times lunch in the restaurant would be left overs from the night before on the salad bar or almost exactly what you would get in the evening.

You cannot eat at the Beach hotel except for the bar on the actual beach, and the snack bar nearest the beach (good service here). The a la carte restaurants - zen asia, an italian and teboush (egytian?) are not included (although you can pay £60 for two people and that entitles you to 3 x meals - one in each restaurant if you like).

Drinks, G&T would be 75% gin and 25% tonic (similar for all drinks). there was only local brands and they were like paint stripper. The beer (shandy) was by far the best bet, and you could help yourself to soft drinks machine and water. There was rarely any diet drinks... Icecream from the snack bars were perfect! The Italian coffee machine at the snack bar didn;t work whilst we were there at all, so it was packet nescafe if you wanted coffee... fairly regularly the soft drink machine ran out too...

There was one toilet block near the waterslides that served all the pools (Park and club), unless you went to the lobby bar or your room. We were a bit shocked at the lack of toilet facilities.

We have never suffered tummy problems before in any of our Egypt stays, but my 3 year old and I experienced a couple of poor days in the hotel room, and we had to get medicine for my son. We were not the only ones apparently and one or other of the pools had to be closed a couple of times due to 'accidents'. Ear infections were also a problem for some.

The service was dreadful everywhere and attitude of some staff was just plain rude. bar/restaurant staff have a tip box by the door which doesn't really encourage them to be helpful, and the place is very understaffed. Never was there a clear and made up table when we went to either of the two evening restaurants (Flooka or Cactus) - always had to wait..

The 'all inclusive' stops at midnight and does not extend to the night club. With young kids the after midnight deadline didn;t bother us though. The only hotel bars open after 5.30 are the lobby bars (park and club) and the drinks in the restaurant (help yourself to wine or beer). neither bar has enough space to cater for the guests. the entertainment takes place outside the Park's lobby bar on a terrace - and is woefully inadequate in terms of space and seating. The queues for the bar were dreadful and very few staff serving.
There are snack and cocktail/mocktail menu's with prices on, but they are already part of the all inclusive (if you are going there soon and get confused...) The cocktails look pretty, but are strong.. the kids loved the mocktails though!

You can get a taxi from the airport for 110 Egyptian total (which is better than paying for a bus and no hanging around) Its a 10 min drive. You can hire a laptop and internet for 45 Egyptian £ for 30 mins or 80 E£ for 2 hours.

You can also get a taxi to 'La strada' about 10 mins away for 38 E£ and they have a KFC, TGI Fridays (lovely), Starbucks, Chinese etc and a nice market. If you eat out -check the menu..... they put a 22% on the bill for tax and service.

The hotel minimarkets can be 'expensive' for trinkets... so it is worth going to the Strada. The hotel also offers a shuttle to Na'ama bay for 38 E£ per person 3 times a day.

Had my hair braided for £20 (at Alex salon in the market area of the hotel - not the spa), but don't have a manicure there - its not a professional manicure.

In summary, nice pools, nice place, nice rooms, nice beach... but really poor quality service, food and drink and evening entertainment - very understaffed and just didn't seem geared up for the peak season...

The kids enjoyed but we will not go back to a Jaz Mirabel resort again, although we will go back to Egypt again next year! A five hour flight to the sun and such a lovely country - its definitely a favourite holiday destination for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobsyummymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    236
    99
    41
    20
See reviews for
269
387
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Lets start with the positives, rooms good, air con superb, room cleaners excellent, towel/life guards very helpfull (tip in 1st few days to ensure beds), drinks ok, mmm thats about it.
The food is ok, can be repetative and dishes taste the same, theme evenings pants eg, Italian Night - Very stodgy Lasagne, thats it! NB Be careful re: Pharoahs curse, lot of people on the resort over the 2 weeks came down with this and it can last, recommend the on site pharmacy but expect to pay! NO WIFI!!! Internet usage extortionate. Entertainment ?? Ha ha be prepared to make your own unless your Italian!! Apart from the water slides there are some small play parks, football grounds (no supervision) and a club (Italian) intermittently. The rest good lord help you!! Service is best described as poor, probably the worst we have experienced, eg Bar = 1 staff member serving no matter the queue!! apart from the lobby bar the rest shut at 6pm sharp. Be prepared to experience some very rude staff and some very pleasant staff , you cannot read them, tip by all means and it may give you 30mins attention, unfortunately some of the staff like to fawn over the eastern europeans (Russians!) . If you come with reasonable expectations then you should not be too disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Just returned from a 2 week holiday with my wife and son aged 8 and feel I need to write this review. This hotel is FANTASTIC. Everything you want is there, sun, sea, great food and the beer/cocktails were lovely. We were advised to go to this hotel by a Hazel Darnell, a lady who finds the best deals for any holiday you require. Her number is 01493659727. Give her a ring, it wont do you no harm. Anyway back to the hotel. From the moment you arrive you are greeted by friendly staff who show you to your room, a small tip (£2 English) is fine. The rooms themselves are spacious and very, very well air conditioned which you have to turn off at night or you'll find your tongue stuck to the roof of your mouth. The food is plentiful as my wife and son are both picky eaters but found there was always something to eat every meal time. The fresh pasta made in front of you is lovely. The staff are great especially Maged (pool bar) Mohammed and Moustaffa (pool/towel boys) they would do anything for you and always had a smile on their face. I gave them a £10 tip at the start of my hols and they looked after us all of our holiday. We were able to use the other adjoining hotel facilities within the hotel except the Beech reception bar, but to be honest didn't need to as ours was just as good. My son met loads of friend and has a fantastic time, we gave him a bit more freedom and he was able to go and get his own ice creams, drinks and food as he wished with his friends. The entertainment is all for youngsters which was great as you just sit back and watch them whilst sat in the air conditioned bar, or you can join in with them as I often did. The hotels beech is about a 7 minute walk and once there you are able to use the bar free also. There is a jetty but it's next doors but you can pay £4 per adult (kids free) and walk along this all day as many times you like. The water and fish are brilliant. Crystal clear with amazing coloured fish at only knee deep so great for the kids. At the end of the jetty there's proper snorkeling to be done, and you have to do it. Just 2 steps of the stairs and you are on top of a coral reef with amazing fish, truly breathtaking. The Mirabel clubs water slides are also free to use and both me and my son were on them for about 2 hours aday. (great to get away from the missus for a while, as all you men know is needed. ) You are able to go out of the hotel and to the left is a supermarket and some small shops, but a 20 minute walk, or a local taxi ride (pay no more than 20 Egyptian Pounds £2,60p) and you are in Es Strada which is a busy place. The likes of Macdonalds, KFC and burger king are there, also alot of shops bars and market stalls. You do get asked to come in and look, but a firm No and they are fine. There is also a Metro supermarket for anything else you need. We went to Na'ama Bay (about 25 mins in the taxi) with other friends from our hotel and paid £20 for a return trip (dont pay the driver till he picks you up. He gives you his mobile and you ring him 30 mins before you want to return). Na'ama itself is very busy with bars and shops but worth a trip out to. I would defiantly return to this hotel and can say with all the looking on Trip advisor wasn't put off with the other reviews. Feel fee to contact me with any questions you have regarding this hotel.
There is only one thing to warn you about is the in house doctor, my wife slipped and bent her fingers back. In England she would have just taken pain killers but because there was a doctor there she decided to go to him without me knowing. 20 minutes later she returned with her fingers splinted and had a bandaged to her forearm. 3 lots of tablets and a ex-ray booked in the hospital. And a £140 bill plus the hospital bill. I went back to the doctor with her and told him this was WAY over the top and alls she needed was her fingers strapped together for a couple of days. He kept telling me he was the doctor (with £ signs in his eyes) but in the end I told him she didnt need all the tablets, ex-ray and bandage and he made me sign a form and we ended up with a £60 bill instead. But once again this hotel is FANTASTIC especially with kids. Its cleaned spotlessly all day, no sign's of Deli beli and you are made to feel so very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We had a wonderful holiday and cant wait to go back next year.
Having read some of the reports i can truely say i cant fault this hotel. In my opinion its better than the brochure ....... roll on July 2011 ...hahahaha

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise197-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Had a great holiday made even more special by Mohammed(white wine) & Moustafa (Angus) who worked behind the bar 2 very nice young men who became friends.All staff could not have been more helpfull from the gardeners to Receptionists.Food was ok some nights better than others but do agree that it did get a bit repetitive but always able to eat something.Rooms where clean but could be doing with a freshen up,but you do need to remember all year round resort so must be difficult to keep everything pristine.Reception areas in all 3 hotels very grand each 1 better than the last...the biggest downside for us was that we felt hotel was slightly further along than we would have liked, but it did not spoil Egypt for us.Love Egypt & the people 2nd time there & wont be our last.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

FOOD VERY REPETATIVE FOR 2 WEEKS, NOT 5 STAR STANDARD, A FEW HIDDEN POINTS THAT WERE NOT EXPLAINED IN BROCHURE OR AT THE HOTEL UNTIL CHECKOUT ie bill for mini-bar, 3 onsite restaurants which you had to pay for,unable to use other bars on site, 500m walk out to the reef over the coral, private beach was approx 30m long going into the sea about 50m. Best part was room cleaner who was very good at his job and every other day would leave you a surprise made up on your bed. The complex consisited of 3 parts, Club, Park and Beech hotels, all were AI but we at the CLUB could only use the bars at the PARK, we were refused a drink at the BEECH as we were not in their hotel. Also you could not eat or drink at their facilities unless it was the beach bar restuarant. The 2 previous trips my family has had to Sharm have been excellent as we stayed at the LTI Grand Azure about a mile away which really knocks spots off this hotel. Pleas feel free to email me any further Qs you may like to ask.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwhcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Having booked what we thought was a 4* plus holiday, we were disappointed that upon arrival we were left to find our own rooms and when we did find it, the stench of raw sewage was intolerable and the music from the pool area was so loud that I thought Bang goes my relaxing holiday. Luckily we found the beach after a 10 min walk and that was much more civilized. We did get our room changed away from the smell, and on the plus side the resort has many pools that can be used. On the downside the food was bland and on some nights I didn't eat anything, service was slow and the noise during the day made Sharm a disappointing experience for me.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#93 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaz Mirabel Beach
Jaz Mirabel Beach
#24 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
1.4 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Mirabel Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Mirabel Club

Property: Jaz Mirabel Club
Address: Mirabel Complex, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#20 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Mirabel Club 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Jaz Mirabel Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaz Mirabel Club Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Jaz Mirabel Hotel
Jaz Mirabel Resort
Jaz Mirabel Club Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing