We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hol...shame about the tummy upset”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Was very worried about hotel after reading reviews but it was very good value. The hotel was very clean, pool and sunbathing areas very attractive and not crowded. Water in main pool too cold to swim, relaxation pool a little better! Weather lovely, up to 29 degrees. Did not go off complex and spent very little money as AI. Had nails done, good prep but french manicure wrecked within day. Surprise chocolate cake for birthday..However no matter how careful we were, two of three of us were struck down by tummy problems...and still are...however were given extra 2 hrs in room before flying back, much appreciated! As you can get tummy upsets in many places, I would still very much recommend this hotel if you just want to relax (if you can ignore the photographers).

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MumandEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,446 - 5,452 of 6,769 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2009

We have recently returned from an all-inclusive holiday at the Royal Albatros Moderna, but unfortunately my husband is still getting over it! Much has been written about the Hotel on Trip Advisor about staff, cleanliness, food and tipping, but I would just like to warn people about trips on offer.

We booked "Fantastic Four" through Med Holidays at the Hotel (the rep Ali was very helpful). The day out consisted of jeep ride, camel ride, lunch, snorkel and visit to gift shop! We went with 2 other couples from England and were picked up at 7.00am from the hotel in a jeep. All was fine until we got in the Sinai Desert and then our driver turned into a "boy racer" with other jeeps, racing, swerving and braking, speeds around 80/90mph. The drivers had seat belts, us in the back sitting sideways on bench seats, did not. It was frightening and very dangerous, we asked him to slow down, but he said his speedo was not working properly.

On the hour's drive back to the hotel we reached very high speeds. The roads are new and very smooth, but not in the back of this jeep reaching speeds of 90mph. Needless to say, our driver didn't get a tip from us. Since returning, my husband has found the base of his spine damaged and is in quite a bit of pain at the moment, the Dr says it will heal in time. The lunch served during the day at the Red Sea restaurant was covered in flies within minutes, and my husband has had "Egyptian Tummy" since returning 12 days ago ( I didnt eat anything and was OK).

Just wanted to point out the hazards of the jeep trip and feel it is an accident waiting to happen, just beware! (PS. the gift shop belonged to one of the drivers' uncle, of course).

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flipflopgirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

just returned from royal albatros moderna and really enjoyed it, very clean, so helpful, food was good four restaurants and you can go from one to the other sort of mix and match.....drinks were very good, the wine is fine, we went to just relax as we have been to egypt many times and have done most of the trips and just on the beach or walking around suited us fine, shame about entertainment it reminded us of a very very poor pontins holiday camp, but the pools were great perfect for children with their own little waterpark with chutes and sprouts etc.,heated pool and active pool, the beach was cleaned every day we requested a room change as we were on car park and no problem

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gismo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

travelled with two teenagers. Excellent for our sporty son not quite so much to do for our daughter. It would be good if the animation team could have focused on teenage girls, maybe a bit of kareoke? A good enough range of food for there always to be something that kids liked, ie freshly baked pizza. We almost treated it as an activity holiday with good food and plenty of opportunity for excercise. There is a quiet side and a quite noisy side to the hotel so if you know what you like make it clear when booking. (All the amplified music ends at midnight). Overall a great winter destination.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cashWestLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moderna_Management, The Management at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2009

Dear cashWestLancs, ,

Thank you for choosing Royal Albatros Moderna and for posting your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and are very much appreciative of your positive comments.

We look forward to seeing you again and exceeding your expectations.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We had a room in the "new" section. It was very large with 2 double beds. TV with a few English channels & some dubbed films on ohter channels. The shower room was large & nicely tiled. Loads of wardrobe space. & a balcony - with table chairs & clothes rack. Kettle & 2 mugs.

The hotel was 80% full and the food and service was really great. If you looked around the different restaurants you could find any type of food. The pasta dishes were nicer than in Italy!! Drinks and tea & coffee (self serve) are available all the time. In the evening one night there was a sax player in the pool tent bar, a singer in the top main bar, a little show each night by the entertainment staff & comfortable seats & tables. There is also DISCO bar for a jig aournd!! The pool is lit up at night and it really has all the ingredients for a good time.

During the day the pool water was quite cold (probably warmer at other times) & there is a smal heated pool. The jetty & sunsets are FAB.

If you wanted to be better prepared take snorkels & "jellies" with you. Otherwise Just go and releax !!

Eileen Englefield

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanielleSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

we stayed at this hotel from 18th to 25th jan 2009.on arrival we was told that the german flight had been delayed and our room wont be ready until 9 am the next morning so was taken to there sister hotel about 15 minutes away [nubian island].when we got back to the royal albatros the next day and got our room with a sea view which you could only see if you put your head around the balcony and looked left it was 2 pm,we then got our room changed to one looking over the relaxation pool which was really nice and quiet apart from night time when the horrble rude russians made alot of noise.by the time we got our suitcases and un-packed it was nearly 5 so we lost a day of our holiday.NOW TO SOME GOOD POINTS. The whole place is very clean and the pools are always being checked and cleaned the beach is really lovely and the jetty is really good for snorkling,there is loads to eat and too much to choose from,loved the pasta station.the beach bar was good for lunch time,we tipped at the start of the week then midway though and at the end,sharky in the pool was great,he always greeted you and brought your drink to your table or sun bed,all the staff always had smiles on there faces even though they worked 16 hours aday for very little money.if your a smoker then dont buy your fags on the plane.you can get 200 bensons for £11.50 in the duty free shop at sharm airport.most of the english brands are fakes so be careful.i went to the super market which is about 5 minutes from the hotel and brought 600 cleopatra suerkings for £21.00.also there we brought our beach shoes for 20 egypt pounds back at the hotel they are 70.snorkle and goggles were 45 egypt pounds at the super market so its worth the walk.Cant wait for next year when we are going back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

This was our 5th trip to Egypt and this was the worst hotel we've stayed in. The flys were in the bathroom and bedroom constantly, the fly spray that ws used by the staff left us unable to return to our room on several occasions. The parasols are sprayed every night and the whole pool area is covered in choking fumes every evening and this spills in to the food area.
The bathrooms were basic to say the least and the beds were so hard I had to take pain killers to get some sleep!
Food not good, repetetive, and queues too long for hot food.
If you walk along the main beach path you will find lovely 5 star hotels which put the albatross to shame. One saving grace was the lovely beach and the jetty. Wont return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnysunnybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,178 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Alcazar
Steigenberger Alcazar
#1 of 33 in Nabq Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: £47 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing