We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Harris, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Have just returned from the Royal Grand Azure in Sharm. the hotel is amazing.. It is huge and well looked after. The nicest hotel i have stayed in in Sharm. The rooms are large and always kept clean. Our room was overlooking the pool so could get rather noisy but it was still lovely. The staff are friendly and not overly pushy for tips like other resort hotels in Egypt. The grounds are beautiful and well looked after. The food was good but I can imagine after a week you might get fed upo of the buffet but the a la carte places are nice although not all finished yet. We ate at the Oriental and it was very nice. The restaurant manager Naz was so kind to us. Also a special thank you to Samir from the Lobby bar who kept the drinks flowing!!

It was very hot around late 30s 40s..

Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,135
    644
    246
    54
    46
See reviews for
1,301
1,909
85
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mrswickliffe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Grand Azure during the first week of June to celebrate out first wedding anniversary. On arriving at the hotel following a very turbulent flight from Gatwick, we were checked in very quickly and escorted to our room by a very helpful porter. Our first impression was one of awe as the resort looks absolutely amazing when its lit up at night. The room itself was clean and remained that way for the duration of our stay. Thanks mainly to Mahmoud our room attendant.
The food in the main buffet restaurant was always well prepared and hot, with many options available and we did not get bored at any point during the week. We were able to sample the Indian, Egyptian and Italian a la carte but the Chinese was always fully booked. The staff in the bars and restaurants were always very attentive and happy to help.
Two guys at the main reception, Haitham Wafa and Ahmet Youssry became very friendly with my husband and were very helpful with local information and helping to co ordinate our pre booked excursion to Tiran island, as well as the lovely breakfast boxes.
On the negative side, the evening entertainment was non existent. There did not seem to be any real co ordination or real intent on the part of the animation team to do any better.
We would happy return sometime in the future

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrswickliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

What a super resort! Lots of pools and sunbeds-just a shortage of umbrellas.The food is absolutley great -lots of choice too.We ate in all the speciality restaurants ie chinese,indian,egyptian and italian.There was lots of entertainment in the evenings both for adults and children.The staff were all so helpflpull and the rooms and grounds were spotless.Well done to everyone-we will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We were moved to this hotel 5 days before we traveled as the Tropicana Grand Azure was overbooked and although we were a bit dubious before we arrived those fears were forgotten as soon as we got to the hotel.
We were checked in speedily and our luggage was taken to our room immediately by the friendly porter. He showed us around our room and we were delighted to see we had been upgraded to a junior suite. The suite was massive it had a dressing area with wardrobe space and a safety deposit box, a nice living area with a fridge, tea and coffee facilities two sofas and a LCD TV. The bedroom area had two beds which were almost the size of a double beds so no problem there and the bathroom was huge with a bath, shower and 2 sinks. It was all spotless and air conditioned.
The pool area was also big too with several pools to choose from and lots of sunbeds surrounding them. The only minor gripe i'd have is there was not enough parasols for the amount of sunbeds so unless you get up at 7 and reserve one its very difficult to get any respite from the sun.
The restuarants were also very good. The Zodiac buffet restuarant is full of a wide range of different dishes some served on the hotplates and others cooked fresh in front of you. We went to the Italian al Carte and the Chinese during our stay and the quality of food and service in these is fantastic.
The beach area is kept very clean and snorkeling is available from the end of the jetty which is really worthwhile as the sea is so clear and some of the sights are amazing. The gardens are kept in immaculate condition and there always staff working on them.
The staff in the hotel are great and are only too happy to help you with anything, we only tipped a few of them but recieved great service from all of them. And the First Choice Rep Ahmed was good too, he seemed to always be available and even sorted us a late checkout for no extra charge.
Overall we had a fab time and would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Just came back. The Hotel was good the grounds do blow you away when you arrive, very large and there are plenty of beds. great location, very friendly staff, The main buffet restaurants food is incredible, so much choice and available whenever. The beds were very comfortable and we slept great every single night. We had great sea view and nice bed.beware outside the hotel everyone is after your money and will try and rip you off.

Myself and my partner did suffered stomach upset and this was when our problems started as we were told by our rep ahmad in the welcome meeting not to take Imodium and to get in contact with him in case we get any stomach upset because he have a magic pill for this ??!!! it was my wife first who got it so we were first asked by the rep to buy some medications from him and when I refused and asked a doctor for my wife he told me that if I will go to the hotel doctor he will charge me so much money about 250 quid just to see my wife and give her injection and tablet ( which proved to be a big lie from our rep later!!!! ) so the rep sent us to another clinic in concord hotel by the hotel taxi to which we paid 100 Egyptian dollar and when we got there in this clinic it was so small room and unclean and we were very frightened from it but my wife received their 2 injection and medications and the doctor their make us to pay 200 Quid because he does not work with our insurance company and offered us to write a receipt with higher amount to claim from our insurance which we refused ..Is this a real doctor!!!!

One day later me also got the same so I went to see the onsite doctor..the clinic was so clean and the doctor there was nice and always smiling and I even shared with him some time playing on his playstation in his break….i was charged only 80 quid for the examination, injection and medication and follow up !!!! we were so surprised for the lies which was told to us by the Thomson rep regarding the onsite clinic fees but later we understood why he did this when we heard from the hotel taxi driver who drove us the concord clinic that the rep get 50 quid for each case he send to this outside clinic that is why he try to deceive people and say lies about the onsite clinic..

I just wished to write this review to warn all people from such behavior done by this Thomson rep who was supposed to help us not to deceive us to make profit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julietlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Our party of 8 got transfered to this hotel when LTI grand azure over booked. What a fantastic place to stay. The food was delicious. The rooms were modern and big. The pool area was amazing for both adults and children with a delightful swim up bar. The staff were very helpful and pleasant especially Mohammed the towel boy outside reception area. Animation team were funny. Massages were great. The hotel was stunning, i look forward to coming again soon.x

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

6 of us stayed at this hotel from 24th April - 1st May, ages between 23 and 60. We chose this hotel as it looked fab and the price at the time of booking was good value. When booking in February we paid extra to book 3 suites as this included 'vip extras' such as, one free laundry service, mini bar stocked, tea and coffee, bathrobes and slippers, international drinks etc. Just before we left for our holiday though, these extra's were taken off and although brought up with the manager at the hotel we did not receive them.

When arriving at the hotel check in was a little slow. We had requested two rooms not on the ground floor and one with private pool. Unfortunately the room with the private pool was very dirty so we changed and moved up to be with the rest of the group. Rooms were cleaned to a very basic standard. On the first day we were supplied with face clothes and hand towels, once we left these in the bath for clean ones to be supplied we never received them. Only half a toilet roll was left each day through the week and I often had to go walk about to find a cleaner to request an extra one put in our room. Floors were washed but a plaster was left in the middle of the floor and that stayed there for the whole week. There are several rugs in your room but these are never vacuumed and felt very dirty by the end of the week - we left a £2 tip every day.

The grounds are lovely but as you walk through you can see that the building standards are not 5star. Tiles missing, grout all over the place, rest in the bathroom already - Our shower door did not close. These do not impact on your holiday but does make it feel a little less luxurious.

The swimming pools are large, a little cold but fine once you are in. Swim up bar serves drinks and snacks but only after 10am. If you have breakfast at 7am you are dying for a drink by then. There is an animation team who try to get everyone involved but no one really took to them.

Buffet restaurants fine, but most food strangely all tasted the same, could be bored of it at the end of two weeks. None of us got upset tummies from the food which was good. They kept it all very hot - to hot infact. One morning I lifted the tray up, and extremely hot steam came out from it. This resulted in a very nasty and sore burn. I have to say the manager who was on that morning ran around getting me ice and cream to put on it and could not apologise enough - was not his fault. For the rest of the week every time I went into the resr had a member of staff take my plate and open every lid for me - lovely but unnecessary!

We ate in the Italian and Indian - both very nice, will be good when the other restaurants open.

All staff were very friendly which made part of the holiday, apart from the odd member of staff who asked for tips!! One of our group became ill and had to go to the onsite doctor - the room he was based in was very unclean!!! but he was fine.

I think once the hotel is completed it will be lovely - have seen prices for next year and they are as expensive as hotels such as Savoy etc. Hope this review helps - any questions please ask!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelyholidaysSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,342 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#58 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,125 reviews
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
375 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,658 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Address: | Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing