We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

just returned from two weeks here and can honestly say i dident want to come home, its a great location on the beach, very relaxed and staff are second to none, rooms excellent cleaned and stocked every day, pools and spa amazing , food is ok but no complaints .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Paula,

Thank you for the “first class” review and the nice comments about the beach, the staff, the pools, the spa and the rooms. I’m delighted you had such a great holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,916
    1,679
    639
    227
    148
See reviews for
2,484
2,409
99
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We returned for our second visit and it was better than the first. Loved the new pool bar, beach cafe, beach bar and show stage were all great additions (even though I was dragged up on our last night and dressed as a women). All the staff were great, room was nice and clean. Food as before can't be faulted. We hope to return with a large group of family and friends next May for my 40th (when the site lets me book!). I would recommend RAM to family or groups of friends alike, as not only enough to keep you entertained on site but also a short cab ride to Nabq town with lots going on.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the pool that would suit you, we have kids and requested the active area whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Nick,

It’s great to hear that you’ll be coming back for your 40th next year so don’t forget to send us an email with any special requirements you may have and we’ll do our best to help.

If your second trip was better than your first I can see a pattern developing and it looks like your third trip could be amazing. We’ll do everything we can to make sure it is.

Thanks for the review and we look forward to celebrating your birthday with you.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We visited RAM with our 4 year old. At first we were given a room close to the relaxation pool but this was quite a distance away from the childrens pool and restaurants. We asked to change and were immediately given a choice of two rooms fitting our request which was excellent and we were moved very quickly. The rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels replaced. The main complaint I have is the lighting in the rooms, its so dark even with every light switched on!!! This was our 4th visit to Egypt and every hotel we have stayed in provided bath robes apart from RAM. We had an issue with the safe in our room on a few occasions that was sorted out after a call to reception but it was annoying the number of times this happened.
There are several restaurants to cater for everyone, but as evening mealtimes are from 7-9 it is very busy and at times difficult to find a table. Restaurants are very short staffed so on a number of occasions you found a table to sit but no cutlery or napkins. It would be easier also if all the restaurants were all together rather than separated as you were constantly moving from one to the other to check menus. A lot of food available was the same everyday and I think I had tomato soup 4 times in a week!!! Deserts are not very good at all!!!
Childrens pool was great and our 4 year old loved it and made lots of friends and we enjoyed the aqua pool. There are a lot of broken tiles around the pool areas which are covered by large black mats and if anyone was to fall they would get a serious injury. Entertainment team in the evening were great and again our 4 year was at the mini disco every night for the two weeks. We bought the mini disco cd for £8 but you have to listen to the whole disc as you cant rewind it as it wont play!!
We had a great holiday but don't think its 5 star, possibly 3 1/2 but could be with some changes. For what we paid for 2 weeks it was definitely worth the money. The guys who sell the spa (hello to Tahir) treatments are persistent but we enjoyed the treatments, well worth the money.
All the staff are hard working apart from a few miserable bar staff.
We loved the beach bar and snorkelling was great.
This was our sons 2nd visit to sharm and our 4th, all in all we met some fantastic people during our stay and would say we had a great time. Weather from 2nd week of May is far more comfortable than in early september when its too hot for me!!!
May return to Sharm again for our 5th visit but like to stay in different hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure you take mosquito repellents!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hibbie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Hibbie,

It sounds like you had a great time and overall you found it to be good value for money and that’s how it should be. In some hotels they give you a few extras like the bathrobes but you do pay more for your holiday and we have listened to our guests and we have arrived at this excellent level of comfort at a very affordable price which is what the huge majority of our guests want.

We have five themed buffet restaurants offering Asian, German, Italian, Moroccan and Indian cuisine and there really is something for everyone including so many live stations serving their specialities as they cook them. They vary the menu every day over a 14 day rota so I am surprised to find you didn’t find much to your liking but I am pleased you liked the tomato soup.

Your 4 year-old clearly liked the children’s disco and I hope the CD is reminding him of what a wonderful time he had now that you are all back home.

I see that you don’t often go back to the same hotel but if you should return to Sharm and find that your next hotel is not up to scratch we would love to see you again.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Excelent all rounder. Grate customer service. They have a well facilitated resort spa i had 3 wonderful massages 2 by Daliea and 1 by Raushia very proffesional beats anything ive had before. Different type pools depending what you want. Lovely beech with jeti i went snorkling of the end and it was wonderful so clear. A wide selection of foods so loads to choose from. There was even a coffee house too that was fab sharky and tarok were really wonderful i love my coffee and i have to say it was better than most costas!!! Thought was also put into the rooms by our lovely cleaner Eldon such lovely finishing touchs just made it abit more personal for me. The hotels standard in all were very professional from managers to pool boys to gardeners all grate... will defo be visiting again and would recommend to anyone going to sharm.
Thanks all for a lovely stay xxx
Natalie and Peter x

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Natalie & Peter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this “fab” review of your recent holiday with us. It’s wonderful to hear that everything went right for you and you appreciated all the hard work that the staff put in day after day.

I’m glad you enjoyed your massages in the spa and the great coffee in our Columbus Coffee Lounge by the lobby. Did you know it is open 24 hours? So good if you need to get up early for an excursion or come home late after a special night out.

Your recommendation is very welcome and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from this hotel. We had a lovely holiday, rooms were very clean ,staff lovely, the weather was hot hot. We didn't get ill from the hotel food it's was fine and ate the salad and had ice in drinks but went on the quad biking trip and got ill from the food in the evening. I would say it you have trouble seeing to drive at night get a double quad as you come back in the dark. Also if you go to soho square don't eat the ice cream got ill from that too . The horse riding trip was good but the stables are a bit run down and there was a dead puppy being eaten by another. Overall we had no problems with the hotel they were great just be careful with the trips if you get sea sick best not do the snorkelling one lol x

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Janet,

Thank you for this detailed review of your holiday and I am very pleased that your time in the hotel went well even if you had one or two upsets outside. There is absolutely no reason to be wary when you eat in our hotel but you should take care when eating outside as some places do not have the same hygiene standards as we do.

Hope to see you back here again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had a great holiday in may this year! My first time to Egypt and I definitely would love to go back! and go back to Moderna! The animation team were so welcoming, they made you feel like you had been at the hotel for years! Getting us involved in the Dancing and Karaoke in the evenings! Billy, Chico, and Stephanie really made my holiday the best holiday I have ever had! The food was good and I could fault all of the staff at the hotel! everyone made my stay so good I did not want to leave! I have made life long friends from my holiday and shall be returning with them at some point in the near future!

Thank you moderna!
Thank you Billy, Chico, Stephanie and the rest of the Animation team!

Chloe Ganly-Boast

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Chloe,

You very clearly had the time of your life on holiday and I’m so pleased that you were well looked after by all the staff and especially the Animation team. They are a great bunch of professionals and I am proud to have them here.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I will keep my review short having previously done an in depth review on the hotel, i will focus on the changed observations i have made about the hotel. a good deal was avalible and having been here before i knew what to expect. It was on this visit that despite some improved features, the hotel has certainly slipped in my estimations.

I will start with the real big issue with the hotel, food hygiene. The hotel has passed its HACCP In january this year, meaning it has been indipendantly assesed and apparently fit for purpose, i will list some examples of practices i witnessed at this hotel that definatly do not gell with a HACCP

The hotel has food prep stations visible to guests, where for example on one night, beef steaks where being cooked.
The chef used both hands to removed the raw meat from its bag, and throw it onto the cooking surface, the meat was then cooked being turned with a spatula, and then then chef picked up all of the cooked meat with the same hands that had removed it from the packet in its raw state, this obviously is serious cross contamination, placing raw meat juices on cooked meat defeats the purpose of cooking it in the first place. i watched in horror as guests dived in and filled thier plates oblivious to what happened.

the same practice is done with the beef kebab station at night, removed raw, cook, then take cooked meat off with the same hands dripping in beef blood.

raw squid also is handled the same way, although this is deep fried and not touched directly by the chefs hands, if a calamari ring escapes the gastrognome the chef will pick it up and toss it back in.

Its really simple RAM, dont mix raw and cooked, clean hand before moving from raw to cooked.

Left over cereal at breakfast is taken and placed back into the top of the cereal dispenser

All members of catering staff are allowed to use mobile phones when preparing food, they will litrally leave you waiting while they tap away a text on a bacteria harboring mobile phone.

RAM can reply and say these are isolated issue which will be addressed, but it is rife through the entire hotel why has it not been noticed sooner, it obviously wasnt done when the HACCP inspector came visiting ?


There is the issue of staff being allowed mobile phones while working too, these devices disturb them especially in the coffee shop

Other issues____
The tagine and asian and medeteranian where fantastic last year, offering a rich variety of food to choose from, now they both have meagre offerings which during my stay pushed all of the guests into the italian resturant, the tagine mederanian and asian had at most 3 tables being used at any one time during my stay, while the italian was absolutly heaving.


Improvements___
The new beach bar is a fantastic feature, aswell as the night time entertainment area
hot fudge brownies at night was a nice touch
All day ice cream avalibility (Although it is a far cheaper brand than that avalible last year)



Its a well maintained clean hotel, spending money on new improvments, if it could just enforce hyginene in the catering staff and ban workers from using mobile phones whilst on shift, it would be much better, i have to rate this hotel poor, i dont expect to be served food that has been dangerously prepared.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank L123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and advice about the food hygiene here at the Royal Albatros Moderna. We do indeed have frequent hygiene checks from independent authorities as well as the annual HACCP and we pass them all with flying colours. Some of these checks are from internationally recognized companies and many of them are surprise spot checks. And we pass them all. Perhaps if you had brought up this subject at the time with me or one of my managers we would have been able to reassure you that our high standards are consistent and perfectly safe. I myself have looked at these particular areas that you have pointed out and I have not seen this practice that you describe and it leads me to wonder what you did actually see.

Only managers may use mobile phones during their work period as this is how we communicate with each other for the operation. Other staff are not allowed to use them and if discovered, they will be severely reprimanded and they are well aware of this. I’m sorry if this detracted from the enjoyment of your holiday.

However, I am delighted that you approve of the new beach bar and restaurant and I hope to see you back here again to enjoy another holiday with us.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.7 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,144 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,992 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,046 reviews
10.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Property: Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing