We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what Expected.. (lengthy)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what Expected.. (lengthy)”
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This was my first holiday with my girlfriend - we'd picked this hotel after reading some good reviews on this website prior to going, which i have to say, was a major influence in us picking this resort.

First impressions were great, looks amazing from the outside & continues throughout with a huge, impressive, reception area. On checking in, we were asked to go get some food as the restaurant would be closing soon; we were then told by the staff in the restaurant it was too late & we would have to come back later, so was told to go to our room & get showered. We weren't shown where our room was & had to wait 15 minutes before our luggage was brought to our room once we found it (by this point we were very annoyed & decided to go have a walk around and get a drink at the reception bar to calm down).

The staff at the reception bar were far from friendly, and this didn't change throughout the holiday - ignorant, & they always seemed to slam my drinks down on the counter. Not a great start to our holiday, but we thought it might had been a one off & looked forward to enjoying the next 2 weeks.

Food.
Oh dear.
We found throughout the entire 2 weeks that the service in the food restaurants was an absolute mess. The tables were hardly ever cleaned, the staff seemed very reluctant in cleaning them & spent more time chatting. On one occasion, we saw a waiter walk up to a table with an empty tray, picked up one of the plates that was left ..decided to put it back on the table then walked off .. he only came back to clean it when he realised someone actually wanted to sit there. The tables that were clean didn't have any placemats put back on them with cutlery - we found we had to do this ourself. I had glass kicked at my feet on one day from a smashed glass that hadn't been swept up!
We found ourselves eating out the majority of the time as everytime we went to eat in the resort, we got annoyed & found ourselves just wanting to go home.

We also tried the italian a la carte but were disapointed to learn that there is a seperate all inclusive menu for the free meal. If you want to eat from the main menu, you have to pay. The seafood restaurant wasn't all inclusive either & had to pay.

Aside from this, there were some pluses.

Staff down at the quieter pool were amazing; always helpful & friendly.
Our rep Emma was very helpful & friendly.
The people we met were great too.

Thanks for reading,

Mike & Rach

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael_rach_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAGUNAVISTATEAMEgy, Manager at Laguna Vista Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments, we are sorry to hear you are disappointed with certain aspects of your holiday. We would like to reassure you that all comments are taken in a positive manor to order to help improve service and facilities for the future.
Firstly in regards to the Dua Dua Italian meal, due to the contract with Thomas Cook this meal is a good will gesture therefore is different from the main menu.
Secondly in the main restaurant the staff keep the turn over time to a minimum.
The hotel has housekeepers on call 24 hours a day for any accidents, smashes and general cleaning.
Furthermore we have a minimum of three bell boys working at one time in order to prevent long waiting times for luggage, as throughout the day we have many people checking in and out.
At the start of employment staff are trained in dealing with customers, this training continues throughout employment in order to keep improving our service towards guests.
The Laguna vista team hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    633
    322
    194
    200
See reviews for
776
1,004
92
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is the only place in which I felt that I and my family, we enjoy a real vacation from all aspects of accommodation and eating, entertainment, comfort and hygiene
Decided that this resort would be my intention every year to enjoy my family and I

I would like to thank all and respect for all employees at all levels in this wonderful resort.

I stayed at March 2009

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osama_Abg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAGUNAVISTATEAMEgy, Manager at Laguna Vista Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2010
Dear Guest
We would like to say a big thank you for writing your positive comments. It is great to see you chose our resort to spend your family vacation and that you were satisfied with all aspects of your vacation. We are always pleased when we see our guests happy with everything.
The Laguna Vista Team hope to see you for your next family holiday.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Hotel was very nice, room was great and so was pool areas and beach. Many Italians staying there so all the entertainment was geared up for them. Food was excellent. The only things I did not like was lack of chilled white wine (this was always warm ), lobby and bar area, no air conditioning and what awful piano music played there every night, sounded more like a funeral dirge, that even the barmen where practically going out of their minds. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Yes I would go back if only for the beautiful grounds and settings

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat_snelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAGUNAVISTATEAMEgy, Manager at Laguna Vista Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Dear Guest
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments, it is aIways great to get feedback from our guests. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable holiday with us. In regards to no air conditioning in the lobby this is due to the unique and beautiful open plan design.Our animation team conducts a variety of shows in languages including English, Italian and Russian.
We hope to welcome you again for your next vacation.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gstadt am Chiemsee, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the hotel, staff and facilities were reasonable and made our stay enjoyable.
Within our stay we made alot of friends and found Sharm El-Sheikh friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elly1196969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAGUNAVISTATEAMEgy, Manager at Laguna Vista Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Dear Guest
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments.
It gives us great pleasure in seeing yuo had a wonderful stay with us.
The Laguna Vista Team hope to welcome you back again.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

This was my fifth holiday at Laguna Vista Beach Resort and overall I wasn't disppointed. There were a few changes that I personally don't think were good - being handed a letter telling us that we couldn't use the Which Way Restaurant was annoying. I understand that guests staying in chalets may not want to walk to the main restaurant in the heat, but neither do the guests on the beach at lunchtime. Also, the Which Way bar has gone - which is a shame as we liked spending the evening there when we stayed in a duplex bungalow. The main bar is a trek from some of the bungalows and there isn't enough seating for everyone to relax on the terrace or in the lobby.
Having said that, it was a first visit for my son and his family and they were very impressed. The staff are the best and make the holiday special. They are funny and friendly but never pushy.
Laguna Vista Beach Resort is the chosen destination for a special family holiday next October.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annied08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

stayed for 2 wks of pure relaxation ,location is perfect with the beach a 5 min stroll through beatifull gardens ,you can walk straight into sea or walk the long prom to get you out further quicker snorkling is brill you can go over reef or as we found some coral reefs before it with some beatifull fish there a residant lion fish!!!!!!!!!!!! it was there every day .hotel is beatiful we were in main hotel rooms realy big with 2 big beds we had a lovely view over pools and a sea view ,food we found exellent with different theme every night staff very attentive we spent time by small pool and found after small tip ,on the rest of our hol 2 coffees would be brought to us in the morning not long after we had sat on loungers brill the receptoin area is lovely the piono playing so relaxing we found ourselves sleepy not just us there is entertainment by the beach which is good ,and the location of hotel is exellent as you walk out into shops tgs fridays starbucks[one of our favs] we met some lovely people thre and all the staff are very friendly all in all an exellent holiday can,t wait to go back [now if we could] loed it

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAGUNAVISTATEAMEgy, Manager at Laguna Vista Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2010
Dear Guest
We would like to take this opportunity to say thank you for writing your positive comments.
The Laguna Vista team are pleased you had an excellent stay with us and you were happy with every aspect of your holiday.
We hope to welcome you back for your next vacation.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemyock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Laguna Vista Beach Hotel - we have stayed in this hotel 3 times over the last 5 years and have just arrrived back home this morning. We go on holiday to relax with friends. Many of the guests at this hotel return year after year. The staff are frindly and helpfull (especially Hany and Mustafa in the restaruant and El Sayed at the small pool). The food is excellent with buffet self service; each evening has a different theme, mexicano, Italian, International and English are a few. The liver dishes are fantastic! The hotel is situated on the beach, snorkelling is brilliant - wear something on your feet thoough. All in all we have come back still feeling relaxed and considering we had an overnight flight home that's not bad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandcolin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAGUNAVISTATEAMEgy, Manager at Laguna Vista Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear Guest
We would like to take this opportunity to say a big thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments.
It is great to see you have stayed with us at Laguna Vista on a number of occasions and that you are satisfied with every stay.
The Laguna Vista Team hope to see you for your next vacation.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Garden Resort
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.8 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nubian Island Hotel
Nubian Island Hotel
#46 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Vista Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Vista Beach Resort

Property: Laguna Vista Beach Resort
Address: Laguna Vista, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 12311, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#20 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Laguna Vista Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and LoveHolidays so you can book your Laguna Vista Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Vista Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Laguna Vista Sharm El Sheikh
Laguna Vista Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing