We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You AGAIN!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Just returned from our latest holiday at RAM. Big thanks to all the staff for making us VIP's once again. An absolute pleasure to stay with. Food was lovely, staff were excellent and attentive. The only disappointments were that Eddie Murphy wasn't there and I was a bit surprised to see the big fat food and beverage manager still shouting at staff in public. Other than that a wonderful holiday and we are booking our next visit as we speak! If you have any questions about the hotel please feel free to email me. Derek12hobbs@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHobbs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear shaftedproperly,

Sunny greetings from Egypt and from Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh!

First of all, please, let me thank you for submitting a review here and for choosing again Pickalbatros Hotels & NIle Cruises and Royal Albatros Moderna for your holiday. It was our greatest pleasure to host you and we'll be looking very much forward to welcoming you again to our nice resort.

We're also very delighted to know that it was not your first visit and that it became a nice tradition for you to visit our resort. We feel confident in stating that Royal Albatros Moderna is your second home and we will remain thinking this way as our repeater guests are a part of our big family.

Once again, thank you and we remain at your service.

Truly yours,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Secretary: executive_secretary@royalalbatros.com.eg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,511 - 4,517 of 6,767 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

Just returned from a 2 week stay, we have visited the RAM on numerous occasions and have never been dissapointed. This time we travelled with my daughter, son in law and 2 grand-children aged 3 and 5. The Aqua Park was great for the children very relaxed and the staff were very good with the children,a special mention to Sammi and Ishmail who made us all feel so special.
As usual the food was very good and varied,so much choice, I particularly enjoyed the Tagine and Beef Kofters, but all the restaurants serve freshly cooked food that is of a really good standard, there is always something for everyone.

The Irish Bar has opened since our last visit in December and as usual the Hotel have put a lot of thought into the improvements it was great to go there for a 'Night out'! Special mention to Sharky for his Mohitos they were very moorish!!!
Another addition this time was the Columbian Coffee Bar, very relaxed with great coffee.
All the staff are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble they make all guests feel important.but i must give a special mention to Tamer in the Italian Restaurant, Lotfy at the Relaxation Pool (what a character! and Gary in the Lobby Bar, the children are still missing them.
We used the Spa on this visit and the Cleopatra Treatment was amazing and great value for money.
Finally I must give a mention to Alise (Guest Relation Manager) and thank her for the care and attention she gave to us all throughout our holiday, she is one of the reasons we keep going back and a credit to the hotel.
We now look foward to returning in November for another 2 weeks R & R !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear paulandicki,

Sunny greetings from Egypt and from Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh!

First of all, please, let me thank you for submitting a review here and for choosing again Pickalbatros Hotels & NIle Cruises and Royal Albatros Moderna for your holiday. It was our greatest pleasure to host you and we'll be looking very much forward to welcoming you again to our nice resort.

We're also very delighted to know that it was not your first visit and that it became a nice tradition for you to visit our resort. We feel confident in stating that Royal Albatros Moderna is your second home and we will remain thinking this way as our repeater guests are a part of our big family.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you in November!

Sincerely yours,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Secretary: executive_secretary@royalalbatros.com.eg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

My Fiance and i booked a last minute getaway to Egypt end March/beggining of April this year and had the best holiday that either of us have had in a long while. It was my 3rd time in Egypt and by far this hotel was the best. The staff were excellent in making sure we had everything we needed from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Some of the staff even came to see us off when we left, the most polite and enthusiastic hotel staff you could ask for who couldnt do enough for you. The hotel was immaculate as were the pools and the beach. We never struggled for a sunbed either by the pool or on the beach and sometimes did not get there til late morning. The rooms were cleaned daily and the fridge replenished with cold drinks each day. The restaurants had great choice and we didnt even manage to eat in all of them in a week! Service in the restaurant was excellent with tables cleared immediately and relaid for new guests and plenty of staff on hand if you needed anything. The entertainment team were visible but not in your face so you werent badgered to join in things if you didnt want to but likewise those that were a bit shy were encouraged to join in. The hotel has a lovely atmostphere and yes, as some reviews have suggested, there are visitors From all nationalities including Russia, some with more manners than others and it was dissappointing to see some visitors being impolite to hotel staff but luckily they are by far in the minority and the staff are too polite and well mannered to let it bother them. We were approached unintrusively on our first day to have some spa treatments which we decided to try and it was absolutely worth it. We spent over 2 hrs in the spa having the Cleopatra treatment and it was well worth the money. We are looking for another late getaway and i've spent the last 2 days looking at hotels (and reading reviews hence my belated review) and whilst its always great to try somewhere new, we are seriously considering returning to this hotel because we had such a great time. This hotel definitely deserves its star rating even by British standards. In fact the only thing that i would have changed about the holiday was the view from my room in that it was ground floor and looked onto the back of other rooms so there wasnt much of a view but that was more reflective of the price i paid, it was still a bargain. Excellent hotel with brilliant staff, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BredomBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear BredomBedfordshire,

Greetings from Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh!

On behalf of the entire team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises and Royal Albatros Moderna for your holiday. It was our pleasure to host you and we will be looking very much forward to welcome you again in the nearest future.

I would like to thank you as well for taking your time to submit a review here as it is of a great importance for us.

We remain at your service and please, kindly accept our warmest regards from sunny Egypt!

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Secretary: executive_secretary@royalalbatros.com.eg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just got home from an 18 night stay, with 2 children aged 14 and 9. Check in at reception was quick and easy. Was given room 1818 which was near heated pool, but overlo ked building site mostly with view of aqua park. It was a lovely modern room only faults was in one of the 2 bedrooms the aircon wasnt working, (fixed within 30 minutes of reporting fault) and the view. we had paid for a pool view so that we wouldnt be looking at building site. After we complained at reception we got moved to room 320 which overlooked activity pool. This room had similar layout except had 2 bathrooms. This room was older and had a few small faults such as odd lose floor tile and ac in one room again didnt work (fixed next day). But we were pleased as our kids prefered pools at this end of hotel and we enjoyed sitting on balcony once they had gone to bed.

The hotel is at the far end of Nabq and is a long way from Namma Bay and Soho square and the rest of Sharm. There was a free but to Namma bay once a day at 2pm returning at 6pm. Numbers are limited and you have to book day before. Soho square was lovely and is only £6 each way in a taxior £14 return in a hotel taxi.

Aqua Park was great, hard work carrying rings to top of slide, especialy if windy. Would recomend that hotel put more sunshades in, but sunbeds very comfy. Russians are very rude not sharing rings and mats, even to the point of hiding mats under therer sunbeds. Lifeguards should stop this.

Heated Pool, lovely quiet pool, but didnt find it any warmer than any other pool. P{lenty of shade. No bar.

Relaxation Pool. Lovely large pool, didnt feel cold, plenty of shade, nice bar, plenty of shade , with no problem getting a sunbed, although if you wanted to get a bed in the area you wanted people put towels out about 8am

Activity pool. Very large pool with a bar at each end. Didnt feel cold, plenty of shade plenty of sunbeds. Same as relaxation pool, people put towes out early to reserve sunbeds in area they wanted. activitys in this pool 6 days a week with water polo, vollyball, water arobics dancing etc. We spent most of our time round this pool. The animation team were good at this without pushing you into anything. There was also the kids club which our 9 yr old loved although i didnt really like as seemed poorly run .

Childrens pool. Full of small slides and play equiptment. Aimed at kids between 1 and 8, plenty of shade and sunbeds.

Beach. This was a sort of sharp sand, we didnt spend much time here. We found Beach Bar a bit run down, only visiting for entertainment in evening and ice cream. there was plenty of shade and sunbeds along with crazy colf which u had to pay for and tennis court and football and beach volyball courts. There was also a childrens play area.

Pier. Loved pier. About 800m long. Half way up you can go down into sea about waste deep and lots of fish to see, including eils and jellyfish (which dont sting). Very safe if you ware shoes and dont touch fish and coral as many sting) At the end of the peir you can swim in deeper water. It was anouther would with fish of every colour and size. There is a lifeguard on duty all day and he makes sure you keep to rules of not touching or feeding anything. he also helps u in and out if windy. we loved going down peir late afternoon, snorkling and then watching sunset over mountains. The biggest thing we saw was an eil about 3m long and bigger round than me. but you could see lion fish , wrays, parrot fish , we loved the napoleon fish. (didnt see any sharks and felt very safe.) You could try scuba diving off reef for about £20 British.

Bars. Beer was ok and if you tipped (£1 a day) they would bring them to your table of sunlounger in a bigger glass. As for spirits, im not that fussy, but they tasted nothing like real vodka Rum etc and hence cocktails also not brilliant. Some bars needed a bit of tidying up. we liked the Irish bar which was nice and cool, but only opened at 9pm. Coffee bar was fantastic too, wife and kids enjoyed coffee and hot and iced chocolate drinks.

Dining halls are split into 5 areas with different stiles of food, which you could walk between and pick a bit from each. Lots of tables with plenty of room, food did get a bit repetative, but was mostly good. I enjoyed breakfast, diner was good and evening meal i enjoyed least. but im a fussy eater and a vegetarian and i never went hungry. i especialy liked the freshly cooked eggs and omelets. The freshly baked croissants. The freshly cooked pizzas and garlic bread. Again we had trouble with russians who didnt jump to the front of Queue and would take whol;e plates of things just to leave them. I did here a lot of complaints about food, but i dont know what they wanted / expected. We didnt enjoy food at beach bar except ice cream. You could also pay to use white elephant Thia and Sushi Restraunt. Where you could also buy branded drinks. cant comment on this as we never ate or drank here, but did look very nice. Also loved donut and pancake bar. Nothing to eat after 9pm

Evening entertainment. Shows start at beach bar at 8.30 with teeny disco aimed at very young kids up to about 7. followed by a show. the animation team tried there best. There was live music on terrace and later in Irish bar some evenings and disco was good in Irish bar one evening a week was good but started too late for my children.

Didnt like. Very pushy reps round pools especially round activity pool trying to sell trips and spa treatments and beauty treatments etc. They only way to stop them is to be rude to them. We did do 2 trips . Star Gazing and camel riding. and scuba diving at Tiran Island.

There was 4 shops on site but although not expensive by our standards, its alot cheaper outside the hotel.

Its not a 5* hotel, but its not a 5 * price. The food is very good but not restraunt quality. Drinks could be better , but beer and wine ok. You get better service if you tip, but if you dont still very good. Kids loved every minute, although would have enjoyed more disco music eaqrlier in evening. A few rough edges that could be improved and updated and would recommend hotel. Wouldnt go back but only because its a big would and try to go somewhere different every year.

Special thanks to Nasar who worked hard from breakfast time to late at night in the Irish Bar, Also the lovely man at the coffee bar (Sorry cant remember his name) and the bar staff round the activity pool;

Room Tip: get a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0intadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear j0intadventure,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and for taking the time to write to us your comments as we greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is a pleasure to see that you were happy and satisfied with the service you received during your stay with us. I have taken notes of your kind comments and will pass it on to all departments concerned as your comments are of great importance to us.

Once again, I would like to thank you for the time spent to write to us .

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Sharm El Sheikh, Royal Albatros Moderna in the nearest future.

With my best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Secretary: executive_secretary@royalalbatros.com.eg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

It is obvious that the hotel has dropped its rates to attract customers from Europe while the recession and Egypt's troubles are around. This is because the staff and hotel are geared to people who dress for dinner and look/book for a five star experience. However what they have attracted are primarily Russian/Balkan & English tourists who wear swimming trunks for the evening dinner and seem to delight in how much they can pile on one plate. Social etiquette is thrown out of the window, with elbows being the order of the day for the buffets. The all inclusive alcohol drinks seem to be the highlight of holiday for some.
But that said the hotel handles the situation with quiet diplomacy and you can have a very good holiday without too many problems. By 8pm most families have retired and the place quietens down. The reception staff are extremely efficient and a wealth of knowledge. WiFi is 50Euro for the week or 10euro for the day.
The beach is the quietest place to sunbathe and has showers, toilets and a cafe on site,always spaces available.
If you are after adventurous snorkeling, it is about a half mile walk along the private hotel jetty to the reef itself, if not you can timidly snorkel from the beach..Scuba Diving is inexpensive and best with a PADI 5 star outfit like "Aquarius", who are well known professionals in the area. A good hotel alround that is worth visiting..

Room Tip: Be polite to the check in staff, you will shine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pedros143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear Pedros143,

Thank you for choosing the Royal Albatros Moderna for your recent holiday. Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have succeeded to make your holiday a memorable one.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you to our resort on your next trip to Sharm El Sheikh.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores.

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Secretary: executive_secretary@royalalbatros.com.eg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We booked 2 weeks before travelling which worried me a bit because I normally like to book way in advance, but turned out not to be an issue in the slightest. Like stated in previous reviews this hotel is not a 5* by UK standards but more like a high 3* low 4*. But don't be put off by this.

Arriving at the hotel we checked in and were shown to our room which was swiftly followed by the porter with our bags. Tip the porter at this point guys...around 20 - 40 Egyptian Pounds (£2 - £4 Sterling), I wasn't familiar with Egyptian currency, had just arrived and was still a little tired so stupidly ended up giving our porter 4 Egyptian Pounds (40p Sterling) which I feel seriously embarrassed about now! Anyway the room was amazing, totally spotless, rather large and to top it off we had a view of the 'Relaxation Pool'. Air conditioning is all included at this hotel which is a bonus as it was pretty warm at night.

Moving on now, food is amazing (this is a word you will see a lot in this review) lots of choice and your options change from day to day (no idea why some people complain about their not being enough variety?). Their are multiple restaurants ranging from Asian to German so there is definitely something for everyone. I would recommend you visit the 'White Elephant' at least once, this is the only restaurant that is not all inclusive but the food is fresh and absolutely gorgeous! It happened to be my other half's birthday while we were there and to our surprise they left a letter in the room wishing him Happy Birthday and also supplied a gift voucher for a Birthday Cake which was yummy!

Drinks are alright, I mainly stuck to lemonade and beer. My other half tried multiple cocktails which were pretty strong and, in my opinion not very nice. My main piece of advice though would be avoid ice in your drinks to be on the safe side.

Anyway to sum it all up....hotel was amazing and will definitely be booking again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karenz2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear Karenz2202,

Warm greetings from Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and thank you for submitting a review here as it is always essential for us to know the opinion of our valued guests.

We were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for choosing Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises and Royal Albatros Moderna for your holiday.

As for the point with ice, that you have mentioned in you review, I would like to assure you and other users of this website that we make ice from the filtered water. Furthermore, this water responds to all the safety&hygiene standards and regulations, and the hotel successfully passes all the safety&hygiene checks since it was opened till nowadays as the safety of our guests is of a great importance to us.

Once again, thank you and we're looking forward to welcome you again to our beautiful and sunny resort on your next trip to Sharm El Sheikh.

Best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Secretary: executive_secretary@royalalbatros.com.eg

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Secretary: executive_secretary@royalalbatros.com.eg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I love to travel and experience new cultures and the Hotel Royal Albatros Moderna definitely did not disappoint. We travelled with my Mum and step dad who are early 60's me and my husband and our 2 children 14 + 12.

Can I start by saying if you are a whinging Brit who wants to eat fish and chips and burgers go to Southend and give us all a break.

The staff at the hotel are superb from the people who clean your room and work on reception to the chefs who cook the individual dishes and the bar waiters are all lovely and can not do enough for you and they are so friendly. I work for a travel agents and really researched the hotels in Sharm so that i really got what we all wanted. I am glad i did as it paid off and would recommend that you do the same. Please remember 5* Egypt is not 5* here but this hotel is very good and definitely a 4* here. With a bit of work it would make 5*

Food: The food is of a very good standard. The breakfasts have everything from fresh fruit and yoghurt in every restaurant. to fresh cooked croissants in the Italian to the wonderful omelettes and eggs cooked fresh by the chef when you order. The Falaffel man is brilliant and not only are they lovely but he is always happy to see you. There is also cereals and oats at breakfast. the best coffee is from the man outside the Irish Bar. He is a lovely little chap and makes fantastic coffee. Lunch will have something different cooking in each restaurant. I have to say the Mediterranean and Italian have very similar dishes. They cook different things at lunch from fresh crabs to egg plant fritters. There are always dishes to try and go with either salad or the warm vegetables. Dinners again there is a good selection of steak or chick or fresh fish and a roast is carved every evening and is different each night. There is a pancake bar that opens in the afternoon and evening with some of the lightest loveliest doughnuts i have ever tasted. There is also a Tagine that cooks Kebabs fresh each night and alternates between Chicken and Beef. They are very light and tasty and also do a Beef Kofte which was nice. The Asian restaurant is nice. There always seems to be a potato dish similar to Bobmay Potatoes with noodles rice and other dishes. They cook fresh Naan bread which are lovely along with the dishes of the day. The bars for meal time are in the Italian and the main outdoor bar between the Mediterranean and the Asian. I would suggest you find a bar waiter you like and tip him to bring your drinks to you he will then check with you all night if you need anything and he will look after you each day then.

Each pool is spotless and the filters are changed all the time. The relax pool is quiet and nice but there is no breeze around there. The water park is well kept but there can be a shortage of mats at times so you just have to hang around till 1 comes free. To be fair it was never very long. Each pool and the beach have a bar and toilets. The beach bar also has food 12.30 - 3.00 usually pizza coleslaw salad chips and other nibbles. The beach is lovely but i would recommend you take beach shoes. It is a must to snorkel off the jetty some of the fish are amazing. If you go just as the tide is going out there seems to be many more for you to see. We saw a whole school of Angel Fish and some amazing coloured and shaped fishes i have never seen before. Every night the staff pull in the sun loungers and level off the sand which did make me laugh. The grounds are beautifully kept and they are always maintaining them. Every night around 5pm a man goes around with a blower that is some sort of insecticide. I saw people with terrible bites on their legs and my Step Dad did get some but they have gone now. At the airport there were others with the same bites so it is an area thing not a hotel thing. The terrace bar is a lovely place to sit in an evening outside and again the waiters look after you if you are nice to them.

Some people are so rude to the staff i am surprised they ever get served and i think this is why the staff tend to be more friendly to the English and German clients. You will have people at the activity pool and on the beach that try to sell you excursions and treatments etc. I would say use the hotel Spa the staff are very good my husband has a back condition so i booked him a massage for £30.00 for 50 minutes and they really sorted him out they do lots of other treatments as well and again it is lovely and clean.

I have to say that they do not like topless sunbathing and there are signs up saying that it is forbidden. I went to the end of the beach where it was quiet and although a couple of staff passed by nothing was ever said. There was 1 girl around the pool 1 morning but she must have been spoken to as she always wore a top after that point. You do not need to take beach towels as they are provided and cleaned as often as you want to hand them in and they are lovely big fluffy ones.

All rooms are near 1 pool or another the activity pool is busy and noisy during the day but quiet at night. The relax pool is always quiet and the beach is quiet during the day but noisy at night so depending what bothers you i would suggest if you have a requirement email the hotel they are very helpful. We had a family room and Mum had a Double so i email to ask for rooms close by if possible. We had the family room down stairs and they were directly above us.

The hotel is around 10 years old i think and some of the features are getting due for an update. All of the linen in the rooms and the curtains are very new looking but some of the tiling is getting to look a bit tired. The rooms are lovely and spacious and cleaned every day. The fridge in your room is filled with 1 bottle of water a day for each person. These can also be refilled at the various water machines at the bars. If you like Vodka Gin etc. you will NOT like theirs. I drink anything but this stuff is vile. Go to the Duty free section in the airport and get yours before you go. The wine and beer are fine.

We would definitely go back and stay here but not at the end of May beginning of June is was blistering hot for the children i would probably go March or April. If you go with Med Hotels/Hotels4U you will have Abbas as your rep. He is lovely and i would suggest you
definitely go to the welcome meeting as her tells you lots of things that are very useful.

I must say we all had dicky tummies at 1 time or another but i do not believe it is how the food is cooked and everything was spotlessly clean. We did occasionally have ice in our drinks and we all ate whatever we wanted to we didn’t avoid foods at all. I would advise what i say to people going to any All inclusive place. Try and eat something different every night. People moan they are bored of the food but they eat the same 3 things every night and don’t try anything new. If you separate your meals like you would at home then there is always something you haven’t had rather than eating everything or only eating 2 or 3 things.

So summary Lovely hotel and people, Brilliant for kids of all ages, pools and beach beautiful, food way more than i expected though not a lot of difference between Med and Italian and I have only had better food at 1 other hotel that compares to the same standard.

The staff all seem to work 7 days a week and they do work hard so do remember to tip them. Especially in that heat they still work hard and to be honest they will look after you. 20 Egyptian pound is £2.50 ish but to them it means a lot more. Abbas said to tip 5 EP but to be honest we never had small enough notes. I do have photos but havent had time to sort them out yet.

Hope this helps you with your choice of hotel but i would say this is a definate to try. Happy Holidays :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank wormey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Dear wormey100,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and for taking the time to write to us your detailed comments as we greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

As for the hotel rating, our hotel is a five star hotel as it is defined by the Egyptian Ministry of Tourism, as well as by the various tour operators in different countries around the world who are selling it. As these entities are very well versed in the standard of hotels in the region and what constitutes a five star, we do not feel it unreasonable to argue that their broader experience has led them to the valid conclusion that the Royal Albatros Moderna is a five star hotel. That the hotel is operating as a five star with nearly full occupancy and nearly 90% of recorded guest satisfaction over the past years, only confirms this, but we do appreciate that different guests have different expectations and that it is our responsibility to try to meet or exceed those expectations whenever possible.

I would like to mention as well that Royal Albatros Moderna is 5 years old, the hotel itself is a bit older, however, it is still a bit far to be a 10 y.o. hotel.

However, it is a pleasure to see that you were happy and satisfied with the services you received during your stay with us. I have taken notes of your kind comments and will pass it on to all departments concerned as your comments are of a really great importance to us.

Once again, I would like to thank you for the time spent to write to us .

Looking forward to welcoming you once more to Sharm El Sheikh Royal Albatros Moderna in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Secretary: executive_secretary@royalalbatros.com.eg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,171 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Alcazar
Steigenberger Alcazar
#1 of 33 in Nabq Bay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £47 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing