We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday :) Totally blissed out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Myself and a friend have recently returned from Egypt where we stayed at the Royal Grand Azure. We were very pleased that we chose this hotel out of the others we had looked at. On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by the recption staff who were very pleasant and there english was acceptable and understandable. The people (mainly British) who complain about foreign people having poor english at hotels are rediculous as this is there country and they can communicate very well with you considering there main language is Arabic. (I would like to see a British person attempting pleasantries in Arabic!)

After checking into the hotel we were issued with our All Inclusive wrist bands and welcome packs, we gave a staff member our room number and he then arranged for our luggage to be dropped off to our room via a golf buggy so no need to drag your case around the massive complex.

The rooms at this hotel are very clean and the decor is bright and modern. (This was a winning factor in me booking to stay here as I like a nice bedroom) We had two small double beds,they seemed a little hard but we never had any trouble sleeping on them. The bathroom was a large size but the main winner for me was the size on the wardrobe it was HUGE! There was plenty of space for two girls to stash all their clothes, shoes and bags for a weeks stay. The rooms were cleaned daily with new towels and bedding, water in the fridge was also replenished daily too which was very nice.
The only negative I would have is that the AC unit in the room was loud but because it wasn't to warm in the nights we didnt really use it often throughout our stay.

This hotel currently has 5 restuarants and they are also renovating another, so there is plenty of choice here. The main buffet restaurant is where most meals are provided. The restaurant was to a good size with an outside seating area too. The food was lovely, there was plenty to choose from at all meal times. Yes the food is more continental with eggs and pastries supplied at breakfast so if you cant live without a fry up I wouldn't really recommend holidaying outside of spain.

I ate everything from meat, salad and deserts and did not suffer from an upset stomach all week. The staff in the buffet restuarant were very friendly and efficient, they were always ensuring the guests tables were cleared once they had finished their food. Drinks were served to your table so no need to queue at the bar area. The plus for myself was also that the restuarant managers would spend their time going round the guests asking how they were etc, this was a very nice touch. A big mention to Zaher, Hossam and Osamma who are great guys who do an amazing job of ensuring everything was running smoothly in their restaurants.

During our stay we ate at two of the Al a Carte restaurants which was the Italian and Indian.The food was amazing and so was the wine lol. Reservations need to be made for these. We did originally have the Chinese booked instead of the Italian because it was fully booked for our stay, you do need to be fast in getting a booking here as its a very popular restuarant. Anyways after speaking to the restaurant manager Osamma he arranged it so that we could eat here which was very nice of him :)

The pools throughout the hotel were lovely, staff were always cleaning them on a daily basis. The water was very cold so on many occassions I had to just jump in before I chickened out. However there is a heated pool towards the back of the complex, this was very nice, it felt like a bath tub. There were staff attending each pool area, they also sorted out towels and sunloungers for you too.

The poolside bar at the main lagoon pool was great and the staff were very friendly, they were always there with a smile and a chat for you. This bar had a swim up side and they also provided snacks in the afternoon if you didn't want to go to the restaurant.

The animation team at this hotel are good at what they do. They had activities going on throughout the day from yoga, football, water aerobics etc. The guys were always wandering the resort interacting with the guests. The entertainment is a little quiet in the night but this is typical across Sharm and the clientele at this hotel is a little older (dont let this be a negative because were were two young females who had a great time staying here). Big mention to Rico, Nana and Dan who were always there to get people up danicng in the lobby area at an evening time, they also do a trip to a local night club called the Black House. This is an All Inclusive night out where you pay around £23 which is a bus there and back and all your drinks for the evening.

The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and courteous. They wait on you in the lobby and bar area during the evenings. They all work extremely hard and are always smiling too. We made great friends and had banter with everyone which was fun.

We had a massage at the hotel provided by the spa staff. What can I say this was just so fantastic! We paid around £30 each for an hours all over body massage. Well worth it and was a great treat.

They take great pride in keeping the resort immaculate with staff cleaning the pool areas and staff tending the garden areas, weeding and planting flowers.

The hotel during our stay was quiet with about a third of it occupied but this was proberly due to the recent events in the country. I preferred it this way and also there weren't many russians staying here so there wasn't any problems with queue jumping etc.

I would highly recommend this hotel to people of ages, its a fantastic resort with brilliant staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Johannna1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,139 - 3,145 of 4,436 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

Just returned from 1wk stay at Grand Azure, and I can honestly say it beat all our expectations.
I will try and give as much info as I can.
We stayed in the basic garden veiw room, we decided before we got there we was going to upgrade to more luxurious ones, believe me when we saw the room we decided it would be completely daft as room was spacious and very modern.
There are fantastic rooms if you want to upgrade, but really there is no need.

We have been to Sharm before to Narma Bay. Nabq is a taxi journey away but it is a lovely quiet stretch of beach, with soft sand.

Hotel grounds and pool were immaculately clean, and the staff could not do enough for us.
All inc food in the main restaurant was of good quality, but it was the AI food in the 5 extra restaurants that surprised us, food and service in Egyptian, Chinese, Indian and Italian was of excellent standard.

There are about 6-7 pools at the Grand, only 1 of the pools is heated but the pool is enormous with a swim up bar.

My only gripe and believe me it didnt bother us, was the entertainment is quite poor at the hotel. We did have a belly dancer and a whirling Dervish, and the usual man on an organ with singer.
You can obviously go on the excursions to local towns with Young Dan, who is one of the Tompson animation team. He is a good lad who always trys to involve everyone in whats going on.
There are some really friendly staff there, too many to mention but Said in the pool bar is a little star.

On our last day the sea was really calm and snorklers were back in the clear Turquoise waters.
We saw loads of parrott and Trigger fish ,even an Octopus!!

We have travelled all round the world and especially love the Maldives, but this place I can honestly say was an unexpected gem.
We are even looking at some real estate in Nabq as the place was so lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicko1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed in this hotel in the course of September 2010. We heard soms rumours about the food and read some bad reviews on the internet. We questioned our travel agency about it and they had to confirm. Due to the short delay, we although decided to give it a try. An honestly, we didin't regret it all.
Since we arrived till we left, we were treated like VIP gussts. We booked a junior suite an enjoyed the ultra-in, but it really an ultra in. The management and staff are very friendly, profesionnel and they even do'nt accet tips. The food in the speciality restaurants was really awsome, teh sushi-bar, Mmmm, never ate such a good salmon, the Italian..
I always eat of late of salad but never had any intestinal problem, neither in this hotel, nor in other hotels. The problem is rather the temperature of the food and beverages and the fact that , of course, you have to wash your hands.

The rooms were spacious and clean.

The beaches were really great and clean, awsome fish in the water. We even saw eagle-eye ray

Ik cannot deny that the management had some problems in the main restaurant. A bit understaffed and moreover, a lot of Russians who think they don't have to wait in the queue.

My husband and are travelling a lot in Egypt and especially in Sharm the last years and this in definitely one of the best hotels we have visited. It's a pitty that this hotel is at this moment not mentioned in the VIP book of Jetair because of all those people who never travelled to Egypt and are comparing these hotels to those in de Caraibean region, but we are big fans and will return!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Such a relaxing holiday. We did arrive just after the 'troubles' so it was quite quiet-but still had trouble booking a la carte? rooms were spacious and cleaned every day to a good standard. Food was better than average and I would recommend the Indian Restaurant-not very impressed with Egyptian and Italian though. Down side-Entertainment was rubbish and not a lot going on in the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soozieq56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Just come back from our stay in Grand Azure. Almost had the place to ourselves, as there were no Russians or Germans.
Can't fault the service of the place, very clean and room spacious.
Not much in the way of local amenties, although if you go out of the main entrance and turn right and keep walking you will come to a KFC and Mcdonalds, there you will find shops if you want to buy anything to take back home, much better than going to the old town, which is dirty.
Food was not up to a five star hotel, especially breakfast with no fresh juice and really awful cereals!
Lunch and dinner were a little better, you would never go hungry but they were only average! some nights were better than others when they did a barbeque for example.
Great place to go if you just want to relax by the pool and read a book, or you are into snorkling otherwise not much else to do,as you are literally in the middle of a desert.
Our rep Samy was not very good really, he left us in the old souq on one of the trips we went on and we were left waiting for him but he never showed up, had to go back to the hotel with just the coach driver, not very proffesional of him!
All in all we had a relaxing stay which is what we went for, not sure we would go back though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nabqbay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We came here last year and when we arrived seemed quite happy with the general look and appearnace of the hotel.The staff however on the desk were not really saying very much and it was annoying as their Englsh was appauling.....surley a 5 star hotel should have English speaking staff on the reception area!
The food although seemed okay will make you ill and each and everyone of us had the runs from hell,take plenty immodium and buscpan with you.Although the staff seemd okay I found them to be leering at my wife and two daughters which was annoying at times. The Russians seem to have taken this hotel over and all the animation team seem to work their shows around entertainment for them. We were not approached once by any of the team even though they could see we have 4 teenagers in our group.I would not go back to this hotel,we paid £7000 for 6 of us and it was not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ratogras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupQualityManager, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Dear Ratogras

Thank you for taking the time to write your hotel review on Trip Advisor. I was however disappointed to read that your stay in the hotel took place in July of last year as it does not give the hotel the opportunity to act upon your feedback as, we strive to improve our service to all of our guests of every nationality. I can only apologise if communication was found to be difficult with the reception desk staff although, they are all recruited on the bases of having the ability to speak with our customers in several languages, the English language being compulsory as it is the widely used language for all countries. Temperatures in Egypt are at their highest in July, often maintained in excess of 100*F during the day and time spent in this heat does lead to sickness. Our animation team is made up of many nationalities and in order to encourage all of our customers to join in the activities they chose to join in, there are several notice areas throughout the grounds of the hotel however, I have passed along your feedback to the Animation Team Manager.

Thank you once again for your written feedback.

Sue Horner
Group Quality Manager
Premier Hotels
Egypt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I have read the reviews about this hotel and think maybe I was somewhere different or only dreamt that I was at the Royal Grand Azure.
we have been to other hotels in Sharm and enjoyed them all. we are easy pleased and go with an open mind about trying different food and trying to understand the culture of the people who live and work in Sharm.
Food was good. we got booked into the a la carte restaurants without any problems and really enjoyed the food however the service was poor in the egyptian. food in the main buffet was always hot and offered plenty choice.
apparently due to the troubles and lack of guests some of the staff had been sent home maybe this was why we saw the same hard working people from morning till night trying their best to please the people who constantly moan that this is not up to their usual 5* standard. I have been in a 5* hotel in Dubai and did not get the treatment I got here. the workers all spoke and asked if they could help with anything.
we were up graded to a junior suite and the room was spotless and very spacious....so no problems with the shower..
nigh time entertainment was very poor, most of which had been cancelled however this resulted in us meeting some lovely people and making our own.
sometimes the drink order would get forgotten about at night however it just meant we went to the bar ourselves instead of being waited on.....
the hotel was very quiet and no eastern europeans however the towels were out on the sunbeds before 9am.I have never got what this is all about.....you could have had any sunbed at any of the pools at any time of the day and most people pulled them around to face the sun anyway...the pools were freezing, the sea was a better option however they had started to heat the pool when we were leaving.
If this hotel had been fully booked I would have been disappointed as seating was lacking at the pool bar and in the outside entertainment area.
we went for a relaxing week and that's what we got.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindylou64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupQualityManager, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2011

Dear Lindylou

I would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff of the Royal Grand Azure for taking the time to write your review. You are correct, in that many of our staff have returned to their homes due to the reduced number of nationalities who are currently travelling to Egypt. The fact that you enjoyed your holiday and had a relaxing time as planned is all we can wish for. I have however, noted your comments of the service standard in the Egyptian restaurant and brought this to the attention of the food and beverage manager to address.

We would like to thank you, your family and in deed everyone who has made the decision to continue with their planned holidays and visit us in Egypt.

We hope to see you again.

Sue Horner
Group Quality Manager
Premier Hotels
Egypt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,697 reviews
10.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#9 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 33 in Nabq Bay
544 reviews
2.2 mi away
Steigenberger Alcazar
Steigenberger Alcazar
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
262 reviews
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Address: | Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £156 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing