We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Nightmare” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday Nightmare”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just got back from a 2 week holiday to this hotel.

Ratings - Food 2 star at best. Cold, uninspiring and tasteless
Pools - 3 star. Main pool tends to cater for those of us who prefer tasteless dance music. Small pool ok but to secure a sunbed you are looking at 200 Egyptian for 2 weeks in tips
Staff - 2 Star. Once the tips start to flow then you will get some service but this is ONLY when you start paying extra
Entertainment - 1 star. Nightclub opens 2 nights a week but is empty by midnight once the Russians have left

Overall we had a terrible experience here. The food was so bad that we skipped dinner on 3 nights and eat out on 9 occasions at considerable expense.

The room which we were in was basic and needed decorating and could also benefit from a deep clean.....

Front of house staff could not be less interested in guests if they tried

Housekeeping refused to leave bottled water unless you tip daily and the quality of alcohol in offer was abysmal

Overall experience was so bad that we are in the process of complaining to the firm that sold us the holiday and are also in contact with Watchdog.

Advice to anyone thinking if booking here would be to think again!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms starting with 300
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Col H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    425
    191
    71
    54
See reviews for
625
560
82
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had an amazing time at the Oriental, Lovely cold air con with amazing staff that make you feel welcomed all the time, Reception are always there to help you if there is a problem with your room or anything else, It was not over crowed so we had an amazing time, the food was lovely and catered to your needs, we are now going back end of July. Can't wait to go back and would really recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annoymus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanaa W, Manager at Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the whole management & staff of Oriental Resort , I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and we are looking to welcome you again at the end of July as you said.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We would both like to thank all the staff at the hotel, very helpfull and friendly especially Islam in the dining room. We decided to go for the cheaper room expecting something a bit basic but we were very happy with whole package. The food was exceptional, I am a vegetatrian and they catered for everybody. So much food and so much to choose from. It would have been better without the russians but plenty of english and scottish folk there as well. The beach is a must, we loved it and the quiet pool at the front is more relaxing than the main one unless you have children and then they would love that more as the entertainment is there. The entertainment team are great as well and they have a light excercise bit at the beach too. The hotel is in a prime spot if you want to go out of the hotel and visit shops etc and there is a starbucks as well as i love my soya latte!! I would recommend shopping at the metro supermarket which is right next door to the hotel rather than buying goodies at the hotel shop which charges a fortune for pringles!! Lovely holiday and would visit the oriental again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new part are better, room 4125 was very luxurious and overlooked the quiet pool. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanaa W, Manager at Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Tracey,

I really appreciate your positive feedback as your opinion is very important to the Management as well to to people looking at Trip Advisor.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a lovely time at this hotel. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds, lovely cold aircon!. Our first week was great, it was not overcrowded and we had good service at the restaurant, however the second week was much busier and on a few occasions it seemed the restaurant had difficulty coping with no glasses available and a wait for bowls and plates to be brought out.

There was a good variety of food but we did need to go 'hunting' as on occasions food was cooked outside and it was only when we saw different items of others plates we realised it was a themed night. We also struggled on the second week to get sunbeds round the pools (they have 3) so mostly ended up on the beach.

If you are going to stay at this hotel the beach party is a must. It is £10 per person which at first we thought was a bit cheeky but the entertainment was excellent with traditional dancers and fire acts.

The Animation team are fantastic and work so hard, staying for 2 weeks we thought the shows may be repeated but they were all different which was great. They have activities on the beach including belly dancing (my favourite), aqua fit, volley ball, darts and yoga to name a few so you won't get bored!

The Italian restaurant made a welcome change from the buffet. You get one voucher per week you stay, I can recommend the steak which was really delicious.

Overall we have had a lovely relaxing time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanaa W, Manager at Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Kim,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole Management for having time to write your feedback at Trip Advisor. Concerning the point of sunbeds, we have 3 pools with sunbeds all around in addition to the beach, but we will work on increasing the number to cope with 100% occupancy.
Thank you for attracting our attention to this point and we are looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned from spending two weeks at the oriental. Overall, my boyfriend and I had an absolutely amazing time there and would definitely return for another holiday. All the staff were extremely friendly we arrived at about 9:45, the food stops at 10:00 so the receptionist took our luggage of our hands and let us get something to eat. Baboo and Erica from the animation team were also fabulous, by building relationships witth people round the pool and constantly making people laugh, also the games of killerpool/darts, waterpolo, ping pong tournaments were brilliant. The men at the pool bar were great. The man from the Italian restaraunt, average height, thin, very short hair was fab as he saw us alot of times coming in with Burger King drinks he asked us why we werent eating in the resort, we explained (basically my boyfriends very fussy and doesnt eat any sauces), and he got us in to the italian restaraunt again as we had been once and enjoyed it, he also introduced us to Marcus who was willing to have the chefs cook us whatever we wanted. They both were very kind and helpful. The food from the Italian Restaraunt was gorgeous aswell. The cleaner we had was absolutely lovely. Did not catch his name but we were in room 273 on the 29th June. The room was always spotless and he couldnt do enough, making sure we had enough bottled water coffee/tea etc. Everyone of the staff is so friendly and welcoming and cant do enough for you. Cant praise this place and its staff enough for ensuring we had the best holiday! Also this place is in a prime location, surrounded by bars, restaraunts (TGI fridays, Hard Rock Cafe, Mcdonalds, Starbucks, BurgerKing etc) all on the doorstep of the hotel. Also plenty of Souvenier shops.
Meg and Liam! x

Room Tip: We stayed in room 273, which when we booked was 'promo run of the house room' but was absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKH1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanaa W, Manager at Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dears Meg &Liam!,

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback, We are very glad that you enjoyed your vacation at Oriental Resort and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Your comments are considered very important for the Management in particular and also for the people in general who look at Trip Advisor to chose a resort for spending their holiday.

We appreciate your feedback a lot.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our 8 time in Egypt and the 3rd time in the Oriental Resort, When we arrived at the hotel it was like getting welcomed back in to the family, It had been a couple of years since we were there with a there are lot of new staff members, but when you meet the older guys it was great. the customer service at the hotel is great. From the guys in the lobby bar, Pool Bar, Cocktail Bar and the excellent new Beach bar all were first Class(Even when the Russians wound them up).
We spent most lunches at the Beach bar Where our old frend Mish Mish and the boys do a fantastic job looking after every one.
We had dinner a couple oftimes at the restaurants where the guys again looked after us with some lovely fillet steaks, even having time to enjoy my daughters 17 Birthday with a cake and a wee sing song with the guys and the best entertainer in Egypt Baboo. This guy is great at involving everyone at the pool of in the eveining( He even gotme up singing in the night club.(Could the hotel pass on me and my family's thanks for a great holiday) The whole animation team work no stop to ensure the guests have a great holiday.
The only slighy issue i copuld see was the cleaning of the BIG Pool the edge at the scum channels could be doing with a clean.(This was a minor issue.) We hope we will return to Oriental Resort and would recomment this hotel without a doubt.
Well Done the Oriental.
One small bug no free wifi and when asked for 1 hour told me they only had a day a day ticket left no used at 10 at night) It should be free wifi
From Will.ie and the spice Girls.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanaa W, Manager at Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback at Trip Advisor, looking forward to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Thank you once again for a lovely holiday ,your staff are amazing especially Waleed Pawlo at the small pool he sure is an asset to your company also Mamhood at the pool bar they were lovely nothing was to much trouble for them ,we sure will be back next year x Debi jenks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanaa W, Manager at Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Looking forward to see you again in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
11.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,099 reviews
0.6 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#93 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
14.9 mi away
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
#92 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 002069, Egypt (Formerly Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nabq Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Oriental Resort is located in the heart of Nabq, which has become the most sought-after location in Sharm El Sheikh. The resort boasts a breathtaking beach with crystalline waters, sun-kissed sand and luxurious spacious accommodation surrounded by lush exotic gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Nabq Bay
Oriental Hotel Nabq
Oriental Resort Nabq
Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing