We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“few down sides but good family holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hauza Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hauza Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“few down sides but good family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

stayed at hauza beach last september as a family of six,my husband ,myself and four teenagers. Our first time in Egypt so not sure what to expect. We had two family rooms which consisted of two bedrooms each with two double beds, a huge bathroom and nice balcony. These were cleaned daily and towel sculptures were different every day. Yes the food was a bit repetitive but we always found something different. Drinks were provided in really small cups but we brought bigger ones and they were happy to fill these. Entertainment was not good but this is Egypt not the Costas, we were happy to have a
late dinner and chill by the pool, ready for the next day.
The pools were fine , the beach lovely plenty of sunbeds. Not sure what people expect for their money, they have to realise that 5 star in egypt may not be up to other standards. All in all we had a great holiday , no jippy tummys , no complaints really..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dammon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wecareteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hauza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thanks for your review. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and had no complaints. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again sometime. Best wishes from the Hauza Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    887
    569
    408
    566
See reviews for
925
1,255
58
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed in the Hauza Beach Resort in June 2011 for a fortnight and enjoyed every minute of it. Our room, while basic, was cleaned every day and you could have fresh towels daily if required. The guys who cleaned our room certainly deserved a regular tip as it didn't matter what time you left your room they were on hand to spruce it back up again.

The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming, especially at the Lobby Bar. If you make an effort to talk to them they are a great source of information and good for a bit of banter, especially Maged and Mamood. Having Jacqui on hand, ready to assist if needs be, was an added bonus. Just remember these guys work crazy hours each day so don't be offended if the staff, particularly at the Pool Bar, don't really chat much.

The food could get repetative but the fresh omelettes for breakfast, pasta corner, rice and bread were lovely not to mention the desserts - put it this way, you'll certainly not starve. The local spirits were rough as but the red wine and beer were drinkable. Just remember to pack a large plastic glass to save you carrying a load of drinks all at once.

The area is quite quiet so you have a bit of a walk before you hit numerous shops/pubs and there are a couple of English Bars close by if that's what tickles your fancy. The location suited us just fine as we really needed the r&r but if you're there to party flat to the mat just be prepared to taxi it. You will get everyone asking you into their shop - they are only trying to sell you their goods so if you're not interested a polite no thank you should do the trick - you can't blame them for trying to earn a living. Taxi drivers will also beep at you and stop to ask you if you need a lift - make sure to agree a price before you get in and be prepared for them to ask you for a tip once you reach your destination.

I know there have been a number of poor ratings for the Hauza Beach - if you have an issue with anything, make sure you tell the staff. They're not mind readers so there's no point complaining when you get home if you haven't given the staff a chance to fix your issue while you're there! Just also bear in mind how much you've paid for your holiday and the fact that you're in Egypt. If you want home from home, then stay at home!

Personally, I think you should be prepared to suck up a bit of culture and make the most of it. We did and we would go back in the morning!

Room Tip: If you're not happy with your room - ask to be moved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lullabelle-Prime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wecareteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hauza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Many thanks for your balanced impartial review and kind comments. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we’re sure your factual review will be of help to other readers. We’d be happy to welcome you back anytime and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from the Hauza Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Hi, me and my partner, my parents and 3 other friends were recommended this hotel by teletext when we rang up to book. when we arrived, the hotel was lovely and clean and the staff could not do enough to help.
they took us and our bags to the room, air con and fridge in the room and the bedrooms are huge.
the rooms were very clean and the cleaners could not do enough to help you if you needed it. and if you do have any complaints about the rooms such as the air con not working or the bed broke, the hotel are very quick to make it right.
when we went to the food there seemed to be lots of choice and not cooked too badly but i have had better.however for the rest of the week the food stayed the same every day until complaints were made about lack of choice. people also complained about becoming poorly which most of the guests were, but could not say for sure if this was due to food or other things.
we booked a few trips the quad biking, camel ride and glass bottom boat and also recieved a free trip to soho square. i would not recommend the camels as they are not treated very nice by the egyptians and are hit by big sticks to make them move which i didnt like.
there were four kittens and a cat at the hotel in the beginning of the week, however a few days before our holiday was due to end we came outside our rooms to find 3 egyptians swinging one very young kitten round his head by the kittens leg while it was still alive, shoved it in a plastic bag and stuff it in the bin, there was little kids watching as they did this, my dad and his friend got them to get the cat out of the bag but we were informed that management had informed them to do this, so we went up to complain.
first head of relations tried to fob us of, we then asked to speak to the general manager who came down 20 minutes later. while we told him what was wrong he did not speak to us at all apart from the confirm he could understand english, he stood smiling and laughing while we were very upset. when we argued with him about this he kept checking his mobile phone. we then got told the manager of the whole hotel would be coming tomorrow, we wrote a formal complaint and the next day had a meeting with the manager, eventually it was sorted out and the 3 guys that did it were fired from the hotel, but if you like animals and nice food i would not recommend this hotel

Room Tip: tip at the beginning, not at the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank dawny_gamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wecareteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hauza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for your review. After reading it, it seems that overall you enjoyed our hotel and found our staff helpful. You say that people complained of becoming poorly but you don’t say that you or any of your party were also poorly. Most seasoned travellers know that stomach upsets are not uncommon in Egypt and the causes are manifold, (e.g. sunstroke or dehydration) especially in the middle of summer when it is extremely hot.
The incident with the cats obviously upset you but was dealt with to your satisfaction. However, we think it unfair of you to imply that all Egyptians would act like this. We’re sorry if this spoilt your holiday and wish you happy holidays in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nabq Bay hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Having booked a return visit this year we were so disappointed to find on our arrival that our compnay had pulled out and didnt notify us, we were looking forward to another stay with you but we were transfered to another hotel. Unfortunately our stay in Sharm this time was not good. Hope fully one day we will return to and stay with you again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules260964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wecareteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hauza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for letting us know that you wanted to come back and stay with us. It’s a real shame that it wasn’t possible this time. We’re hoping we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes from the Hauza Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Having just returned from Sharm where I booked to stay 15 nights at the Hauza beach hotel.this my 4th trip to Sharm which I love but my 1st time to stay at the Hauza and the last...
I found the food to be awful and little or no choice....and 2nd day there my 9yr old was very sick which I put down to food here,even the water machine to me didnt look very clean and hence bought bottled water to bring me to meals,which I noticed a lot of other people doing also....The diet coke from a machine was undrinkable,as as for all inclusive,everything seemed to be extras,Ordered a pizza at the poolbar and we had to pay for the chips!!!On day 3 I asked the rep to change hotel as I was at this stage having to go outside to eat as my son who in not a fussy eater wouldnt eat anything in the hotel...The staff were really very nice and couldnt fault any of them,,,,,
Rooms very basic and looked like they could do with a revamp,,,and the bath looked like it could do with a good clean with Cif!!! !st time I go into the shower the showercurtain pole fell down on my head!! Not what you would be expecting from a 5* hotel...
Even the bathroom in the Lobby have no soap in it ,which I find unacceptable....
I would rate this hotel as a low 3* at the most....
The only nice thing was our room was overlooking the sea and Tiran Island....and the jungle pool was very nice for the kids.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EireColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wecareteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hauza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for your review. Most of your points have been addressed in many previous reviews and have been answered in detail e.g. the difference in star systems (and prices!) between Europe and Egypt, our AI concept, reasons for stomach upsets etc. We think you’ll find that most people bring their empty water bottles to meals in order to fill them up from the dispenser. Maybe the soap dispenser in the lobby toilet just ran out. Did you mention this at reception? We’re glad you enjoyed the views and jungles pools and found our staff very nice. We wish you happy holidays in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Food edible very repetitive drinks crap. Water warm beer warm. 1 al a carte restaurant Indian wouldn't of guessed it was Indian. Pool bar not open other restaurants not open and no zoo. The hotel grounds are lovely but the staff need to change there attitude so miserable. Entertainment if you can call it that a 5 year old could do better seriously . Overall ok would not go bk though unless they made changes

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmaoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wecareteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hauza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for your review. Currently, only one of our a la carte restaurants is closed. As mentioned in previous answers to reviews on this site, our zoo has been closed for some years and all tour operators are aware of this. We’re glad you enjoyed our resort and your comments regarding staff attitude and entertainment have been passed on to the departments responsible for follow-up. Best wishes from the Hauza Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We have just this morning returned from 1 week at Hauza. We had read all the reviews before travelling and we decided that we would take it at face value. However, there is definitely truth in each and every one of them. We used to think that all the bad reviews on here were from people who were used to a certain degree of luxury but we don't believe this is the case for Hauza.

Firstly, this is by no means a 5 star resort, even if you go by Egyptian standards.

Upon check in the reception staff and the bell boys were very friendly and helpful - everything went seamlessly. We were taken to our room which was basic but clean and comfortable. The bath could have done with a good scrub with some jif but we didn't mind this too much as we were only putting our feet in the bath!! Other than that we couldn't fault the room at all. We had a lovely view over the pool area and towards Tiran Island (which we couldn't see when we first got to the room as it was late).

We arrived around 11pm on 13/07/11 and went to the pool bar to order some food - we had 2 pizzas and had to pay for these which we thought was a bit strange considering we had paid to come all inclusive. We also had a cocktail each which again we had to pay for.

On our first day we were pleased with the hotel in the daylight - beautiful views and plenty of sun loungers around the pool and beach area. After settling down to a nice relaxing day in the sun, it all went downhill. We were pestered all day on the supposed "quiet beach" by people trying to sell us massage, newspapers (for £5 for a day old paper!!) and various excursions. This wasn't just 1 person from each company but at least 2 from each. The worst offenders from this were the massage centre - we booked the cleopatra massage with them for both of us at a cost of 1000 egyptian pounds. This wasn't enough for the guy - he then said we should both have a massage every day for the next 5 days at a cost of 750 egyptian pounds each. This went on every single day we were here - it gets a bit sickening after a while. Needless to say, we didn't take him up on the extra massages! He actually wanted my husband's shoes and went as far as to try and take them off his feet!! The massage was lovely though.

Food was mediocre - breakfast was okay with the chef making quite nice omelettes or fried eggs. But no-one wants to eat eggs every single day! It was the same every morning! We didn't really eat here for lunch apart from 1 day. Evening meals were lacking of any taste and as another review stated, it was food that was cooked and reheated. We took to going in to see what the food was every night before deciding where we were going to eat. Most nights we ate out!

The drink throughout the hotel is as most reviews say served in a plastic cup that you would usually have for a childs party. The local spirits, beer and wine is not at all what you would be used to in the UK - you do get used to it if you stick at it though! I can understand the need for no glass around the pool and even the beach but can't understand why you need a plastic glass in the lobby bar.

Most of the staff here are really friendly and we had some good laughs with quite a few of them, especially the 2 Mahmoud's at the lobby bar. Nani, the young lad who sells quad biking, horse riding, etc was a really lovely guy. He spoke each and every time we went passed him.

My husband had a wet shave at Zizo's which he said was really nice. However they started to "thread" around his eyebrows (which he hadn't asked for) and then wanted a further 100 egyptian pounds for this!!

On departure, we were told that check out was at 12 noon. We had a knock on the door at 11.30am by the bell boy wanting to take our bags. We told him we had until 12 and he said he would wait outside the door, which he did along with the cleaner (who had no cleaning products with him!). We availed of the shower room before we left the hotel as we weren't being picked up until 6.20pm. There were no fresh towels in the room, apart from the ones that had been used by the previous occupants, along with used "lady products" which were lying in the bathroom! The guest relations lady, who had seemed to ignore us all week in favour of the russian guests, decided that she would like to find out how our holiday went (bit late in my opinion). She seemed to be under the illusion that by writing us a postcard as a "memory" would make the slightest bit of difference.

To sum it up - the hotel itself is quite nice, rooms are clean and comfortable (apart from the bath), most of the staff are very friendly and funny, food is mediocre and the same most nights, drink takes some getting used to and there's no chance of a relaxing lie by the pool or beach as you're constantly hassled (even when you're pretending to be asleep!!).

The hotel is definitely not 5 star by anyone's standards and is definitely not all inclusive. Take plenty of money with you as you'll be sucked dry without even reaching the markets!!

Quad biking was really good, as was the horse riding - we booked both of these through Nani (El Sherif). Fantasia night was okay - not really worth the trek out there in my opinion. Three Crowns does the best steak I have ever had anywhere, Union Jack Bar was lovely aswell.

All in all I don't think we will be planning a holiday back to Egypt anytime soon and would not return to the Hauza if it was paid for us. We have been to quite a few places, some bog standard and some 5 star so we're not the posh, hard to please people that I know I sometimes associate with bad reviews. Each to their own though - we just won't be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loopie-lou85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wecareteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hauza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for your review. First of all, your comments regarding your room, our staff and location are appreciated. Our AI concept is comprehensive and visitors to this site who read previous answers are aware of this. Apart from meals in the main restaurant and pizza at the beach bar, late breakfast, toasted sandwiches, late lunch and late supper are served at the pool bar and are included in our AI. Like most hotels here we offer add-ons to give our guests a wider choice. Apart from eggs at breakfast we also offer cereals, cheese and cold cuts, salads, yoghurt, jam & honey, bread, rolls and pastries fresh from our bakery, sausages, beans, pancakes etc. We apologise if you had any issues with the sales staff and had you had a word with reception / guest relations, the matter could have been easily sorted. Although you enjoyed some aspects of your holiday, we are sorry if other aspects did not meet your expectations. Best wishes from the Hauza Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nabq Bay hotels
1.9 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Palmyra Resort
Palmyra Resort
#25 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Gardens
Sea Gardens
#14 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tamra Beach
Tamra Beach
#5 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rehana Sharm Resort
Rehana Sharm Resort
#16 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Life Resort
Sea Life Resort
#6 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hauza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hauza Beach Resort

Property: Hauza Beach Resort
Address: 43 Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hauza Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine a holiday spent on Golden beach of Sharm El Shiekh and an evening under the desert stars, BOOK NOW And Feel Our Different Experience! A private, golden sandy beach fringes the all-inclusive Hauza Beach Hotel. Gently swaying palms and the sounds of the waves ebbing at the shore create a delightful ambiance. The location in Nabq Bay overlooking Tiran Island makes this hotel the perfect option for seeing the very best of Sharm El Sheikh. Holiday in style as you make use of resort facilities such as a sea water lagoon, stunning pools, open-air Jacuzzi and safari excursions, sports, dancing, shopping and much more. This is the ideal option for couples and families ensuring the kids have fun in the playground and with activities too. This award winning resort ensures a good time is had by all matched with incredible hospitality, impeccable service and excellent facilities. From morning until night, the choices you encounter make for a thoroughly enjoyable break in this popular Sharm El Sheikh location. The authentic Bedouin atmosphere of the Hauza Beach Resort transports you into the Egyptian charm wherever you are in the resort. A combination of room choices from twin options to queen suites offer superb views and many modern amenities are available to suit each guest’s needs. Plentiful facilities within the resort accommodate sports, shopping, and entertainment, in addition to excellent dining options, and theme nights. Comprehensive resort services are also widely available allowing you to completely relax and enjoy your well-earned break. We would love to see you at Hauza Beach Hotel & Resort and look forward to making you feel at home. Be sure to check out our excellent All-Inclusive plus concept! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Hauza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauza Beach Hotel Nabq Bay
Hotel Hauza Beach
Hauza Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing