We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful surroundings.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Absolutely amazing hotel. We stayed as a couple (32/29) for 2 weeks in October 2012; we were a little apprehensive before we went as we'd seen reports of building works being done during the 'takeover' period by Rixos. We needn't have worried, all building noise was at a minimum and the hotel's grounds were so beautiful we didn't care anyway. Room was ENORMOUS, possibly bigger than the whole area of our terraced house back home! Always clean, fresh towels/water/mini bar and hot drinks facilities every day. Food was fantastic, we wold especially recommend the sushi restaurant!
Sadly, my partner became very ill during our trip, but we are pretty sure this was following a dinner trip outside of the hotel grounds as was fine. we had to cancel a booking at one of the a la carte restaurants at very late notice, and staff were absolutely fine about it.
Our only issue throughout the entire holiday was that we were a minority of about 7 rooms of british tourists, all the rest were Russian/Polish/Ukraine etc. They were very loud, rude and messy in the restaurants and round the pools, and so the Brits tended to congregate around one pool. Young women were doing some decidedly 'sexy' photoshoots in the more secluded areas of the pools!! We were told that Rixos caters 90% for Eastern European tourists, and this is the only reason that we wouldn't return to the hotel as they really put us off.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach means further away from noisy entertainment at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walrus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear walrus84,

Thanks for your kind comments on Tripadvisor and choosing Rixos Hotels for your stay. We hope you will book us again for your next holiday and compare all new and improved facilities and service quality, all our management will be happy to get your feedbacks and comparisons.

We have new designed corridores, screens in restaurants which are showing live kitchens and how your food is preparing, new touchscreen kiosks for 24hours a la carte restaurant reservations, etc... also new BBQ restaurant at the beach is coming soon..

Thanks again for your comments and please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,997
    631
    245
    53
    45
See reviews for
1,215
1,864
78
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Myself and my boyfriend travelled to Rixo's on 27th April 2013 for 10 days. When we arrived we as met by pleasant front desk staff and checked in by an English speaking lady. All went smoothly checked in escorted to our room. We had booked with fleetwaytravel and had been upgraded to deluxe room. Very nice good size room over looking main reception and pools. Modern and clean.

On second day met Bella the lovely guest relationship lady. She was helpful, polite and informative. If you need to know anything don't bother with the reps just ask Bella, she's like the Oracle!

On day 2 whilst strolling to the beach we saw the ocean fronted rooms with plunge pool, which is a small pool really rather than a plunge pool. I went back to reception to ask the cost to upgrade. Bella rang reservations, haggled a bit for me and arranged a viewing of the room's she took me to have a look, then back to reception. Well what can I say we were in like a shot. No fighting for sunbeds at 6am with a 1000 Russians. Result!! Your own sun beds and your own pool, VIP access to the executive dining room, which was fantastic! Served by Mohammed, who was very funny, professional and gracious. Food was fantastic and chefs and Mohammed went out of the way to please' they served food and dishes off menu we requested or Mohammed recommended dishes to try.

The bar staff were also fantastic George - who we called Sir George and Mo who were funny, professional, and a pleasure to spend time with at the bar. Rixos should be pleased they have such fantastic staff.

We would recommend the Rixo's to couples and groups. There looked like there was a well equipped kids area. I think there is a bit of work to do to bring the larger pool rooms up to the standard of the deluxe redecorating.

The entertainment was a bit thin on the ground and a bit rubbish for a resort of this size. I don't think this is the same standard as other Rixo's hotels at the moment say the Rixo's Belek, but the price reflects this. Great value for the price!

Exceptional staff in the outlets we spent time at The beach bar especially and all the other bars. The nightclub bar (which isn't really a nightclub, it looks like old conference room and the old people chairs don't help give it a trendy vibe) but one to 2-3am.

so to sum up.
Decent spa not to expensive had 5 massages around £30 a pop. Experienced staff doing massages, not for the faint hearted if having sports massages!!! Decent sized gym, good equipment , but needs to open earlier 6am! Rather than 8am. Stop kids going in without trainers and supervision and under 16 as annoying.

Enough bars, great staff, English guest relations, 2 buffet eating outlets (1 over 12) and a la cartes, Chinese, seafood Italian, Egyptian and Japanese (book as soon as u get there, as if busy hard to get in restauran) good selection of drink. One 24 bar in main reception piano bar, loads of pools, day entertainment (they try hard) but need more varied entertainment staff.. better organised evenings and more professional entertainment (as was pants) better and more fitness lessons and more widely advertised throughout resort and in room (what's going on guide with a decent map) different music at beach bar as this is pants as well! New tapes up-to-date music in nightclub, beach party as repetitive and old. Fantastic food and service in VIP (keep big Mohammed)

.....try not to go after Easter as its Russian Easter apparently and packed, hard to get a sunbed! Before this only about 40% full and went up to 98% full.

Would like to say big thank you to sir George and Mohammed (beach bar) Mohammed from VIP and the lovely Bella for a fantastic holiday!!! Will post the pictures soon. Want to know any information let me know


And if the management would like to invite us back on a special VIP deal let me know!

Room Tip: Felix rooms good value , if have kids reception pools best as have kids pool. If no kids block 16 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank snapmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear snapmarketing,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are delighted to read your positive comments about our staff and service. It is nice to hear that we could provide you with a very relaxing holiday.

We hope next time we will have chance to present you our new coming project loyalty card system.

Again we would like to thank you for your wonderful review - we are glad that you enjoyed your time and we will most certainly be looking forward to welcoming you back to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh.

Warm Regards,
Your Rixos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Rixos is the one of top quality hotels in Sharm and definitely the highest quality in Nabq Bay (Sharks Bay). It offers ultra all inclusive services to all guests and shines out next to the surrounding hotels. We have enjoyed the stay thoroughly. The package included free:
food in all restaurants (incl. a'la carte), soft and alcoholic drinks incl. local wine, some imported alcohols, tea, coffee, ice cream, snacks, unlimited access to spa (2 x sauna, 1 steam room, 1 whirpool), free beach towels, free beach towels and loungers, pool and tennis table, tennis court, cab shuttle to move around the hotel, deposit safe, soft drinks in the mini bar, concierge, wi-fi (in the reception and the lobby), classes and activities e.g.: yoga, volleyball etc.
You would need to pay extra for: gazebos, shisha, certain seafood (lobster and giant shrimp), massage and spa treatments, excursions, certain imported alcoholic drinks (e.g.:12 year old whiskey), foreign wine, laundry services like in majority of all inclusive hotels.
We were welcomed by concierge who quickly took care of our luggage, then welcomed with soft cocktails and given a room. We did not like to view so the reception offered another room with a different view at no extra charge within the same 'deluxe' sector of the hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean, equipped with two wardrobes, a TV (satisfactory choice of programmes and CCTV footage from kids play areas), an air-con, a desk, a kettle, a mini bar, a deposit safe (no iron though). Each deluxe room had a large bathroom with a bath and a separate shower, hair dryer, toilet and a bidet. Robes, slippers, towels were pristine white. Toiletries and towels were changed/refilled daily. The rooms were cleaned well with extra touches added each day.
Buffet food was of a great quality and the choice was huge: from freshly baked pancakes and fried eggs for breakfast to charcoal grilled fish, meat and fried calamari for lunch/dinner. Also huge choice of salads, bread, sweet rolls, fruit, cheese, meat, stews, rice and side meals, freshly made juice. Desserts were immaculate.
We have only tried an Italian and Indian restaurant out of a'la carte ones and both of them offered a great quality meals. I was blown away by the chocolate 'diplomato dessert'. Other restaurants included Egyptian, Seafod, Chinese Cuisine and a Sushi one.
You need to book the restaurants in advance at the machine based in the lobby (all day) or via lobby staff (mornings only). The ATM and the foreign exchange is at the hotel reception and the exchange rate is much better than in Britain. People except USA dollars, Euro and British Pounds too there so don't be afraid to take pounds with you to pay for a cab and then exchange it at the hotel. £10 is £100 Egyptian Dollars.
Cocktails were of high quality only in the Piano Bar (near reception) were they could be served in glass and were mixed well. Swimming pool bars offered 'homemade' drinks.
All water served to customers in the hotel was mineral, incl. ice cubes. Bottles of water were stocked daily so you could use the bottled water to boil a kettle and for brushing teeth to avoid nasty surprises.
Soft drinks were served from bottles and not from the tap which was a plus.
Staff was all very approachable, generally well mannered*, well groomed, polite and always ready to help. So was the phone service (we needed a plug converter and it was delivered to our room within 5 mins). The whole of the hotel was very clean and the gardens were well groomed.
There was a daily entertainment for the kids followed by a show or a beach party for adults. The shows were mixed – some excellent, some weak.
The resort consisted of 'deluxe' rooms (described) near to the reception, the pool for kids and sport activities pools. They were the quietest rooms at nights. 'Superior' rooms were surrounding the lagoon pool (largest), the shows stage and other pools. 'Junior suites' had their own small swimming pools and were overlooking the beach fully and were closest to it. They were also close to the disco stage.
*Two things disappointed us:
We were often disrupted by staff who offered excursions or treatments until we realized we needed to display a 'do not disturb' flag.
Also, a lot of staff responded with a question 'where are you from' when you asked them about something which we found quite offensive after a while. Only restaurant and lobby staff was not interested in putting labels on us.
We have enjoyed our stay overall very much and recommend it to you all.

Please note we went in low season (end of May) and the hotel was half full. 80 percent of guests were Russians - some people may find it overwhelming we didn't. We have found them quiet and reserved, sometimes maybe a bit inconsiderate of others but hey, aren't we all at times we want to relax? About 3% of guests were people over 60. Majority of guests were young couples with or without children, couples and very few families with teens.

Tips: If you choose 'deluxe' rooms, go for the building number 3 and high up. Twin beds are small double each. If you're not happy, make it clear as staff will do their best to accommodate you somewhere else. Even small tips e.g.: 10 or 20 Egyptian dollars (£1 or £2) are appreciated by staff. I have not seen many quests leaving tips and I felt it went a long way. Don't be afraid to negotiate the prices of excursions, taxi etc. to the point of walking away and put attention to what currency your price is. There is a good diving centre along the beach in a nearby hotel called Easy Divers. We found them a good value for money - then the hotel staff offered it for the same price so choose your options wisely. Do not ever pay 200 Egyptian dollars for a journey from the airport. It should cost around 70-90 Egyptian dollars max. The main road is in front of the airport (approx 50 yards). Walk there and you will have nearly every second car stopping and offering you a lift for 50-80 dollars.

Room Tip: If you went for a deluxe option (quietest sector) choose building number 3 as half of the rooms in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonMonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear LondonMonB,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are delighted to read your very positive and detailed comments about our staff and facilities.
It was nice to hear that we could provide you with a very relaxing holiday .
Again we would like to thank you for your wonderful review - we are glad that you enjoyed your time and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacau, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

It was our first trip to Egypt, and we’re very happy we chose Rixos, we had a great time there during our 7-night stay at the end of May. The hotel is very good looking, with its trim gardens, turquoise pools, and north-African-themed architecture. Our room (in block 4) was quite large and comfortable, and very clean, with a nice balcony overlooking the entertainment pool. Although this pool may be the loudest area of the whole resort during the day, the room was really quiet with the balcony door closed.

We tried all the pools and the beach during our stay, and they were very nice. Unlike other reviewers, we didn’t experience major difficulties in finding sunbeds and umbrellas, even at hours as late as 9-10.00 in the morning. Usually, the entertainment pool is more crowded and noisier and the Oasis Pool (near the restaurant area) is much quieter, with the large Laguna Pool somewhere in the middle. In the end we preferred the beach, because of the gentle sea breeze (during our stay the weather was quite hot, with temperatures often exceeding 40 degrees Celsius), the very warm water, and the beautiful fishes swimming around the reef. You can get drinks, snacks and sandwiches at the bars serving each sunbathing area.

We didn’t get the chance to try any of the à la carte restaurants (probably we should have booked them as soon as we got there), but were quite happy with the main restaurant in operation during our stay, the Zodiac. Food choice was great, we tried almost all local-looking meals, especially the sweets. We didn’t have any of the stomach problems mentioned by other guests, we even gained a bit of weight :)

The staff was very friendly and helpful, though a bit too persistent in trying to sell some of the hotel services (like the Spa and massages). There are several facilities for children as well (like shallow pools and playing grounds with video surveillance accessible on the room TV).

Rixos is close to two of the greatest diving sites in the world, the Ras Muhammad National Park and Dahab’s Blue Hole, with beautiful coral reefs and a thousand species of colorful fish. We took snorkeling trips to both places and it was amazing. The beach jetty at the hotel provides access to a very nice reef as well, so take advantage. From Sharm el-Sheikh one can take trips to several other interesting places around the Sinai peninsula (like Mt. Sinai and St. Catherine Monastery), though Cairo and the pyramids are a bit far.

Though short, it was a great stay, and we plan to return, both for the hotel and the reefs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Stefan,

Thank you so much for your comments; we really do appreciate you telling us your thoughts on your stay with us. Happy to read that you really enjoyed yourself!

We are so sorry that you had no chance to experience our a la carte restaurants. At the end of May there was always availability and as being Rixos Guest Relation Team we would be happy also to get some feedbacks about this experience. We hope on your next stay we will welcome you also in our a la carte restaurants. It is also good to read that you enjoyed our food and service in main restaurant.

We are informing upon check-in and also it is written on hotel concept which we present you on arrival that we have red flag service around pool and also beach which you can get from towel stations and hang on your sunbed or umbrellas. That will help you to be not disturbed by spa or excursion info teams. Sorry for this inconvenience and we also would like to share this infrmation from here for our further coming guests.



We do hope to welcome you back again in the future for another memorable holiday with us.

Thank you and best regards,
Your Rixos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Rixos from 11 May for 2 weeks as part of our wedding anniversary. Firstly I will be completely honest in my review as I feel that the hotel has so many good points to it that they almost outweigh the bad.

Just to warn anyone travelling to Egypt, we arrived at the airport at 9pm and it was an absolute farse! 11 flights had landed at the same time and we were all packed in to the passport control area with no idea where to go, no queues formed and constant pushing & shoving! It took us over an hour to get through only to find that all the bags had been pulled off the baggage reclaim belt & were lying in piles all over the floor with the exception of a few bags that were still going round on the belt that couldn't be reached for all the other bags piled up in front of it!

When we finally retrieved our luggage we then had to drag it about 150metres to the bus over a bumpy path & across roads only to be greeted at our bus by a man demanding £1 coins from us for lifting our bags onto the bus! We then waited another hour for other guests to board the bus before we were taken to the hotel which is approximately 10 minutes from the airport but took us half an hour to get there.

On arrival at the Rixos we were greeted by very pleasant concierge who took our bags & directed us towards reception. Whilst waiting we were provided with a welcome drink. We were the last couple to be seen by reception who were not overly forthcoming with pleasantries and hardly spoke to us during our check in leaving us standing with no idea where to go and having to return and ask, only to be instructed "sit there!" About 5 minutes later the concierge came over and took us to our room in a golf buggy.

Our room was lovely, it was a superior room with a king size bed and sea view. Very clean and reasonably modern. We also found a lovely pink sponge cake waiting for us. Unfortunately as soon as I sat on the bed I felt it was rock solid and as a result, I didn't sleep well during my two week stay. The air conditioning is also very noisy but is a must at night due to the heat and drowned out the noise of the dog barking in the quad bike grounds next to us and the crickets chirping constantly.

We got up every morning at 7am and on the first morning we could not find loungers with a parasol although every lounger had a towel over it and most of them were not being used. The second day a Russian woman sent one of the pool attendants round all of the guests asking them if she could have their parasol! Finally on the 3rd day we found a set of loungers with a parasol that were free for us if we were quick every morning! We heard from other guests that towels were being put down by the pool attendants every morning for tips and also ensuring that parasols were available. I personally didn't see this but believe it due to the fact that every bed was covered and not used until late afternoon! I was also told by a guest that they seen towels being put on loungers at 5.30am!

We sat by the lagoon pool every day and found the staff to be excellent! They always replaced your drink without having to be asked and provided guests with crisps and nuts whilst at the swim up bar. In particular Nour Kamal the head barman and Ali Mohammed the chef. Ali was only too happy to make guests special request plates of food from the limited food he had at his disposal.

We ate in the Indian, Chinese, Italian & Egyptian al a carte restaurants and found the food in them all to be delicious, in particular my favourite was the Chinese and the spicy beef was amazing. The service in these restaurants was also very good although the staff were run off their feet.

We also ate in the Nefertiti restaurant which is adults only. The food was good and is a much more relaxing atmosphere than the chaos of the zodiac restaurant which has children running constantly in every direction and also has its share of extremely greedy Russians who feel the need to pile their plates as high as they can especially if you are queuing behind them waiting for the same type of food! Unfortunately they closed the Nefertiti restaurant while we were there and we had no option but to suffer the Zodiac restaurant.

All of the staff were very nice but were spoken to dreadfully by some of the Russian guests who the hotel seem to cater to. All entertainment and music was in Russian despite the large amount of guests now staying from other countries.

My husband and I decided to go the disco on the beach one night with another couple we met and again found the music to be mainly Russian. I also had to complain to the manager at the beach bar as one of the barman decided that he didn't want to serve me and continued to ignore me when I stood at the bar and even told one of the other barman who was walking towards me not to serve me. He was rude to my husband who asked for a drink for me and the couple we were with had to order drinks for us. I had never spoke to this bar man before and only had 1 beer but he favoured the Russian guests and provided them with drinks they hadn't asked for and took tips. I could also smell cannabis being smoked whilst at this bar and overheard a lot of conversations taking place in relation to the sale of ecstasy and cannabis. The disco next to reception is also completely directed towards the Russians. I asked the DJ to play a well known song and he said no!

One of the Russian guests also came to the lagoon bar and was hassling staff and other guests for heroin and cocaine. This man had been so under the influence the previous day staff had to help him to his feet and take him away.

I had emailed Rixos about 5 times prior to our holiday informing them that it was our wedding anniversary and went to guest services a few days before our anniversary to book the Chinese restaurant and again told the English female staff member that it was for our anniversary who said "oh that's nice!" Finally the day of our anniversary came and went with no acknowledgement, not even during our dinner that night.

My husband and I also suffered terrible stomach pains and sickness & diarrhoea after the second day and spoke with guests, who had the same symptoms and told us to go to the pharmacy where we bought pills and my husband was given an injection. The same pills were supplied to guests by the clinic in the resort who had went to the dr with the same symptoms. We were stopped by the english female member of staff and made her aware and she advised us that the pills we had should work but to go to the clinic if we felt worse. This continued throughout our entire holiday only easing for a couple of days and returning again. Every English speaking person that we spoke with had the same symptoms and we also spoke with a nurse who lives near us who stated that she had made the management aware of her illness and believed it to be food poisoning and had been advised to go to the clinic. I have now been home for nearly 1 week and my husband and I are still so ill to the point I nearly passed out during the night and had to contact NHS 24 who advised me that my husband and I have food poisoning.

On checking out of the hotel I raised these issues with the manager who took on board all of my other complaints but refused to believe there was a serious issue with the hotel that was making guests ill. As I had not attended the clinic he refused to take my complaint seriously. I had went to the clinic to see the dr regarding mosquito bites & was charged £15 for anti-histamines and cream which I already had with me, and a lotion. The dr said he wasn't sure if they were mosquito bites or what they actually were so I don't understand how he could provide me with medication for something he can't diagnose!

The hotel grounds are beautiful and the staff are working constantly to maintain them and clean them. The decor of the hotel is also beautiful and well maintained. The weather was sunny every day reaching 43 degrees while we were there. It is just very unfortunate that a couple of the staff let the rest of the hard working, polite, attentive staff down. The hotel seriously need to look into the food that is being prepared for guests because whether they like it or not they are giving their guests food poisoning and ruining what could be an amazing holiday. We stayed all inclusive but this does not cover room service so the days we were too ill to leave the room we had to do without food. We also noticed that most of the alcohol is cheap unknown brands with the exception of the piano bar but you had to ask for these when ordering your drinks and some were at an extra cost.

The hotel also need to make more of an effort to cater for guests other than the Russians. Other nationalities are being made to feel excluded.

Unless Rixos resolves these issues, in particular the food hygiene problem, I will not return, which really is a shame as the hotel is beautiful and the majority of the staff are some of the best we have come across.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sunshineleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Sunshineleigh,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rixos Hotels and sharing your valuable comments and recommendations. Each day our management reading and focusing on all recommendations to give a better service.

We are so sorry for an undesirable start at the airport and during your transportation which is related with your travel agency. We can recommend to our guests to contact with us and ask for private transfer details from airport to hotel, if they do not want to spend long time on the way to Rixos Hotel.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our welcoming, concierge service, your room, food and service quality and sorry for the inconvenience according to missing-orientation by our receptionist. We are always trying to show a seat to all our guests while our bell team getting ready to welcome and assist you till your room with luggage’s after check-in procedures.
We are happy to read also that our recreation team assisted you well and you are satisfied with our service. This problem was according to our %100 during May Fest but our management purchased additional new sunbeds for any need…

As a manager who is attending all hotel evening program and events, I can ensure all our guests that our resident DJs are playing songs which are on worldwide music charts and %85 are English songs. As you mentioned on your comment, I was at The Beach Party that night and you were commented to me that waiters are not serving to you and that’s why your friend/husband took some drinks for you. I apologized for this inconvenience and talked with Bar Manager to take care you and your group to not repeat any inconvenience and they offered you more drink during the night. I am also sorry that you are claiming something additional which you did not comment to us and these kind of things are fully under management control and not allowed in our hotel. During beach party all our bar team and shisha team focusing on serving to all our guests their orders, if any guest would like to give tip to them this is our guests appreciation. We would like to express our apology for the inconvenience that you had there.

I see on your comments that you also share that hotel area was clean and maintained, also we have a hygiene and food safety team who is managed by our Turkish Quality Manager very detailed and strictly.

Rixos Sharm El Sheikh is achieved Cristal Food Safety & Check Safety First Certificates in May 2013 after health and safety checks by audits.
We are so sorry for your sickness during your stay. We can assure you that all of our staff receive basic food hygiene training and are fully aware of the consequences of poor food preparation and hygiene. These symptoms are very common at the Summer Season during holidays because of very hot weather as you mentioned reaching 43 degrees, sun is very direct in Egypt and effecting body so fastly, different water - food quality than in your country, not drinking enough water and causing dehydration in body, climated internal areas and being in cold/hot area changes etc..

Every day we are recording our guests who are visiting our doctor and for which reasons. Our Guest Relation Team is talking with our guests face to face and recording their all comments. Till now our Health & Safety Team are controlling each food preparation according to each guest comment and presentation on our buffet or in a la carte restaurants.
We have screens in our a la carte restaurants which are showing during your dinner inside the kitchen and how our chefs are preparing your menus. This is also something which you can just see in Rixos Sharm El Sheikh in Egypt. We do our best to be transparent for our guest satisfaction.

In our concept 24h. room service is extra of charge. In bars local alcoholic drinks and some imported drinks are inclusive and rests of the imported alcohols are exclusive. We serve inclusive imported alcohols in lobby bar (24h) and Billiard Bar.

In special cases as sickness, if our guests contact us and ask any assistance our management is ready to serve complimentary food to the room, we are always at your service.

We would like to thanks for this opportunity to reply your all comments and hope to have another chance to welcome you at Rixos and make you %100 satisfied.
Please do not hesitate to contact with us directly for any assistance.

Regards,
Tuba Yolcu
Sn. Guest Relation Manager
tuba.yolcu@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We went to the Rixos the first week in May and if I had realised that it was the Russian holiday I wouldn't have gone within 100 miles of Egypt never mind the hotel.

The hotel is beautiful and spotlessly clean, the grounds superb, our room was immaculate, customer care was excellent and the food in all the restaurants simply delightful but the 'Russian experience' is something I never never wish to repeat. They were rude to everyone. I was also concerned the way the entertainment was geared up solely for the Russian contingent. An evening of 'International Song and Dance' was music from the salt mines and Cossack dancing. Karaoke was just the Russians singing - no words in English provided. Sorry Rixos - not good enough!

But my real gripe was with the sunbed situation. On the second day (out of a 7 day holiday) of not being able to get a sunbed or umbrella - anywhere - none of the pools or at the beach, I decided to go to customer service. I spoke to the young lady who dealt with the problem in a most professional manner. Within moments the Recreational Manager arrived. He was equally polite and explained that there were 300 sunbeds and that if I needed a sunbed the pool guys would find me one - which they did for the rest of the holiday. But no umbrellas were available - ever.

Why were there not more sunbeds or umbrellas?There are areas of space round most of the pools where extra sunbeds and umbrellas could be placed. Also many of the sunbeds were unoccupied until late in the afternoon. It is such an easy problem to solve - buy more sunbeds and umbrellas and don't allow guests to reserve sunbeds for more that 2 hours - that is ample time to have a very leisurely meal. The aggravation of the sunbed and umbrella situation spoiled what I had hope would be a very relaxing holiday!!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room on a high floor - exactly what we asked for. But if I ever went to the Rixos ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lynne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear lynne,

Thanks for choosing Rixos Hotels for your holiday and your kind comments and recommendations.

Rixos Hotels as being an international chain, we welcome multi-national guests from different countries and all our management try their best to serve at the same quality level to all our guests.

According to your concernings;
Karaoke activity, each Karaoke event evening, our entertainment team is sharing with all our guests song lists which is in different languages. We play the songs which our guests choose and want to sing. We are so sorry for the inconvenince about this activity but most of our guests prefer to sing in their own language.

Sunbeds and Umbreallas; we are so happy to hear that our Recreation Team assisted you during your stay and you are satisfied. This is the 8th month of Rixos Hotel management and during high operation we also experienced that we need more sunbeds and umbrellas. Thanks to all our guests for their comments and we would like to inform for future holiday planning guests that we still purchased more sunbeds and umbrellas.

Reserving sunbeds; our management also informed our recretaion team to manage sunbed reserving problem but if our guests put their personal belongings on the sunbeds and do not come long hours back, we are not able to touch any guest belongings. This problem also will be solved with new coming sunbeds.

Once again thanks for your sharings and time... We hope you will stay at Rixos again and please do not hesitate to contact with us for any assistance before your stay.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed for 1 week 9 - 16 May. First time at Rixos. Usually stay at Reef Oasis.Blue Bay. First impressions very good. Welcoming and speedy check in with drinks available and explanation of hotel layout. In a de luxe room near the new Reception and Nerfertiti dining room. . Excellent room . Spotlessly clean . Very well appointed with mini bar filled with soft drinks and lager topped up daily . Nice toiletries also replenished daily. Towel art better than the norm. Plenty of places to eat on a lunchtime and throughout the day. We particularly liked Tides at the beach.We would return if a couple of things were in place : Sunbeds is a major problem. All the staff at Rixos are lovely with the exception of the guys at the Towel Huts who are nice but definitely on the make. We picked up towels day one about 10.30 and asked to be shown to sunbeds with an umbrella only to be told there were none left. I am 68 years old and do not expect to stand in the red hot sun for 30 mins plus whilst they attempted to locate two sunbeds which only happened when I asked to see a manager and then we couldn't get an umbrella. Told by people round about us that towels were put out on all the sunbeds early morning and that if you gave some money up front or daily you would get a sunbed. Alternatively , some guest were going down about 7am and putting the towels out them selves. Consequently lots of sunbeds remained unoccupied for large parts of the day. This is simply not acceptable . I go on holiday to relax , not to go chasing sunbeds or to pay for the privilege of getting one. We would always tip anyway subject to the service. This needs sorting out. The other downside of Rixos was the dining arrangements for the last two days of our holiday. We enjoyed dining in the Nefertiti restaurant especially eating dinner out on the terrace on an evening. However, due to some outstanding work in the Nefertiti we had to eat in the Zodiac restaurant the last two days. I would not go back if I had to repeat this experience. The hotel was full of Russian guests , probably some 70% and I am afraid their eating habits are appalling . They pile their plates up with food, shovelling it into their mouths as though somebody is going to come and take it away and then leave loads of food and drink on the table. I felt sorry for the waiting staff as many of the Russian people were so rude and arrogant towards them. In summary a positive experience overall but I would only go back if I was sure the Nerfetiti was open and the sunbed issue had been resolved,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank daisymaydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear daisymaydurham,
Thanks for choosing Rixos Hotels and happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us liked our hotel.

According to our guest comments about sunbeds issue, we informed our night manager who is on duty from midnight till morning to control and give us feedback. He informed us that we have so many guests who wake up early but we will do our best to control this issue for our guest satisfaction. We already purchaised more sunbeds, our recreation team will assist all our guests if we need to add more sunbeds to any pool area or beach area.

First 2 weeks of May is holiday in Russia and most of the hotels are fully occupied on this period, we are so sorry for the inconvenience that you had from any of our guest.

Nefertiti Restaurant is closed because of its force majour technical problem inside its kitchen. We will open as soon as possible this problem solved.

We would like to thanks for your understanding and will be glad to hear from you soon for your next holiday plan... Please contact with us directly if we can give any assistance before your arrival.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
Sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing