We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4star hotel with 5star service.”
Review of Tamra Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamra Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“4star hotel with 5star service.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Ok let me start by saying that this is an absolutely beautiful hotel with 7 quiet pools 1 fantastic private beach with amazing snorkeling just at the end of a jetty. With a lovely spa and ok gym. This hotel I was told was created for Italians and Russians so literature is predominantly in Italian, however All the staff speak amazing English. My family and I were treated like royalty for the entire stay and Tamer at the central bar was a true gentleman and a brilliant host,what a hard worker. The food is samey as it caters for Italians so pasta rice fish and salads mostly but ok.And yes you cannot fill up water bottles, but drink dispensers are all around and they even bring you the water if you ask,so no need to get your knickers in a knot... Room was cleaned well everyday. The grounds are beautiful and the pools were never ever busy so getting a bed was so easy. Yes this hotel is geared up for Italians but treat them with servility and you will be well looked after. Amazing relaxing stay with shops and restaurants within a 25 minute walk.Taxis are cheap too. If you go to the central pool bar in the evening look for Tamer and tell him Gary says "Hello". He will treat you like true a friend and be an awesome host.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,913
    789
    208
    78
    66
See reviews for
1,064
1,056
104
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews plus a little bit of area research. Our aim was to have a week of relaxation before our daughter was born.

We visited Tamra at a relatively quiet time which was great. The staff we're friendly and we had a great room, close to the beach with a pool and sea view too.

We couldn't fault the food, plenty of choice for us and more than needed. Everything was freshly prepared and the Italian influence of the hotel meant the pasta was delicious!

We liked to close proximity of the hotel to the airport as it meant the transfer time was minimal. There we're planes flying overhead occasionally but that didn't bother us.

There was a very narrow stretch of beach and as with many resorts in Egypt you had to enter the sea for snorkelling via a jetty. The marine life was good, although if you're particularly keen on snorkelling/diving you'd probably want to book a trip or too away from the resort.

Overall we had a fab time and would recommend the hotel for a week away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali_bloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Firstly let me begin by saying that the gardens are beautifully kept but be careful on the crazy paving!
As a family of three staying at Tamra Beach in early July, I have to say how extremely dissapointed I am in this '5 star' resort. I have stayed in 5 star resort in Sharm before and this certainly is NOT.
Arriving in the reception area to find my feet being chased by insects and then made to wait to check in. The italian guest were offered drinks and cold towels, we were not. This, I discovered was the theme for the 10 days we were here. A lovely gentleman bless him took all three suitcases to our room which was very spacious. You can imagine though my dissapointment when, having been excited at the thought of my bath tub having a sea view (as advertised) our suite didn't even have a bath tub! Nor a sea view!
Dinner next, it was ok, nothing special but limited choice and eventually made us all quite poorly, without being too graffic. Making our way to the pool bar for a drink before we retired, no wine! well actually, you could get wine at the pool bar but you had to pay extra!! So if you wanted wine you had to top up at the restaurant but that closed at 9.30pm.
On waking the next day we dicovered that water was only available in tiny plastic cups that you filled from a dispenser and you were NOT allowed to fill your water bottles so we had to go to the local shop to buy water!! All inclusive, I don't think so.
This is anItalian based hotel, completely. All the animation team spoke in Italian, very limited English, they even too the Italian guests to Hard Rock Cafe, where was the invite for the English? Nowhere!!
There is a very noisy Russian hotel next door playing loud music and blowing whistles to swimmer who don't stay in their boundaries of the reef!!
The pools ar nice and quiet though, maybe because Italian are still being told not to travel to Egypt.
Dodgy maintenance staff that followed young girls to their rooms taking photographs of them. He was sacked, we think!
Promised room service, free wifi, then told no so had to argue with reception to get it after producing documented evidence. The list goes on and on. I have put an official complaint in along with other guests we met. Avoid if you want a stress free, happy relaxing holiday!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed 7 nights at this hotel. We very much enjoyed our stay - the hotel was extremely quiet and the food was good!!

The best thing about the hotel is definitely the jetty and snorkelling on the beach. It's absolutely amazing. We took two excursions - a boat trip to Ras Mohammed and 'Discover Scuba Diving' in Naama Bay. Both I would highly recommend.

When we first arrived at the hotel I was shocked by the lack of a 'grand entrance', but once we woke up in the morning and saw the beautiful grounds, this was soon forgotten about. We felt that the air conditioning in our room was not working properly and tried to call reception. We tried about 5 times and there was no answer, which then meant a very long walk up to reception! Some of the staff really struggle with English, which was a bit of a pain, but after some convincing we managed to get our room changed. The rest of the stay went without a hitch.

I would definitely go back again, IF it is still as quiet, because all of the entertainment is in Italian, and I think if it was any busier it would not be as enjoyable.

If you want a quiet, relaxing break away, Tamra is definitely the hotel for you in Sharm!

Room Tip: Pick a pool view - closer to the restaurant!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at the Tamra Beach 2 weeks end of March with my eldest daughter . Arrived at night and was a little disappointed with reception area as very dismal. However, very helpful reception staff and our cases were taken to our room right down on the beach area. What a surprise in the morning light. Fabulous view over the pool and beach. Wonderful lush gardens, very well maintained. Rooms kept clean and very artistic towel art.
Food was well cooked and plenty of variety. Waiters in the restaurant very attentive. Once they knew your drinks preference they would refill whenever needed.
It was very quiet due to Italian government advising their countrymen not to travel to Egypt. Our gain!! No early rises to claim sun beds. In fact we used to decide which pool today, and very often we were the only two there. Heaven
Half way through the week, most of the Italian animation team were either sent home or to other hotels. I assume due to lack of people. Most visitors were English. However, this did not in any way interfere with our fun as made friends with other people and drinks were flowing.
All stall were excellent. The guy at the pool bar brought us snacks and drinks to the poolside and even on my birthday, brought a vase of flowers. Wonder how he knew!!!
Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, so much st that I have booked to take my youngest daughter back end of August. Eldest daughter taking boyfriend.
Be aware of the on site shops. They do tend to overcharge. But Hey, they do have to make a living.
Special mention to Carmain at the boutique. What a character. Kept us amused every day.
Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday.
Good work Tamra. Keep it up. See you in August.

Room Tip: 6000 and 7000 blocks down near the beach but steep climb up to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My Fiance and I have just came back after 10 nights at Tamra beach and loved it there! Although it hasn't got a big grand entrance and reception like some of the bigger hotels in sharm, the rest of the hotel is pleasantly surprising. The pools are fantastic and really clean, the rooms were brilliant and luckily have much needed air con, and the beach and jetty were fab! The staff were all really friendly and helpful, especially the man on the jetty that lent us a snorkel and mask (can't remember his name). The sea is excellent there with so many different species and colours of fish right off the end of the jetty!we were amazed! The food was average, lots of pasta and pizza with it being italian run which we loved! Pancakes, omelettes and lots of pastries at breakfast as well as fruit, yogurt, breads etc. They had a bit of a bbq outside the restaurant a few of the nights, with traditional Egyptian food which was delicious! The hotel was not overly busy during our stay, which we found good, there was no getting up at 6 to put your towels on a sunbed, most days we'd get to the pool about 10am and still have plenty of free beds to choose from. The pool was never overly busy so it was really relaxing. I would say half of the guests were english and the other half Italian, no rude russians! It was mainly couples and families with teenage children at the hotel with only about 10-15 small children, so it was lovely and peaceful. The only downside would be the lack of entertainment and when there was any shows on, they'd be talking in italian so couldn't understand. We went to soho square two of the nights, which is about 15 minute taxi drive away (£15 return for 2 people). it's really good here and has a really good atmosphere!definitely worth a visit!
Overall we'd definitely go back to Tamra beach and this part of Egypt!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was advertised as 5* by Easyjet. I would give it 3* maximum. First impressions were not good as the reception area is sparse and uninteresting compared to other hotels in the area. All the main walkways are covered in a crude style of crazy paving which is unattractive and rough to the point of being a trip hazard in places - just try wheeling your cases over it. We got to our ground floor room and discovered that the fridge was inoperative and we couldn't access the safe. Reception quickly replaced the fridge but we never did get to use the safety deposit despite three requests. The room was reasonable except that the shower curtain was hung so that the water ran off the bottom and flooded the floor outside the shower. One towel per day had to be used as a soak. Staff were friendly but the hotel is geared for Italian guests and this shows in the (poor) entertainment occasionally provided. Two bottles of water are provided in the room on arrival and then you have to buy it as you are not allowed to fill bottles from the dispensers. There were several mean touches whereby you have to pay for things that you would expect to be free at a 5* all-inclusive. My opinion is that this hotel operates a penny-pinching policy. The food appeared to be good but many people were struck down by a tummy bug, including myself despite taking great care over hygiene. i am still taking antibiotics 10 days after returning home. On the plus side the hotel is wonderfully quiet, clean and the pools are well maintained. The sunbed mattresses are a delight and the room air conditioning was quiet, efficient and easy to operate.

Room Tip: Choose one close to the main restaurant to minimise a strenuous walk at mealtimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.3 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,344 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
3.4 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,014 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamra Beach

Property: Tamra Beach
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 11231, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamra Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxury 5-star Tamra Beach Resort is ideal for single travelers, couples and families looking to avoid long airport transfers and for somewhere they can relax and have everything catered for without the need to leave the resort. Tamra Beach resort is in the Nabq Bay area and on the beach front only a 10-minute drive from Sharm el Sheikh International Airport. It also offers 24-hour front desk service. The Resort is mainly an Italian Club, but welcomes other nationalities. The resort is located next to Nabq National park which is known for its colourful marine life and its extraordinary Mangrove colonies. All rooms are air conditioned they also have a bathtub, Rooms have modern furnishings and come with cable TV and a safe Deposit box Free of charge. The resort offers rooms with balconies overlooking the Red Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamra Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Tamra Beach Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing