We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Merhaba! - you couldn't be made more welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
essex, england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Merhaba! - you couldn't be made more welcome!”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

The hotel surrounds, the gardens, the rooms, the staff cannot be faulted. The staff especially are such nice people and make you feel so welcome and so special - not just the staff in your own area or the bars/restaurants you frequent, but as you walk through the grounds/hotel areas, just everyone greets you with a smile and a "good morning/afternoon/evening; how are you". They are truly wonderful. Kelly, the hotel relations person, is particularly good. Even if you go with a tour company (and the Thomson reps, Angie and Samy are good also - and always around) it is worth seeking her out, as she loves to talk to you, hear what you have to say and is a mine of information.
If you want a week or two, all-inclusive, 4/5 star hotel on beach with great pools, you've got it here. The swimming/snorkelling is amazing - like swimming in an aquarium. What I would point out, however, is that if you like sea swimming, you have to do it off the pier - in 25 metres depth. While we were there, there was a bit of a breeze blowing and red flag was up until after lunch most days, so pier was no go a lot of the time. The one time I went off the pier, it was a bit disconcerting as the lifeguard was very astute about blowing his whistle to ensure you did not venture more than a few yards from the pier. Not sure if this was because of the swell/tide/current, or that they are still panicking about sharks! Understandable - and all for our own safety. We went on a diving/snorkelling boat trip to Tiran Island which was very relaxed and absolutely fantastic. Best snorkelling I have ever done (including the GBR) - you didn't need to SCUBA - vis is so good you can see the divers on the bottom beneath you and can see everything they can.
What you need to know is that the coral comes in right to the beach in Nabq Bay so you CANNOT swim off the beach - although if you walk to the right a few yards there is a lagoon (about 3/4 ft deep) that you can swim in. No prob when we were there, as hotel was half empty (almost all English, absolutely no Russians etc) and you can take your pick of frontline sunbeds on the beach at any time of the day. If you've got young children and want to see them running in and out of the water, then you need to be by the lagoon. Might be a prob if hotel was full?
Food is OK. Nothing to rave about, but perfectly acceptable. Main buffet has loads of choice, including freshly cooked grills/roasts, pizzas, pastas. Breakfast very good - anything and everything you could want - and amazing pastries. Twice weekly BBQ evenings are fab. Eat on the terrace and you will feel you are more in a restaurant (albeit self-service) than inside, which has less atmosphere. A la cartes? Take your pick - we liked Chinese the best, although everyone raves over the Italian .... Everyone to their own taste and experience! Personally, I like eating outside and would prob trade the A la cartes for a table on the terrace in the better evenings (don't forget we had this breeze/more like a wind some evenings - not sure if it was unusual for time of year or not).
Entertainment - the best I can say is that it's extremely hit and miss! Youngsters will want to (and did) head into Narma Bay - half an hour away - in which case you might as well stay there to begin with. Families and oldies will be fine. Basically this is a hotel based holiday - there is nothing to walk to outside except a new shopping complex and a couple of English (!) or pseudo Egyptian bars (oh - and Macdonalds and TGIs!). This is a beach resort holiday. The area has been carved out/reclaimed from the desert and there are no authentic towns/villages to visit nearby. Noone actually lives here or comes from here - all the staff are from Cairo and other main cities - some hundreds of miles away and not do-able as a trip unless you want to pay a lot to fly or spend 6 hours on a coach! If you want to see Egypt/the Nile/Temples/Pyramids, stay there or do a 2-centre.
Naama Bay and Soho Square are purpose built bar/shop/nighclub areas. We didn't go to the "old town" as such, cos people who did said it wasn't worth it (unless you are into cheap and obviously fake handbags). There is a nice carpet shop in Soho Square and I bought some fab Egyptian cotton shorts/trousers at the shop in the airport on the way back. Basically, although we've been to Egypt, I don't think I could say I experienced much that was Egyptian - except, as mentioned before, the peole who are fantastic.
Lastly, be prepared for the spirits at the hotel to be "local" not brands you will recognise. Some are rather "rough" - but you'll get used to them if you persevere! We were pleasantly surprised with the wine and stuck to that most of the time. We're not beer drinkers but that seemed to be Ok - the usual non-descript lager type.
Have tried to give a balanced view so you know what to expect - but absolutely overall recommend it. Very good value for the price and beautiful and clean place. Only thing I would caution is bear in mind hotel was less than half full when we were there; could be a different experience if it were full - but any probs, spk to Kelly and she will sort!

Room Tip: Our superior ground floor poolside room was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pandora2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,043
    633
    245
    54
    45
See reviews for
1,239
1,882
81
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Ignore any negatitve reviews you might see about this place - it's beautiful!
First impression of the RGA was outstanding! Beautiful long drive, lined with palm trees. Friendly staff to greet you in a stunning reception area.
There is an army of staff, from cutting the grass and collecting the fallen petals to serving your drinks! All of them friendly and helpful.
The Zodiac restaurant has a vast amount of choice and all of the food is first class! We didn't really like the Italian or the Chinese, buts thats just personal taste, many people we spoke to loved them! The indian was excellent.
The rooms are 5 star quality. We asked to change rooms after the first night because we wanted to be closer to the reception area, Mohammed on reception changed us to another room straight away and it made our holiday! We moved to 8006, beautiful room.
The only negative is that the matresses are too hard. They are of high quality but too hard! We did advise reception and they brought softening aids for the matress straight away, bed still too hard though, sorry! The room was always cleaned and stocked up really well every day.
We would highly recommend having a massage by the pool, do it before you get sunburnt!
The beach is fantastic - always clean, beach bar staff very friendly.
Diving off the jetty is a must!! Great snorkelling, excellent visibility.
The pools were lovely but really cold! The heated pool was beautiful and the slides were really good fun!
The pool bar for us was probably our favourite spot! Great atmosphere, fantastic staff! Met some great people!
The gardens are beautiful, flowers everywhere! Constantly maintained.
We wanted a really chilled out two weeks and that's what we had. We didn't have much need for the First Choice/Thompson reps Angie and Samy but whenever we did need anything from them, or any help, they were always around and very helpful. Thank you to Samy for writing the note!!
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking 5 star treatment.
All of the staff were excellent and the service was fantastic, in particular, we'd like to thank the following staff for making our holiday even better!
Abd Allah at the pool bar
Ahmed at the pool bar
Mohammed, the general manager
Mohammed (1058)!
Ali (bubba) from the main restaurant ALRIGHT BUTT!
Osama, second in command to Head Chef and the head chef (cant remember his name!) THANKS FOR THE EXCELLENT CHICKEN PIE!!
Mohammed (Tito) from the beach and his collegaue, Mohammed
Angie and Samy.

Mark and Jo, will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Stayed forba week in April, over lapping into the school holidays. Was quite to start off with but was full by the end of our week. Plenty of sun beds for everyone although not enough umbrellas. Rooms are lovely and kept very clean. Most staff are very helpful with the exception of the restaurant staff, who not through no fault of there own seem understaffed to be able to remake up tables and get you drinks in areasonable time. Although don't let that put you off as was never a major problem, always plenty of food and a good selection. BBQ night prob the poorest meal with huge ques forming and only a small selection of food. Would recommend to anyone. Pools and hotel grounds kept to an amazing standard. Value for money was excellent for all inclusive. Cannot comment on entertainment as never watched. If was ever to return to sharm would book this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pjm306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I stayed here from the 4th to the 11th April, what a wonderful Hotel, i have stayed in 5 star hotels and i wondered what 5 star deluxe was all about, well let me say. It is much superior to most normal 5 stars and the service and curtosy from all the staff, (reception, gardeners, waiters, restaruant managers, and the pool boys) and everyone else i have left out. the rooms were fantastic, with myself and 15yr son we had 2 x 3/4 beds plasma tv fridge and safe, which i must mention are free of charge, the deco was of a very high standard and i found the beds firm but comfortable, (if your uncomforable ask for a sheet and sleep on the quilt) comfort solved. our room was cleaned every day and was spotless, the bathroom had walkin shower, seperate bath bowl for a sink with a toilet and beday, also there were 4 floor to ceiling wardrobes, more than enough space. my daughter and grandson stayed in the adjoining room and their room was identical to ours over looking the heated pool area with the slides. at the far end of the heated pool is a new enterance being built there was no noise or dust and is now in its final stages.
i would like to mention , , Zaher Ismail Mohammed and Ayed all restaurant Managers for their excellent service expecially Zaher for his patience and attitute towads my grandson, getting him to eat also took time out to play and have fun with him as my grandson is only 3yrs, Zaher was blooming great. Ayed was a treat with his cockney accent, mohammed was a true gent, Many Thanks to them.
Saleb in Reception would just about sort out anything you need, the entertainment was a bit poor, but with just 3 staff to sort it out poor DAN DAWN and the other lady were run off they feet all i say was well done to them, tops to DAN.
our time spent hear was brill and we will be coming back definatly.
THANK YOU R.G.A .
Will Definatly Recommend this HOTEL for all.

Room Tip: a tip to your cleaner, pool man, waiters :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshwonder19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

what can i say this holiday was everything i wanted and more we had booked this hotel not knowing what to expect for the price we paid but it was 5 * all the way
there were 7 swimming pools all brill the top swimming pool (heated ) was our favorite the pool boys mahmoud and ahmet were so good wanted to take them home
the food was great had 6 restuarants all good quality food and 5* service
are favorite was our holiday rep SAMY he was just the best the trips we booked could not have been better (cairo,luxor) he was so helpful beond his job will miss his chats
our cleaner anwar was great
over all 100% for everything will be going back

Room Tip: just ask they are so helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzyCornwallUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Last minute break, booked at a very nice price. Lovely hotel, only 15 minutes from the airport. Warm welcome with refreshments. We booked a pool view room (10208) which was spacious and very clean. The hotel was beautifully quiet when we first arrived, leaving the pick of sunloungers and no problems booking the a la carte restaurants (which I would highly recommend). The indian and italian were my favourites. The staff on the whole were excellent, particularly at the pool bar and the beach bar. The weather was sizzling and the beach was lovely. Most people were staying out of the sea following the recent shark attacks but looking from the end of the jetty, there were a vast array of tropical fish. The only criticism of the hotel would be the poor/ lack of entertainment. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockefellaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I have always been put off Egypt by the comments of other reviewers about the behaviour of Russian guests. So this hotel was chosen based on the lack of any mention of them and I was pleased to find that there were very few there.
In fact, there were very few guests there at all, we were told that the hotel was only 30% full when we arrived - which was fantastic!
There are 6 pools at the hotel, all of them excellent - we didn't try the heated one, it's good to cool off when you go for a swim!
Our reps Angie & Samy were very helpful and we had no cause for complaint about the room, which well set out and modern, with modern decor, balcony and a large flat screen TV. Although the beds were firm, we had no trouble sleeping, though that may be thanks to the cocktail waiters in part. We had great service from every member of staff we encountered, from the room attendants to the restaurant waiters, to the bar staff, but I would like to mention cocktail waiters Samar & Waled, who gave us fantastic service.
Tips are well appreciated by the staff, it was said that they earn only about 50p an hour. I took US dollars, as they are worth about 65p each and a 'couple of bucks' goes down well (and makes your cocktail a bit stronger!).
The food was excellent in the Zodiac restaurant - so much so that we only used 1 of the 4 Al A Carte restaurants that we could have (the Italian, also excellent!), as it just didn't feel necessary. Service here is great, there is a nice area to eat al fresco by candlelight and there are chefs wandering about asking if the food is ok.
The reef is teeming with every colour of fish you could imagine: you can swim off the end of a pier, so as not to damage the coral. I asked about the likelihood of seeing a shark and was reliably informed by the lifeguard that 'you'll be ok, they only eat Russians!'
Negatives for me: the beach bar has no seating area - you either stand at the bar or take a drink to your sunbed; the gym is a converted guest room with a couple of bikes, a treadmill and some free weights - a cross trainer and/or rowing machine would be useful.
However, If it's good enough for a Premiership footballer (yep, saw 1!), it should be good enough for us.
Wish we were back there now.

Room Tip: $s for tips - watch for mosquitoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing