We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bloody lovely!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“bloody lovely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

i am usually abit of whinger when going abroad and am moaning about getting a sunday roast within 3 days of landing! But i can honestly not fault this hotel. it was beautiful and any faults braught to th attention of staff was immediatley rectified...you cant say fairer then that! I have seen and heard people moaning about safes not beeing in rooms but personally i have never stayed in a hotel wher the safes and air conditioning are free so wasnt botherd wher they were just gratefull they wher readily available! We ventured in to Namma bay which was a 20 minute taxi..(a free bus is offered but we didnt realise untill we returned) but where less then impressed, infact if my partner wouldnt of been a bigish, stick to his guns kinda bloke i think we'd of definately come back penniless!It spoilt my enjoyment (but i did get my roast dinner!) The food was OK....the 1st 4 or 5 days we thought we'd died n gone to cake heavan but after a week we wer flagging in tea time enhusiasm BUT long story short you could always find something to eat and it wasnt as bad as some storys i heard on th plane home! it was always clean and the staff always friendly.My only advice woud be dont buy your trips from th tour rep...we paid 25pounds for a boat trip only to walk across the road to the supermarket to find the same trip for £13 pounds...plus others we had bought for half the price. The night time entertainment wasnt up to much but in my opinion i wasnt going to experince broadway shows everynight ,which is what some people seemed to expect. we wanted a cheapish winter break in th sun in a clean and friendly environment, we got alot more then that, we will definatley go back maybe next year. ignore the whingers on here, as any holiday :its what you make it .... xxx

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear rachael15,


Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and for taking the time to write to us your comments as we greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is a pleasure to see that you were happy and satisfied with the service you received during your stay with us. I have taken notes of your kind comments and will pass it on to all departments concerned as your comments are of great importance to us .

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Sharm El Sheikh Royal Albatros Moderna in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,915
    1,679
    639
    227
    148
See reviews for
2,483
2,409
99
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed here again June 2010 for 2 weeks. We have just booked to go again in a few months. Take no notice of the picky people on here. This hotel is Value for Money. The people that complain about it are generally people that complain about every holiday they go on. The staff are fantastic. The food is plentiful and there is everything you need for sheer relaxation or a fun holiday.

Regards to all the team. Can't wait to see you all soon!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHobbs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear shaftedproperly,

Warm greetings from Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and thank you for submitting a review here as it is always essential for us to know the opinion of our valued guests.

We were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for choosing Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises and Royal Albatros Moderna for your holiday.

We're looking forward to welcome you again to our beautiful and sunny resort on your next trip to Sharm El Sheikh.

Best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

just got home after spending a week at el albatros during the 'unrest period'. The whole experience was good, the efficient and hard working team were run with military preciosn by the managers in cream trousers and shirts (a regime).....The room was OK, could do with a repaint and better seating area.....the overall surroundings were fantastic. The pool areas were superb, very clean and comfortable with a pool bar, would have been beter if the bar man actually smiled.... The beach was great with an excellent pier for snorkelling. We gave in to the constant mither by the spa team, and had a spa treatment which was very expensive for what we received..... The highlight was the relaxed, calming and well serviced beach bar with a relaxed atmosphere and friendly team. The hotel offers a good all inclusive concept which was very good, with good food catering for all tastes throughout the day. The soft drinks were average (no diet options or soda water), the touch of leaving you 2 large bottles of water in your room every day was excellent. The alcoholic beverages were plentiful, not too keen on their spirits and the mixers were limited. The biggest downside was the small glasses which were used for everything which often meant just doubling up so they didn't really save anything just more washing up and more trips to the bar... It didn't really make sense and it spoiled the experience slightly as though we weren't trusted to be adultlike or responsible about the amount of alcohol we consume, some brits can drink in moderation and get up early the next morning!!!!!! Sometimes the bar staff were moody but I suppose on their salaries and the long daysthey have to work, I'd be moody too sometimes....A little customer service would be well received....... Overall very good value, didn't like the venture out of the complex - hounded for money at evry opportunity and the bartering wound me up..... the evening entertainment was poor and the constant noise from the animation speakers around the pool during the day was annoying at times. The french boules were OK, even though you had to plead for use the jack, well some did if you tipped more you got use of everything...... The crazy golf was expensive at £12.00 for 3 of us to play for 1 hour... again I think if you tip, creep and beg you will be able to get it cheaper.. but to be honest it really winds you up after a bit, so I just paid what they asked for... I'm not that hard up...... I think all the activities and games equipment should be included in the all inclusive price, they had a table tennis table but we had to pay £1.00 for a ping pong ball.... which took 2 days to trcak down. Overall, it was a good holiday, great value, very clean hotel and the weather was superb.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sepUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear sepUK,


Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and for taking the time to write to us your comments as we greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is a pleasure to see that you were happy and satisfied with the service you received during your stay with us. I have taken notes of your kind comments and will pass it on to all departments concerned as your comments are of great importance to us .

Once again, I would like to thank you for the time spent to write to us .

Looking forward to welcoming you once more to Sharm El Sheikh Royal Albatros Moderna in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

My Partner and I have just returned from a week at this hotel and all in all, we had a relaxing time with little or no affects on us from the recent unrest in the country.
The food was ok, there was enough choice for everyone and at least there was food on offer. There were stories of other hotels completly running out of food and handing guests a sandwich and bottle of water at meal times.
The weather wastn great for Egyptian standards but suited us just fine and the wind was welcome on some of the warmer days. The rooms were clean enough and if there was a problem, then the hotel staff worked quickly to remedy it which was great. The only complaint we have is about the animation team. Well, we think there was one, eventhough we never actually saw them in action over the whole week. We have stayed at similar resorts in Turkey before with similar standards and facilities, but where the animation teams work a lot harder and do more interactive things with the guests which was a shame as this did leave us at times during the week feeling really quite bored as there is only so much laying on a sunbed and drinking at the bar you can do.

All in all a good holiday but not a great one meaning that we will be returniung to Turkey rather than back to this hotel, purely to do with the lack of anything to so other than Eat, Drink and Sunbathe.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breakspeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear breakspeare,

Sunny greetings from Egypt and thank you for choosing Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and for posting your review here as well. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and it is very unfortunate that you did not bring your concerns to our attention while you were in house as we would have happily taken time to clarify some facts for you.

I am sorry to inform you that your comments regarding our entertainment team were quiet not objective. Our international entertainment team speaks English, German, French, Italian, Polish, Russian and Arabic languages. We offer a wide variety of entertainment in our hotel. Please, kindly find Royal Albatros Moderna entertainment program below:

Morning entertainment:

- morning aerobics;
- aqua gym;
- water polo;
- beach volleyball;
- football;
- boca – French balls;
- mini golf;
- dance lessons (salsa, Latina, rumba, cha cha cha, belly dancing);
- billiard.

Evening entertainment:

- Evening lounge music or a singer ;
- Russian, Ukrainian and Cuban singers;
- Dance show;
- Trio from Cuba.

Animation evening entertainment:

- evening entertainment program - from 21:30 till 22:30 for adults with different shows every night;
- evening children entertainment program - from 20:30 till 21:00 for children;
- discotheque in the hotel Irish pub every night – from 23:00 till the last guest;

We also provide a different program for our little and teenage guests; there is also an entertainment program for mature guests as well.

Thank you again and we hope you will consider a return visit as we would be grateful for a second opportunity to show you a great holiday.

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

I have just returned from the Royal Albertros having stayed there for a week. I had read some of the reviews on here thinking Oh dear, hope its not to bad. Well one word can describe the hotel, Brilliant. From the moment we arrived, we had no hassle at check in, we were given a lovely room on the 1st floor overlooking the relaxtion pool, it was cleaned every day, fresh towels and bottles of water every day. Restaurants were great, even though I am a very fussy eater, I always managed to get fed, my husband really enjoyed all the food. We always started in the Italian and worked our way round, finishing in the Chinese. All the staff are very friendly from the managers to the cleaners.They all work very hard and do very long hours, My husband loved the coffee bar where you can get all sorts of different coffees. I really enjoyed the pancakes and donuts in the afternoon, freshly made for you on the terrace. The pools are great always a sun lounger available and the pool bar staff look after you all day long.The jetty out to the coral reef is brilliant, beach bar very good . We are planning to go back next march but for 10 days this time. My advise, go there, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 13 February 2011
Dear lbourne,

Sunny greetings from Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and thank you for submitting a review here as it is always essential for us to know the opinion of our valued guests.

We were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for choosing Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises and Royal Albatros Moderna for your holiday.

We're looking forward to welcome you again to our beautiful and sunny resort on your next trip to Sharm El Sheikh.

Best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharm el sheikh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

I have just returned from the Royal Albatros Moderna.The Hotel has a brand new waterpark so the kids were over the moon.The food is well above average with five different restaurants much of the food cooked in front of you.The Hotel is spottless as were the rooms and pools.Nabq seems to be an up and comeing place with the usual mcdonals and kentucky fried chichen and the more local restaurants near to the Hotel.We had not booked a transfer so emailed the guest relations lady Alise and they have a taxi in the hotel that came to the airport lobby with a name board to pick us up and were at the hotel 10 minuets later for a realy good price.The staff at the hotel just can not do enough for the guests thank you Sharky beach bar,Tom Cruise irish pub,and salah lobby bar you made our holiday.If anybody is wanting a fantastic holiday in the sun for a great price this hotel realy does take some beating and we have just booked another holiday there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloeSharmElSheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Dear chloeSharmElSheikh,

Warm greetings from Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and thank you for submitting a review here as it is always essential for us to know the opinion of our valued guests.

We were very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for choosing Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises and Royal Albatros Moderna for your holiday.

We're looking forward to welcome you again to our beautiful and sunny resort on your next trip to Sharm El Sheikh.

Best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in feb and all i can say is that it was fantastic , location ,service ,cleanliness, food were all 1st class ,hoping to return again next year if all is well , met some fantastic people 1 calamera and mass boobies you know who you are .if you are looking for a week of pure relaxation this is the place for you , a big thanks to the very nice man in the coffee shop he worked his wee socks off all day and the cheeky chap who made the nan breads .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brackenLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
Dear brackenLeicester,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Albatros Moderna, Sharm El Sheikh and for taking the time to write to us your comments as we greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is a pleasure to see that you were happy and satisfied with the service you received during your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you once more to Sharm El Sheikh Royal Albatros Moderna in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Mahmoud Ragab,
Area Director of Operations,
Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises,
Sharm El Sheikh Branch.
E-mail: mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.7 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,144 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,991 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,046 reviews
10.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Property: Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing