We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed with my partner, along with her 13 year old and my 17 year old, son's, from 21st - 28th August 2013.
We benefitted from the fact that other Countries stopped flying to the resort, in that during the space of our week, the resort went from being around 75% to 50% full, as a maximum. Due to this, there was absolutely no problem in getting sun loungers, drinks, food etc.
2 Restaurants within the complex were shut down during the course of our week, but quite frankly, why not, and sadly for the workers, a lot were being sent home, to places like Cairo, due to the lack of holiday makers.
We saw no 'troubles' what-so-ever, and there were armoured vehicles and check points at every approach road to the Sharm area.
We all enjoyed facials within the Spa resorts facility, including the boys' 1st experience, and we all went back for another. My partner and I also enjoyed a foot spa, and 2 off full massages each, which were all at very reasonable prices, possibly due to the shortage of holiday makers.
I would thoroughly recommend the Sunai desert, quad bike adventure, which we all thoroughly enjoyed, along with the desert sunset.
I would consider returning to the resort again, but would be curious to see what the resort would be like when at normal/full capacity.

Room Tip: We had ground floor garden rooms, which were ideally located, half way between the beach bar and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badders1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm-el-Sheikh.

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.

Once again we thank you for all the recommendations. We are looking forward to welcome you again in October.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,902
    1,676
    637
    227
    148
See reviews for
2,474
2,403
98
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time, room was always clean and spacious, pool was large with plenty of sunbeds, animation team were the best,, really friendly and always spoke to us,the best from the other hotels we have been to in Egypt! Always something we liked food wise, we found we was going to bed early due to Irish bar been bit quiet after 11pm and full of drunk Russians - which we didn't mind was quiet entertaining to watch and always made us laugh! Always something good on at the beach club , we especially enjoyed the three English girl dancers they were amazing and always very friendly! We went to soho square one night, for a meal out and to go shopping where they don't hassle you,, and another night to Hard Rock Cafe, would def recommend this the food was lovely! We found the hotel was great for a chilled out holiday we are in our mid twenties a lot of other couples seemed similar ages to us! The cafe bar was nice too, and the donut bar :) xx missing the albatros dance already, thanks for a fab holiday! X

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Warmest Greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm-el-Sheikh.

Thank you very much for your wonderful summary about your recent repeated visit at our Albatros Hotel and we are very pleased, that we could provide you with a great holiday.

Glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to welcome you again back for the 6th time to your second home in Royal Albatros Moderna.

Kindly accept our warmest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

As useful as TripAdvisor is, it can also be a curse. Opinions are actually subjective and no two will be the same and it is because of this that you will arguably never find the ideal hotel. Or at least one that you can afford.
Fellow users of this site that have "moaned" or "complained" about the RAM really need to examine what it is they expect. I would guess that everyone that booked this hotel managed to get it at an excellent price. And for that price you get a hotel that is very clean. (Staff are forever cleaning, changing filters in the pools, cleaning bannisters, wiping tables) Food is plentiful. (Most items freshly made/cooked - croissants, eggs, pizza, chicken, burgers, pasta, kebabs, pancakes, donuts etc etc) Entertainment team work their socks off. Shows in the evenings etc. The pools are fantastically clean and aesthetically beautiful. Coffee shop is as good as any you will find in London - in my opinion of course. The staff everywhere are so helpful, always smiling and just doing their level best to ensure you have everything you need.
And the one thing that is nothing to do with the hotel - the weather, fantastic.
So yes - complain about the burgers if you wish or that some rooms may not have gold taps but really - how can anyone complain about this hotel. And certainly, how can anyone complain given the price they are paying.
Well done RAM - you certainly know about customer service.
By the way - neither my wife nor I was ill during our 10 day stay. That is a reflection of the cleanliness I can tell you.
So - are there better hotels ? Yes probably. But you would be paying twice over and I am not convinced you would be getting twice the value.
We will be returning to Sharm and it will be the RAM where we stay. For sure.
Raj & Cherry

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RajeevD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your summary about your recent holiday at Royal Albatros Moderna

It’s really a great pleasure for us, that you spent a lovely holiday at our property and that we could meet your expectations and good to hear that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.


Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Albatros Moderna, it had everything we wanted especially our 2 year old. She loved the pool and the mini disco and the ice cream!! It had all the facilities you would want and the spa is brilliant for a massage. The food wasnt especially exciting but there was plenty of choice so cant really complain. The jetty is great as we were all able to go in the sea together and when we last went to Sharm we werent near anywhere safe to take our little girl in the water. And the views from the jetty at sunset are spectacular. And the staff really cant do enough for you, they were great.

We cant wait for our next stay already!

Room Tip: We loved our room as was ground floor which was great with the pushchair and near to the kids pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allbrown80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

We were very delighted by reading your so lovely praises about our Royal albatross Hotel upon your recent repeated visit for which we would like to sincerely thank you.

It makes us really proud, that you find our place excellent and we will be honored to be your host soon again for the 15th time. And I shall pass your kind words on to the staff.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such a wonderful review and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Royal Albatros Moderna .


Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Everything with this place is spot on;
Rooms are spacious, well appointed and kept immaculately clean daily. Ali looked after room and provided a new towell sculpture every day which was amazing!

A pool to suit everyone;
kids aqua park,
adults aqua park,
Massive activity pool with day long entertainment, also provided are many other games such as tennis, football, pool, volleyball and boules.
Large relaxation pool to while away the hours in the baking hot sun.
Each pool has a bar located close by with friendly, willing staff who will look after you all day long.

Snack and drinks are pretty much available all day from breakfast with everything you can imagine (apart from pork), lovely cooked to order omelettes and freshly cooked croissants to lovely lunches that cater for all tastes, young and old. At 4pm freshly cooked pancakes and donuts are available until dinner starts at 6.30 where again you will find it hard to find something that isn't to your taste with cooked to order pasta dishes and pizzas, Chinese, Indian, Italian and Arabian restaurants. The dinner menus are vast and varied.
After Dinner there are various bars to pass the evening away including (the only American themed) Irish Pub (I've ever been in), lounge bar, terrace bar and veranda bar. Again staff are eager to serve and ensure you have everything you need.
There is an a la carte restaurant on the site, we never felt the need for this as the all inclusive buffet was so good.
For kids, as well as the kids aqua park and pools there is all day ice creams and soft drinks, a kids club for all ages, films shown every evening and evening shows by the animation team - more than enough to keep the entertained!
The beach is fantastic with many sun beds, shallow waters with rock pools to spot some of the sea life and a jetty that stretches out to the coral reef where snorkelers and divers find there paradise in the warm waters.
Cocktails at the VIP bar were the only thing missing from this hotel, everything else was perfect. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieAlykanasFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Excellent holiday November 2012, very friendly and helpful staff. After initial concerns about the unrest in Egypt the reassurance that there were no problems with the Red Sea resorts proved to be correct. The choice and range of facilities were excellent providing us with a wide range of dining options throughout our week stay. Our ground floor room which overlooked the relaxation pool was ideally placed, whilst the main pool was the largest we had ever seen with more than adequate supply of sunbeds. The facilities for families with children were far better than expected including a large flume and activity pool, which until we explored the hotel and grounds we were not even aware of! The children were having a whale of a time along with their parents.

Intending to return this year with other family members, hoping to repeat our previous excellent
stay. Thank you all at the Royal Albatros Moderna.


We look forward to returning this November

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are more than happy, that you had such a fantastic holiday with us here and liked our resort with all its facilities and services and I shall pass your kind words on to the staff.

We are very pleased we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our third return to the Albatros and once again it did not let us down. My wife and I are planning to return next year as the staff cannot do enough for you and service is excellent. The newly introduced animation Team put on great variety shows and cater for all ages.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vinnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank-you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again very soon, at which time I hope to speak with you and personally ensuring your holiday here in the sunshine will exceed all your expectations.

Blessings from us all at Pickalbatros hotels..

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,970 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,990 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Property: Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing