We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but far no top class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel in December 2013.
The staff at the reception was very nice and we got a ride on a golf cart to our room.
The room itself (superior) was nice, but we had hair in the bathtub, hair in the bed and the glasses for our welcome bottle of wine were dirty, really filthy. I complained about it and even the manager for facility came to apologize but the first impression was gone.
Food: you have a main restaurant with buffet and several a la carte restaurants. You can book an a la carte restaurant only via a specific terminal and only one time per restaurant for free. We visited the Egyptian and the seafood restaurant. The food tastes boring and is far away from an average standard. No spices, the Egyptian food tastes European, the seafood tastes cooked before grilled, the wine. We didn't attend the other restaurants because of this experience.
The food in the main restaurant is ok, they could change the meals more often, hygienic standard is top, deserts are brilliant.

Service:
I visited the barber for a haircut and a shave in the spa center. I paid 38€ (!), the shave was good, haircut was not existing and done in 5 mins.
I visited the fitness center, it's just a smelly small room, I left after 10 mins as I felt very uncomfortable.

What pissed me really was the fact that the animation team tried to sell you a trip to the Hard Rock Cafe. There are several, all very expensive.

All in all I have to say that Rixos does not feel like the luxury top service place they always say it is.
Compared to Dana Beach in Hurghada they still have a lot of homework to do.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,210)
There are newer reviews for Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 4,210 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed. Spotlessly clean throughout the hotel and friendly, smiling staff everywhere. Excellent snorkelling off the hotel jetty, we did several trips to other areas including Ras Mohamed national park and the best variety of fish we saw was at Rixos.
Great facilities at the hotel, you really don't have to leave at any time.
The only disappointment for me was in the restaurants. The food in the buffet one, Zodiac was good if not great. The army of servers, although attentive and friendly reminded me of a large flock of seagulls, swooping down to clear plates and drinks, often before they were fully finished. This over eagerness is preferable to inattentiveness but it was certainly not a 5 star polished service. A little training would quickly fix this. The service in the a la carte restaurants was ok, the food however was overall disappointing. The Egyptian one was ok but the Chinese and Italian were a long way from 5 star quality both in concept and execution. We didn't eat in the Indian or fish restaurant on the basis of our meal in the Chinese.

Overall a lovely hotel that I would recommend to anyone, its just that a 5 star hotel needs to achieve high standards in all aspects. Some attention to the food from management would, in my opinion, help take this hotel from very good to excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Another fantastic Christmas Holiday at the Rixos Sharm.

We spent 11 nights this time from 15/12/2013 to 26/12/2013. Arriving at the airport we were met by the hotel taxi service and driven directly to the Rixos. It was like returning home everyone remembered us and greeted us with a smile and a hug. Check in again was very smooth and we were offered a drink and a cold hand towel to freshen up with whilst completing our check in.

Again we were greeted by Karram the Head Porter who arranged for us and our luggage to be taken by buggy to our room. We were located in Block 4 which was fine on the 1st night but the noise from the main pool during the late afternoon on the second day was quite loud so we requested a room move and Bella and Kelly (Guest Relations) arranged for us to be upgraded and we were placed in a Junior Suite in block 17 (Thanks Kelly and Bella).

The Hotel was only two thirds full so it was not cramped or overcrowded. It was easy to get a sunbed at any of the numerous pools and also on the beach. The pool areas and grounds as always are spotless and well maintained and were all decorated for Christmas and the New Year celebrations as was the restaurants and main entrance and old lobby bar.

We mostly ate in the Zodiac restaurant but did also visit the Italian, Indian, and Chinese a la carte restaurants which were all excellent service and excellent food. We also dined in the Executive Dining Lounge which again was fantastic, this was complementary as part of our booking directly with the Hotel which normally costs £90.

I have written numerous review of this hotel and I cannot find anything negative to say about the Hotel facilities, accommodation or staff, the staff makes this hotel so very special, Kelly, Bella (Guest Relations) Samir (Piano Bar), George (Lobby Bar), Mr Mohamed (Piano Bar) and Mr Aladdin to mention just a few of the excellent staff at the Rixos.

People say why do you keep returning to the same hotel? Well we have tried other hotels in Egypt and other parts of the world. We always say to people who ask that question “we know what to expect, we know what we are going to get and we like what we get from this Hotel” so we will keep on booking this Hotel.

We are looking to book again for March 2014 to see all our friends at the Rixos Sharm so a Very Happy New Year and may you go from strength to strength.

Room Tip: Block 3 is always a good location close to the main reception but far enough away from the noisy mai...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caretaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spent two weeks at the Rixos over the Xmas period. This was our third visit but the first under the new management. We always thought the Grand Azure was great but the upgrades, changes and additional tweeks made by the new management has made this hotel even better. The Main restaurant (Zodiac) has had some lay out changes with the addition of specialist food warmer plates which kept the food fresh and hot all the time. The quality of food was fabulous and the selections extremely varied and really well presented.
We also took advantage of the Al a Carte restaurants visiting the Chinese, Indian and Italian over the two week holiday. For us the Italian was the best capturing the very best of all aspects, food quality, presentation, ambience and above all the service. The Chinese wasn't far behind and the Indian with a little more fine tuning will i'm sure eventually be the same.
Our rooms were fantastic, extremely well kept with all sorts of goodies included. We tipped a few of the staff, because we chose to, at no time did we feel staff were expecting it, they just naturally want to please you. We took my husbands elderly Mother who was treated like royalty by the staff in the restaurants, it was quite funny watching them help her with plates, drinks and ferrying them to our table for her, so considerate and helpful.
The Customer relations team, thanks to Kelly and Bella are top drawer. The staff here are the most attentative, helpful and considerate we have ever experienced. Special thanks to Mohamed who looked after the Beach Pool and everybody who took up residence there, absolute diamond of a lad as are many of them.
We are already planning our next visit for September and we have family visiting in March for the first time. Roll on the next few months!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Fay D

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we appreciate your continued support.

Once again thank you for your nice comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Decided to try another hotel in Sharm this Christmas, after 4 years of visiting the Savoy so the benchmark was very high, and was not diappointed because we had a great holiday at the Rixos. We booked a Junior Suite for us (2 adults and 1 12 year old) which was in a single storey block, based by quite pool and nearby pool bar, very spacious and it had excellent facilities.

It is a beautiful hotel, which is well maintained and spacious with good outdoor facilities for all the family. Great beach area and pier to access the sea to snorkle to see the lovely fish swimming around the coast. Heated pool was a blessing as the pools elsewhere was cold at this time of year.

Staff everywhere was excellent in terms of customer service, especially at the Hathemit Seafood restaurant where one evening a couple with a baby could not enjoy their meal due to the baby not settling and crying so the team arranged for the meal to be packaged up and a golf trolley to take them back to their room so they could enjoy it on their balcony!

The ala carte restaurants are very good in terms of food quality but need to work on customer service and authenticity in some of them, expecially the Italian. Seafood and Indian were excellent in terms of both.

The only downside was poor internet wi-fi service outside of the bar area and eccentric requirement of turning on hand basin water taps so you can get hot water to come though on both bath and shower - not a major issue.

Room Tip: Junior Suite 14012 was an excellent spacious room and location very near pool - single storey block...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woodstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Woodstag

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay - your comments have been noted regarding some a la carte service and they will be shared with the relevant Department Heads.

Your comments have been shared with the Engineering Team regarding the hot water - we will check this room and ensure this issue is solved.

Once again thank you for your nice comments and feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Absolutely fantastic hotel with wonderful staff throughout. We were welcomed on arrival and this continued all week, with all the staff focusing on you having a great experience. Special mention must go to Ayman & Amr from the Lagoon Bar; both were superb and made the holiday something special. Thank you guys. Another person to speak to if you need any questions answered is Bella at Customer Relations - she knows everything about the hotel and was brilliant throughout the week.

The restaurants offered plenty of variety for food and I suggest all are tried. The buffet food was very good but became rather "similar" throughout the week.

Remember to take US Dollars for tips, and tip from the start of the week. Nothing huge is needed, a little goes a long way and is much appreciated by all the staff. We used Egyptian but learnt that Dollars or Pounds were preferred. Tips are collated and distributed out to all, so nobody will miss out!

In summary, a wonderful break and much needed at a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view, as this will hopefully eradicate other buildings being in your eye...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear James R

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and thank you for your nice comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at the Rixos in Sharm el Sheikh over the Christmas period for two weeks with my husband, two children and my mum and dad. Even though there is a large age range in our party we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and found plenty to do for everyone. We all made the most of the heated pool with the swim up bar! The staff are great, in fact that is what makes the holiday so good. They are all so friendly and can't do enough to make your holiday special. The a la carte restaurants are fantastic, we sampled 5 out of the 6 and enjoyed the excellent food and being waited on! Bella on guest relations is excellent at arranging anything you need. On Christmas Eve Father Christmas arrived on a camel which was great fun for the children.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Barleymow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,423 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#62 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,142 reviews
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
412 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,678 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Address: | Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £156 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing