We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, food and evening entertainment disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, food and evening entertainment disappointing.”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Booked with Thomson. Beautiful hotel with stunning grounds. Room was gorgeous too with a very comfortable king size bed. A large room with 'walk in' wardrobe, lounge area, flatscreen TV which was on a turn table to face lounge or bed. Pool areas were very nice and the swim-up bar was great! The snorkeling off the hotel jetty is amazing! Food was very disappointing and wasnt A la Carte in my opinion; this is my main criticism along with the evening entertainment which was pretty much non existent. I've visited Egypt twice and loved it both times, although i did suffer stomach upsets on both occassions so make sure you pack the imodium!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidrhysmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,048
    633
    245
    54
    45
See reviews for
1,241
1,884
81
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This Hotel was recommended to us by a friend who visited last October, and we decided to book to coincide with celebrating my 50th birthday. We travelled on the 7th June for the fourteen nights and we absolutely loved our stay here. We were overwhelmed by how friendly the staff were and how clean the hotel was maintained. Special thanks to Mohammed 347 in the Royal Restaurant and Mohammed 201 who kept our room spotless and Mustaffa in the Lobby Bar who kept us entertained and glasses full. Also we would like to thank Wael and Kathleen, the First Choice reps who helped and advised us on our excursions which we booked through them, and which we found excellent value for money.Most of our time was spent by the Beach Pool and our only request is the need for a few more umbrellas around most of the pools as we all know its gets very hot, and shade is needed. This was our first visit to Sharm and will not be our last, we plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We are a couple in our twenties and have just returned from Egypt last week. We had a really lovely holiday at this hotel. We hoped to have a relaxing 2 weeks and that is just what we got. The hotel is immaculately well kept and very, very clean. The hotel is huge with the rooms surrounding two really big pool areas, with a few smaller pools towards the beach. The hotel was very quiet, probably due to the unstable political situation in Egypt at the moment, which is probably putting people off going. I will just list the good and bad points-

Good things
-Our room was really spacious with a massive bathroom with a bath and separate shower
-Grounds were immaculately kept, really nice gardens
-The beach towels were really good quality and a good size
-Breakfast offered just about everything you could think of (except bacon of course!) The doughnuts were amazing! You can opt for the adults only buffet or normal buffet for breakfast
-Lunchtime could be spent in the two buffets, the snack bar on the beach or snack bar at lagoon pool. The snack bars did things like pizzas, sandwiches, paninis, chips etc. Which were sometimes a nice change from the food in the buffets.
-Al a carte dining was really good, our favourites were the Indian and Chinese.
-Dinner time at the buffets was very varied and I could always found something I liked. There is a pasta station where you can chose what you liked, pizza station, a choice of potatoes, veg, rice, chips, with usually a fish, chicken and beef/veal dish. There was always a huge selection of salads and breads and my other half was very impressed with the desserts. The buffet selection was much the same in the evening as at lunchtime.
-The white wine was very nice, as was the lager and most cocktails (nb cocktails were v. Strong)
-Staff were generally very helpful.

Bad things, (not many and nothing major but there were a few things that made this hotel not feel like a 5*)
-The hotel advertises that you have a minibar, however I would call this a fridge that barely works and is sometimes re-stocked with two bottles of water. I have stayed in 4* hotels that offer more than this.
-The room towels were really tatty
-Air-con was very noisy
-The hotel has two or more water sports companies within the grounds. I found the sales guys that walk around trying to sell water sports trips really annoying some days. One day we counted that we were asked if we wanted to book a trip about 8 or 9 times! We hadn’t even moved anywhere and would expect that once you have said no once, they would accept that. One guy even waltzed passed muttering that I was applying too much suncream! I found them quite rude at times and I don’t like to feel harassed whilst on holiday, and I don’t expect this inside a hotel.
-Occasionally some of the staff were quite unhelpful- I asked two questions, one relating to the something on the buffet and one relating to the building work. They laughed at me and told me they ‘would tell me tomorrow’. What is that all about?
-There was a serious case of ‘plate stalking’ during meal times. The waiters would sometimes stand right next to you watching until you have picked up your last fork-full and then whisk away your plate. Some days I was still chewing my food and my plate would disappear! They would never wait for everyone in your party to finish eating. I found this sometimes made mealtimes feel a bit rushed.
-I found that the Italian and Egyptian restaurants lacked atmosphere and felt a bit like a conference room in the way that they were decorated.

We did two trips with First choice/ Thomson including the adults only snorkelling trip and ‘Sinai by Starlight’ trip in the early evening to a Bedouin tent, with camel ride and star gazing. I would really recommend both of these trips, however I felt that all trip offered by Thomson were quite pricey. Thomson reps were very good.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gwyliauiawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic 10 days at the Royal Grand Azure. It is our second stay at the hotel and since our last holiday the new reception, dining and bar area has opened. The new reception area is stunning and the new restaurant and bar areas provide a calm, relaxing area to sit in the evening.
We were greeted with a cold drink on arrival and checking in was dealt with very efficiently and quickly before being 'whisked away' on a golf buggy to our room. Our room, 10104, was on the first floor with corner balcony overlooking the pool and swim-up bar. it was spacious and spotlessly clean, thanks to Ebrahim our cleaner who was very friendly and always had a smile. He couldn't do enough for us. Thank you, Ebrahim.
The room had all the usual ameneties including a safe, at no extra charge, and hairdryer in the bathroom.
The hotel and grounds are extremely well kept and very clean. There are staff constantly cleaning the communal areas, gardeners picking up every petal that falls and pool cleaners, including Rooney and Torris!! in the Lagoon Pool, who cleaned constantly.
All the staff, throughout the hotel, were extremely polite,helpful and very friendly, in fact, they couldn't do enough for you.
Having had our daily game of table tennis, we spent most mornings by the Lagoon Pool and after lunch spent the afternoon on the beach. We always managed to get sunbeds with an unbrella but tended to have to go straight after breakfast as there did not seem to be quite enough for the number of sun beds ( we couldn't have managed without one in the extremely hot sun). There are lots of sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach.
We ate breakfast and lunch in the Zodiac restaurant where the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There was a good variety of food with some cooked to order. In the evening we ate in the new Royal Dining Room which is an adult only restaurant. The food here is even more beautifully presented than the Zodiac restaurant, which takes some beating! The staff here were very attentive, friendly and courteous. Please note that gentlemen are not allowed in this dining room in the evening with shorts or cropped trousers and this is strictly adhered to. We didn't go to the speciality restaurants as we went on our last visit and we found that there was plenty of variety and choice of food in the main restaurants.
As we like to snorkel, we enjoyed the snorkelling from the hotel jetty and also boked a taxi at the 'old reception' door to take us to the public beach in Sharks Bay where the water is shallower and calmer for snorkelling. Return trip cost £14.00 Well worth it. We also booked a day boat trip with Pyramid Divers, who are located in the hotel grounds, to Tiran Island. This was a very good day out, collected by mini bus, taken to the boat, 3 snorkelling stops and a lunch stop. The water is very clear and we saw a fantastic variety of fish as well as dolphins and a turtle. The cost of the trip was £30 each including lunch and soft drinks. It was possible to do a introductory dive at an extra cost. Snorkelling from the hotel jetty is good but the sea can sometimes be rough with a strong current but the staff are there to advise.
We had a wonderful holiday and cannot praise the hotel highly enough. I hope we shall return again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywanderer820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Have just returned from Royal Grand Azure in Sharm and had a wonderful holiday.The staff,from the reception to the gardeners were so friendly and charming they made our holiday. Animation team were brilliant especially Alex. Saber in the Royal restaurant was outstanding as were all his cooleagues,nothing too much trouble.Kareem and Ahmed in the Royal Bar were eswpecially attentive and great fun. At the RoyalPool bar Mohammed and "Hellboy" were good fun.Must mention Fasir(367) at the Beach restaurant and finally our room cleaner Nahar who kept our room spotless and created some wonderful towel displays. The food was incredibly varied and imaginative and the sweets rivalled any top line cruise coud offer.The a la carte restaurants were also excellent our fsvourite being the Royal Dragon Chinese. All in all excellent value and would thoroughly reccomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

High expectations after reading trip adviser. Stayed 13th June 2012 - 27th June 2012atthe Royal Grand Azures. The hotel was lovely and the staff were excellent. But this was sadly let down by the poor food hygiene and most of the hotel coming down with an illness. It was hard to believe it was a virus due to the weather when the doctor was prescribing broad spectrum antibiotics. There was also no toilets or changing rooms on the beach, very little shade and a lack of sun umbrellas by the pools.

We visited club magic life last year and will be returning there next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great hotel we had a suite which was fantastic.
we prefer quieter type holidays so cant say what the entertainment was like.
first day sat by the large pool outside reception, this pool they have music and get you up to do all the usual stuff.
the swim up bar and staff was very good soon as your drink was low samire would fill it up again.
but unfortunately as i say the music was so loud we went to the lagoon shaped pool for the rest of the week.
breakfast good selection. shame no orange juice but tea, coffee,hot chocolate ect ect
it was nice eating in the main reception as this was adults only,
people say about being hassled for trips ect but if you say no they soon go away, if you let them go though there sales talk there going to stay and come back cos they think you will change your mind.
the place was spotless, staff great drinks a bit rough but thats cos there local brands.
would go back in a heart beat but we have done that at a couple of other hotels and not been so good.
so we wont ruin our memory of a great holiday by going back and comparing it to this one.
all i can say is the next hotel in sharm better be good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing