We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Resort "Start to Finish"”
Review of Sea Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Gardens
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Reviewed 25 September 2010

The Sea Garden Resort is part of the Sea Group, this consists of the Sea Club - Sea Life and where we stayed, Sea Garden, Nabq Bay. A small and quiet 180 room complex situated on the same site as the other two, you may use the other two hotel facilities including eating in the restaurants and participating in activities.

This is a lovely hotel for relaxing & chilling out place where the staff are absolutely brilliant & so funny, also cannot do enough for you. Our room was upgraded to a suite and was so very very clean with towels and linen changed daily.

The food we had was extremely good and cooked thoroughly, although we had a rotated 10-day theme night in the restaurant there was'nt enough variety, that may not be a bad thing as we did'nt come home stuffed, cakes are great though!. What was great for a change was that there were NO chips on offer in the restaurant at any of the meal times, if you wanted chips you could have a poolside snack of burgers/hotdogs/pizza & chips between 1230 - 1430 every day.

There was light entertainment each evening in the small lobby bar which was surpringly good, it was also available in the other two hotels plus an Amphitheatre called Moulon Rouge.

The jetty was a nice walk and you could snorkel off the end, the added bonus was that you could walk out from your sunbed for less than 100 metres and snorkel over the coral reef as an alternative, it was absoluely breathtaking and the fish were fantastic, never to be forgotten experience. I could not believe a report I had read about the poor Coral Reef & the fish in the Nabq Bay area, this is absolute nonsense as far as our reef is concerned, it is 5*.

The whole site was fabulous and a well lit good walk could be had each evening. We visited Old Market in Sharm which was colourful and OK but if you don't like persistant shopkeepers then it is not for you.

On the other hand, and only 7-minutes away by hotel taxi there is Soho Square, (see Mike in Sea Life reception and book a taxi for 100LE both ways) this is a year old up market shopping and live entertainment area built by the Savoy hotel & is brilliant, they are not allowed to harass you so even wandering in/out of the shops is a joy.

This is our 3rd trip to Egypt and has been extremely good & relaxing with no problems at all. This is perfect for couples but not much to do for kids. It was around 38C - 44C during the day and about 30C - 35C at night, it is lovely and dry heat so not uncomfortable.

I would also likme to say that there is a mis-conception about having a problem tummy in Egypt. In the main the problem is not with the food butis the extreme heat that we are not use to and when you poor cold liquid into a hot body you will, if you are unlucky get cramps which can lead to gastro problems.

Drink plenty of liquid but let it warm a little first, and no ice. If you do have an incline that there is a problrm coming on the go to the pharmacist and buy an anti-bacterial product call Antinal, a 3-day course of tablets that will put you back on track within hours.

Please do not let the stories of tummy problems put you off as is a fantastic country, just do your research and use common sense.

Any questions please email me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

Just returned from an 11 night stay at the Sea Garden Resort. I couldn't ask for more from a sun, relaxing holiday! The only downfall is that we couldn't stay longer!

We travelled as a group of two couples in our mid twenties! This hotel / resort was more than suitable for our age group. But I would totally recommend it to people of all ages.

We arrived late and missed the all inclusive. This didn't bother us as we were expecting it. We bought 4 sandwiches and chips but it was so cheap we didn't mind! From then on in we really didn't need money unless we wanted to do trips, shopping and late check out as the resort had so much to offer!

Sea Garden is part of one huge resort. You can use the facilities of all three (Sea Life / Club / Garden). We liked the pool best at Sea Garden as it was the most clean pool area and most relaxed. However we did spend a day or so at the others and also went to the beach a few times. The snorkelling is great. I didn't go into the deep part but my friends said they didn't see many more fish than what I saw in the shallow part.

The food was great. They had different themed nights. We all thought Egyptian, Lebanese and International were the best. Every meal time had something for everyone. The soft drinks were good and the juices were fine as long as you asked for the juices (pineapple, orange and apple) out of the carton and not from the machines. The boys didn't mind any of the alcoholic drinks. Me and my friend on the other hand thought rum was the best mixer with orange (from the carton)! The wine was pretty good to. I have had worst! To avoid being disappointed by the 11:00pm cut off we just ordered a few drinks before - easy enough. Tea and coffee was free and available all day long! None of us were ill or bed bound. I ate everything except for salad and ice. But my friends had the ice and a bit of salad and were ok. I ate the local icecream and ate at all three restaurants and no illness.

The rooms were huge with spacious balconies. The lighting was a little dark but I find that with a lot of hotels particularly in the bathroom. I thought the bathroom could have been cleaned a little better. Towels and linen were changed everyday. You also got fresh beach towels everyday. The air con was good and easy to control. Only downfall to air con is the dry throat, dry skin and cough I have come back with. But I guess it's unavoidable unless you want to be boiling hot! The grounds particularly in Sea Life and Garden were beautifully maintained!

The hotel entertainment was good and bad. The shows were pretty poor by the animation team - they lack talent completely they are just a bunch of people having a laugh - not trained in any skill. Only one night there was a dance show which was quite good. While we were there they had a beach party and a pool party which was cool and saved us spending money on a night out. (The bars and clubs in Naama Bay looked and sounded pretty tacky, so we were glad we didn't spend lots of money on a night out. Would just try Paacha next time we go). The Oriental tents were great. They were open until 2:00 am. Very relaxing. You can get a range of Egyptian teas and coffee and Hubbly Bubbly. The bars were great a few of them had singers or music playing so you could have a dance. The animation team were better at the activities throughout the day like water gym, yoga and stretching, water volley ball and bowls. The only negative I would have at Sea Garden is that a daily timetable of actvities wasn't put up so I often missed things because I didn't know the times they started. Also if you want to do yoga or stretching in the other hotels get there quick as they only have about 7 mats (which is ridiculous for such a huge hotel).

Me and my boyfriend treated ourselves to two massages - they were well worth it! Wouldn't recommend any of the beauty treatments. We started having a facial but walked out. They had one person between the two of us. We weren't being told what was being put on our faces. They then wanted to use lasers on us which wasn't what was sold to us by which point we had enough and walked out. My boyfriend also has a nut allergy and they couldn't understand this when we asked what was in the mask ingredients. It was a risk we didn't want to take.

The staff overall were really lovely and polite and couldn't do enough so no complaints there!

I found Old Sharm best for shopping. Lots of choice and less hassle. Naama Bay was more lively but it was also rowdy in places and the shop keepers were more pushy. There are shops at the hotel but you feel as though you can't really haggle there and the prices are slightly higher. TGI's did 2 4 1 cocktails 11pm - 1am.

We kept one room between the four of us on the day of checkout 12:00pm - 8:00pm. This was £10 each. That included the all inclusive which I thought was good value. We had another full day by the pool!

I would definitely go back to this hotel! Fantastic value for money - perfect weather, lots to do, lots to eat and drink! Fabulous holiday!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Em0785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just returned from the sea garden hotel in sharm. Travelled as a party of 5 which included a small child of 3. The hotel room was fantastic very spacious with a separate living area and great when you have a child with you. The childrens club was fantastic too and my 3 year old son loved every minute of it.
The restaurants were fab and had a great selection of food on a daily basis, yes it can become repetitive but it is very nice and lots of choice.
The hotel itself is spotless and they are always cleaning the rooms and gardens etc are very well maintained. i would definitely return to this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone from couples to families. All in all it was a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank magsNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Just spent 2 weeks @ Sea Garden resort and really enjoyed it. From the first greeting in reception we were made to feel welcome. Our room was in Sea Garden and was very clean & huge. We shared a suite with our 15 year old daughter but she had a seperate section with her own TV & space. After reading previous reviews we chose to eat at Gardens but you can eat at the Club or Life hotels. As with any Egypt all inclusive the food is not good. For some reason they cannot cook meat. Salad, veg & pasta are brill and omelette, pancakes, yogurt, fruit & danish ok for breakfast - forget the rest & as for pool side lunch, yuck. And what is it about Egyptian "local" alcohol, they all taste the same, paint stripper, and smell disgusting but hey drink enough of it & you become immune - though my husband brought in 2 litres of Smirnoff from the plane so he didn't need to touch it!!
Beware as all-inclusive finishes at 11pm. Couldn't find any inclusive ice cream anywhere, but coffee tea etc available free all day contrary to a review I read before I went.
Staff overall were really nice. We had a good walk round the whole resort and chose the Sea Life pool area as it seemed the best. Unfortunately the pool didn't seem to be cleaned as often as it should but it was ok. The pool at The Club we found out later in the holiday was much cleaner but not as nice surroundings. The animation team were brill at Sea Life, especially, Gianchi & Fabio, though all of the team were excellant but not annoying. The gardens on the whole site were beautiful & well tended. Beach area was ok, a bit slopy & gritty. View out to Tiran & the wreck was lovely.
Husband had an excellant boat day trip out snorkleing - best food of the holiday he said.
On the whole a brill holiday, who can fault the heat & sun & clear blue sea & fish galore.
Our recommendation - Sleep & eat at Gardens, use pool at Life or Club

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Just returned from Sea Gardens which is one of three hotels within the resort. Sea Gardens is 4* rated, however the Sea Club is rated 5*, this is quite apparent with the reception areas. The whole complex is kept very tidy, and rooms are cleaned to a high standard. All the staff are very welcoming, and helpful. The one thing that lets this hotel down is its All Inclusive policy. You have to pay to use the A La Carte Restaurants, and pay for fresh orange juices in the morning. The only time you will get ice cream as part of the all inclusive is on Italian night. Day time entertainment is fine if you want to join in, however the evening shows were not worth watching, they were a very poor standard with not much imagination. For the price we paid for a family of four and the room that we received it was worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Hunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

What a lovely stay we had,worth every penny. Staff was brilliant with our kids and very helpful in general.very clean rooms with lots of space.private beach not even 5 minute walk away which was good as we had a 2 year old with us.would recommend this hotel and my partner and I are going back again without the children for a nice a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobbsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Initially we were a little disappointed. We arrived at 5am and the hotel reception is very small and unwelcoming - very different from some of the palacial style reception areas we've experienced in the past. We were shown to our room which was very large and comprised two large rooms plus the shower-room. One room had two sofa beds and the other a queen size bed and a single bed. After a few hours sleep (having travelled all night), we opened the curtains to realise we overlooked a quarry with the sea in the distance !! The decor in the room was a very poor standard and the sofa beds so hard that we deemed them unsuitable for the kids to sleep on. We asked to change rooms and after a 24 hour delay, we were given a far superior room overlooking the pool. Again, this room had sofa beds. When we asked if they could be changed for single beds, we were told a flat "No, it's not hotel policy".
Rooms have excellent air conditioning, individually controlled for both sections of the room, a fridge, reasonable storage space, two TVs (with several English speaking channels) and the bathroom that has a shower (not a bath!).
We suffered a number of power cuts that became more regular during our stay. On our last night, we had no air con and no running water for several hours. Not to mention no lights while we were trying to pack !!! I don't think this was unique to the hotel but it was a pain nevertheless.
All that said, we had a great fortnight and the kids thoroughly enjoyed their holiday. The food is excellent by Egyptian standards. They run different themes every night throughout the three main restaurants (Sea Club, Sea Life and Sea Garden hotels) that repeat every ten days. The all inclusive drinks stop at 11pm but it never gave us an issue as our kids were usually ready for bed by then anyway !
The pool is often a little noisy and crowded. If you've got kids it's not an issue, if you want peace and quiet then this is not the hotel for you ! Staff are generally friendly and helpful.
Evening entertainment is fairly hopeless (as is usual in Egypt) but we met some fantastic people and often chilled out in the Lobby Bar listening to the various music acts which were generally very nice in the back-ground.
The site is massive, housing three hotels. The beach is a short walk through the Sea Life Hotel and the fact that you can use all the bars and restaurants in all the hotels gives you huge choice. We found the Sea Club restaurant the best. It is very palacial and grand with excellent food and service. Unfortuately we couldn't often be bothered to make the 10 minute walk so mainly ate at the Sea Garden restaurant which was closer! (How lazy !!!)
Snorkelling off the beach is very good with a large variety of fish within feet of the water's edge. Be careful on the Coral though, I slipped over and hurt my back leading to a good few sleepless nights and days of pain. There are always plenty of sunbeds at the beach and the bars (which also serve snacks) were a god-send.
In summary, it's a very nice hotel. It's not 5 star but it certainly has some 4 star quality. It's a shame they don't have any water-slides as our kids did miss them this year but they did keep themselves amused and overall we found nothing really to complain about !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guyzie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nabq Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
4.7 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Life Resort
Sea Life Resort
#6 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
#12 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,617 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gardens

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £90 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Sea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gardens Hotel Nabq Bay
Sea Garden Hotel
Hotel Sea Garden
Sea Gardens Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing