We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Staff”
Reviewed 12 February 2009

we stayed at this hotel from 18th to 25th jan 2009.on arrival we was told that the german flight had been delayed and our room wont be ready until 9 am the next morning so was taken to there sister hotel about 15 minutes away [nubian island].when we got back to the royal albatros the next day and got our room with a sea view which you could only see if you put your head around the balcony and looked left it was 2 pm,we then got our room changed to one looking over the relaxation pool which was really nice and quiet apart from night time when the horrble rude russians made alot of noise.by the time we got our suitcases and un-packed it was nearly 5 so we lost a day of our holiday.NOW TO SOME GOOD POINTS. The whole place is very clean and the pools are always being checked and cleaned the beach is really lovely and the jetty is really good for snorkling,there is loads to eat and too much to choose from,loved the pasta station.the beach bar was good for lunch time,we tipped at the start of the week then midway though and at the end,sharky in the pool was great,he always greeted you and brought your drink to your table or sun bed,all the staff always had smiles on there faces even though they worked 16 hours aday for very little money.if your a smoker then dont buy your fags on the plane.you can get 200 bensons for £11.50 in the duty free shop at sharm airport.most of the english brands are fakes so be careful.i went to the super market which is about 5 minutes from the hotel and brought 600 cleopatra suerkings for £21.00.also there we brought our beach shoes for 20 egypt pounds back at the hotel they are 70.snorkle and goggles were 45 egypt pounds at the super market so its worth the walk.Cant wait for next year when we are going back.

  • Liked — the beach and jetty and friendly staff
  • Disliked — noisey rude russians
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,965
    1,698
    646
    230
    153
See reviews for
2,533
2,434
100
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2009

This was our 5th trip to Egypt and this was the worst hotel we've stayed in. The flys were in the bathroom and bedroom constantly, the fly spray that ws used by the staff left us unable to return to our room on several occasions. The parasols are sprayed every night and the whole pool area is covered in choking fumes every evening and this spills in to the food area.
The bathrooms were basic to say the least and the beds were so hard I had to take pain killers to get some sleep!
Food not good, repetetive, and queues too long for hot food.
If you walk along the main beach path you will find lovely 5 star hotels which put the albatross to shame. One saving grace was the lovely beach and the jetty. Wont return to this hotel.

  • Liked — the weather
  • Disliked — the flys and the beds
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funnysunnybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

stayed 25th jan for 1 week. had a great time. hotel very .clean .staff very friendly. location excellent .try walking prom or road out side during day .food was good plenty to choose from. room only 3 star .pool area excellent as was beech .snorkeling fantastic.shall return next year. forget europe for winter holiday. 7 days constant sunshine .

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — room was just basic
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

we stayed at this hotel in January 2009. When we arrived we were told that there were no rooms available for our first night, due to a flight being delayed by bad weather. We were ferried to what was supposed to be a superior, beautiful 5 star hotel approximately 30 minutes journey time away. So instead of our hotel backing on to the Red Sea we found ourselves staying at Acqua Park (sister hotel to the Albatros) which was an inland water theme park. The view out of the bedroom window was either, to the right, a huge dinosaur or to the left, massive water slides. The area was plagued by mosquitos. Not an enjoyable start to our holiday. We were transferred back to the Moderna Albatros the following day ,having lost almost a whole day. We were promised compensation by way of a free mini bar, robes, basket of fruit etc. Needless to say we received none of these. About 12 people arriving at the same time as ourselves were subjected to this treatment.
The hotel itself was OK, nothing special but reasonable value for the price paid. We stayed on an all inclusive basis.
Upon our return to the airport we met lots more people who had been unable to stay at the hotel of their choice for the first night.
This had nothing to do with delayed flights, purely a case of overbooking.
I would not recommend this hotel or Egypt to anyone

  • Liked — the outdoor swimming pool and access to the Red Sea
  • Disliked — having to sleep on an uncomfortable sofa bed
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoloresDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

we have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel, and we loved it. the staff coudnt do enough for you, especially the lads in the pool bar. we didnt realise thats were the entertainment was, so spent the 1st 2 nites a little bored in the piano bar.it was russian new yr + the majority of them were rude + arrogant 2 the staff, didnt no how 2 queue, + cringe worthy 2 watch them treating staff as if slavery still exsisted. [although the younger 1s were great fun] the room we were allocated didnt get much sun in the morning so it was no trouble 2 move us 2 a better 1. if you tip the towel lad at the beach at the begining of your hol, your guarenteed 2 have your sunbeds waiting 4 you every day. the 1 fault was the pool, it was absolutely freezing + no1 braved it, while nxt doors pool was 25degrees [if ya can get passed security] the sea is actually warmer than the pool, but you need sea shoes on. these can be bought from supermarket dwn rd £2.50 pr £5.00 in htl shop. overall, we loved it, food was plentiful+ something 4 everyones taste[4 restaurants] cant wait 2 go back.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the freezing pool
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jeanie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We returned yesterday after a great week of sunshine. However we did have stress whcih could have been so avoided. We landed and paid for a private taxi, we checked in to be told that 'the Germans' had a flight delay so they didnt have a room and we needed to be taken to their sister hotel. We got back in the same taxi and was driven (nutty drivers - no lights on at night) for about 30mins, other people were also transfered. Upon arrival at this hotel, we were told there has been a mistake and there was not a room for us, so we were moved yet again to another hotel...here we met several other couples who were transfered from the moderna hotel. This was now 3 hrs after trying to check in origionally...sense of humour was now failing. We stayed here and had a lovely bungalow & was picked up at 10am (ish) for transfer to our booked hotel...well thats where the fun started. As we met more and more couples who over the last few days had been told the same story. It was clear that rooms were double booked on a regular basis. Reception kept fobbing us off and we were made to sign a disclaimer that we wouldnt make an external complaint. We finally got a room at 2pm...after much negotiation (turned down 2 rooms before we were happy). Wasting so much of our time.
Now we have experienced the Egyptian way....we would now tip £50 to the room manager to sort us out a room, I honestly believe that he would have sorted us out.
Having said that, once we got a room and started to unwind, we were really pleased. This is the cleanest hotel we have ever seen and the staff work really hard. Tip when you arrive and they will really look after you.
Food was of a higher standard that I was expecting and of good choice. Something for everyone...massive choice of salads, pizza etc, one night we had beef wellington made with fillet...absolutly gorgeous. I did feel the breakfasts could have been a bit better - smoked salmon at least once in a week.
Pool area was spotless and the pool water quality was good (I have a hot tub so familiar with water quality by the feel of it).
The jetty from the beach is a great bonus (damn long way though) and saw some great fish. We also did a boat trip (£25 each) but we felt the snorkling was better from the hotel.
Entertainment was 'ropey'...but it was entertaining because it was so bad!!
The hotel had lots of Russians staying who were somewhat arrogant and rude - I am still amazed seeing them drink vodka at 10am.
Although we were really angry at the beginning of our holiday we would come back & recommend to others...but with more 'tip' money just in case we needed it.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — poor check in service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Huskylover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from two weeks at the Albatros which we booked for somewhere nice to celebrate his 60th birthday. Although the hotel is not 5* by our standards, the standard of cleanliness was outstanding and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. There was a large selection of food on offer and whilst some of it could be described as bland, as a whole there was something for everybody, with plenty of fresh fruit, vegetables and salads as well as burger and chips for those who wanted it. Their desserts (mainly gateaux) looked colourful and tempting, but if we were to pick fault, it would have been nice to have some puddings, rather than sponge cake, colourful but rather tasteless. However, that is probably being hyper-critical!

We didn't tell the hotel it was my husband's birthday, but on the day a note was pushed under our door to say that if we presented ourselves to the restaurant manager at 8 p.m., a cake would be awaiting us. The cake was brought to our table and was a huge chocolate gateau complete with candle. We obviously couldn't eat it all ourselves, but it was a wonderful gesture.

We got the feeling that we were in the older half of the hotel as our bathroom could have done with some updating, but it was spacious, as was the room and we were quite surprised that if you wanted a late night film there were a couple of channels on the TV which had good English films and 24 hour BBC World Service which kept us in touch with what was going on. One or two niggles like TV remote not working, large standing lamp socket not working, bath plug too small, sink not holding water for long enough to wash, but anything we cared to report was immediately seen to.

All in all it was marvellous value for money, clean, friendly, adequate entertainment in the evenings. Our one big complaint, and this would probably make us think twice about going again, was the mainly Russian guests. They sat on the balcony under us (and others in the vicinity) until early hours of the morning laughing and talking very loud which made it impossible to sleep. Three nights were terrible and at 4 a.m. one morning I phoned reception and the noise abated shortly after. When we asked politely at 2 a.m. the other mornings if they could make less noise they were abusive. We were told that last year the guests were almost 100% British, but a year on it was 80% Russian. They certainly liked their food as well, piling plates high, but wasting a lot.

We spent very little and I had a wonderful hour long massage near the end of the holiday to use up our Egyptian pounds. We found it a better exchange rate there and I'm glad that we didn't take more than £100 sterling in Egyptian pounds because unless you're doing lots of trips, you won't need it.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean
  • Disliked — Bathroom could have done with updating
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StellaStar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,302 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Sharm
Aqua Blu Sharm
#44 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 31 in Nabq Bay
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 31 in Nabq Bay
4,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Property: Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing