We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, good food, very clean.......shame about the entertainment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

just back yesterday, (14/6) the hotel staff are so friendly, hotel always getting cleaned so it was spotless, food buffet was large, and plenty of choice, if you cannot find something you like then you really should not be leaving home, the speciality resturants where very good, and strangely not busy. the hotel was only about half full, however we found lots of kids, so if you are looking for a quiet time this really wont suit, to say the entertainment was dire would be being kind, if you idea of entertainment til about 10pm is kids on stage then its good for you, then after that quiz or bingo, problem was if you wanted a drink you really couldnt get away from it as it all happens at the lobby bar, the only bar open after sunset. ulsess there is a beach party going on. if you like your wine, just to warn you, sarsons bottle better for chips! but if your not too fusy then guess its ok, you can buy bottles of wine, but no imported wines allowed into Egypt, we had a bottle of the cape bay red wine, which was drinkable, but at about £26 not cheap, beers and cocktails ok though. beach and pool area well kept and tidy. if you think you are going to suffer the dreaded diarrhoea go over the road to the phamacy, very helpful, got Antinal tablets about £4 a box and very good, but they are helpful, may be a lot cheaper than using the hotel clinic

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george_jow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,928 - 2,934 of 4,326 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

I really cant praise this hotel enough!! We originally booked to go back to the Concorde where we stayed in 2009 but Thomas Cook cancelled our flights. We re booked with First Choice and came across this hotel. I'm so glad Thomas Cook cancelled otherwise we wouldn't of booked this one!
We arrived about 9.30pm and after a quick check in reception told us to go straight down to the restaurant to get some food before it closed. The main buffet restaurant is amazing, so much to choose from even a fussy eater wouldn't go hungry! There are live cooking stations and loads of other dishes to choose from. The main buffet also do a BBQ in the evening twice a week. Also there are 4 al a carte restaurants you can use free of charge Indian, Chinese, Italian and Egyptian. We ate at all of them apart from the Egyptian and they were all first class! My favourite was the Chinese. Friends we met there ate in the Egyptian and said it was lovely too. If all that doesn't fill you the Lagoon Pool bar offer food during the day e.g paninies, chips, burgers.
The swimming pools are lovely and the towel guys are so friendly, our towel's were out every morning without fail.
We stayed in room 10101 and had a lovely view of one of the pools. We stayed in a standard room which was amazing big bed, flat screen tv, big bathroom and lovely balcony. We couldn't of asked for more! Friends we met stayed in a superior room and they were lovely too but the standard ones are just as nice.
The animation team really try their best to entertain all nationalities there. During the day they do football, water volley ball, yoga, water aerobics. In the evening there's always something on it might not be world class entertainment but they do try their best. We always made our own fun, usually after a couple of tequila sunrises!!
We booked the VIP Cruise through our First Choice rep Che and I would totally recommended it. The whole day was great, lovely food and a great way to see all the nemo's & dora's! We also booked the Friday night feeling which is a great laugh and well worth £10 pp! Che our rep was always on hand if we needed him and was a lovely guy, hope he's there when we go back! Kelly from guest relations was lovely too and always happy to help. I have to mention Ali Babba from the main restaurant he is a super star and we really hope he's still there when we go back. All of the staff really go out of their way to make your holiday amazing and don't expect tips either. Although tips do make a big difference as they are not paid a lot at all. The Three Crowns across the road do lovely food and drink and is a great place to watch the football if its on. I could really go on and on and on about this hotel but I think I should stop now! My boyfriend and I are going back the beginning of June next year and our family are coming too! Really cant wait. If you are considering going here or have already booked you will have the best time!! Any questions just ask :)

Room Tip: I would defiantly pay extra for a pool view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tini1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Both my girlfriend and I stayed at the Royal Grand Azure for 11 nights with First Choice between 21st May - 2nd June 2011. Firstly the Hotel is by far the best in the NABQ bay area. The facilities are excellent with your choice of many pools and activities to a fantastic choice of cuisine within the Buffet style All Inclusive Restaurant and the choice of 4 Al A-Carte including Indian, Italian, Chinese and Egyptian Restaurants. We ate at the Indian and found it to be excellent.

The Rooms were awesome with 32 Inch flat screens, huge bath rooms with walk in showers, unbelievably clean too. The air con was really powerful too.

Walking distance to the beach from within the complex and access to a beautiful jetty that leads you out to the amazing coral and scuba diving/snorkelling facilities.

We went Go karting whilst there and did the QUad biking and loved every minute. This was booked with the First Choice representative within the Hotel called Che, he was available every day and was so helpful.

The hotel's employees however are there best asset. They were kind, helpful, funny and always a good laugh. Kelly the Hotels Guest relations manager was always available to help and give you excellent advice and couldnt do enough to ensure our stay was nothing but excellent.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to any couple or family and both my girlfriend and I will 100% be returning later this year.

Dee & Sam.

Room Tip: I would suggest the Pool View Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dee186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from the end of May. We had a fantastic holiday and can’t wait to return there, and would certainly recommend it to others.

Accommodation.
We stayed in a superior pool view room, which was lovely. It was nicely decorated and spacious with a very good sized bathroom. We were on the 2nd floor and asked to be moved to a ground floor room as we like to sit out at night and we felt the view was better and less enclosed. The staff were beyond helpful and accommodated our request with no problems. Our 2nd room was at the main pool section and was even bigger than our first room. The pool was about 10 yards away from our room, which is great if you literally want to get out of bed and roll into the pool! Our friendly room boy kept our room spotlessly clean, and we had no concerns at all. Do take lots of mosquito spray to apply at night as my husband and I did get bit quite a lot, but this is easily resolved by entirely covering yourself with spray. The hotel shop sells some mosquito spray which we used and found very effective (approx. £4.50). We also had a look at one of the junior suites whilst we were there and these are extremely nice, and we would love to stay in one of these when we return.

Food & Drink.
Well its time to go back on a diet after eating so much wonderful food. I was very pleasantly surprised with food, having previously stayed in Egypt before. The buffet restaurant has a wide selection of good food in which I feel they try to accommodate most people. There is the usual chips, burgers and pizza but there is also Egyptian food, themed food night, as well as having BBQ nights outside twice a week. There isn’t many times of the day when food is not available because beside the buffet restaurant there is a beach bar serving cold snacks and the pool bar serving hot snacks. What we loved most though was the a la carte restaurants. We found it very easy to reserve tables with the friendly guest relation staff. We ate in all of them except the sushi restaurant, as I don’t like fish. They were all excellent and served wonderful food but our favorites were the Italian and Indian. Drinks wise, my husband found the beer to be ok and he drank it often enough to know. The wine was quite good also and a lot better than other all-inclusive we have stayed. There is a good selection of cocktails including a different cocktail of the day each day.

Entertainment.
Cannot comment too much on this, as we didn’t see much of it. We did see a fire show which was very entertaining, and the beach party was also a nice change. We enjoyed sitting out on the terrace or in the lobby bar enjoying one too many cocktails, as it gets quite tiring doing nothing but relaxing all day! If you don’t want to stay in the hotel there are bars, restaurants (including McDonalds if you call that one) outside of the hotel and a short walk away.

Pools & Beach
There are many pools at this hotel, so something for everyone. There is the main pool with a swim-up bar, and this is where the entertainment team are during the day. There is another large pool with another swim up bar which serves food. We loved the pool near the beach and across from the restaurant as it was peaceful and had a sea view too. Mohammed the pool boy was also very friendly and helpful. In addition to this there are also a couple of small pools dotted around the complex. We didn’t spend much time on the beach as we preferred the pools but it was a lovely beach and brilliant walking along the jetty seeing all the fish. Only downside is there are no toilets on the beach.

Trips.
We booked two trips with the dive center on the beach, and would definitely recommend them. Ali was extremely friendly and helpful. We went on a private speedboat, which was amazing, it involved snorkeling round Tiran island, seeing dolphins and my husband getting to drive the speedboat. The second trip was a boat trip to Ras Mohammed, and this was well worth the money. There are three snorkeling stops, and I must say the 2nd stop was the best I had been on. Although not technically a trip we booked massages at the spa and would highly recommend these.

Staff.
The staff at this hotel are brilliant. They are very hardworking but very friendly, We met some lovely people. The bar staff are excellent, especially Zidane and Mohammed who never let your drinks run out or let you go to the bar. The staff in all the restaurants are excellent to. We had a laugh in the Egyptian restaurant when the staff were trying to teach us Arabic. Although the staff are grateful to get any tips it is very difficult for them to change pound coins, as the banks will not accept them, so we found it better to tip in Egyptian money. We would also like to say a big thank you to Alaa at guest reactions who is just brilliant at his job and an asset to the hotel, as he takes so much time getting to know holiday makers and genuinely cares what you think of your holiday and the hotel. If you have a problem its is better to go and see him rather than winge about it and let it ruin your holiday, as all the guest relations will do their best to rectify any problems.

To summarize, we had an amazing holiday at this fantastic hotel and would recommend this hotel and Sharm El Sheikh to anyone despite these troubling times for the Egyptian people. We had no concerns about being in Egypt and would go back today if it were possible.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank misscalvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have just come back from this hotel and had to write a review! From the moment you arrive you are looked after, you don't even touch your bags as the bell service was great. Check in was fast and my girlfriend and I were greeted and given a welcoming drink. We were upgraded to a junior suite and given room 19102 which was amazing, modern and well decorated. The bathroom was huge and the massive balcony over looked the red sea and tiran island. The beds were huge and were hard but very comfortable, the furniture was very clean and the housekeeping to a very high standard. We even had our net curtains washed and replaced during our stay! The restaurants were all very good. We only ate at one a la carte restaurant as you had to go up to main reception to book them and I couldn't be bothered as the buffet restaurant was good enough and you didn't have a set menu. The hotel is huge, the grounds are lovely, throughout the day, everyday there is somebody doing maintenance the gardeners do a fantastic job! The pools are kept spotlessly clean, each pool has a pool attendant who looks after you and each one has a personality. The pool where we mainly went was just below our room and Mohammed the attendant was great, greeted you every morning went to fetch you a fresh towel if needed and always struck up conversation. The main assett to this hotel is the staff, all do a great job of catering to your needs. The team in the main restaurant also
deserve a special mention as they
are all fantastic from the chefs to
the waiters all very polite and
helpful and you are not kept waiting
for your drink. In fact most times you don't even have to ask if they
know what you are drinking your
glass is always refilled! The beach is kept spotless and snorkelling off the jetty is good. There isn't much
hassle within the hotel either when you are first noticed as a new guest you are approached by the guys from the spa who drum up quite a
good pitch and I decided to use the service, the massage was great and is recommended also there are the guys from the dive centre and the ones who sell newspapers. All will take no for an answer but will still acknowledge you and be friendly.

Bad points are -
The evening entertainment isn't great and the kids hour is annoying because it is the same everyday. Also one night the entertainment team did this make shift dance show which was just laughable and it was like they were forced to just make something up. But they work hard to get you involved and I suppose the only have limited means to work with!

The shower did not have a screen so the bathroom got wet but you don't have to clean it so it doesn't really bother you.

To have alcoholic and soft drinks stocked in your mini fridge so you can have a drink in your room would be nice!

That's it! The management and staff obviously have pride in running the hotel and it shows! keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mogli14767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just back from 10 nights at the Royal Grand Azure hotel and loved every minute of it. The moment we arrived we were welcomed with a glass of fruit juice and them led to our room. Our bags were brought to us, and picked up again from our room on our departure day. The hotel is immaculately clean and the staff cannot do enough to help you. The main buffet restaurant was better than I expected with plenty of choice. The al a carte restaurants were excellent with plenty of choice.
The highlight of this hotel is the choice of pools, a beach and swim up bars. There is plenty to do, with a wide variety of daytime and evening entertainment, or the option to just sit back and enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevelorimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

my friend & i have just returned from the RGA our first girls holiday without our families
we were spoilt all the staff were so friendly we had our towels put out each morning thank you Ibraham, our lovely pool barman Mamhood had our drinks ready when we were & topped up all the time.
The waiters in the restaurants were great polite & helpfull food very good .
The staff in the lobby bar soon got to know our drinks special thanks go to sameh who was so kind & profesional a credit to the hotel
we both hope to return soon with our families.

Room Tip: always ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cathyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,538 reviews
10.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,408 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#65 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
468 reviews
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Address: | Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £166 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing