We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful holiday in a beautiful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A beautiful holiday in a beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We recently returned from the Rixos in Sharm after a weeks stay and it was possibly one of the best hotel experiences so far.

The hotel first and foremost is beautiful, upon entering you are greeted in a beautiful lobby and an are offered an array of Cocktails and juices whilst you check in - the staff are most welcoming and check in is fast and efficient. The hotel is large, it may take you a day or two to find your feet, and map out where everything is. Walks from the top pool to the beach can take 10-15 mins or so, there is a shuttle service running throughout the day, so it makes sense to make use of this if you need to.

The pools are lovely - and we made a conscious effort to try them all. The pool outside the buffet area is ideal if you'd like to relax without any hustle and bustle. The lagoon pool we found was actually the least relaxing with alot of young children playing in the shallow water, the Entertainment pool is the deepest pool and we found less young children, however the entertainment team run activites throughout the day and there is music playing, its really down to your own personal preference but there is something for everyone.

The beach itself is gorgeous with cabanas and sunbeds for everyone - the beach also includes a jetty which is very picturesque and perfect for a snorkling experience. We bought some masks from the shop and tried to get down there once a day for a dip and a snorkel. The fish are really beautiful and well worth a look.

The rooms are perfect - spacious with a mini-bar and seating area with a power shower and bath. In all honesty you're arent going to spend a huge amount of time in the room, but it really is lovely, the beds are soft and made beautifully every morning with towel arrangements. Everything you really need from a room. There are movies playing throughout the day if you want some time out of the sun and a little balcony for a drink and a smoke in the evening before venturing out. Just be careful as in the evenings you could literally get eaten alive, purchasing a candle would be a wise idea.

Food wise, we'd never encountered anything like it, the buffet is absolutely fantastic, it's really was not what we were expecting. A huge choice of food which changes most nights and something always going on the outside grill. The buffet really caters to everyones needs and preferences, if you want a salad you can, if you want a hot meal you can, and if you just want some cold cuts and some potatoes you can. The choice is yours.

During lunch we tended to try the beach bar for a burger, fajita or sandwiches. This place is ideal for lunch and is a really nice atmosphere and attentive staff. Whilst we were there they also had installed an ice-cream machine which was just what you needed for a walk back to the pool!

The al a carte restaurants are also very good - we were able to try the Egyptian, Chinese, Indian and Italian, which were all exceptionally good. The Italian being our firm favourite, the fillet of beef was gigantic! Seriously, i'd hate to think how much you'd pay for a cut that size in London. Also a little tip, please try the chocolate cake for dessert. Thank me later. Was absolutely to die for.

Service wise everyone is amazingly friendly - special thanks to Omar and Misha from the entertainment team who took the time to get to know us and have a laugh and a joke with us most days even though we refused to get out of our sun loungers for most activities. The baff staff are very polite and are more than happy to bring drinks to your table as are all staff in the restaurants and buffet area - seriously no complaints or any trouble with any of the staff for our entire stay.

There were a few niggles, which is why i havent given the trip a full 5 stars;

Firstly on booking an excursion we were basically conned by a guy called Nemo. He seemed a lovely guy, but pretty much lied through his teeth about a snorkling trip which he promised would be two 45 minutes stops. This turned out to be one 20 min stop and about an hour and half on a speedboat. When confronted he made us argue with the guys running the trip down the phone which was absolutely diabolical as it was not their fault at all, it was his. Nothing was sorted and he kind of just walked away without an apology or any chance of resolving the issue, even though he said we'd get our money back if the trip wasnt what he said. Please avoid this guy. You can book through Thomas Cook and the trip by all accounts is alot better, and you get an English tour guide and a chance to actually snorkle!!

Secondly you need to be aware of the Russian tourists, let me stress they are not all like this but some of them are seriously rude, they treat the staff in an appalling manner, clapping and grunting at them. I've never seen anything like it. Also over the course of the week, we encountered two very drunk Russians which were quite aggressive and staff had to intervene. They certainly did not ruin our trip, in fact enhanced the service we received when we greeted staff with a smile and please and thank you. A little courtesy goes a long way.

Overall we had a great stay at the Rixos in Sharm and was extremely impressed with the entire experience. We will without a doubt be returning in the near future, and i'd highly recommend a stay here, as for the price, you're getting an absolute bargain!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear James P

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay, your comments regaring the excursion has been noted, although they are en external company operating in the resort we will of course pass your comments to the Manager and we apologise for the inconvenience. Had you informed us during your stay of this situation we would have assisted you.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,018
    632
    245
    54
    45
See reviews for
1,227
1,871
80
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I had never been to Egypt but my partner had on eight occasions staying at the Royal Grand Azure in 2010 before it became a Rixos hotel and I was a little sceptical about the consistency of the great reviews, that was until now having just spent a week there. Honestly some people must seek out the smallest niggles, yes there are a lot of Russians and yes it has just been Russian half term but the complex is so vast it never ever felt crowded except perhaps in the main restaurant as one was closed due to being upgraded and even then there was plenty of availability in the speciality restaurants, all of which were amazing especially the Chinese.
The room was enormous, spotlesly clean and the staff ensured it remained so during our stay, in fact all the staff went out of their way to ensure all our needs were met. Ok it's not all proprietory brands of spirits but the selection of drinks should be enough to please everyone, the food in the buffet restaurant at all times was plentiful, well cooked and presented and the choice was always considerable.
There were always enough sunbeds and fresh towels, the public areas are spotlessly clean with fresh flowers adorning the reception area and a special mention must go to the gardeners who maintain the grounds which are immaculate.
If you're going, learn a few local phrases and use them the staff will appreciate it, the Russian guesst sometimes appear a little surley but Europeans are particularly liked and welcomed possibly because we appreciate more what the staff do for us to make our holidays enjoyable and they certainly go out of their way to make it happen.
Would I go back ? without a shadow of a doubt arrived back in the UK and began to look for a return trip in September, it probably rates as one of the best all inclusive holidays I have had.
A special mention for for Bella in Guest Relations for recovering some charging cables I foolish left on the wrong room door, who went out of her way to recover them with the help of a Russin interprerter !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear NCatte,
You are most welcome to our hotel and we hope to welcome you in September again you. Thanks for your wonderful comments and concernings. All our team trying to serve to all our guests from different nationalities with sensitively. In time we did big changes at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh and we do not stop to improve our service and facilities with your comments, recommendations. And big reward for us is your satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact with us if you need any assistance before your next vacation.

Warm regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menen, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

we found " Rixos" the best hotel we visit in Nabq bay
- food at breakfast-lunch and dinner were always very tastefull & very plentyfull
*mexican and egyptian evening
We had a wonderfull time at the zodiac with the excellent service of Saby and his team and Hasan the coffee man so we did'nt booked any a la carte restaurant
we found it very regrettable the only adult restaurant (Neferty) was closed during our stay that's one of the the reason why we booked the hotel !
so we woke up early and were sometimes the last one at dinner. ( very peacefull)
We travel regularly and never saw so many people at the evening entertainment.
The terras of the lobby bar was very cosy
We asked for a quiet room ( in block 3000) that was very ok , but during the night some people could not be silent and made noise
we always took a sunbed by the pool by the sea: very quiet and not far from the jetty and the beautifull reef ( if the wind was not to strong we could enter the sea)
The life guard had much to do ! some people do not know the rules of the red sea!
In the evening we visit many times the pianobar !
We loved to walk along the promenade.
We had a very relaxing week ! thanks everyone at the Zodiac, the life guard,the pool boy , our roomman Brahim, the people at the piano bar and Emal, the pasta was always very good !
for a 5* hotel we have some comments:
- broken sunbeds at the lagoonpool must be fixed or removed immediately
- the lobby bar: they serve only drinks during the animationshows, otherwise you have to serve yourself

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefstinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear stefstinie

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

We are so pleased you were happy with all the facilities and services available. Your thanks has been passed onto the mentioned Team Members.

Thank you for your comments regarding the sunbeds, these are checked on a daily basis by our Recreation Team so maybe this is something that occured during the day, as soon as they find any damaged sunbeds they are removed immediately.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Just returned feeling very disappointed.

Although we booked a suite which was up to standard expected and were well received by staff the hotel is barely 3 star with evidence of cost cutting everywhere.

We may have been unlucky with the hotel being full of Russians with unruly children but we still expected to be able to find a nice spot to relax in the advertised 5 star ultra all inclusive resort. How wrong we were.

Now for the reality. Only 2 bars sell non local drinks and these amount to either Gordons Gin or Barcardi rum. Everything else is chargeable. I am not a big drinker but even after 3 or 4 supposed Gordons gin and tonics I may as well have been drinking water. Other guests more experienced than I also believed that the premium brand drinks had been substituted for local stuff. Cost cutting at it's best. Other examples are the al a carte restaurants with bookings limited 8 tables per sitting at each restaurant. We were told this was to ensure good service but the better option would be to employ more staff and have the restaurants full, but that would cost more!!!! In addition having as many people as possible forced to use the buffet is a good way to minimise waste and again reduce cost. 5 star hotels do not charge for fresh fruit juice prepared in a liquidiser, but the Rixos does at 35 egyptian pounds per glass. It's a good way to use up un used fruit and again reduce costs.

During our entire holiday only the one buffet restaurant was open. We were told three different reasons for this by guest relations and staff but for whatever reason was true it forced everyone to use the one buffet morning noon and night again resulting in minimum costs. Quality of food at this buffet was cheap and cheerful but plenty of it. Would also advise not to use the midnight buffet as this is just the leftover food from the evening meals being reused and generally lukewarm.
PS Dont leave your food unattended at the buffet, it will be imediately attacked by birds and staff will just look on and let you eat it on your return. We saw it happen at every sitting and yes we did tell people even the Russians.

If you were fortunate enough to book the al a carte restaurant I would reccommend you ask if the egptian owners of Rixos are dining there on the same night. When we came across them we were ignored from the moment they arrived until they left. On one visit to the fish restaurant their executive chef took over the kitchen and despite thier being 7 staff in the kitchen and more waiters than normal all was for their benefit and we were ignored. At breakfast every morning waiters fussed over their table for ages even before they arrived polishing glasses washing the seats, arranging and rearranging the napkins totally ignoring paying guests. Guests trying to sit at this table were soon removed quite abruptly. Many staff told us they were a lot happier prior to Rixos taking ownership a year ago and thought the guests were better treated then than now.

Hygiene issues also at the beach bar where we observed staff rinsing glasses under the tap, possibly one of the many causes of prevelant stomach problems the hotel doctor said was rife in the hotel around this time of year.

Over view would be its like a Russian Butlins holiday camp so if you are used to cheap and cheerful and have kids than its perfect but if you are looking for a luxury holiday this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed at Rixos between the 16th May and 23rd may, Hotel presentation was excellent very high quality and maintained. The staff was inconsistent to say the least, on the first night we paid for drinks that should have been on the all-inclusive so i can only assume the bar man took the money for himself, and yes he did know we were all inclusive because i asked him. (Bar in old reception). I also got the general consensus that staff was constantly after tips, this did however ease as the week went on. Did not like being pestered when trying to relax by the pool, on one day we were approached 8 times with what can only be described as a hard sell sales pitch, not what you want when on the resort. Rooms were excellent and the cleaner (Moustafa said) was fantastic, very kind and courteous and did an excellent job, best service i received while on holiday. Food in all restaurants was at best average, the best meal we had was at the Chinese restaurant, and there service was also good apart from spilling a drink on one of our party and not offering to clean it, unlike the other restaurants where we felt rushed and in the way. On the whole the Rixos provided a good holiday but has some large areas of improvement, food quality, consistency with service, and lose the on resort salesmen they are a nightmare, if i want my eyebrows threading I’ll get them done, i don’t need a 30minute lecture.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triptocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Triptocanada,
In name of Rixos Hotels Management thanks for your comments and sharings on Tripadvisor. We would like to underline some services and tips to not cause misunderstandings.

Rixos Sharm El Sheikh has all inclusive concept which include some imported alcoholic drinks. On your comment you did not mention which brand the barman served and you paid. We are so disappointed if our colleague did a mistake to you but in all bars we have menus with prices and also showing all drinks which are inclusive. Our bar managers and also Guest Relation team ( who you can reach from old reception desk) are always reachable at the guest areas to communicate and assist for any guest needs / questions...

In Rixos Sharm El Sheikh we have spa, diving center facilities and these services have info staffs who are walking around and giving information to our guests. As we share with all our guests upon arrival on hotel concept sheets, which you can read, we have red flag service on our towel stations which you can take and hang on your umbrellas. This flags means that our guests do not want to be disturbed.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and also satisfied with the service of your houseman. We share your concernings about restaurants with related department managers.

Our all management and Guest Relation Team at your service before/during and after your stay for any kind of assistance. We hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you again at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh and %100 satisfy you on your next stay.

Warm regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

we spent 2 wks at this amazing hotel .on arrival we were greeted with a nice cool drink check in was really quick .we were shown 2 our room it was luvly very large ,massive bed mini bar t@coffee everything you could need is in your room.the food was exellent we tried the a la carte indian chinrse @ italian all were exellent.all the staff were luvly even down to the gardeners an security who all had a smile and a hello for you .the drinks were all good .but the cocktails in the piano bar were amazing as were the piano bar staff thankyou so much mahmoud and your team for making us so welcome an looking after us.thanks to bella at guest relations who was really helpful.all in all a fantastic hotel this was our 7th visit to egypt our 8th visit will be back to the rixos in nov cant wait to return

Room Tip: rooms near the beach have amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Susan L

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay here with us, we look forward to welcoming you back for your 8th visit in November.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

imagine a place like heaven situated on 165,000 squaremeters, wonderful restaurants serve as Chinese, Indian, Turkish, Italian, Japanese, Arabic dishes. Not only you always feel in safe, relax but also your wife and children. Sandy beach , crystal water like aquarium and of course amazing fishes of Red Sea welcome you. You will really understand value of Hotel's personel hospitality when you visit outside of the hotel such as nabq bay.
If Quality of personnel and guests affects your decission to choose hotel , you should think twice

Room Tip: You should talk to hotel reception before you arrive there and express yourself . You can speak Engl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ovundur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear ovundur,
Thanks for sharing your experiences at Rixos on Tripadvisor. All Rixos Team happy to hear that you felt like at home and safe with us and we are always at your service to protect this quality and also improve with your recommendations.
We hope to hear from you soon and welcome you at Rixos again. Please feel free to contact with us for any further assistance.
Regards,
Your Rixos Team
Sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#14 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing