We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel Will Definately Be Returning Honest Review Dont Listen to Bad Reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel Will Definately Be Returning Honest Review Dont Listen to Bad Reviews”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We have just returned from what should have been a 2 week holiday at the royal albatros but we loved it that much we cancelled our flights and booked for an extra 8 days. The hotel is absolutely spotless me and my husband have an 8 month old baby and i was concerned about taking him to Egypt as i have heard alot of bad reports about stomach bugs and it being dirty absolutely not the case at this hotel i was happy for him to crawl around and our cleaner made sure the floors in our room where cleaned to the highest of standards room 1853 rooms are fantastic well decorated - the hotel grounds and pools are very well maintained it is a massive hotel with 5 restaurants and there is so much choice with the food and i am a really picky eater and was really worried about the food as again family members that have been to egypt have told me the food isn't that good again completely not the case in this hotel the food is fantastic even people we spoke to that have been to egypt before said this hotel was by far the best food even breakfast loads of choice there's all different cereals theres fried eggs, omlettes, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, different pastries, sausages, pancakes then lunch theres a choice of eastern food, mediterranean, italian and the beech bar to eat at and there is also a thai a la carte restaurant the white elephant which you pay for but is well worth the money it is really nice and roshdy the waiter is so helpful..Also there are 5 swimming pools so if you have children there is a baby pool with little slides but there is also a water park on the othereside of the hotel for older kids which is good as it is out the way so not to desturb anyone there is also a relaxation pool which is really quiet, a big pool and a heated pool there are loads of sunbeds so you will always get one took me over a week to get my bearings of the hotel as its so big.. Me and my husband (Mr & Mrs Brondel) & baby Jayjay would like to thank all the staff for a fantastic holiday could not have asked for more and we will be booking to go back in a few weeks we enjoyed it that much!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeldust12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
Dear angeldust12,

Warm greetings from Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and thank you for submitting a review here as it is always essential for us to know the opinion of our valued guests.

We were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for choosing Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises and Royal Albatros Moderna for your holiday.

We're looking forward to welcome you again to our beautiful and sunny resort on your next trip to Sharm El Sheikh.

Sincerely yours,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,972
    1,701
    651
    231
    156
See reviews for
2,544
2,441
101
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Was booked into another hotel so was disappointed to be moved her, I should't have worried it was wonderful, our room had been recently upgraded and was lovely and had a see view.
All the staff were curtious and friendly. there are many resteraunts and you can go round any of them with your plate, this is advisable as you will then get a nice variety.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcolmoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear arcolmoir,

Thank you for choosing the Royal Albatros Moderna. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will put your feedback to good use.

We hope you will return soon and we remain at your service.

With my best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2011

First trip to Egypt and we weren't disappointed. We read the reviews of this hotel but decided to go 'openminded' after all the price of this holiday was very reasonable. Granted their perception of 5 star is very different to ours but still a lovely hotel. Our room was in part of the new complex and we couldn't fault it at all. Our cleaner was very friendly and the room was cleaned once a day - towels and bedding could be changed daily too. A nice touch was the free bottled water you got on a daily basis.The restaurants had plenty of choice and you could move from one to another sometimes having three countries on one plate! Favourites were the pasta, pizza and omelets which were cooked in front of you - the fresh pancakes were delicious - never got bored and we were there for 10 nights - venturing out once to the three crowns down the road which had a great fillet steak for less than a tenner! We agree with the comments re the drink and next time we will be taking our own bottle of vodka - all the spirits tasted the same but you would probably find a cocktail you will like. The pools were cold but refreshing in 30 degree heat!! Sea was lovely with a nice walk along the pier to the main snorkelling area. All staff friendly and good at remembering faces. My partner has become a coffee addict after 'Assam' looked after us so well at the indoor coffee bar. Down side is the entertainment team - but guess you have to remember these are not professionals - you do get hassled round the pool from spa staff but they get to know you and pretty much leave you alone after the initial sales pitch. We would definately return again -

Room Tip: You get what you pay for - hotel based holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank august101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear august101,

Thank you for choosing the Royal Albatros Moderna for your recent holiday. Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests.
We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have succeeded to make your holiday a memorable one.

Thank you again and hope to see you on your next trip to Sharm El Sheikh.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores.

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This is a beautiful hotel set in magnificent gardens. Amazing pools and my 8 year old son loved the Aqua park. I particularly liked the restaurant layout as you could wander the various restaurants to pick a variety of food depending on the mood. The BBQ Kofte kebabs and the tandoori bread were particular favourites. The pools are cold, but in 30 degree heat, this is perfect for a refreshing dip. It was slightly odd that most of the active pool was only as deep as your knees. The only two issues with this hotel were that the animation team and entertainment was dreadful and they need more tables at the terrace bar as it was a mad scramble for a relaxing seat after dinner. I thoroughly recommend taking a few walks down the jetty as you will see some wonderful fish in very shallow water. Overall, a wonderfully relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the spirits, they are fire water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiepaul34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear Geordiepaul34,

Warm greetings from Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and thank you for submitting a review here as it is always essential for us to know the opinion of our valued guests.

We were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for choosing Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises and Royal Albatros Moderna for your holiday.

We're looking forward to welcome you again to our beautiful and sunny resort on your next trip to Sharm El Sheikh.

Sincerely yours,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

have just returned from a weeks all inc. holiday at he royal albatross moderna and must say this was the worst hotel we have stayed at in egypt. although the rooms were spacious evrything seemed very tired and you couldnt swing a cat in the bathroom,which to be honest needed a good scrub.the food in the many restaraunts was very samey and usually lukewarm and you only saw fresh fuit at breakfast and that was in the shape of fruit salad.if you wanted acold drink to go with your meal you had to go to the bar outside for a drink in a paper cup.entertainment was non existant and all of the staff were really really miserable which we've never ever come across in all the years we've been coming to egypt. over all a really disappointing holiday

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear sunshine190728,

Thank you for choosing the Royal Albatros Moderna and for posting your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and it is very unfortunate that you did not bring your concerns to our attention while you were in house as we would have happily taken time to clarify some facts for you.

As it is quiet clear that your review is full of untruthful and incorrect assumptions, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday, we really are, but your review is very far from an accurate representation of the hotel as to warrant no point by point response.

With my best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Had a fantastic time at this hotel the room was lovely and the childrens pool great my little boy cried when we had to come home, we have already booked to go back will see you all again at the end of may with a lot more of our family thanks again for a lovely time

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear angieboo1,

Thank you for your loyalty to Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh.

Our hotel team is looking so much forward to welcome you back assuring you another unforgettable stay at our resort.

Sincerely yours,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

My girlfriend and I have recently got back from this hotel after a week long stay.
Very mixed feelings about the hotel.

Good points:
-Room was lovely and well equipped. View was poor but we only paid for a promo room so didn't expect too much.
-Hotel grounds are very nice, lovely gardens. But is very large and spaced out.
-Good water parks with slides etc.
-Reception are very welcoming and helpful
-All staff seemed happy etc.
-Good quality jetty out to the reef, which is quite a long walk!!
-Quick check in and bag arrival to room.

Bad Points:
-FOOD! Food was very poor. There are a lot of restaurants with a lot of didfferent food, but it's all poor quality. They seem to be focusing on producing a load of food with out focusing on quality. I'm not picky with food, but I struggled to find food to eat. My partner is wheat intolerant and was looking forward to having some fresh fruit for breakfast and yoghurt etc, but there was no real fruit and the yoghurt was pretty grim.
We both became ill after about 2-3 days.
We ended up eating crisps and chocolate from the shop along with Na'ma bay on the last two days (Hardrock cafe was really good food). I ended up sticking to bread and pizza in the hotel.
-Swimming pools are really nice to look at, very clean, but are FREEZING cold!! The only way in, is to jump in and suffer the cold for 30 secs till you're used to it!
-Entertainment was a bit bland. Although we didn't really get involoved after watching the Queen show (half hearted dancing and miming to music) on the first night so we can't really comment. Seemed like they were trying to step up the daytime entertainment as we were leaving with new staff etc.

Look out for locals outside of the resort, anything they offer you will cost money. Especially in Na'ma bay, they will attempt to get you into their shop by harrassing you etc. Best to ignore them or say you're not English ;-)

The hotel itself is very nice apart from those bad points, it has real potential if a few changes can be made. We may have had high expectations after reading the great reviews maybe. This was my 3rd time to Egypt, all " 5* " but I wouldn't say this was an Egypt 5* unfortuantaley.
All in all we were a little disappointed and were expecting more.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farnhamknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear farnhamknights,

Many thanks for your detailed review and for spending time to submit it. We highly appreciate your opinion and I would like to take my time and clarify some facts here as well.

As for the hotel food, we have 10 restaurants in the hotel.

So, you can choose one of our 7 “all inclusive” and 3 “a la carte” restaurants:

1) Mediterranean Restaurant - Mediterranean cuisine - open buffet;
2) L'asiatique - Asian cuisine - open buffet;
3) Zum Kaiser - German cuisine - open buffet;
4) Il Caminetto - Italian Kitchen - open buffet;
5) Mexican Restaurant (opening soon);
6) Tagine Restaurant - Oriental (Egyptian) Kitchen - open buffet;
7) Beach Pizzeria - open buffet;
8) Thai Restaurant - "a la carte";
9) Sushi bar - "a la carte";
10) Fish Market - "a la carte"

We also have an "a la carte" restaurant with Thai Cuisine and a sushi bar "White Elephant", where our chefs will cook for you a nice tasty exclusive meal which you can choose and order from the menu.

All the above mentioned restaurants are working under the base of 24 hours nonstop food and all our guests get the timing of the food and all inclusive system upon their check in.

That being said, we feel we must stress that any illnesses connected with food you experienced would not have been a result of anything you ate in our hotel. We feel confident of this because our hotel complies with HAACP standards of food hygiene and is audited monthly by a UK based health and safety company. We consistently score over 90% (using UK standards) and a score over 80% is considered excellent. To put it simply, the rice, meat, salads and everything else we serve are perfectly safe for consumption and we spare no effort or expense to insure that they will always be that way.

Regarding your comments about the pools, please, kindly be informed that we have 7 swimming pools in the hotel - all of them are of different size, temperature and purposes, so you can choose any swimming pool you like according to your own tastes and wishes.

However, once again, thank you for your review, for letting us know your opinion and I have taken notes of your kind comments and will pass it on to all departments concerned as your comments are of great importance to us.

I hope you would give us a chance to regain your confidence in the resort and allow us to welcome you back int he nearest future assuring you a nice memorable stay.

With my best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,344 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Sharm
Aqua Blu Sharm
#44 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Property: Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing