We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sack the Manager!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Hayat Sharm Resort
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sack the Manager!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Greeted with a complementary drink which was great. Building nice, old, Egyptian. Staff seem nice and pools nice too. Until you get to the room, the view is nice from the balcony but the room is dirty, shower dirty, dirty towels, dirty dressing table with sticky glass rings on the table and then when you get in bed make sure you look out for the cockroaches that run across your room!!! Now to be fair for the price of this hotel you can't expect a spotless room but when it came to check out firstly we asked for a plaster for a cut, they didn't even have a full first aid kit and had no plasters, we had to use a bit of bandage and tape it on. We had paid for bed and breakfast for just the 1 night, the reception staff and manager were aware we did not have breakfast which was our own decision. Breakfast served till 10am. We checked out at 11am and asked for a glass of water / pineapple / orange juice (not fresh, just powder mixed with water which is like cordial), of course with us not having breakfast there shouldn't be a problem with this, it took TWO phone calls, 10-15mins to get an answer and in the end the manager refused. He said the only way we can have a drink is if we pay additional for it, of $2 per glass!! So to play him at his own game I asked if I get a partial refund then because we didn't get the breakfast that we paid for, of course the biased answer was no. I made it clear I would not return to this hotel because of how humiliated he make us feel over a glass of juice! I also advised I would review it on trip advisor, he then immediately offered me juice in a panick! I refused and left.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    107
    58
    48
    63
See reviews for
80
138
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I spent 3 days like dream in this hotel where you find every thing , coral in lovely beach , nice sea view room , breakfast whwre you have every thing in the open buffet ,lamd scape ,,,,,,what a beutiful gardens and swimming pools on different blevels , al souk resturant with nice dinner and show with billy dancer we stayed in the hotel 3 days like dream and the shuttle took mus to NEMA BAY where all the coffe shops open up early morning and all the pleasures and show . i have to come regulary to this hotel

Room Tip: sea view is so good but if i take any other room with less price it is also good as we spend all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ismail47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ismailia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed three nights starting from 1-4 May at El Hayat Sharm hotel at Nabq bay. I will start my review by mentioning good things.

The hotel has nice looking especially for those who like pharaohs. The hotel is looking like a big temple. every thing is giving you the sense of pharaohs, the walls, drawings and the ground. Another good thing is the animation team, I met one of them called Mohamed, a nice guy who guided us to two wonderful days outside the hotel. Thanks for him very much. The swimming pools are good, not too big, but good. Theater is also nice place for shows, it's also not big, but well prepared with sound, places for sitting, and nice lighting. They use the theater for animation shows which is good and funny.

Now, let's go to the bad issues:
1- The smell, when you wake up in the morning, opening windows for fresh air, you will smell the worst smell in the world. it's the smell of the dirty water used in the gardens. Very Very Very bad thing. You will immediately close windows and feel angry in the morning.

2- Don't be surprised if you find some devices are not good in the room like air conditioning. It was producing bad sounds that are annoying for everyone. The bed also is weak, and sometimes you hear some sounds, etc...

3- The Stuff: In many places you may find some non-caring stuff. But in this hotel, you will find something different. You will find voice-fighting stuff in front of everyone. You will find also non-caring stuff which will not respond to any of your questions nor requirements easily.

4- Restaurant: The restaurant contains not many kinds of food, but the available selection is good and in most cases tasty. However, don't be surprised if you don't find dishes, because they don't have automatic washing machine for dishes, they are collecting dishes, sending with a boy to some place to manually wash, and bring back. So, you should be patient.

5- If you want to drink some cold coca, you may go to the reception bar only. Other places don't offer this service. One of them (beside the swimming pool) told me "the refrigerator is under sun, and so no cold coca !!". The same thing in the restaurant, no cold coca. Juices are cold because of the juice machines.

As a summary, the hotel as a whole is average, and may be below average. You can select this hotel is you plan for a cheap travel and you will stay most of the time out of hotel. I think the rating as 4 stars is only done on official paper, but the actual behavior is less than 3 stars.

It was a trail for me, but I don't think I will select this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you plan to select this hotel, select ground floor rooms beside swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amabdelsalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I had to wait same weeks to write this review to trip advisor because the general manager of this hotel said if we complaint to trip advisor he will present charge against us in egypt police!!look like a joke but it was true!
It was the worst hotel i ever stayed in my life!!for sure!!
Same staff was nice,the cooker,the FB director(honest and kind) but the hotel is the hell!!
The grass is irrigated with the water of the sewer,imagine the smell and dirtness!!
There is not wash dish machine in the hotel!!!so they simply pass the dishes and cuttlery by water,no detergent!!no higyene!!
The rooms are dirty and ugly!!we have been a whole day without water and electricity in the hotel,and they served diiner and luch....how they cook and wash the food i really do not know!!
We all arrived at home really sick and ill!!!problems with the water of the hotel!!
Be careful with the director manager of the hotel,i think his name is Sheri,not a professional and honest person,he threat us with the police because we complaint about the dirtness of the hotel!!Avoid,Avoid,Avoid!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pedro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherine I, General Manager at El Hayat Sharm Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
With respect to the complaint that was posted on Tripadvisor towards our Hotel, please be informed that when the first complaint occurred on Dec. 23rd ,2012 and forwarded to my attention, I was personally concerned to learn that the crew were dissatisfied with several aspects of their stay, and they have accepted my sincere apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused on this occasion. Their comments were handled, answered on the spot and solved on no time, attached thanks letter sent from one of them which indicates that guests’ needs, desires and demands were fulfilled as fast and efficient as possible.

1.Crew complained from that they had a problem with the ground handling as they were promised from the company that will accommodate them in 5* resort, for that they were trying to get any compensation from the ground handling company via our premise.
2.I spoke with him on Jan.2nd ,2013 as he complained from the buffet lunch at 12h30 noon before starting as he went to the restaurant during the time of the buffet preparation. Frankly speaking, this day we had a problem with the Electricity (cut off from 11h00 till 13h45) from the main source and he was anxious and asked if we will serve lunch on time or not. Then he talked about that we aren’t proficient in handling food safety issues. A full explanatory clarifications were passed to him that our premise is well prepared for handling such an emergency cases as well as our TM’s are well trained to face such critical cases but he didn’t believe that even after checked by himself the food at the buffet and discovered that all food were in good and normal conditions regarding the temperatures level specially the hot food.
2-He threatened us that he will post bad review on Tripadvisor and our answer was that we will reply with the true and honest evidence.
3-Regarding the police issue, this is something against our principles as a hotel management company. We here in El Hayat believe strongly in having a sustainable business and we have put values and systems in place to ensure that we remain focused on the needs of the people that matter to us most and we focus on doing things the right way. Our reputation and brand have taken five years to create so we cannot put our reputation at stake.
4-During their stay they caused problems with our entire TM’s – F&B service, regarding the extra drinks, while presenting the cheque for signature after the discount granted to them although their meals plan was on Full Board basis without drinks however, we provided them free water, hot & soft drinks during Lunch & Dinner times.
5-The ground handling company requested from us to write full report regarding the crew member attitude & behaviors but the management took a decision that our premise is not a part of the existing problems between the Crew members and the ground handling company because our Hotel motto is “Trust Service” you build trust and make sure that this trust is justified constantly.

Thank you

Sherine Ismail
Hotel Manager
El Hayat Sharm Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nabq Bay hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a base while Kitesurfing, incredible for the price really. The food at breakfast is a bit naf, some dodgy looking potatoes and beans. Lots of Russians staying here. Friendly, helpful staff. Would stay here again - for the low cost if nothing else.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Therealellbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Well we booked this as a cheap deal and really you do get what you pay for i suppose, this was kind of a last minute deal before christmas we travelled on 10/12/12, we have been to sharm before and not really had many problems with hotels, on arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist which was nice after a long flight, we were shown to our room and walked past the pool area which seemed okay, not really what we were used to be we were prepared to be open minded, we have a very long day and wanted to grab some food first night in the restaurant the food was very very cold in which we could not eat, we thought that it may have been just that night so we tried it again the following day and it was the same very cold, we have stayed at the holiday village over the road and were contemplating moving over there for a couple of nights but then decided against that as the hotel was fine, pool area was okay, staff were very good and rooms were also okay.

The hotel was full of russians who just wanted to get drunk all day long, when you talked to them they were actually really nice people but they were more than likely drunk.

Places in which we ate at were; Pecking chinese(nabq bay), Three crowns (nabq bay) and hard rock cafe in narmma bay they were all lovely.

But overall we had a good trip and ideal if your looking for a base.

Cesars nightclub was next door and you got in free entry before 12.

Egypt is a very up and coming place with more and more development

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the nightclub Be next to the big pool great sea view from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayla12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Me & my fiance returned yesterday from a one week holiday at the El Hayat Sharm Resort.
We booked only 2 days before travelling therefor did not research the hotel or read many reviews. I would not return to this hotel as it was well below our expectations. The food was barely warm and catered for the Russians. We were the only non-russian couple which was also very dissapointing. We spent all of our time outside the hotel and only had 3 meals at the hotel. The rooms were shabby and the furniture was worn. The housekeeping service was also very poor - we had to prompt the housekeeper to clean our rooms whenever we saw him otherwise our rooms were not made up or cleaned. We was accommodated into a twin bedroom and when we disputed it we were told that there was no other rooms and we had to make do with pushing the beds together.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mazel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.2 mi away
Laguna Vista Garden Resort
0.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#58 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rehana Royal Prestige Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hayat Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hayat Sharm Resort

Property: El Hayat Sharm Resort
Address: 13 B Peace Road | Center of Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#27 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — El Hayat Sharm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohamed Salah Asst. Front Office Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Hayat Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hayat Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
El Hayat Sharm Sheikh
El Hayat Sharm Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing