We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow hotel”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Just sat in the lobby of the Rixos, it's our last day and we really don't want to go home . The hotel is a great 5* .food is amazing , room is large and the bed is hard but surprisingly comfortable,
Through the day the animation team are there to entertain, if you don't want to join in - a simple no thank you and there on there way. Look out for Luka he's a star, a very funny guy 'wakey wakey sharm el shakey' is one of his lines. He loves to 'chit chat'wearing his glassles glasses lol. Sam is fab great sense of humour, Dylan is another one of the animation that stands out and not to forget Adam he's English and had just started on the animation team and was a great lad too. Go to the restaurants they are all very nice some of the food may not be to your taste but if you go early and don't like it you can go to main restaurant and eat there. We had a mini bar in the room but didn't use it much as drink is available all day any way. What ever you do come here and relax and you too will want to return soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula1966x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Paula1966x

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us at Rixos Sharm el Sheikh it is much appreciated

We are so pleased that we met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the service and facilities we offer in particular the Entertainment Team

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you

Your Rixos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,136
    644
    246
    54
    46
See reviews for
1,302
1,909
85
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

If anyone is planning to go to Sharm for the first time I would echo other people's comments that 5 star in Egypt is not the same as 5 star in Mexico.

That said, I get the impression this is one of the better 5 stars resorts in Egypt. The hotel itself is lovely, the grounds are well manicured and the room was really nice. Some people have commented that their rooms were a bit dated so I can only guess they have re-furbed some but not all.

We went for one week from 30th Jan and there was no issue getting getting sunbeds. There also didn't seem to be any mosquitos which was a welcome relief as they usually love me.

We were pleasantly surprised to find that there was no issues booking into the a la carte restaurants. During the trip we went to 5 and the food was good in all (apart from the Italian which was a bit mediocre). They were all pretty much empty which was quite surprisingly as in my opinion the food and the ambience were much better in these than the buffet.

There was one big issue regarding our stay and this was the constant pressure from the hotel staff to buy spa treatments, dive trips etc. To give you an idea on our first morning we were sitting by the pool and we must have been approached 10 times within the first hour trying to sell us stuff. This did improve during the week ( not sure if they recognised us or we just got much ruder) however this really annoyed my husband and meant he didn't 'wind down into holiday mode' for the first few days. We mentioned this in a feedback form and in fairness the hotel staff called us on the final night and said you can get a 'do not disturb' sign from reception to hang from your lounger. I did not see one of these the entire week as I suspect no-one knows about them. I think it is a bit of a cop out from Rixos to have these signs not tell anyone about them. This should not put people off from staying in the resort ( just make sure you get a sign) but Rixos really need to sort this out if they want to stand out from the other hotels and be seen as one of the more superior hotels in Sharm.

I would class this hotel as 'good' and bearing in mind the price compared to the Carribean you can't really complain. If they were to sort out the selling issue (or you were to get a 'do not distrub') sign I would not hesitate to reccomended this to others.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Catherine_S186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Catherine_186338

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are pleased that you were satisfied with the facilities and service we had to offere.

We apologise that you felt you could not relax during your stay due to the sales team - we do have the do not disturb signs available from the Towel Stations - this information is also printed on your check in information however to be approached 10 times without a sign is still too much - your comments will be shared with the Manager of the Sales Team in order to take the necessary action.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My friend and I (both female) have just come back from staying 5 days at Rixos Sharm el Sheikh (jan 30 - 3 feb 2014) and I must admit it was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. I have been to Sharm before and this is by far one of the nicest hotels. The whole resort is vry close to the airport (10 mins transfer) and was very clean. We upgraded to a Junior suite which has the most breathtaking sea views! The room was so spacious and the bathroom was complete luxury (stayed in room 21106)! The balcony was also very spacious. The resort itself had everything we needed and all the staff tended to our needs. the food at the Zodiac restaurant was varied, fresh and we were very happy with the variety of food. we were spoilt for choice! There are also many a la carte restaurants you can choose from. We opted for the Chinese and it was very nice. It is definitely family friendly hotel with loads of space for buggies and children to run around safely. we know it was low season but it was clear to see that there was so much space around all the several pools and of course the beach to make everyone happy. As we were 2 women travelling on our own, we felt very safe throughout the whole resort.

Now....Where do i start? I have to start by mentioning the first two staff members we met on our first night of check in. Osama, at reception, you were so gracious and helped us so much from the moment we checked in, the upgrade up to the point of checking out of the hotel. you always had a wonderful smile and brightened our day. Karam, you were so helpful in helping us decide which room to take and you took me and my friend to and from the rooms with no quibble. you were also helpful in getting those cool internal hotel taxis to get to our room when my friend (who was 6 months pregnant) was too tired to walk back from reception to the restaurantor room. you made our stay very comfortable. A heartfelt thank you to you both.

The next person is Maksoud from the Zodiac restaurant. He welcomes everyone with his huge smile and is so warm and helpful. He is quick to remember what drinks we want for breakfast, lunch and dinner! he was so polite and very attentive. thank you for making our dining experiences memorable! keep smiling!


The rixos spa is very relaxing and a big thank you to Laura at Spa rececption who helped us very much and to Su who provided a wonderful hot stones massage which i highly recommend!


A special thanks to Samar in the Rixos lounge/lobby area, you are so sweet and always looked after us as we chilled out in the Rixos lounge area. it was a joy to meet and chat to you every time we were there.

To Hossem, the very polite and sweet driver who drove us around the hotels resort in the cool internal taxi. you always made an effort to talk to us on these short journeys and we thank you for being a part of this wonderful experience! we will not forget you.

To the night staff at reception who answered our call, and the security staff who helped us on our last night we were at the hotel, thank you for your quick response at 2am and making us feel safe from some drunk!

Now we have the left the best til last, the 'Beach Boys' as we like to call them. Mohamed, Walid and Ahmed..... thank you for making our time at the beach full of fun and laughter. Ahmed, you always got our sunbeds ready and always smiled and said hello. you are such as sweet person. Walid, you are very cheeky and funny and made me laugh the first time we saw you and from there on. And of course Mohamed, a wonderful person who was very funny, very intelligent and made us feel safe on the beach with no worries. you guys are all great and made this trip much more special and memorable. thank you, thank you, thank you! we miss you already.

As you can see the praise and thanks has been given to the staff throughout the whole complex and this is definitely a testament to the whole resort. Although we did not use the activities organised by the animation team, it seemed that they were helping people and children have a great time. we spoke to a couple of them on our last day and we would like to wish Adam the best of luck as he had just started at the resort but did not hesitate to have a nice chat with us. Hope you're not too disheartened about Man Utd's loss this week Adam....

I hope the management can pass on our sincere thanks to all these people who we came across during our short break as they made it extra special. of course there were many other staff members who were also very welcoming but unfortunately we cannot remember all the names! we would highly recommend this hotel as it is also great value for money. the location is also ideal as it is within walking distance to shops (the hotel is directly opposite to many shops) for those who want to buy souveneirs. If you're thinking of coming to sharm el sheikh, then this is the hotel to book! definitely highly recommended.

Room Tip: upgrade to the junior suite if you can as its worth it. We stayed at 21106. the deluxe rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lutfakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear lutfakhan

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us at Rixos Sharm el Sheikh it is much appreciated

We are so pleased that we met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the service and facilities we offer.

Your comments have been shared with all staff members mentioned and we are so pleased they looked after you so well throughout your stay.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed there for a week from 16th to 23rd November 2013 in a standard pool view room. We arrived there and were welcomed with a drink as we checked in. The check in process was very quick and professionally done. In no time we were taken to our room (16109) by one of the Hotel's electric taxi's. The room was an average size, clean and generally quite nice with a well stocked minibar (replenished daily) The bathroom was a good size and was clean. The only thing we weren't keen on or didn't understand that there wasn't a shower curtain. Our cleaner Mohamed did a great job & worked very hard.

The Hotel was generally very nice offering a great choice of food and beverages through out the Hotel including a good choice of a la carte restaurants. We dined at the Indian (twice) The Seafood, Egyptian and Chinese. They were all very good and would recommend them all. We thought the Egyptian was excellent and also the Indian (2nd visit was better!)

During the day, there were plenty of Sunbeds. The Main pool bar had a very good service and great staff, especially "Jimmy" & Michael ! A big thank you to you guys for making our holiday more special. I have to say that we found most of the staff friendly although their english is quite limited.

There were quite a few Russians there but they weren't really a problem. Make sure you take Mosquito spray because as soon as the sun goes down they're out !

On the whole, we had a great time there and would definitely recommend this hotel highly. There's no doubt that we will return there again this year probably October or November.

Thank you for a pleasant stay and keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Get a room in the over looking the quiet pool as it's in a good position for dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy320clk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Andy_Tina_18

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased we met your expectations and that you would recommend us -it is much appreciated

We also look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We spent a week in Rixos Sharm in December-13 (13-20) and i would say is the best hotel we have stayed in Egypt and we have been there 7-8 times probably, as is the closest sunny destination. We booked a taxi from airport, to avoid waiting for the buses that takes you around to drop off all other peoples in the charter, so we arrived pretty fast to hotel lobby, is a 10 min drive. Hotel is in Nabq bay, a bit far from Sharm center, about 30-40 min drive if you want to be there, we went once for a spa center.

Check in was pretty fast and hassle free, they took out passports and invited to sit down the sofas and served us a refreshing juice while they were assigning us a room. We went to the room, that was pretty basic, but ok, bathroom was a bit old and tired, actually all the stuff need it a refresh, toilet seat was old and stained, bathroom and sink the same and there was no curtains on the bath tube so water was going on the floor; so i would say that the room was the only part that was not too good, i would say more 4 stars that 5, but we did had a standard room; we should have updated as it was probably not too much, probably 100 eur/week; but i had already unpacked until i saw the bathroom.

Weather was a bit cold first 2 days and heated pool was great; but than it started to warm up a little bit, temperature was about 16-18 in the morning and growing to 22-26 at lunch time. We spent most of the time at the heated pool and bar, water was great, a bit noisy as was full with Russians that were also jumping in even if it was not allowed. Drinks at the bar were good, canned juices and water, not 100% natural, probably about 50%, but still a good improvement after the ones from machines from other hotels, Beer was ok as always, wine not really, but drinkable, and cocktails ok.
the Sunbeds were not very good, as they didn't had mattresses so they were pretty uncomfortable,

the beach bar was very good and if you sit at the bar or in the evening, you could have a nice cocktail in a glass, as usually they need to serve it in plastic ones and they were also serving Turkish coffee.
you could also drink a proper espresso in the lobby bar; in the rest was just Nescafe that i don;t like.

Food in main restaurant was very good, they were serving chicken, whole fish and veal grilled at every meal + a lot of cooked meals + deserts, fruits.
Service was very good and fast so i would really congratulate them for this.

they also had a few a la carte restaurants, i think there are 6-7 and you can go once/week at each one, booking is very simple and fast at some automated machines in the lobby and you can book 3 days in advance. We tried Indian, Egyptian/traditional Arabic, Japanese and i was not impressed, i expected more after the main one that was very good, i have expected these ones to be better, but my husband says i am too critical and i am comparing it with best restaurants that we eat either home in Bucharest or around the world.

This time we went alone, but they also have a very good large child care center, unfortunately is for 3+ years, so we need to wait at least 1 year until our twins will be over 3 and we will teach them some English.

Hotel has exit to the beach and pontoon as well.

If we will go back to Egypt and we probably will, as i said is the closest sunny destination, we will probably book again Rixos, but i will make sure i get a superior room.

Well done to management for restaurants and service and make sure you do a bit of improvements in some rooms. I have rated the rooms and cleanliness as Average as the room we had was not very good (as said need a bit of refurbishment in the bathroom) and not because the cleaning man was not doing his job.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Any P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Anyalx

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

Your comments have been noted regarding the room you stayed in - we have plans for some rooms in 2014 and your feedback will help us to improve in certain areas. We already planned to install shower curtains aswell as other amenities in the future.

We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and your comments are much appreciated

We also look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

lovely hotel, great warm welcome. spent xmas and new year here with friends and family. The hotel grounds are impressive and immaculately kept. staff wonderful, very chatty and often make a joke, which our 12 year old son loved. amination team superb! Never a dull day for our son. Food was very good with plenty of choice and we never really got bored of it which says a lot. xmas and new year gala dinners were superb, they went the extra mile! fireworks and disco excellent on new years eve. The only thing that let this hotel down was the rooms, but still only in a minor way. They need updating but we found out that the hotel had only been running under this management for a year and it was very clear to us that they had already spent a lot on resourses and were continuing to do so. Apparently some rooms have already been refurbished so ask if you can go in this block. It didnt ruin our holiday as we spent minimal time in the room and it was very clean and respectful. Beds were a little on the hard side but we did tell them and they put an extra padded mattress cover on all the beds , which made it a lot more comfy! Although the grounds are immaculate a bit more attention needs to be given to glass windows and doors as they are covered in finger prints. We stayed at the aquamarine in hurgarda in july and all glass areas were attended to straight away, you would walk through a door and it would be cleaned behind you.I would return to this hotel as it is very friendly and once fully refurbished would be excellent all round.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear tina I

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased you chose to celebrate Christmas and New Year here with us and you had an enjoyable stay.

Your comments regarding the glass windows has been shared with our Housekeeping Manager and he will take the necessary action.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

just back from a week stay with my wife at the Rixos Hotel and i am happy to give the venue an unabashed five star rating. The staff are uniformly attentive, the food is excellent, the facilities are superb and the climate was wonderful. five star luxury at a very affordable price. Please bury any misgivings you might have about a trip to Egypt. This is an endlessly fascinating country and is far safer than you might be led to believe. I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel and have little doubt we will return for a break at a similar time period soon

Room Tip: none really, we stayed in the room block starting 4000 on the second floor and were perfectly able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newnamegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear newnamegeorge

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,343 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#58 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,126 reviews
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
375 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,658 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Address: | Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing